DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 10/15/2026, claims 2, 3, 5, 9-11, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are pending and under examination.
In Applicant Arguments/Remarks submitted on 10/15/206, Applicant states claims 4, 6, and 7 have been cancelled. However, the amended claims submitted on 10/15/2026 present no cancelled claim.
Specification
In response to the specification objection made in the previous non-final office action dated 07/17/2026, Applicant has amended specification. Therefore, the previous specification objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, the term may be amended as “the principal curvatures” in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng et al. (TW I738529B, hereinafter Jeng), in view of Sun et al. (CN 202179605U, cited on 05/16/2024 IDS, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 1, Jeng discloses, in fig. 1, a cleaning tool head for a dental cleaning appliance (figs. 1-3 and Jeng English translation, abstract, p. 5:22-32, a dental cleaning member 20 for a smart tooth cleaning device), the cleaning tool head comprising a lens cover (fig. 2 and Jeng English translation, p. 7:11-39, the brush head 21 of the dental cleaning member 20 comprises a first transparent window 212 [corresponds to the recited lens cover]. A camera module enters the brush head and generates an image), but does not disclose an outer surface of the lens cover comprises a first curved surface portion.
Sun teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, an outer surface of the lens cover comprises a first curved surface portion (fig. 1 and Sun English translation, p. 4:24-5:2, cleaner head 11 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tool head] comprises a camera lens 2 having a curved surface portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning tool head of Jeng to provide the lens cover comprising the curved surface portion as taught by Sun. The curved lens cover helps the camera to capture focused images.
Regarding claim 2, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein principal curvatures of the curved surface portion are both greater than zero (Sun fig. 2, the lens 2 has no flat surface portion, therefore any of its principal curvatures is greater than zero).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning tool head of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the lens cover having greater than zero principal curvatures as taught by Sun. The curved lens cover helps the camera to capture focused images.
Regarding claim 3, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein principal curvatures of the curved surface portion are equal to one another (Sun fig. 1, the convex shape of the lens 2 is symmetrical from a side view, thus the principal curvatures are equal to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning tool head of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the lens cover having equal principal curvatures as taught by Sun. The curved lens cover helps the camera to capture focused images.
Regarding claim 4, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose at least one radius of curvature of the curved surface portion is in a range of from 1.5 to 4.5 mm.
Sun does not disclose a size of the lens 2. However, a curvature radius of the curved portion of the lens cover would affect a focal length in capturing images by the camera, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens cover of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide its one radius of curvature of the curved surface portion to be in a range between 1.5 and 4.5 mm in order to capture good quality camera images. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 8, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a maximum height of the lens cover is in a range of from 3 to7 mm.
Sun does not disclose a size of the lens 2. However, a height of the lens cover would also affect a focal length in capturing images by the camera, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens cover of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide its maximum height to be in a range between 3 and 7 mm in order to capture good quality camera images. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 9, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning tool head is a brush head comprising bristles or other elements for brushing teeth (Jeng English translation, p. 5:22-32 and fig. 1, the brush head 21 [corresponds to the recited brush head] of the dental cleaning member 20 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tool head] comprises a plurality of bristles 23).
Regarding claim 10, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches a dental cleaning appliance (Jeng English translation, abstract and fig. 1, the smart tooth cleaning device) comprising: a body (Jeng fig. 1, holding member 10); and an imaging sensor having a field of view (Jeng English translation, p. 7:11-39, a camera module 90 [corresponds to the recited imaging sensor] is used to capture images of the oral cavity and teeth. Thus, the camera module has a field of view).
Regarding claim 11, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein a region of interest (ROI) is defined within the field of view of the sensor, and wherein the lens cover of the cleaning tool head is arranged to overlay the imaging sensor such that at least a part of the ROI intersects at least a part of the first curved surface portion of the lens cover, when the cleaning tool head is attached as part of the dental cleaning appliance (Jeng English translation, p. 7:11-39 and fig. 2, the camera module 90 disposed on a transmission member 60 corresponds to the first transparent window 212 [corresponds to the recited lens cover] disposed on the brush head 21 when the brush head 21 is attached to the holding member 10 of the tooth cleaning device. Because the camera is used to capture the images of the oral cavity and teeth, the oral cavity and teeth are considered as the recited field of view for the camera. On the other hand, defining a region of interest within the FOV is an intended use. By combining with Sun, the transparent window of Jeng would be modified to have the curved surface portion, and at least a part of the ROI would intersect at least a part of the curved surface portion of the lens cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens cover of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide at least the part of the ROI to intersect at least the part of the first curved surface portion of the lens cover so that the camera can take images of the oral cavity and teeth in order to detect conditions of mouth and teeth of a user.
Regarding claim 12, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the entire ROI intersects the first curved surface portion of the lens cover, when the cleaning tool head is attached as part of the dental cleaning appliance.
As discussed above in claim 11, when the brush head 21 of the dental cleaning member 20 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tool head] of Jeng is attached to the holding member 10 of the tooth cleaning device, the first transparent window 212 [corresponds to the recited lens cover] allows the camera to view the ROI. By combining with Sun, the transparent window 212 of Jeng would be modified to have the first curved surface portion for intersecting with the ROI. Examiner notes defining the ROI is the intended use. In case the ROI is defined to be a small area, the entire ROI would intersect the first curved surface portion of the lens cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens cover of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the entire ROI to intersect the first curved surface portion of the lens cover so that the camera can take detailed images of the oral cavity and teeth in order to detect conditions of mouth and teeth of a user.
Regarding claim 13, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the dental cleaning appliance body comprises a handle portion and a spigot portion, the cleaning tool head being removably connectable to the spigot portion of the dental cleaning appliance body (Jeng, fig. 2, the smart tooth cleaning device comprises the holding member 10 [corresponds to the recited handle portion] and the transmission member 60 [corresponds to the recited spigot portion]; figs. 1-2, the dental cleaning member 20 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tool head] is removably connectable to the transmission member 60).
Regarding claim 14, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the imaging sensor is located within the spigot portion of the dental cleaning appliance body (Jeng fig. 2, the camera module 90 [corresponds to the recited imaging sensor] is located within the transmission member 60 [corresponds to the recited spigot portion]).
Regarding claim 15, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the imaging sensor is a camera (Jeng English translation, p. 7:11, the camera module 90 is used to capture images of the oral cavity and teeth).
Regarding claim 16, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the dental cleaning appliance further comprises a light source arranged for illumination of at least part of the field of view of the imaging sensor (Jeng English translation, p. 7:11-12 and fig. 2, a first light-emitting module 110 [corresponds to the recited light source] generates light for illuminating the oral cavity).
Regarding claim 17, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the dental cleaning appliance is operable to apply vibration to the cleaning tool head (Jeng English translation, p. 6:15 and fig. 1, the dental cleaning member 20, which includes the brush head 21 and a connecting portion 22, vibrates to clean the teeth).
Regarding claim 19, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein a centre of vibration lies along a longitudinal central axis of the cleaning tool head (Jeng English translation, p. 5:12-15 and fig. 2, the dental cleaning member 20 vibrates orthogonal to an extension direction of the transmission member 60 wherein the dental cleaning member 20 and the transmission member 60 share the same longitudinal axis. Therefore, the vibration center or the movement center lies along a longitudinal direction axis of the brush head 21 as described in specification of the instant application, p. 5:38-6:2).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng in view of Sun, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chan et al. (US 2005/0050659, cited on 05/16/2024 IDS, hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claim 5, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the lens cover comprises a second curved surface portion immediately adjacent to the first curved surface portion, wherein principal curvatures of the first curved surface portion differ from principal curvatures of the second curved surface portion.
Chan teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the lens cover comprises a second curved surface portion immediately adjacent to the first curved surface portion, wherein principal curvatures of the first curved surface portion differ from principal curvatures of the second curved surface portion (see annotated Chan fig. 23 below, a toothbrush head comprises a lens 1904 [corresponds to the recited lens cover]. The lens can be defined to include the recited first curved surface portion and the recited second curved surface portion wherein the two curved surface portions are disposed immediately adjacent to each other. The two curved surface portions have different curvatures, therefore, their principal curvatures are different).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens cover of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the first and second curved surface portions as taught by Chan. The two curved surface portions can provide greater illuminating area in illuminating brushing area (Chan ¶ 0002).
Annotated Chan Fig. 23
Regarding claim 6, Jeng as modified by Sun and Chan teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the first curved surface portion comprises a domed surface portion, and the second curved surface portion comprises a cylindrical surface portion (see annotated Chan fig. 23 above, the recited first curved surface portion comprises a domed surface portion and the recited second curved surface portion comprises a cylindrical surface portion).
Regarding claim 7, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the cleaning tool head as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose explicitly the lens cover is attached to the cleaning tool head by one or more of: an adhesive, ultrasonic welding, laser welding, or an attachment structure.
Chan teaches, in an analogous toothbrush field of endeavor, the lens cover is attached to the cleaning tool head by an attachment structure (¶ 0071 and fig. 4, a lens is fixed in an aperture of a light-emitting element formed in a middle of a bristle holder 97. Thus, the aperture can be considered as an attachment structure to fix the lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning tool head of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the lens cover attachment as taught by Chan in order to attach the lens cover in the toothbrush head so that it is securely fixed during operation in the oral cavity.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng in view of Sun, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Motahedy (US 2017/0055694).
Regarding claim 18, Jeng as modified by Sun teaches the dental cleaning appliance as in the rejection of claim 17, but does not disclose explicitly the vibration is sinusoidal vibration.
Motahedy teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the vibration is sinusoidal vibration (fig. 1 and ¶ 0043, a brush cleaning system can be a toothbrush including bristles; ¶ 0057, the bristles vibrate as an extension of a sinusoidal wave).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental cleaning appliance of Jeng as modified by Sun to provide the sinusoidal vibration as taught by Motahedy. The motorized cleaning system allows combining amplitudes of sinusoidal waves so that an end of the brush experiences the increased vibrations for better cleaning effect (¶ 0057).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sun does not provide motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine Sun to modify the Jeng’s cleaning tool head. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts the stated reason for modification is general assertion that does not provide adequate explanation.
The invention in issue is a lens cover comprising a curved surface portion which overlays an imaging sensor/camera. Jeng discloses a transparent window used for providing a view for a camera module, but the window does not have a curved surface portion. On the other hand, Sun discloses a camera lens having a curved surface portion for an oral cavity cleaner. Examiner acknowledges Sun does not mention the camera lens has the curved surface portion. However, it is well known that shape and height of a lens affect generating focus for a camera. Therefore, the Sun’s camera lens having the curved surface portion would improve making the image focus so that the camera module of Jeng would produce high quality images.
MPEP states the motivation to combine may be found explicitly or implicitly (MPEP 2143.01) and the court rejects notion that “an express written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references” (MPEP 2143.01(I)).
Therefore, it is appropriate to combine Sun in order to modify the shape of the Jeng’s transparent window.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723