DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2024, 08/06/2025, 09/16/2025 and 09/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract begins with an implied phrase "Disclosed herein relates to". It is recommended to begin with "An electrolyte composition for a lithium secondary battery,". The abstract also contains purported merits such as "has and thus provides the advantage of..." Please revise to only by summarizing the entire disclosure.. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Structural formulas 13-17 on pages 6 and 15 appear to have been submitted in color or greyscale .
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Structural formulas 13-17 in claim 4 appear to have been submitted in color or greyscale so did not scan clearly. Please resubmit this in black and white with solid lines. Claim 17 has LiFSI appearing twice, once as (FSO2)2NLi and another as LiF2NO4S2 (LiFSI).The examiner recommends deleting the last formula and moving "(LiFSI)" to the more conventional formula for this chemical. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, page 2 line 6 reads “1 is an integer from 1 to 6”, please clarify the probable typographical error.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 12-14 and 17, are indefinite due to improper Markush Group formatting. There are a number of ways one can properly structure a list of options to be selected from; care must be taken in the drafting. The two primary approaches are to format the claim as a material “selected from” a closed group, or to define the material as being, or comprising, one or more alternatively listed options. When the claim is formatted in a “selected from” structure, the group that follows in a manner that ensures it has a definite, closed, structure. At a minimum this requires the listing of the group to be closed with “and” rather than “or”. Preferably, “selected from” is also followed by “the group consisting of” to make clear that the list that follows is a closed set.
Claim 1 contains an improper Markush grouping regarding R2. The word includes is open and ends with “and including one or more…” making it unclear if the everything that follows is necessary.
Claims 7, 8, 12-14 and 17, are also rejected because the language includes an improper listing of a Markush grouping. In this case it is because it has an open claim element that uses the term “comprises” and the list that follows is closed with the conjunction “or”, making it unclear what the definite closed set of the list is. It is strongly recommended that Applicant, in addition to changing “or” to “and”, also add “the group consisting of” instead of the term “comprises”. It is improper to substitute “comprising” rather than “consisting of” since it would be unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(h) The claim reads as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See In re Kiely, 2022 USPQ2d 532 at 2* (Fed. Cir. 2022)
Claims 2-6, 9-11 and 16 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200119400 A1, KUBO et al.
Regarding claims 1-3. KUBO [abstract] discloses an electrolyte composition comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, [0041] a lithium salt, and [0068] an electrolyte additive. This electrolyte additive called compound 34 reads on Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
in Chemical Formula 1,
when R1 is
and,
R2 is an alkyleneoxy group having a carbon number of 1, this also reads on the limitation of oxymethylene as claimed in claim 3
R3 is a fluorine group.
[0041] M includes one or more of lithium, sodium, potassium, tetraalkylammonium having a carbon number of 1 to 4, or tetraalkylphosphonium having a carbon number of 1 to 4, Lithium also reading on claim 3
KUBO does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition has an oxidation potential window of above 4.5 volts.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
It is the position of the office that since KUBO discloses every feature of the instantly claimed invention the oxidation potential window must also inherently be above 4.5 volts or between 5.0 to 6.0 volts as expressed in the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5. [0033] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte additive represented by Chemical Formula 1 is included no more than 10 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 6. [0078] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent comprises an ester-based solvent represented by Chemical Formula 2 below in the form of γ-butyrolactone:
[Chemical Formula 2]
in Chemical Formula 2,
is a single bond,
X is hydrogen, and
p is 1.
Regarding claim 8. [0078] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent further comprises one or more co-solvents of a linear carbonate-based solvent.
Regarding claim 9. [0091] The electrolyte composition of claim 8, wherein the co-solvents is included in less than 50 volume% with respect to a total volume of the non-aqueous organic solvents in the instant case dimethyl carbonate a volume ratio of 40% as a non-aqueous solvent is within the instantly claimed limitation of less than 50%.
Regarding claim 10. [0002] A lithium secondary battery comprising:
[0044] an electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and
the electrolyte composition according to claim 1 in the rejection above.
Regarding claim 11. [0086] The lithium secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the positive electrode comprises one or more lithium metal oxides represented by Chemical Formula 4: in the instant case where KUBO [0086] discloses LiFePO4
[Chemical Formula 4]
LiM2pMnqPrO4
where,
M2 is Fe,
p is 1.0 and,
q is 1-p, and
r is 1.
Regarding claim 13. The lithium secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the [0084] negative electrode comprises a first negative electrode active material comprising a carbon material and a second negative electrode active material comprising [0084] a silicon material, and the carbon material comprises [0084] natural graphite.
Regarding claim 14. [0084] The lithium secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the silicon material comprises silicon (Si).
Regarding claim 15. [0105] The lithium secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the second negative electrode active material (silicon) is 9% by mass which reads on the instant range of 1 to 20 wt% of a total weight of the negative electrode active material.
Regarding claim 16. KUBO discloses the electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte additive (compound 34) is included (in electrolyte solution no. 45 in Table 1) in an amount of 1.0 wt% which reads on the instantly claimed range of 0.01 to 10 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 17. [0079] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the lithium salt comprises LiClO4.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20020009650 A1, MICHOT et al.
Regarding claim 4. [0185] example 16 reads on the electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte additive comprises Structural Formula 15: this also reading on claim 1 where [Chemical Formula 1]
And R1 is
, R2 is a arylene group of 6 carbons and R3 a fluorine group and [0060] M is a lithium salt.
MICHOT does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition has an oxidation potential window of above 4.5 volts.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
It is the position of the office that since MICHOT discloses every feature of the instantly claimed invention the oxidation potential window must also inherently be above 4.5.
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2023090665A1, JEONG et al. with US 20240154165 A1 used as the English translation.
Regarding claim 1. [0021] An electrolyte composition comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an electrolyte additive represented by structural formula 35 when a is 2 reads on Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
in Chemical Formula 1,
R1 is
R2 includes an alkyleneoxy group having a carbon number of 2.
R3 is a fluorine atom,
M is lithium.
JEONG does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition has an oxidation potential window of above 4.5 volts.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
It is the position of the office that since JEONG discloses every feature of the instantly claimed invention the oxidation potential window must also inherently be above 4.5 volts or between 5.0 to 6.0 volts as expressed in the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3. Structural formula 35 when a is 2 is wherein R2 is
,
R3 is a fluorine atom, and
M is lithium.
Regarding claim 4. Structural formula 35 is wherein the electrolyte additive comprises Structural Formula 14 when a is 2:
Regarding claim 5. [0100] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte additive represented by Chemical Formula 1 is “0.01 to 5 wt %, and more specifically, 0.05 to 3 wt % or 1.0 to 2.5 wt % with respect to the total weight of the electrolyte composition” which reads on the instantly claimed range of no more than 10 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 6. [0030] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent comprises an ester-based solvent in the instant case y-butyrolactone which is represented by Chemical Formula 2 below:
[Chemical Formula 2]
in Chemical Formula 2,
is either a single bond,
X is hydrogen, and
p is an integer from 1.
Regarding claim 8. [0030] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent further comprises a linear carbonate-based solvent in the form of ethylene carbonate.
Regarding claim 9. [0152] The electrolyte composition of claim 8, wherein the co-solvents is included in less than 50 volume% with respect to a total volume of the non-aqueous organic solvents in the instant case ethylene carbonate is in a ratio of 3:7.
Regarding claim 10. [0032] A lithium secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and
the electrolyte composition according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11. [0033] The lithium secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the positive electrode comprises one or more lithium metal oxides represented by Chemical Formula 3 also called formula 3:
[Chemical Formula 3]
Lix[NiyCozMnwM1v]O2
in Chemical Formula 3,
M1 called M2 in the reference, is Fe,
x, y, z, w, and v are 1.0≤x≤1.30, 0.5≤y<1, 0<z≤0.3, 0<w≤0.3, and 0≤v≤0.1, respectively, wherein y+z+w+v=1.
Regarding claim 12. [0039] The lithium secondary battery of claim 11, wherein the positive electrode active material is LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.102.
Regarding claim 13. [0155] The lithium secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the negative electrode comprises a first negative electrode active material comprising a carbon material and a second negative electrode active material comprising a silicon material in the form of silicon oxide, and the carbon material comprises artificial graphite.
Regarding claim 14. [0155] The lithium secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the silicon material comprises a silicon oxide represented by SiOq, where 0.8 ≤ q ≤ 2.5, in the instant case q=2.
Regarding claim 15. [0155] The lithium secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the second negative electrode active material is included in 1 to 20 wt% of a total weight of the negative electrode active material in the instant case about 10 wt%.
Regarding claim 16. [0152] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte additive is included in an amount of 2 wt% which reads on the instantly claimed range of 0.01 to 10 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte composition.
Regarding claim 17. [0152] The electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200119400 A1, KUBO et al. in view of US 20080311478 A1, ONUKI et al.
Regarding claim 7. KUBO discloses the electrolyte composition of claim 6,
KUBO does not disclose wherein the ester-based solvent comprises one or more of dihydrofuranone, vinyl dihydrofuranone, fluorodihydrofuranone, furanone, or tetrahydropyranone.
ONUKI [title] discloses A Lithium Secondary Battery where
ONUKI [0017] discloses that by including at least one kind of compound selected from among lactone compounds having a substituent at its position, lactone compounds having an unsaturated carbon-carbon bond, and sulfonate compounds of a specific structure. It was found possible to suppress the amount of evolved gas on a continuous charge and improve the cycle capacity retention rate.
ONUKI [0042] discloses the use of furanone for the non-aqueous ester-based solvent.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used furanone disclosed by ONUKI in the electrolyte composition disclosed by KUBO in order to suppress the amount of evolved gas on a continuous charge and improve the cycle capacity retention rate.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200119400 A1, KUBO et al. in view of US 20010018149 A1, YAGETA et al.
Regarding claim 12. KUBO discloses the lithium secondary battery of claim 11,
KUBO does not disclose wherein the positive electrode active material comprises one or more of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2O2, LiNi0.9Co0.05Mn0.05O2, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.1Al0.1O2, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.15Al0.05O2, LiNi0.7Co0.1Mn0.1Al0.1O2, or LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4.
YAGETA [title] discloses A Nonaqueous Electrolyte Type Secondary Battery With A Film Casing
YAGETA [0121] discloses in estimation test 8 a lithium-nickel compound oxide, where LiNi.sub.0.8Co.sub.0.1Mn.sub.0.1O.sub.2 powder in a positive electrode active material reading on the limitation LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 of the instant claim.
YAGETA [0037] discloses that the present invention provides a nonaqueous electrolyte type secondary battery with a film casing that is a desirable battery characteristic, particularly a desirable charge-discharge and storage characteristic. This will provide for little swelling despite a repeated charge-discharge cycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 disclosed by YAGETA in the positive electrode active material disclosed by KUBO in order to reduce swelling and improve a desirable charge-discharge and storage characteristic.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2023090665A1, JEONG et al. with US 20240154165 A1 used as the English translation in view of US 20080311478 A1, ONUKI et al.
Regarding claim 7. JEONG discloses the electrolyte composition of claim 6,
JEONG does not disclose wherein the ester-based solvent comprises one or more of dihydrofuranone, vinyl dihydrofuranone, fluorodihydrofuranone, furanone, or tetrahydropyranone.
ONUKI [title] discloses A Lithium Secondary Battery where
ONUKI [0017] discloses that by including at least one kind of compound selected from among lactone compounds having a substituent at its position, lactone compounds having an unsaturated carbon-carbon bond, and sulfonate compounds of a specific structure. It was found possible to suppress the amount of evolved gas on a continuous charge and improve the cycle capacity retention rate.
ONUKI [0042] discloses the use of furanone for the non-aqueous ester-based solvent.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used furanone disclosed by ONUKI in the electrolyte composition disclosed by JEONG in order to suppress the amount of evolved gas on a continuous charge and improve the cycle capacity retention rate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-7, 10-12 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 18265549 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1 and 2. An electrolyte composition comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an electrolyte additive represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
in Chemical Formula 1,
when R1 is
R2 of the instant application is equavalant to R1 of the reference which includes one or more of an oxygen atom; a nitrogen atom; a sulfur atom; an arylene group having a carbon number of 6 to 20; an aryleneoxy group having a carbon number of 6 to 20; a heteroarylene group having a carbon number of 5 to 10 and including one or more of N, S, or O; a heteroaryleneoxy group having a carbon number of 5 to 10 and including one or more of N,S, or O; an alkylene group having a carbon number of 1 to 10; an alkyleneoxy group having a carbon number of 1 to 10; a cycloalkylene group having a carbon number of 5 to 10; or
,
R3 of the instant application is equivalent to R2 of the reference which is a fluorine group, an alkyl group having a carbon number of 1 to 10, an alkoxy group having a carbon number of 1 to 10, or
, wherein one or more of hydrogens included in the alkyl group, the alkylene group, the alkoxy group, the alkyleneoxy group, the cycloalkylene group,
or
is optionally substituted with a fluorine atom,
M includes one or more of lithium, sodium, potassium, tetraalkylammonium having a carbon number of 1 to 4, or tetraalkylphosphonium having a carbon number of 1 to 4,
1 is an integer from 1 to 6, and
m and n are each independently an integer of 2 to 20.
The reference application does not claim wherein the electrolyte composition has an oxidation potential window of above 4.5 volts
However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
It is the position of the office that since the reference discloses every feature of the instantly claimed invention the oxidation potential window must also inherently be above 4.5 volts or between 5.0 to 6.0 volts as expressed in the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3. Reads on claim 2 of the reference wherein R2 of the instant app reads on R1 of the reference when it is phenylene,
R3 reads on R2 of the reference when is a fluorine group, or a methyl group, or a fluorine atom, and
M is lithium.
Regarding claim 4. Structural formulas 15 and 17 reads on claim 13 of the reference structural formulas 8 and 12 respectively.
Regarding claims 6-7. The reference claims do not recite the ester-based solvent of the instant claims. However, Onuki discloses the solvent y-butyrolactone and is applied for the reasons in the rejection above.
Regarding claims 10 and 11. Read on reference claim 8 A lithium secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and
the electrolyte composition according to claim 1.
wherein the positive electrode comprises one or more lithium metal oxides represented by Chemical Formula 3 or Chemical Formula 4:
[Chemical Formula 3] reads on reference formula 2
Lix[NiyCozMnwM1v]O2
[Chemical Formula 4] reads on reference formula 3
LiM2pMnqPrO4
in Chemical Formula 3 and Chemical Formula 4,
M1 is one or more of the following elements: W, Cu, Fe, V, Cr, Ti, Zr, Zn, Al, In, Ta, Y, La, Sr, Ga, Sc, Gd, Sm, Ca, Ce, Nb, Mg, B, or Mo,
x, y, z, w, and v are 1.0≤x≤1.30, 0.5≤y<1, 0<z≤0.3, 0<w≤0.3, and 0≤v≤0.1, respectively, wherein y+z+w+v=1,
M2 is Ni, Co, or Fe,
p is 0.05 ≤ p ≤ 1.0 and,
q is either 1-p or 2-p, and
r is 0 or 1.
Regarding claim 12. Reads on reference claim 9 wherein the positive electrode active material comprises one or more of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.102, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.202, LiNi0.9Co0.05Mn0.05O2, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.1Al0.102, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.15Al0.05O2, LiNi0.7Co0.1Mn0.1Al0.102, or LiNi0.5Mn1.504.
Regarding claim 17. Reads on reference claim 7 wherein the lithium salt comprises one or more of LiCl, LiBr, LiI, LiClO4, LiBF4, LiB10Cl10, LiPF6, LiCF3SO3, LiCF3CO2, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, CH3SO3Li, (CF3SO2)2NLi, (FSO2)2NLi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20070190419 A1, TAKEZAWA.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727