DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is a first action on the merits. A preliminary amendment was filed on 16 May 2024 amending claims 3 and 5-8. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 May 2024 and 18 December 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 16 May 2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2017-0028589 A. Applicant’s provided translation was relied upon for analysis.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, KR ‘589 discloses a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) tape comprising a sheet formed of 100 weight parts of PVC, 30-70 weight parts of plasticizer, and 10-20 parts of thermoplastic elastomer polyurethane along with additional components including flame retardant and pigment. See p. 3, [0018] and p. 4, [0024] and p. 5, [0025]. An adhesive is applied to the sheet, see claim 7 on p. 2 and p. 1, [0003] of the translation. The adhesive is a pressure-sensitive adhesive as it can be used for surface protection, marking sheets, or paint masking as well as for wiring, see p. 1, [0003] and p. 14, [0081].
Regarding claim 2, the amount of thermoplastic polyurethane is from 10 to 20 parts by weight based on 100 parts of the PVC, see p. 5, [0025]. The other components are 30-70 parts of plasticizer, 5-50 parts of carbon, 0.5 to 5 parts of stabilizer, 2-10 parts of flame retardant, and 2-10 parts of pigment, see p. 4, [0024]. Thus the amount of elastomer is from 10-20 parts out of a total of 149.5 to 265 parts by weight of overall adhesive composition, or from 3.8 wt. % to 13.3 wt. %, which is fully within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, The amount of plasticizer is from 30-70 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of PVC, see p. 4, [0024]. The other components in the composition are as specified at p. 4, [0024] and p. 5, [0025] and sum to 149.5 to 265 parts by weight in total. Thus the amount of plasticizer is from 11.3 to 46.8 wt. % which overlaps the claimed range.
In Example 5, 60 parts of plasticizer are used as part of a composition having 223.5 weight parts of all components, which is 26.8 wt. % and is within the claimed range. See p. 8-9, [0050].
Regarding claim 7, the amount of elastomer is from 10-20 parts by weight in the substrate sheet, and the amount of plasticizer is from 30-70 parts by weight, see p. 4, [0024] and p. 5, [0025]. Thus the weight ratio of elastomer to plasticizer is in the range of 10:70 to 20:30, or 0.14 to 0.67, which is within the claimed range of 0.1 to 1.5.
Regarding claim 8, KR ‘589 teaches that the tape is used to wrap around wires devices used for electrical wires in automobiles or in home appliances, see p. 2, [0005]. See also p. 14, [0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2017-0028589 A in view of Bourget (U.S. Pub. 2002/0034366). Applicant’s provided translation of KR ‘589 was considered for analysis.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, KR ‘589 discloses a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) tape comprising a sheet formed of 100 weight parts of PVC, 30-70 weight parts of plasticizer, and 10-20 parts of thermoplastic elastomer polyurethane along with additional components including flame retardant and pigment. See p. 3, [0018] and p. 4, [0024] and p. 5, [0025]. An adhesive is applied to the sheet, see claim 7 on p. 2 and p. 1, [0003] of the translation. The adhesive is a pressure-sensitive adhesive as it can be used for surface protection, marking sheets, or paint masking as well as for wiring, see p. 1, [0003] and p. 14, [0081]. KR ‘589 teaches that the tape is used to wrap around wires devices used for electrical wires in automobiles or in home appliances, see p. 2, [0005]. See also p. 14, [0081].
KR ‘589 does not specify the particular properties of the thermoplastic polyurethane as claimed.
Bourget describes an optical fiber cable bundle covered with a sheath, see p. 2, [0021-0024]. The sheath is made of polyvinyl chloride (PVC) or from a thermoplastic elastomer, see p. 2, [0035]. Suitable thermoplastic elastomers include thermoplastic polyurethanes, see p. 2, [0039-0041], and specific commercially available products include ELASTOLLAN 1185, ELASTOLLAN 1190, ELASTOLLAN C85, or ELASTOLLAN C90, see p. 2-3, [0046].
Applicant’s disclosure teaches that the ELASTOLLAN C-series thermoplastic polyurethanes are suitable for the invention, see p. 13, [0052] and Example 1 at p. 35, [0131] of the originally filed specification. ELASTOLLAN C90A10 is used in Example 1 and this has a durometer hardness of A90 and 16 mol% urethane bonds. This meets the limitations of claims 4 and 5.
KR ‘589 and Bourget are analogous because they each describe using thermoplastic polyurethanes to enclose elongated wires, and thus they are similar in structure and function. The tape of KR ‘589 and the sheath of Bourget both need to be sufficiently flexible yet also durable to protect the wiring enclosed within.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used ELASTOLLAN C90 as disclosed in Bourget as the thermoplastic urethane of KR ‘589 to arrive at the claimed invention, as Bourget teaches that this commercial material has flexible segments, see p. 2, [0035-0036]. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Bourget uses the elastomer to sheath optical cables which are similar to a bundle of electrical wires.
Prior Art of Record
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Harada (U.S. Pub. 2016/0289505) similarly teaches a pressure-sensitive adhesive tape with a PVC substrate film that includes a plasticizer component and also includes an elastomer component. Suitable elastomers include thermoplastic polyurethane or polyester-based thermoplastic elastomer. The reference is cumulative.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/Scott R. Walshon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759