DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO’144 (WO 2021201144, cited in IDS, Machine Translation is provided).
Regarding claim 1, WO’144 discloses a display device comprising (Figs. 29E, 34A, 35B, 35C) : a plurality of light emitting elements (12); an insulating member (411); and a common electrode (413), wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (12) is two- dimensionally arranged, the light emitting elements (12) each include a first electrode (121), an organic layer (122) including a light emitting layer (122M), and a second electrode (123) in this order, the first electrode, the organic layer, and the second electrode are isolated for each of the light emitting elements, the common electrode (413) is provided on the second electrodes (123) of two or more of the light emitting elements (12), and the insulating member (411) covers a lateral surface of the organic layer (122) of each of the light emitting elements (12).
Regarding claim 2, WO’144 discloses wherein the insulating member includes a plurality of sidewalls (411), and each of the sidewalls covers the lateral surface of the organic layer of a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (12).
Regarding claim 3, WO’144 discloses wherein a peripheral edge of the organic layer (122) is located inside a peripheral edge of the first electrode, and the common electrode (143) covers the sidewalls.
Regarding claim 4, WO’144 disclose wherein an inner periphery of each of the sidewalls (143) is located inside the peripheral edge of the first electrode (121), and an outer periphery of each of the sidewalls is located outside the peripheral edge of the first electrode (121).
Regarding claim 7, WO’144 discloses wherein the insulating member (411) includes a second insulating layer (412) provided between the light emitting elements adjacent to each other.
Regarding claim 8, WO’144 discloses wherein an upper surface of the second insulating layer (412) is almost the same in height as a top portion of each of the light emitting elements (12) (Fig.35C).
Regarding claim 12, WO’144 discloses wherein the common electrode (413) is in contact with an entire upper surface of the second electrode (123) (note: claim does not require direct contact).
Regarding claim 13, WO’144 discloses an electronic device comprising the display device according to claim 1 ([0007]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCormick (US 2004/0119403).
Regarding claim 1, McCormick discloses a display device comprising: a plurality of light emitting elements (Fig.12B, numeral 220); an insulating member (240); (460); and a common electrode, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (220) is two- dimensionally arranged, the light emitting elements each include a first electrode (210), an organic layer including a light emitting layer ([0052]), and a second electrode (230) in this order, the first electrode, the organic layer, and the second electrode are isolated for each of the light emitting elements, the common electrode (250) is provided on the second electrodes of two or more of the light emitting elements (220), and the insulating member (460) covers a lateral surface of the organic layer of each of the light emitting elements (220).
Regarding claim 2, McCormick discloses wherein the insulating member (240); (460) includes a plurality of sidewalls, and each of the sidewalls covers the lateral surface of the organic layer of a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (220).
Regarding claim 5, McCormick discloses comprising a first insulating layer (Fig.12B, numeral 460), wherein the first insulating layer (460) is provided between the sidewalls of the light emitting elements (220) adjacent to each other, and the common electrode (250) is provided on the first insulating layer (460).
Regarding claim 6, McCormick wherein an upper surface of the first insulating layer (460) is almost the same in height as a top portion of each of the light emitting elements (220).
Regarding claim 12, McCormick discloses wherein the common electrode (Fig.10A, numeral 250) is in contact with an entire upper surface of the second electrode (230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’ 144 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO’862 (WO 2020/100862, wherein US 2021/0376286, is used as English equivalent for the purpose of translation).
Regarding claim 10, WO’144 does not disclose a light shielding layer, wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode, and the light shielding layer has a plurality of openings, each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements.
WO’862 however discloses a light shielding layer (Fig.16, numeral 23), wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode (12C), and the light shielding layer has a plurality of openings (Fig.16), each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (12).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify WO’144 with WO’862 to have a light shielding layer, wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode, and the light shielding layer has a plurality of openings, each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements for the purpose of suppressing reflected light (WO’ 862, [0118]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’144 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2020/0343315).
Regarding claim 10, WO’144 does not disclose a light shielding layer, wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode, and the light shielding layer has a plurality of openings, each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements.
Lin however discloses a light shielding layer (Fig.2, numeral 180), wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode (134), and the light shielding layer (180) has a plurality of openings (Fig.2), each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (LU).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify WO’144 with Lin to have a light shielding layer, wherein the light shielding layer is provided on the common electrode, and the light shielding layer has a plurality of openings, each of the openings being provided for a corresponding one of the light emitting elements for the purpose of suppressing unwanted light (Lin, [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses an auxiliary electrode (Fgi.2, numeral AE), wherein the auxiliary electrode is provided at a peripheral edge of a region where the plurality of light emitting elements (LU) is provided, the auxiliary electrode (AE) is connected to the common electrode (134), and the light shielding layer (180) covers the auxiliary electrode (AE).
Claim(s) 7 -9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN’765 (CN 109509765, cited in IDS, Machine Translation is provided).
Regarding claim 7, McCorminck does not disclose wherein the insulating member includes a second insulating layer provided between the light emitting elements adjacent to each other.
CN’765 discloses wherein the insulating member includes a second insulating layer (Fig.13, numeral 700) provided between the light emitting elements (500) adjacent to each other.
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify McCormick with CN’765 to have the insulating member includes a second insulating layer provided between the light emitting elements adjacent to each other for the purpose of forming anti-short circuit (CN’765, page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 8, CN’765 discloses wherein an upper surface of the second insulating layer (702) is almost the same in height as a top portion of each of the light emitting elements (500) (Fig.13).
Regarding claim 9, CN’765 discloses wherein the second insulating layer (700) includes a plurality of layers (701), (702) and the plurality of layers is different from each other in at least one of refractive index or composition (page 4, paragraph 8)
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891