DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 1.114, the Amendment and Response, all filed 11/17/25.
Claims 11-21 are pending and have been rejected on the merits. Claim 22 was cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
The 103(a) rejections of claims 11-21 over Firoozmand et al. (US 2017/0121671) and in view of Muys et al. (US 3,995, 066) as evidenced by C.A. Batt 2014 “Kluyveromyces” Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firoozmand et al. (US 2017/0121671) and in view of McCoy et al. (US 2010/0120701) as evidenced by C.A. Batt 2014 “Kluyveromyces” Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology.
Regarding Claims 11, 12, 14, 15, 16: Firoozmand discloses an emulsion containing a microorganism, oil and water [abstract]. Firoozmand discloses that the microorganism can be a yeast and that the microorganism can be inactivated [0007; 0021; 0102]. Firoozmand discloses that the emulsion contains .0001% to about 10 % inactive microorganism (yeast) [0008]; discloses 0.01% to 99% oil [0008]; and water at 41-50% and also at 57% [0065; 0076]. Firoozmand discloses oil in water emulsions and discloses where the amount of water is greater than the amount of oil [0008; 0044, 0048, 0049, 0066; 0076]. Firoozmand discloses emulsions having a particle size of less than 100 µm [Fig 8]. Regarding the form of the cells in claims 15 and 16 since dry and in suspension are the forms available it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the form of yeasts as desired by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Firoozmand does not disclose that the inactivated cells are Kluyveromyces cells selected from one or more of Kluyveromyces marxianus, Kluyveromyces lactis, Kluyveromyces hubeiensis, Kluyveromyces wickerhamii, and Kluyveromyces thermotolerans cell.
Firoozmand does not disclose the particle size of the yeast at 2 to 5 um.
McCoy discloses probiotic yeast that are administered in oil in water or water in oil emulsion [0061-0062]. McCoy discloses Kluyveromyces as a probiotic yeast and host cell for modification [0003; 0059; 0061; 0080; claims 1 and 10]. McCoy specifically discloses Kluyveromyces lactis [0006; 0010]. McCoy discloses providing the yeast as a food supplement and in food stuff [0026; 0048; 0061]. McCoy discloses providing the yeast in killed form (inactivated) [0065]. Batt teaches that Kluyveromyces cells have a particle size of 3 to 5µm [abstract] therefore it is inherent that the Kluyveromyces of McCoy would have had a particle size in 2 to 5µm.
At the effective filing date at the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yeast of Firoozmand to include the Kluyveromyces of McCoy since the Firoozmand allows for single celled microorganisms inclusive of yeasts and since Kluyveromyces are yeasts and are food safe yeasts.
Further regarding the process steps of the claim, since there is no evidence that the recited process produces a product that is materially different from what is disclosed in the prior art, claim 11 has been considered regarding its disclosure of the composition.
“Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698.
Although Firoozmand does not explicitly disclose microorganism at 2.5 to 70%, 10 to 70% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmand overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Although Firoozmand does not explicitly disclose oil at 1 to 40%, 20% to 40% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmand overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Although Firoozmond does not explicitly disclose water at 18 to 96.5% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmond overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Regarding Claim 13: Firoozmand as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 11. Firoozmand does not disclose that the Kluyveromyces cell comprises 30 to 55% protein, 1 to 5% fat, and 15-30% fiber. However, the claim is merely a description of the nutrient components of Kluyveromyces. Since Firoozmand as modified discloses Kluyveromyces lactic and marxianus, it is inherent that the cells would have contained the protein, fat and fiber in the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 17: Firoozmand as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 11. Firoozmand discloses vegetable oil (soybean oil) and olive oil [0029; 0099].
Regarding Claim 18: Firoozmand discloses a method of making an emulsion containing a microorganism, oil and water [abstract]. Firoozmand discloses that the microorganism can be a yeast and that the microorganism can be inactivated [0007; 0021; 0102]. Firoozmand discloses that the emulsion contains .0001% to about 10 % inactive microorganism (yeast) [0008]; discloses 0.01% to 99% oil [0008]; and water at 42-49% [0065]. Firoozmand discloses emulsions having a particle size of less than 100 µm [Fig 8]. Firoozmand discloses shear emulsifying the mixture of water and oil, and yeast; Firoozmand discloses a mixture of cells and water and adding the oil during the process of mixing [0101-0103]. Regarding the form of the cells in claims 15 and 16 since dry and in suspension are the forms available it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the form of yeasts as desired by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Firoozmand does not disclose that the inactivated cells are Kluyveromyces cells selected from one or more of Kluyveromyces marxianus, Kluyveromyces lactis, Kluyveromyces hubeiensis, Kluyveromyces wickerhamii, and Kluyveromyces thermotolerans cell.
Firoozmand does not disclose the particle size of the yeast at 2 to 5 um.
McCoy discloses probiotic yeast that are administered in oil in water or water in oil emulsion [0061-0062]. McCoy discloses Kluyveromyces as a probiotic yeast and host cell for modification [0003; 0059; 0061; 0080; claims 1 and 10]. McCoy specifically discloses Kluyveromyces lactis [0006; 0010]. McCoy discloses providing the yeast as a food supplement and in food stuff [0026; 0048; 0061]. McCoy discloses providing the yeast in killed form (inactivated) [0065]. Batt teaches that Kluyveromyces cells have a particle size of 3 to 5µm [abstract] therefore it is inherent that the Kluyveromyces of McCoy would have had a particle size in 2 to 5µm.
At the effective filing date at the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yeast of Firoozmand to include the Kluyveromyces of McCoy since the Firoozmand allows for single celled microorganisms inclusive of yeasts and since Kluyveromyces are yeasts and are food safe yeasts.
Although Firoozmand does not explicitly disclose microorganism at 2.5 to 70%, 10 to 70% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmand overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Although Firoozmond does not explicitly disclose oil at 1 to 40%, 20% to 40% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmand overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Although Firoozmand does not explicitly disclose water at 18 to 96.5% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Firoozmond overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Regarding Claims 19 and 22: Firoozmand as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 11. Firoozmand discloses the composition in food [0020; 0022]. The Examiner notes that a 101 rejection has been made in response to claim 22 since it is a use claim and therefore a non-statutory category.
Regarding Claims 20 and 21: Firoozmand discloses as discussed above in claim 19 above. Firoozmand does not disclose that the food product is a beverage.
McCoy discloses wherein a food product can be a beverage [0048]. McCoy discloses yogurt which is known to be used as a sauce [0026]. McCoy also discloses that the yeast can be provided as a paste, syrup, gel, or slurry which is also a form in which sauces are provided [0062].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Firoozmand to include the composition in a beverage or sauce as in McCoy since the composition of Firoozmand is meant for edible compositions.
Response to Arguments
The 103(a) rejections of claims 11-21 over Firoozmand et al. (US 2017/0121671) and in view of Muys et al. (US 3,995, 066) as evidenced by C.A. Batt 2014 “Kluyveromyces” Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology have been withdrawn.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Cox et al. (US 2011/0086157) discloses an oil in water emulsion [abstract; 0011]. Cox discloses food oil in water emulsions and some of the foods as sauce [0002; 0038]. Cox discloses Kluyveromyces as a source of hydrophobin and including the hydrophobin in an oil in water emulsion [0026; claim 1-3].
Frenken et al. (US 2009/0226418) discloses food products containing probiotic microorganisms [abstract]. Frenken discloses that the probiotic microorganism can be Kluyveromyces [0063; 0064; 0065]. Frenken discloses oil in water emulsions [0139; 0157].
Conclusion
/Felicia C Turner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793