DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2024, 1/13/2025 and 11/12/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "53" and "53a" have both been used to designate connecting portions or bridges which both appear to be the same object. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because it is unclear what the difference is between the bridges or the connecting portions. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 2, It is unclear if the connection portion is the plurality of bridges or if there is some other part of the connection portion that is not exclusively the plurality of bridges. For examination purposes the limitation of the claim will be interpreted as the connection portion is synonymous with the plurality of bridges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the housing contact portion" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted as the gasket portion that contacts the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220069408 A1, YOSHIDA et al.
Regarding claim 1. [title] A battery, comprising:
The annotated figure depicted below discloses an electrode assembly having a first uncoated portion and a second uncoated portion;
a housing called a battery case (15) having an open portion located at one side and configured to accommodate the electrode assembly through the open portion;
a first current collector called a positive electrode lead (20) coupled to the first uncoated portion and located inside the housing;
a cap called a vent member (40) configured to cover the open portion; and
The annotated figure depicted below discloses a spacer assembly called a gasket (80) including:
a spacer portion called a projection (84) interposed between the first current collector and the cap and configured to prevent movement of the electrode assembly;
a gasket portion called a sidewall part (82) interposed between the housing and the cap and configured to seal a gap between the cap and the housing; and
a connection portion shown in the annotated figure depicted below is configured to connect the spacer portion called a projection (84) and the gasket portion (82) and to rotate the spacer portion when a force exceeding a criterion value is applied in a direction from the gasket portion toward the spacer portion.
Regarding claim 2. [0054] The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figure depicted below discloses the connection portion includes a plurality of bridges spaced apart from each other along a circumferential direction of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 3. [0054] The battery according to claim 2, wherein the annotated figure depicted below discloses each bridge of the plurality of bridges includes:
a first portion connected to the spacer portion; and
a second portion connected to the gasket portion.
Regarding claim 4. [0054] The battery according to claim 3, wherein the annotated figure depicted above discloses the first portions of the plurality of bridges are tilted to form a predetermined angle with a radial direction of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 5. The battery according to claim 4, wherein the annotated figure depicted above discloses the first portions of the plurality of bridges are tilted in the same direction.
Regarding claim 6. The battery according to claim 4, wherein the annotated figure depicted above discloses the first portion and the second portion of each bridge are connected with each other at a predetermined angle. Here an angle is understood as an arc angle.
Regarding claim 7. [0054] The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figures depicted below discloses the spacer portion has a thickness corresponding to a distance between the first current collector called a positive electrode lead (20) and the cap called a vent member (40).
Regarding claim 8. The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figures depicted below discloses the spacer portion is located at a center of one surface of the electrode assembly. Please note that this is interpreted as when viewed from the cap.
Regarding claim 9. The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figure depicted below disclose the spacer portion has a spacer hole located at a position corresponding to a winding center hole of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 10. The battery according to claim 9, wherein the spacer assembly has an ejection preventing portion which is the spacer portion combined with the connecting portion is configured to cross the spacer hole.
Regarding claim 11. The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figures depicted below discloses that the housing includes:
a beading portion adjacent the one portion of the housing; and
a crimping portion extending inward such that an end of the crimping portion defines the open portion under the beading portion and surrounds an edge of the cap.
Regarding claim 12. The battery according to claim 11, wherein the annotated figures depicted below discloses the gasket portion is bent along the crimping portion to surround the edge of the cap.
Regarding claim 14. [0054] The battery according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of bridges are configured so as not to contact the cap. [0054] “the projection 74 [84] of the gasket 70 [80], that comes into contact with the separation part 32 of the internal terminal plate 30 to be pressed into the inside of the battery case” shows that the projection contacts (30) and not the cap (40).
Regarding claim 15. The battery according to claim 2, wherein the annotated figure depicted below discloses the first current collector called a positive electrode lead (20) includes:
a support portion located at a center of one surface of the electrode assembly;
an uncoated portion coupling portion configured to extend from the support portion and be coupled to the first uncoated portion; and
a housing contact portion configured to extend from the support portion or extend from an end of the uncoated portion coupling portion and be interposed between the housing and the gasket portion.
The first current collector called a positive electrode lead (20) would extend through the hole as shown in the annotated figure depicted below making contact with what the refence calls the internal terminal plate (30) thereby meeting the limitation of being interposed between the housing and the gasket portion.
Regarding claim 16. The battery according to claim 15, wherein the annotated figure depicted below discloses that the housing includes:
a beading portion adjacent the open portion of the housing; and
a crimping portion extending inward such that an end of the crimping portion defines the open portion under the beading portion and surrounds an edge of the cap, and wherein
the housing contact portion is in contact with one surface of the beading portion facing the cap.
Regarding claim 17. The battery according to claim 1, wherein the cap includes a venting portion having a thinner thickness compared to a surrounding region of the cap, and wherein the spacer portion is located more inward than the venting portion so as not to cover the venting portion.
Regarding claim 18. The battery according to claim 1, wherein the annotated figures depicted below discloses that the connection portion is located so as not to overlap with the housing contact portion (gasket portion) along a height direction of the battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20220069408 A1, YOSHIDA et al.
Regarding claim 13. YOSHIDA discloses the battery according to claim 2.
YOSHIDA does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of bridges are configured so as not to contact the first current collector.
However, the positive electrode lead (20) in the annotated drawing depicted below shows contact to the first uncoated portion of the electrode and contact with the internal terminal plate (30). This lead would inherently have to bypass contact with the spacer through the hole in order for the battery to operate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the hole in the spacer in order to run the lead to the terminal so as to have a clear electrical contact with the terminal and not to contact the current collector, thereby both anticipated and in the alternative as obvious over the instant claim.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220069408 A1, YOSHIDA et al. in view of US 4317497 A, ALT et al.
Regarding claims 19 and 20. YOSHIDA discloses the battery according to claim 1.
YOSHIDA does not disclose a battery pack or a vehicle.
ALT [title] discloses A Battery Tray For Electric Vehicle where,
ALT [col 1 lines 34-37] disclose in the annotated figures depicted a battery pack and a vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20060068276 A1, YOO et al.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727