DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2024, 10/7/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2020/0152827; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 4-5 of Chen discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (SB/102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0029]) comprising a plurality of pixels (PX; Fig 2; ¶ [0029]); and
a semiconductor light emitting device (EUR; Fig 4-5; ¶ [0032]) in each of the plurality of pixels,
wherein the substrate (SB/102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0029]) comprises an electrode pad part (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]),
wherein the semiconductor light emitting device (EUR; Fig 4-5; ¶ [0032]) comprises an electrode (104/MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]),
wherein the electrode (104/MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) is disposed on the electrode pad part (102/MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]),
wherein at least one of the electrode pad part (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) or the electrode comprises a texture structure (Figs 4-5) and
wherein the electrode (104/MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) and the electrode pad part (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) are configured to overlap each other in a horizontal direction (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Fig 4-5 of Chen discloses the texture structure comprises a spike shape (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 4-5 of Chen discloses at least one of the electrode (104/MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) comprises a diffusion layer (MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses the electrode pad part (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) and the electrode (104/MT2; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) comprises gold (¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses the substrate (SB/102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0029]) comprises a pattern portion (102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0032]) and the electrode pad portion (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) are disposed on the pattern portion.
Regarding claim 6, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses the pattern portion (102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0032]) comprises a first pattern portion comprises a first pattern (102 (1 (different for different LEDS for different pixels); Figs 4-5) comprising a first texture (Figs 4-5), a second pattern (102 (2); Figs 4-5) comprising a second texture (Figs 4-5), a third pattern (102 (3); Figs 4-5) comprising a third texture (Figs 4-5) and a fourth pattern (102 (4); Figs 4-5) comprising a fourth texture, wherein the first to fourth patterns are disposed on a same layer (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses the electrode pad part (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) comprises a first electrode pad (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]; there are multiple MT1 for each electrode corresponding to semiconductor light emitting element) on the first pattern (102; Fig 4), a second electrode pad (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) on the second pattern (102; Fig 4), a third electrode pad (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) on the third pattern (102; Fig 4) and a fourth electrode pad (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) on the fourth pattern (102; Fig 4).
Regarding claim 8, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses a surface of each of the first to fourth electrode pads (MT1; Fig 4; ¶ [0032]) comprises a shape (Fig 5) corresponding to a shape of the surface of each of the first to fourth patterns (102; Figs 4-5; ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Figs 4-5 of Chen discloses the semiconductor light emitting device is disposed on the first to fourth electrode pads (Figs 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/0152827; hereinafter Chen) in view of Kim (US 2020/0402964; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Chen does not expressly disclose the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first light emitting part to generate first light, a second light emitting part to generate a second light and a third light emitting part to generate the third light and
wherein the first light emitting part, the second light emitting part and the third light emitting part comprise a vertically stacked structure.
However Fig 1 of Kim discloses the semiconductor light emitting device can comprise a first light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate first light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]), a second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate a second light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and a third light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate the third light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and
wherein the first light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]), the second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and the third light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) comprise a vertically stacked structure (Fig 1).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first light emitting part to generate first light, a second light emitting part to generate a second light and a third light emitting part to generate the third light in order to form the semiconductor device with vertically stacked requirements and also to achieve desired wavelength of light.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Fig 1 of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Fig 1 of Kim in particular) discloses the first light comprises red light (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]), the second light comprises green light (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and the third light comprises blue light (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Fig 1 of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Fig 1 of Kim in particular) discloses a second diameter of the second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) is larger than a first diameter of the light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and a third diameter of the third light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) is larger than the second diameter of the second light emitting part.
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Fig 1 of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Fig 1 of Kim in particular) discloses a electrode comprises a first electrode (175; Fig 1 of Kim) on a first side (Left side; Fig 1) of the first light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]), a second electrode (172; Fig 1 of Kim) on a first side (Left side; Fig 1) of the second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0054]), a third electrode (171; Fig 1 of Kim) on a first side of the third light, and a fourth electrode (174/173; Fig 1 of Kim) on a second side (Right side; Fig 1) of each of the first light part, the second light emitting part and the third light emitting part.
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Fig 1 of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Fig 1 of Kim in particular) discloses each of the first electrode, the second electrode, the third electrode and the fourth electrode comprises different length. (Figs 1, 17).
Second Interpretation
Regarding claim 10, Chen does not expressly disclose the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first light emitting part to generate first light, a second light emitting part to generate a second light and a third light emitting part to generate the third light and
wherein the first light emitting part, the second light emitting part and the third light emitting part comprise a vertically stacked structure.
However Fig 1 of Kim discloses the semiconductor light emitting device can comprise a first light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate first light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]), a second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate a second light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and a third light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) to generate the third light (Fig 1; ¶ [0054]) and
wherein the first light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]), the second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and the third light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) comprise a vertically stacked structure (Fig 1).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first light emitting part to generate first light, a second light emitting part to generate a second light and a third light emitting part to generate the third light in order to form the semiconductor device with vertically stacked requirements and also to achieve desired wavelength of light.
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Fig 1 of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Fig 1 of Kim in particular) discloses the second light emitting part (120; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) is disposed on the first light emitting part (110; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and the third light emitting part (150; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) is disposed on the second light emitting part.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “the first electrode is disposed on the first electrode pad, the second electrode is disposed on the second electrode pad, the third electrode is disposed on the third electrode pad and the fourth electrode is disposed on the fourth electrode pad ”.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “a first selective penetration part between the first light emitting part and the second light emitting part, and a second selective penetration part between the second light emitting part and the third light emitting part”.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a porous layer on the third light emitting part and a protrusion on the third light emitting part”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al (US 2016/0240517)
Yong et al (US 2019/0393850)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817