DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–16 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2025/0149729 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 May 2024 and 10 January 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: X (e.g., FIGS. 1–4 and 6–13) and Y (e.g., FIGS. 1–4, 6, 7, and 9–12). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY PACK INCLUDING PACK COVER WITH VENTING CHANNELS GUIDING GAS FROM BATTERY MODULES, AND VEHICLE INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following reference characters not mentioned in the description: X (e.g., FIGS. 1–4 and 6–13) and Y (e.g., FIGS. 1–4, 6, 7, and 9–12).
The reference character 352 is referred to as a first channel plate in paragraph [0066]. Reference character 351 is used to designate a first channel plate; and reference character 352 is used to designate a second channel plate. Reference character 352 should be referred to as a second channel plate in paragraph [0066].
The reference character 310 is referred to as a first venting channel in paragraph [0072]. Reference character 310 is used to designate a first side venting channel; and reference character 331 is used to designate a first center venting channel. Reference character 310 should be referred to as a first side venting channel in paragraph [0072].
The reference character 320 is referred to as a second venting channel in paragraph [0072]. Reference character 320 is used to designate a second side venting channel; and reference character 332 is used to designate a second center venting channel. Reference character 320 should be referred to as a second side venting channel in paragraph [0072].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first side venting channel configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module." The term "from" can be defined as indicating the point in space at which a journey, motion, or action starts or indicating the source or provenance of someone or something (from, New Oxford American Dictionary). It is unclear if "from" indicates the first battery module is the point in space at which the venting gas starts or indicates the first battery module is the source of the venting gas.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a second side venting channel configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module." The term "from" can be defined as indicating the point in space at which a journey, motion, or action starts or indicating the source or provenance of someone or something (from, New Oxford American Dictionary). It is unclear if "from" indicates the second battery module is the point in space at which the venting gas starts or indicates the first battery module is the source of the venting gas.
Claim 2 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitation of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the movement of the venting as between the plurality of first battery modules adjacent to each other" in lines 2–3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the movement of the venting as between the plurality of second battery modules adjacent to each other" in lines 3–5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is directly dependent from claim 3, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 3. Therefore, claim 4 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5–9 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 5–9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the first side venting channel and the second side venting channel have a groove shape formed on one side of the first channel plate and the second channel plate." It is unclear if both the first side venting channel and the second side venting channel are formed on the first channel plate and both the first side venting channel and the second side venting channel are formed on the second channel plate, or the first side venting channel is formed on the first channel plate and the second side venting channel is formed on the second channel plate.
Claims 11–13 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 11–13 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the battery pack according to claim 1" and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 16 are indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 15 and 16 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Interpretation
The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "plate" is a thin, flat sheet or strip of metal or other material, typically one used to join or strengthen things or forming part of a machine (plate, New Oxford American Dictionary). Based on the plaining meaning of the term "plate," two separate and spaced apart plates are not required to be considered a first plate and a second plate. A thin, flat sheet of material can be considered to composed of a plurality of plates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (CN 213752873 U, hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses a battery pack (100, [0030]) comprising:
a pack housing (5) having a first accommodation space (51), a second accommodation space (51) spaced apart from the first accommodation space (51), and a center space formed between the first accommodation space (51) and the second accommodation space (51, [0031]);
at least one first battery module (6) disposed within the first accommodation space (51, [0031]);
at least one second battery module (6) disposed within the second accommodation space (51, [0031]); and
a pack cover (2, 3) having a first side venting channel (34) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (6) to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module (6, [0040]),
the pack cover (2, 3) has a second side venting channel (34) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (6) to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module (6, [0040]), and
the pack cover (2, 3) has a center venting channel (34) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (5) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 1, [0031]),
the pack cover (2, 3) being configured to cover the battery modules (6) by being coupled to the pack housing (5, [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (34) and the second side venting channel (34) each have a groove shape formed on an inner side of the pack cover (2, 3; [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (34) and the second side venting channel (34) are provided in plurality along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack (100, [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the pack housing (5) has a gas collection space (7) formed in at least one of a first side and a second side along an extension direction of the center venting channel (FIG. 1, [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the pack housing (5) has a venting hole configured to allow the collected venting gas in the gas collection space (7) to be discharged to the outside of the pack housing (5, [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the at least one first battery module (6) is a plurality of first battery modules (6, [0031]) and
the at least one second battery module (6) is a plurality of second battery modules (6, [0031]), and
wherein the pack housing (5) includes barriers (51) disposed between the plurality of first battery modules (6) adjacent to each other and between the plurality of second battery modules (6) adjacent to each other (FIG. 1, [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the barriers (51) are coupled with the pack cover (2, 3) to block the movement of the venting gas between the plurality of first battery modules (6) adjacent to each other and the movement of the venting gas between the plurality of second battery modules (6) adjacent to each other (FIG. 1, [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein a sealing member (361) is provided between the barriers (51) and the pack cover (2, 3; [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the pack cover (2, 3) includes:
a cover plate (2) covering the accommodation spaces (51) of the pack housing (5, [0033]); and
a channel plate (3) coupled to an inner side of the cover plate (2) and having the first side venting channel (34), the second side venting channel (34), and the center venting channel (34, [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the channel plate (3) includes:
a first channel plate (31) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (2) at a position corresponding to the at least one first battery module (6) and having the first side venting channel (34, [0037]);
a second channel plate (32) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (2) at a position corresponding to the at least one second battery module (6) and having the second side venting channel (34, [0037]); and
a third channel plate (33) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (2) at a position corresponding to the center space and having the center venting channel (34, [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (34) and the second side venting channel (34) each have a groove shape formed on a first side of the first channel plate (31) and the second channel plate (32, [0040]), and
wherein a second side of the first channel plate (31) and the second channel plate (32) opposite to the first side is coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (2, [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the third channel plate (33) includes:
a first channel forming portion (353) extending under the first channel plate (31, [0047]);
a second channel forming portion (353) extending under the second channel plate (32, [0047]); and
a coupling portion (351) connecting the first channel forming portion (353) and the second channel forming portion (353) and coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (2, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the center venting channel (34) includes:
a first center venting channel (34) communicating with the first side venting channel (34, [0046]); and
a second center venting channel (34) communicating with the second side venting channel (34, [0046]).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the third channel plate (33) includes:
a first channel forming portion (353) forming the first center venting channel (34) communicating with the first side venting channel (34, [0047]);
a second channel forming portion (353) forming the second center venting channel (34) that communicates with the second side venting channel (34) and does not communicate with the first center venting channel (34, [0047]); and
a coupling portion (351) connecting the first channel forming portion (353) and the second channel forming portion (353) and coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (2, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses a vehicle (FIG. 1, [0002]), comprising a battery pack (100, [0030]), wherein the battery pack (100) comprises:
a pack housing (5) having a first accommodation space (51), a second accommodation space (51) spaced apart from the first accommodation space (51), and a center space formed between the first accommodation space (51) and the second accommodation space (51, [0031]);
at least one first battery module (6) disposed within the first accommodation space (51, [0031]);
at least one second battery module (6) disposed within the second accommodation space (51, [0031]); and
a pack cover (2, 3) having a first side venting channel (34) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (6) to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module (6, [0040]),
the pack cover (2, 3) has a second side venting channel (34) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (6) to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module (6, [0040]), and
the pack cover (2, 3) has a center venting channel (34) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (5) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 1, [0031]),
the pack cover (2, 3) being configured to cover the battery modules (6) by being coupled to the pack housing (5, [0033]).
Claims 1 and 5–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qin et al. (CN 215184173 U, hereinafter Qin).
Regarding claim 1, Qin discloses a battery pack (FIG. 1, [0031]) comprising:
a pack housing (12) having a first accommodation space, a second accommodation space spaced apart from the first accommodation space, and a center space formed between the first accommodation space and the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]);
at least one first battery module (2) disposed within the first accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]);
at least one second battery module (2) disposed within the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]); and
a pack cover (3, 11) having a first side venting channel (322) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (2) to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module (2, [0034]),
the pack cover (3, 11) has a second side venting channel (322) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (22) to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module (2, [0034]), and
the pack cover (3, 11) has a center venting channel (321) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (12) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 1, [0040]),
the pack cover (3, 11) being configured to cover the battery modules (2) by being coupled to the pack housing (12, [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (322) and the second side venting channel (322) each have a groove shape formed on an inner side of the pack cover (3, 11; [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (322) and the second side venting channel (322) are provided in plurality along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack (FIG. 1, [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the pack housing (12) has a gas collection space (42) formed in at least one of a first side and a second side along an extension direction of the center venting channel (321, [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the pack housing (12) has a venting hole (41) configured to allow the collected venting gas in the gas collection space (42) to be discharged to the outside of the pack housing (12, [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the pack cover (3, 11) includes:
a cover plate (11) covering the accommodation spaces of the pack housing (12, [0032]); and
a channel plate (3) coupled to an inner side of the cover plate (11) and having the first side venting channel (322), the second side venting channel (322), and the center venting channel (321, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the channel plate (3) includes:
a first channel plate (3) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (11) at a position corresponding to the at least one first battery module (2) and having the first side venting channel (322, [0034]);
a second channel plate (3) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (11) at a position corresponding to the at least one second battery module (2) and having the second side venting channel (322, [0034]); and
a third channel plate (3) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (11) at a position corresponding to the center space and having the center venting channel (321, [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first side venting channel (322) and the second side venting channel (322) each have a groove shape formed on a first side of the first channel plate (3) and the second channel plate (3, [0034]), and
wherein a second side of the first channel plate (3) and the second channel plate (3) opposite to the first side is coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (11, [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the third channel plate (3) includes:
a first channel forming portion (322) extending under the first channel plate (3, [0034]);
a second channel forming portion (322) extending under the second channel plate (3, [0034]); and
a coupling portion (321) connecting the first channel forming portion (322) and the second channel forming portion (322) and coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (3, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the center venting channel (321) includes:
a first center venting channel (321) communicating with the first side venting channel (322, [0034]); and
a second center venting channel (321) communicating with the second side venting channel (322, [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the third channel plate (3) includes:
a first channel forming portion (321) forming the first center venting channel (321) communicating with the first side venting channel (322, [0034]);
a second channel forming portion (321) forming the second center venting channel (321) that communicates with the second side venting channel (322) and does not communicate with the first center venting channel (321, [0034]); and
a coupling portion connecting the first channel forming portion (321) and the second channel forming portion (321) and coupled on the inner side of the cover plate (11, [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Qin discloses a vehicle (FIG. 1, [0046]), comprising a battery pack (FIG. 1, [0031]), wherein the battery pack comprises:
a pack housing (12) having a first accommodation space, a second accommodation space spaced apart from the first accommodation space, and a center space formed between the first accommodation space and the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]);
at least one first battery module (2) disposed within the first accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]);
at least one second battery module (2) disposed within the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0032]); and
a pack cover (3, 11) having a first side venting channel (322) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (2) to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module (2, [0034]),
the pack cover (3, 11) has a second side venting channel (322) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (22) to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module (2, [0034]), and
the pack cover (3, 11) has a center venting channel (321) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (12) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 1, [0040]),
the pack cover (3, 11) being configured to cover the battery modules (2) by being coupled to the pack housing (12, [0032]).
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jie et al. (CN 112670634 A, hereinafter Jie).
Regarding claim 1, Jie discloses a battery pack (100, [0030]) comprising:
a pack housing (5) having a first accommodation space, a second accommodation space spaced apart from the first accommodation space, and a center space formed between the first accommodation space and the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0038]);
at least one first battery module (3) disposed within the first accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0037]);
at least one second battery module (3) disposed within the second accommodation space (FIG. 1, [0037]); and
a pack cover (2, 4) having a first side venting channel (201) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (3) to the center space at a position corresponding to the first battery module (3, [0025]),
the pack cover (2, 4) has a second side venting channel (201) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (3) to the center space at a position corresponding to the second battery module (3, [0025]), and
the pack cover (2, 4) has a center venting channel (201) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (5) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 1, [0037]),
the pack cover (2, 4) being configured to cover the battery modules (3) by being coupled to the pack housing (5, [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Jie discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the pack cover (2, 4) includes:
a cover plate (4) covering the accommodation spaces of the pack housing (5, [0038]); and
a channel plate (2) coupled to an inner side of the cover plate (4) and having the first side venting channel (201), the second side venting channel (201), and the center venting channel (201, [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Jie discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, wherein the channel plate (2) includes:
a first channel plate (2) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (4) at a position corresponding to the at least one first battery module (3) and having the first side venting channel (201, [0037]);
a second channel plate (2) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (4) at a position corresponding to the at least one second battery module (3) and having the second side venting channel (201, [0037]); and
a third channel plate (2) coupled to the inner side of the cover plate (4) at a position corresponding to the center space and having the center venting channel (201, [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Jie discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein at least one first battery module (3) has a module case (1, [0042]), and
wherein a venting hole (100) is formed in a top surface of the module case (1, [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu (CN 210744043 U) discloses a battery pack (100, [0033]) comprising a pack housing (30) having a first accommodation space (310), a second accommodation space (310) spaced apart from the first accommodation space (310), and a center space (322) formed between the first accommodation space (310) and the second accommodation space (310, [0037]); at least one first battery module (10a) disposed within the first accommodation space (FIG. 2, [0038]); at least one second battery module (10a) disposed within the second accommodation space (FIG. 2, [0038]); and a pack cover (20) having a first side venting channel (210) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the first battery module (10a) to the center space (322) at a position corresponding to the first battery module (10a, [0034]), the pack cover (20) has a second side venting channel (210) configured to guide a venting gas generated from the second battery module (10a) to the center space (322) at a position corresponding to the second battery module (10a, [0034]), and the pack cover (20) has a center venting channel (240) configured to guide a collected venting gas outside of the pack housing (30) at a position corresponding to the center space (FIG. 2, [0037]), the pack cover (20) being configured to cover the battery modules (10a) by being coupled to the pack housing (30, [0043]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725