DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7: “penetrates and that holds” should be “penetrates, and [[that]] the holding portion holds”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwase et al (US 2017/0197035).
Regarding claim 1, Iwase discloses:
A needle assembly (2; Fig. 2) comprising: an injection needle (12) that includes a needle tube (12) in which a blade surface (¶0040) is formed at a needle tip (12a) and that is inserted into an administration site (¶0067); and a needle hub (13) that holds the injection needle (12), wherein the needle hub (13) includes a holding portion (47) that has a penetration region (¶0092 – the needle 12 passes through the close contact portion and forms a liquid tight contact surface, and therefore penetrates the region) through which the injection needle (12) penetrates and that holds the injection needle (12) penetrating the penetration region (¶0061), and an insertion portion (43) that is disposed on a distal end side of the holding portion (47) and that guides a proximal end portion of the injection needle (12) to the penetration region such that a puncture direction of the injection needle and a center line of the penetration region overlap with each other (Fig. 3 – because the puncture direction of the needle is vertical and the center line is also vertical, they overlap and are parallel).
Regarding claim 2, Iwase discloses:
The needle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the insertion portion (43) includes an opening portion (46) having a tapered axial cross section (Fig. 3) in which an inner diameter gradually decreases from the distal end toward the proximal end (¶0089), and a guide portion (walls of holding portion 47) that is provided in a recessed shape (48) from the proximal end of the opening portion (46) toward the holding portion (47) and guides the puncture direction of the proximal end portion of the injection needle (12) along the center line of the penetration region (Fig. 3 – because the puncture direction of the needle is vertical and the center line is also vertical, they overlap and are parallel).
Regarding claim 7, Iwase discloses the needle assembly according to claim 1, where the functionally claimed administration site is fully capable of being a biological tissue thinner than an upper layer portion of a human skin in a human or a small non-human animal.
Regarding claim 8, Iwase discloses:
An administration device (Fig. 1) comprising: the needle assembly (2) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1); and a syringe (3) that has a first tubular portion (6) disposed on the proximal end side of the needle hub (13) and a second tubular (4) portion disposed on the proximal end side of the first tubular portion (6) and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the first tubular portion (¶0029), and that is connected (Fig. 4) to the needle hub (13) of the needle assembly (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase.
Regarding claim 4, Iwase discloses the needle assembly according to claim 1 and further discloses a needle outer diameter of 0.2 mm (¶0039) but is silent regarding “an outer diameter of the injection needle is in a range of 0.08 mm or more and 0.18 mm or less.” It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the needle to be in a range of 0.08 mm or more and 0.18 mm or less as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (instant ¶0087, the diameter “may” be in the range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783