DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the National Stage Application filed 17 May 2024. Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8, 10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yanagisawa discloses (as shown in Figs. 18A-19D) A method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0431] Next, an example of a method for manufacturing the display apparatus 100), comprising:
forming a first pixel electrode ([0443] the pixel electrode 111 (the pixel electrodes 111a…)) and a second pixel electrode([0443] the pixel electrode 111 (the pixel electrodes … 111b…)) over a first insulating layer ([0443] insulating layer 105 ); ([0443] A conductive film is formed over the insulating layer 105 and the plug 139, and an unnecessary portion of the conductive film is removed while a portion overlapping with the plug 139 remains, thereby forming the pixel electrode 111 (the pixel electrodes 111a, 111b, 111c, 111e, 111f, 111g, and 111h))
etching part of the first insulating layer (105) to form a depressed portion([0444] Next, the groove 175) ([0444] Next, the groove 175 is formed in the insulating layer 105 (see FIG. 18A). The groove 175 can be formed by an isotropic etching method.)
comprising a region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111a), a region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111b), and a region overlapping with neither the first pixel electrode (111a) nor the second pixel electrode (111b); (See Fig. 18A, showing the groove 175 has a portion under the pixel electrode 111a, a portion under the pixel electrode 111b, and a portion not under either pixel electrode)
forming a first organic film ([0446] Next, the film 113af) ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound.) over the first pixel electrode (111a), the second pixel electrode (111b), and the first insulating layer (105) to form a first organic layer over the first pixel electrode (111a) and form a second organic layer over the second pixel electrode (111b); ([0446] Next, the film 113af is formed over the insulating layer 105, the pixel electrode 111a, the pixel electrode 111b, and the pixel electrode 111c) ([0449] In the formation of the film 113af, disconnection occurs in the film 113af by the groove 175. As a result, an island-shaped layer is formed over the pixel electrode 111a. The layer 113a, the layer 113e, and the layer 113h can be formed by removing an unnecessary region of the film 113af other than the island-shaped layers over the pixel electrode 111a, the pixel electrode 111e, and the pixel electrode 111h, for example.)
forming a second insulating layer ([0450] insulating layer 118af) over the first organic layer (113a); ([0450] Next, the insulating film 118af is formed over the film 113af and the insulating layer 105.)
removing the second organic layer; ([0464] Next, part of the film 113af is removed by etching treatment using the insulating layer 118a, the insulating layer 118e, and the insulating layer 118h as hard masks)
forming a second organic film ([0470] the film 113bf) ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound.) over the first organic layer (113a), the second pixel electrode (111b), and the first insulating layer (105) to form a third organic layer (113b) over the second pixel electrode (11b) and form a fourth organic layer over the first organic layer; ([0470] The film 113bf is formed over the pixel electrode 111b, the pixel electrode 111c, the insulating layer 105, and the insulating layer 118a)
forming a third insulating layer ([0473] the insulating film 118bf) over the third organic layer (113bf); ([0473] Next, the insulating film 118bf is formed over the film 113bf and the insulating layer 105)
removing the fourth organic layer; ([0480] Next, part of the film 113bf is removed by etching treatment using the insulating layer 118b and the insulating layer 118f as hard masks)
forming a resin layer ([0491] insulating layer 127) ([0492] For the insulating layer 127, an insulating layer containing an organic material, for example, a resin layer can be used.) over the first insulating layer (105), the second insulating layer (118a), and the third insulating layer (118b); ([0491] Subsequently, a film to be the insulating layer 127 is formed over the insulating layer 105, the insulating layer 118a, the insulating layer 118b)
removing part of the resin layer (127), part of the second insulating layer (118a), and part of the third insulating layer (118b) to form a first opening portion reaching the first organic layer (113a) in the resin layer (127) and the second insulating layer (118b) and form a second opening portion reaching the third organic layer (113b) in the resin layer (127) and the third insulating layer (118b); ([0500] Next, development is performed to remove the light-exposure region of the film to be the resin layer) ([0503] In the case where the resin layer is used as the insulating layer 127, etching treatment is subsequently performed using the insulating layer 127 as a mask, thereby removing part of the insulating layer 118a, part of the insulating layer 118b) (See Fig. 19C)
and forming a common electrode ([0513] Next, the common electrode 115) that overlaps with the first organic layer (113a) through the first opening portion and overlaps with the third organic layer (113b) through the second opening portion. ([0514] The common electrode 115 is formed to overlap with the layer 113a, the layer 113b, the layer 113c, and the conductive layer 123 in opening portions formed in the insulating layer 127 and the insulating layer 118a.)
Regarding Claim 8, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 18A-19D) wherein the first organic film (113a) comprises a light-emitting compound emitting light having intensity in a red-wavelength range, a green-wavelength range, or a blue- wavelength range, ([0284] The light-emitting devices 130a, 130b, and 130c emit light of different colors. Preferably, the light-emitting devices 130a, 130b, and 130c emit light of three colors, red (R), green (G), and blue (B), for example.)
and wherein the second organic film (113b) comprises a light-emitting compound emitting light having intensity in a wavelength range that is any of the red-wavelength range, the green-wavelength range, and the blue-wavelength range and is different from the wavelength range of the color of the first organic film. ([0170] the layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c contain light-emitting materials exhibiting different colors) ([0284] The light-emitting devices 130a, 130b, and 130c emit light of different colors. Preferably, the light-emitting devices 130a, 130b, and 130c emit light of three colors, red (R), green (G), and blue (B), for example.)
Regarding Claim 10, Yanagisawa discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) A display apparatus ([0124] FIG. 1A is a top view of a display apparatus 100) comprising: a first insulating layer ([0164] In the pixel 110 and the like, an insulating layer 105);
A first light-emitting element ([0162] The subpixel 110a includes a light-emitting device 130a) and a second light-emitting element ([0162] light-emitting device 130b)
a second insulating layer; ([0181] An insulating layer 118a)
a third insulating layer; ([0181] an insulating layer 118b)
and a resin layer ([0356] The resin layer provided over the insulating layer containing an inorganic material, which can be used for the insulating layer 127) over the first insulating layer (105), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 127 on the insulating layer 105)
wherein the first light-emitting element (130) comprises a first pixel electrode ([0177] pixel electrode 111a), a first organic layer ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound), and a common electrode ([0177] common layer 114), ([0177] The light-emitting device 130a includes the pixel electrode 111a, the layer 113a, a common layer 114, and a common electrode 115)
wherein the second light-emitting element ([0162] light-emitting device 130b) comprises a second pixel electrode ([0177] pixel electrode 111b), a second organic layer ([0807] One or both of an inorganic semiconductor and an organic semiconductor can be used for an active layer of the photoelectric conversion device.), and the common electrode ([0177] common layer 114), ([0177] The light-emitting device 130b includes the pixel electrode 111b, the layer 113b, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115)
wherein each of the first organic layer (113a) and the second organic layer (113b) comprises a light-emitting layer, ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound)
wherein the first insulating layer (105) comprises a depressed portion, ([0164] In the pixel 110 and the like, an insulating layer 105 has a groove 175 provided to surround the light-emitting device 130.) ([0279] The insulating layer 105 may have a depressed portion between adjacent light-emitting devices.)
wherein the depressed portion (175) a groove-like region provided along a side of the first pixel electrode in a plan view, ([0164] In the pixel 110 and the like, an insulating layer 105 has a groove 175 provided to surround the light-emitting device 130.)
wherein the groove-like region (175) comprises a first region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 18a, showing the groove 175 undercuts the pixel electrode 111a)
a second region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 18a, showing the groove 175 undercuts the pixel electrode 111b)
wherein the first region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, ([0244] The width W2 is set to a width such that disconnection of the layer 113 occurs. The width W2 is preferably … or greater than or equal to 20 nm, and less than or equal to 500 nm)
wherein the second region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, ([0244] The width W2 is set to a width such that disconnection of the layer 113 occurs. The width W2 is preferably … or greater than or equal to 20 nm, and less than or equal to 500 nm)
wherein the second insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113a), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (111a), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113a, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111a, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the third insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (113b), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (113b), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113b, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111b, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the resin layer (127) comprises a region located in the depressed portion, ([0233] The insulating layer 127 is preferably provided to fill a depressed portion between adjacent light-emitting devices.)
and wherein the common electrode (131) is provided to cover a top surface of the resin layer (127). (See Fig. 6C)
Regarding Claim 12, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein the second insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with the first insulating layer (105) below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a is in contact with the insulating layer 105 in the groove beneath the pixel electrode 111a)
and wherein the third insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with the first insulating layer (105) below the second pixel electrode (111b). (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b is in contact with the insulating layer 105 in the groove beneath the pixel electrode 111b)
Regarding Claim 13, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein a shortest distance between an end portion of the first pixel electrode (111a) and an end portion of the second pixel electrode (111b) is larger than twice a thickness of the first organic layer (113a). ([0241] A width W1 illustrated in FIG. 14A is the width of the groove 175 in a region not overlapping with the pixel electrode 111 in the X1-X2 direction. Note that in the display apparatus 100 illustrated in FIG. 14A, the width W1 can be rephrased as the shortest distance between the end portions of the pixel electrodes 111 that face each other… [0242] The width W1 is preferably greater than twice the thickness of the layer 113.)
Regarding Claim 14, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein the depressed portion has a downward-convex arc shape in a cross- sectional view. ([0238] As illustrated in FIG. 6C and the like, the groove 175 preferably has a downward-convex arc shape in the cross-sectional view of the display apparatus 100)
Regarding Claim 15, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein each of the second insulating layer (118a) and the third insulating layer (118b) comprises aluminum and oxygen. ([0337] As the insulating layer 118, one or more of a metal film, an alloy film, a metal oxide film, a semiconductor film, an organic insulating film, and an inorganic insulating film can be used, for example… For example, an inorganic insulating material such as aluminum oxide, hafnium oxide, or silicon oxide can be used.)
Alternatively, Claims 10 can be rejected under 35 USC 102a(2) as anticipated by Aoyama et. al (US 2025/0107319 A1). Claim(s) 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Aoyama et. al (US 2025/0107319 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Aoyama discloses (as shown in Fig. 8A) A display apparatus comprising:
a first insulating layer; ([0087] As the insulating layer 105)
a first light-emitting element ([0124] FIG. 6A illustrates a subpixel 11R... that correspond to emission regions of the red-light-emitting device 110R), a second light-emitting element ([0124] a subpixel 11G… that correspond to emission regions of … the green-light-emitting device 110G), and a resin layer ([0134] insulating layer 126) ([0238] resin layer 126) over the first insulating layer (105); (See Fig.8A, showing the red-light-emitting device 110R, the green-light-emitting device 110G, and resin layer 126 above the insulating layer 105)
a second insulating layer; ([0209] Next, an insulating film 125A)
and a third insulating layer, ([0226] Next, an insulating film 125B)
wherein the first light-emitting element (110R) comprises a first pixel electrode ([0136] lower electrode 111R), a first organic layer ([0137] The red-light-emitting device 110R), and a common electrode ([0136] upper electrode 113) ([0252] Next, a common electrode 113x is formed over the common layer 114), ([0136] The red-light-emitting device 110R includes a lower electrode 111R and the upper electrode 113 in a position facing the lower electrode 111R.) ([0137] The red-light-emitting device 110R includes the organic layer 112R between the lower electrode 111R and the upper electrode 113)
wherein the second light-emitting element (110G) comprises a second pixel electrode ([0136] lower electrode 111G), a second organic layer ([0140] organic layer 112G), and the common electrode (113), ([0136] The green-light-emitting device 110G includes a lower electrode 111G and the upper electrode 113 in a position facing the lower electrode 111G) ([0140] The green-light-emitting device 110G includes the organic layer 112G between the lower electrode 111G and the upper electrode 113)
wherein each of the first organic layer (112R) and the second organic layer (112G) comprises a light-emitting layer, (It is preferable that the organic layer 112R include at least one light-emitting layer) ([0140] It is preferable that the organic layer 112G include at least one light-emitting layer)
wherein the first insulating layer (105) comprises a depressed portion, ([0093] The insulating layer 105 including the depressed portion 103)
wherein the depressed portion (103) comprises a groove-like region provided along a side of the first pixel electrode (111R) in a plan view, (See Fig. 8A)
wherein the groove-like region (103) comprises a first region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111R) and a second region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111G), (See fig. 8A)
wherein the first region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, ([0092] The protruding portion 107 preferably has a length greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm and less than or equal to 300 nm from the upper end of the insulating layer 105 to define the depressed portion in a cross-sectional view.)
wherein the second region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, , ([0092] The protruding portion 107 preferably has a length greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm and less than or equal to 300 nm from the upper end of the insulating layer 105 to define the depressed portion in a cross-sectional view.)
wherein the second insulating layer (125A) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (112R), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (112R), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111R), (See Fig. 8A, showing the insulating layer 125A wraps from the top of the first organic layer 112R around the side of the first organic layer 112R, and under the insulating layer 106A below the first pixel electrode 111R)
wherein the third insulating layer (125B) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (112G), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (112G), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111G), (See Fig. 8A, showing the insulating layer 125B wraps from the top of the second organic layer 112G around the side of the second organic layer 112G, and under the insulating layer 106B below the second pixel electrode 111G)
wherein the resin layer (126) comprises a region located in the depressed portion (108), (See Fig. 8A)
and wherein the common electrode (113) comprises a region covering a top surface of the resin layer (126). (See Fig. 8A, showing the upper electrode 113 over the resin layer 126)
Regarding Claim 16, Aoyama discloses (as shown in Fig. 8A) A display apparatus comprising:
a first insulating layer; ([0087] As the insulating layer 105)
a second insulating layer ([0126] insulating layer 106R), a third insulating layer ([0126] insulating layer 106G), and a resin layer ([0134] insulating layer 126) ([0238] resin layer 126) over the first insulating layer (105); (See Fig.8A, showing the insulating layer 106R, the insulating layer 106G, and resin layer 126 above the insulating layer 105)
a first light-emitting element ([0124] FIG. 6A illustrates a subpixel 11R... that correspond to emission regions of the red-light-emitting device 110R) over the second insulating layer (106R); ([0126] As illustrated in FIG. 6A, the red-light-emitting device 110R is positioned over an insulating layer 106R)
a second light-emitting element a second light-emitting element ([0124] a subpixel 11G… that correspond to emission regions of … the green-light-emitting device 110G) over the third insulating layer (106G); ([0126] The green-light-emitting device 110G is positioned over an insulating layer 106G)
a fourth insulating layer; ([0209] Next, an insulating film 125A)
and a fifth insulating layer, ([0226] Next, an insulating film 125B)
wherein the first insulating layer (105) is an organic insulating layer, ([0087] As the insulating layer 105, an insulating layer including an inorganic material or an organic material can be used. As the organic material, a photosensitive organic resin is preferably used; for example, a photosensitive resin composition containing an acrylic resin is used.)
wherein the second insulating layer (106R) and the third insulating layer (106G) are inorganic insulating layers, ([0091] As the insulating layer 106, an inorganic insulating film such as an oxide insulating film, a nitride insulating film, an oxynitride insulating film, or a nitride oxide insulating film can be used)
wherein the first light-emitting element (110R) comprises a first pixel electrode ([0136] lower electrode 111R), a first organic layer ([0137] The red-light-emitting device 110R), and a common electrode ([0136] upper electrode 113) ([0252] Next, a common electrode 113x is formed over the common layer 114), ([0136] The red-light-emitting device 110R includes a lower electrode 111R and the upper electrode 113 in a position facing the lower electrode 111R.) ([0137] The red-light-emitting device 110R includes the organic layer 112R between the lower electrode 111R and the upper electrode 113)
wherein the second light-emitting element (110G) comprises a second pixel electrode ([0136] lower electrode 111G), a second organic layer ([0140] organic layer 112G), and the common electrode (113), ([0136] The green-light-emitting device 110G includes a lower electrode 111G and the upper electrode 113 in a position facing the lower electrode 111G) ([0140] The green-light-emitting device 110G includes the organic layer 112G between the lower electrode 111G and the upper electrode 113)
wherein the first insulating layer (105) comprises a depressed portion, ([0093] The insulating layer 105 including the depressed portion 103)
wherein the depressed portion (103) comprises a groove-like region provided along a side of the first pixel electrode (111R) in a plan view, (See Fig. 8A)
wherein the groove-like region (103) comprises a first region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111R) and a second region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111G), (See fig. 8A)
wherein the first region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, ([0092] The protruding portion 107 preferably has a length greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm and less than or equal to 300 nm from the upper end of the insulating layer 105 to define the depressed portion in a cross-sectional view.)
wherein the second region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, , ([0092] The protruding portion 107 preferably has a length greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm and less than or equal to 300 nm from the upper end of the insulating layer 105 to define the depressed portion in a cross-sectional view.)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (125A) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (112R), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (112R), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111R), (See Fig. 8A, showing the insulating layer 125A wraps from the top of the first organic layer 112R around the side of the first organic layer 112R, and under the insulating layer 106A below the first pixel electrode 111R)
wherein the fifth insulating layer (125B) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (112G), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (112G), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111G), (See Fig. 8A, showing the insulating layer 125B wraps from the top of the second organic layer 112G around the side of the second organic layer 112G, and under the insulating layer 106B below the second pixel electrode 111G)
wherein the resin layer (126) comprises a region located in the depressed portion (108), (See Fig. 8A)
and wherein the common electrode (113) comprises a region covering a top surface of the resin layer (126). (See Fig. 8A, showing the upper electrode 113 over the resin layer 126)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1) in view of Kamada et.al (US 20210327979 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yanagisawa discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) A display apparatus ([0124] FIG. 1A is a top view of a display apparatus 100) comprising: a first insulating layer ([0164] In the pixel 110 and the like, an insulating layer 105);
a light-emitting element ([0161] Each of the subpixels 110a, 110b, and 110c preferably includes a light-emitting device) and a light-receiving element ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) over the first insulating layer (105); (See Fig. 6C, showing the light emitting devices 130a-c on the insulating layer 105)
a second insulating layer; ([0181] An insulating layer 118a)
a third insulating layer; ([0181] an insulating layer 118b)
and a resin layer ([0356] The resin layer provided over the insulating layer containing an inorganic material, which can be used for the insulating layer 127) over the first insulating layer (105), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 127 on the insulating layer 105)
wherein the light-emitting element (130) comprises a first pixel electrode ([0177] pixel electrode 111a), a first organic layer ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound), and a common electrode ([0177] common layer 114), ([0177] The light-emitting device 130a includes the pixel electrode 111a, the layer 113a, a common layer 114, and a common electrode 115)
wherein the light-receiving element ([0162] light-emitting device 130b) ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) comprises a second pixel electrode ([0177] pixel electrode 111b), a second organic layer ([0807] One or both of an inorganic semiconductor and an organic semiconductor can be used for an active layer of the photoelectric conversion device.), and the common electrode ([0177] common layer 114), ([0177] The light-emitting device 130b includes the pixel electrode 111b, the layer 113b, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115)
wherein the first organic layer (113a) comprises a light-emitting layer, ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound)
wherein the second organic layer (113b) comprises a photoelectric conversion layer, ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.)
wherein the first insulating layer (105) comprises a depressed portion, ([0164] In the pixel 110 and the like, an insulating layer 105 has a groove 175 provided to surround the light-emitting device 130.) ([0279] The insulating layer 105 may have a depressed portion between adjacent light-emitting devices.)
wherein the depressed portion (175) comprises a region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 18a, showing the groove 175 undercuts the pixel electrode 111a)
a region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 18a, showing the groove 175 undercuts the pixel electrode 111b)
and a region overlapping with neither the first pixel electrode (111a) nor the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 18a, showing the groove 175 extends between the pixel electrodes 111a and 111b)
wherein the second insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113a), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (111a), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113a, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111a, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the third insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (113b), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (113b), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113b, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111b, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the resin layer (127) comprises a region located in the depressed portion, ([0233] The insulating layer 127 is preferably provided to fill a depressed portion between adjacent light-emitting devices.)
and wherein the common electrode (131) is provided to cover a top surface of the resin layer (127). (See Fig. 6C)
While Yanagisawa teaches that a light-receiving device can be fabricated by replacing the layer 113 ([0161] Each of the subpixels 110a, 110b, and 110c preferably includes a light-emitting device) and a light-receiving element ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) it does not provide a rationale for arranging a light emitting device next to a light receiving device.
Kamada discloses (as shown in Fig. 2A) a light emitting device next to a light receiving device. (See Fig. 2A)
Kamada teaches that placing light receiving elements next to light emitting elements allows for sensing contact even in a dark place. ([0054] When the object reflects light emitted by the light-emitting element included in the display portion, the light-receiving element can sense the reflected light; thus, the display device of this embodiment enables capturing an image and detection of touch (including near touch) even in a dark place.) Therefore, it would have been obvious based on the teachings of Kamada to place the light receiving elements in Yanagisawa next to the light-emitting elements like in Kamada in order to allow contact sensing even in dark places.
Regarding Claim 2, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein the second insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with the first insulating layer (105) below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a is in contact with the insulating layer 105 in the groove beneath the pixel electrode 111a)
and wherein the third insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with the first insulating layer (105) below the second pixel electrode (111b). (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b is in contact with the insulating layer 105 in the groove beneath the pixel electrode 111b)
Regarding Claim 3, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein a shortest distance between an end portion of the first pixel electrode (111a) and an end portion of the second pixel electrode (111b) is larger than twice a thickness of the first organic layer (113a). ([0241] A width W1 illustrated in FIG. 14A is the width of the groove 175 in a region not overlapping with the pixel electrode 111 in the X1-X2 direction. Note that in the display apparatus 100 illustrated in FIG. 14A, the width W1 can be rephrased as the shortest distance between the end portions of the pixel electrodes 111 that face each other… [0242] The width W1 is preferably greater than twice the thickness of the layer 113.)
Regarding Claim 4, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein the depressed portion has a downward-convex arc shape in a cross- sectional view. ([0238] As illustrated in FIG. 6C and the like, the groove 175 preferably has a downward-convex arc shape in the cross-sectional view of the display apparatus 100)
Regarding Claim 5, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) wherein each of the second insulating layer (118a) and the third insulating layer (118b) comprises aluminum and oxygen. ([0337] As the insulating layer 118, one or more of a metal film, an alloy film, a metal oxide film, a semiconductor film, an organic insulating film, and an inorganic insulating film can be used, for example… For example, an inorganic insulating material such as aluminum oxide, hafnium oxide, or silicon oxide can be used.)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Kamada et.al (US 20210327979 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yanagisawa further discloses (as shown in Fig. 18A-19D)
wherein the first organic film (113a) comprises a light-emitting compound, ([0178] The layer 113a, the layer 113b, and the layer 113c each preferably contain a light-emitting organic compound.)
and wherein the second organic film (113b) comprises an organic semiconductor. ([0807] In the case of using an optical touch sensor, a photoelectric conversion device (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion element) can be used as a light-receiving device (also referred to as a light-receiving element). One or both of an inorganic semiconductor and an organic semiconductor can be used for an active layer of the photoelectric conversion device.)
While Yanagisawa teaches that a light-receiving device can be fabricated by replacing the layer 113 ([0161] Each of the subpixels 110a, 110b, and 110c preferably includes a light-emitting device) and a light-receiving element ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) it does not provide a rationale for arranging a light emitting device next to a light receiving device.
Kamada discloses (as shown in Fig. 2A) a light emitting device next to a light receiving device. (See Fig. 2A)
Kamada teaches that placing light receiving elements next to light emitting elements allows for sensing contact even in a dark place. ([0054] When the object reflects light emitted by the light-emitting element included in the display portion, the light-receiving element can sense the reflected light; thus, the display device of this embodiment enables capturing an image and detection of touch (including near touch) even in a dark place.) Therefore, it would have been obvious based on the teachings of Kamada to place the light receiving elements in Yanagisawa next to the light-emitting elements like in Kamada in order to allow contact sensing even in dark places.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Nakamura et. al (US 2024/0423027 A1)
Regarding Claim 11, Yanagisawa fails to disclose wherein the groove-like region has a depth greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 3000 nm.
Nakamura discloses (as shown in Fig. 1B) wherein the groove-like region ([0114] the insulating layer 101 includes a depressed portion 108) has a depth greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 3000 nm. ([0121] Here, the depth D of the depressed portion 108 is preferably greater than or equal to 50 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 150 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 300 nm, still further preferably greater than or equal to 450 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 600 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 700 nm. In addition, the depth D of the depressed portion 108 is preferably less than or equal to 10 μm, further preferably less than or equal to 5 μm, still further preferably less than or equal to 4 μm, yet still further preferably less than or equal to 3 μm.)
Nakamura teaches that as the depth of the depressed region increases, the disconnection in the EL layer is more easily generated ([0120] In addition, the disconnection is easily generated in the EL layer 113 as a depth D of the depressed portion 108 is deeper, that is, the length in the Z direction of the depressed portion 108 is increased, which is preferable.). Nakamura further teaches that if the depressed portion is too deep, the productivity of the display device is reduced. ([0120] By contrast, when the depth D of the depressed portion 108 is too deep, the productivity of the display device may be reduced, for example.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the depth of the depressed region be above a certain distance in order to more easily generate the disconnection in the EL layer, while also having the depth of the depressed region below a certain amount in order to not reduce productivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the depth of the depressed region in Nakamura as it is known to be sufficient to more easily generate the disconnection in the EL layer, while also not reducing productivity.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et. al (US 2024/0423027 A1) and further in view of Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1) and Kamada et.al (US 20210327979 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamura discloses (as shown in Fig. 1B, 2B) A display apparatus ([0102] the display device 100) comprising:
a first insulating layer ([0102] an insulating layer 101);
a second insulating layer ([0102] insulating layer 103a) and a third insulating layer ([0102] an insulating layer 103b) over the first insulating layer (101); ([0102] insulating layer 103a, an insulating layer 103b, and an insulating layer 103c over the insulating layer 101)
a light-emitting element ([0102] The light-emitting element 130a) over the second insulating layer (103a); ([0102] The light-emitting element 130a is provided over the insulating layer 103a)
a second light-emitting element ([0102] light-emitting device 130b) over the third insulating layer (103b); ([0102] the light-emitting element 130b is provided over the insulating layer 103b)
a fourth insulating layer; ([0103] An insulating layer 141)
and a resin layer ([0185] That is, the insulating layer 143 can be an organic insulating layer. As the organic material, a photosensitive material such as a photosensitive organic resin is preferably used) over the first insulating layer (101); (See Fig. 2B, showing the insulating layer 143 on the insulating layer 101)
wherein the first insulating layer (101) is an organic insulating layer, ([0127] For example, in the case where an organic material is used for the insulating layer 101)
wherein the second insulating layer (103a) and the third insulating layer (103b) are inorganic insulating layers, ([0027] an inorganic material is used for the insulating layer 103)
wherein the light-emitting element (130a) comprises a first pixel electrode, a first organic layer, and a common electrode, ([0111] The light-emitting element 130a includes a pixel electrode 111a over the insulating layer 103a, an island-shaped EL layer 113 over the pixel electrode 111a, a common layer 114 over the EL layer 113, and a common electrode 115 over the common layer 114.) ([0108] As the light-emitting element 130, an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) )wherein the light-receiving element comprises a second pixel electrode, a second organic layer, and the common electrode,
wherein the first organic layer (113) comprises a light-emitting layer, ([0111] island-shaped EL layer 113)
wherein the first insulating layer (101) comprises a depressed portion ([0114] depressed portion 108), ([0114] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, the insulating layer 101 includes a depressed portion 108)
wherein the depressed portion (108) comprises a first region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111a) and a second region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111b), ([0114] . Part of the insulating layer 103 overlaps with the depressed portion 108; specifically, an end portion 145 of the insulating layer 103 overlaps with the depressed portion 108. That is, the insulating layer 103 includes a projecting portion overlapping with the depressed portion 108.)
and a region overlapping with neither the first pixel electrode (111a) nor the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 2B)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (141) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (113), and a region in contact with the third insulating layer (103b) below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 2A, showing the insulating layer 141 wraps around from the top of the EL layer 113 to the side of the EL layer 113, to the bottom of the insulating layer 103b)
wherein the resin layer (143) comprises a region located in the depressed portion (108), (See Fig. 2A)
and wherein the common electrode (115) comprises a region covering a top surface of the resin layer (143). ([0172] The common layer 114 and the common electrode 115 are provided not only over the light-emitting element 130 but also over the insulating layer 143.
However, Nakamura fails to disclose:
a light-receiving element over the third insulating layer;
a fourth insulating layer and a fifth insulating layer (as separate insulating layers);
wherein the light-receiving element comprises a second pixel electrode, a second organic layer, and the common electrode,
wherein the second organic layer comprises a photoelectric conversion layer,
wherein the fifth insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer, and a region in contact with the third insulating layer below the second pixel electrode,
Yanagisawa discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C)
a light-receiving element ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.)
a fourth insulating layer; ([0181] An insulating layer 118a)
and a fifth insulating layer, ([0181] an insulating layer 118b)
wherein the light-receiving element ([0162] light-emitting device 130b) ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) comprises a second pixel electrode ([0177] pixel electrode 111b), a second organic layer ([0807] One or both of an inorganic semiconductor and an organic semiconductor can be used for an active layer of the photoelectric conversion device.), and the common electrode ([0177] common layer 114), ([0177] The light-emitting device 130b includes the pixel electrode 111b, the layer 113b, the common layer 114, and the common electrode 115)
wherein the second organic layer (113b) comprises a photoelectric conversion layer, ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113a), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (111a), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113a, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111a, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the fifth insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (113b), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (113b), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113b, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111b, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
While Yanagisawa teaches that a light-receiving device can be fabricated by replacing the layer 113 ([0161] Each of the subpixels 110a, 110b, and 110c preferably includes a light-emitting device) and a light-receiving element ([0393] By replacing the layer 113 with an active layer (also referred to as a photoelectric conversion layer) of a photoelectric conversion device, the light-emitting device 130 can function as a light-receiving device.) it does not provide a rationale for arranging a light emitting device next to a light receiving device.
Kamada discloses (as shown in Fig. 2A) a light emitting device next to a light receiving device. (See Fig. 2A)
Kamada teaches that placing light receiving elements next to light emitting elements allows for sensing contact even in a dark place. ([0054] When the object reflects light emitted by the light-emitting element included in the display portion, the light-receiving element can sense the reflected light; thus, the display device of this embodiment enables capturing an image and detection of touch (including near touch) even in a dark place.) Therefore, it would have been obvious based on the teachings of Kamada to place the light receiving elements in Yanagisawa next to the light-emitting elements like in Kamada in order to allow contact sensing even in dark places.
Alternatively, Claim 16 can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et. al (US 2024/0423027 A1) and further in view of Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et. al (US 2024/0423027 A1) and further in view of Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0048909 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Nakamura discloses (as shown in Fig. 1B, 2B) A display apparatus ([0102] the display device 100) comprising: a first insulating layer ([0102] an insulating layer 101);
a second insulating layer ([0102] insulating layer 103a), a third insulating layer ([0102] an insulating layer 103b), and a resin layer ([0185] That is, the insulating layer 143 can be an organic insulating layer. As the organic material, a photosensitive material such as a photosensitive organic resin is preferably used) over the first insulating layer (101); ([0102] insulating layer 103a, an insulating layer 103b, and an insulating layer 103c over the insulating layer 101) (See Fig. 2B, showing the insulating layer 143 on the insulating layer 101)
A first light-emitting element ([0102] The light-emitting element 130a) over the second insulating layer (103a); ([0102] The light-emitting element 130a is provided over the insulating layer 103a)
a second light-emitting element ([0102] light-emitting device 130b) over the third insulating layer (103b); ([0102] the light-emitting element 130b is provided over the insulating layer 103b)
a fourth insulating layer; ([0103] An insulating layer 141)
wherein the first insulating layer (101) is an organic insulating layer, ([0127] For example, in the case where an organic material is used for the insulating layer 101)
wherein the second insulating layer (103a) and the third insulating layer (103b) are inorganic insulating layers, ([0027] an inorganic material is used for the insulating layer 103)
wherein the first light-emitting element (130a) comprises a first pixel electrode, a first organic layer, and a common electrode, ([0111] The light-emitting element 130a includes a pixel electrode 111a over the insulating layer 103a, an island-shaped EL layer 113 over the pixel electrode 111a, a common layer 114 over the EL layer 113, and a common electrode 115 over the common layer 114.) ([0108] As the light-emitting element 130, an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) )
wherein the second light-emitting element (130b) comprises a second pixel electrode, a second organic layer, and the common electrode, ([0111] The light-emitting element 130b includes a pixel electrode 111b over the insulating layer 103b, another island-shaped EL layer 113 over the pixel electrode 111b, the common layer 114 over the EL layer 113, and the common electrode 115 over the common layer 114.) ([0108] As the light-emitting element 130, an OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) )
wherein each of the first organic layer (113) and the second organic layer (113) comprises a light-emitting layer, ([0111] island-shaped EL layer 113)
wherein the first insulating layer (101) comprises a depressed portion ([0114] depressed portion 108), ([0114] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, the insulating layer 101 includes a depressed portion 108)
wherein the depressed portion (108) comprises a groove-like region provided along a side of the first pixel electrode (111a) in a plan view, (See Fig. 2A)
wherein the groove-like region (108) comprises a first region overlapping with the first pixel electrode (111a) and a second region overlapping with the second pixel electrode (111b), ([0114] . Part of the insulating layer 103 overlaps with the depressed portion 108; specifically, an end portion 145 of the insulating layer 103 overlaps with the depressed portion 108. That is, the insulating layer 103 includes a projecting portion overlapping with the depressed portion 108.)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (141) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (113), and a region in contact with the second insulating layer (103a) below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 2A, showing the insulating layer 141 wraps around from the top of the EL layer 113 to the side of the EL layer 113, to the bottom of the insulating layer 103a)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (141) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (113), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (113), and a region in contact with the third insulating layer (103b) below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 2A, showing the insulating layer 141 wraps around from the top of the EL layer 113 to the side of the EL layer 113, to the bottom of the insulating layer 103b)
wherein the resin layer (143) comprises a region located in the depressed portion (108), (See Fig. 2A)
and wherein the common electrode (115) comprises a region covering a top surface of the resin layer (143). ([0172] The common layer 114 and the common electrode 115 are provided not only over the light-emitting element 130 but also over the insulating layer 143)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in that are before the effective filing date of the application to have:
wherein the first region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, ([0118] Here, the width W of the projecting portion of the insulating layer 103 is preferably greater than or equal to 20 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 50 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm, still further preferably greater than or equal to 110 nm, yet further preferably greater than or equal to 140 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 160 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 180 nm. In addition, the width W of the projecting portion of the insulating layer 103 is preferably less than or equal to 2000 nm, further preferably less than or equal to 1000 nm.)
wherein the second region has a width greater than or equal to 20 nm and less than or equal to 500 nm, [0118] Here, the width W of the projecting portion of the insulating layer 103 is preferably greater than or equal to 20 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 50 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 80 nm, still further preferably greater than or equal to 110 nm, yet further preferably greater than or equal to 140 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 160 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 180 nm. In addition, the width W of the projecting portion of the insulating layer 103 is preferably less than or equal to 2000 nm, further preferably less than or equal to 1000 nm.
The range provided in Nakamura for the width of the protruding portion includes the range claimed. Since it would have been obvious to choose any value in the range provided in the prior art, it would have been obvious to choose a width within the claimed range, which is included in the disclosed range of Nakamura.
However, Nakamura fails to disclose:
a fourth insulating layer;
and a fifth insulating layer,
wherein the fourth insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer, and a region in contact with the second insulating layer below the first pixel electrode,
wherein the fifth insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer, and a region in contact with the third insulating layer below the second pixel electrode.
Yanagisawa discloses (as shown in Fig. 6C) a fourth insulating layer; ([0181] An insulating layer 118a)
and a fifth insulating layer, ([0181] an insulating layer 118b)
wherein the fourth insulating layer (118a) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first organic layer (113a), a region in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (111a), and a region located below the first pixel electrode (111a), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118a wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113a, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111a, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
wherein the fifth insulating layer (118b) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the second organic layer (113b), a region in contact with a side surface of the second organic layer (113b), and a region located below the second pixel electrode (111b), (See Fig. 6C, showing the insulating layer 118b wraps around the top and sides of the layer 113b, the side and part of the bottom of the pixel electrode 111b, and part of the sidewall of the groove 175)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Nakamura and Yanagisawa. Nakamura has light-emitting devices which emit the same color. ([0066] The display device of one embodiment of the present invention can have a structure where a plurality of subpixels included in one pixel include light-emitting elements emitting light of the same color, for example, white light.) Therefore, color filters are required to isolate the color for each light emitting element. Yanagisawa has light-emitting devices of different colors, thereby negating the need for color filters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to replace the light-emitting elements of Nakamura with the light-emitting elements of Yanagisawa so that the color filters could be omitted form the device.
Regarding Claim 17, Nakamura further discloses (as shown in Figs. 1B, 2B) wherein the groove-like region (108) has a depth greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 3000 nm. ([0121] [0121] Here, the depth D of the depressed portion 108 is preferably greater than or equal to 50 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 150 nm, further preferably greater than or equal to 300 nm, still further preferably greater than or equal to 450 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 600 nm, yet still further preferably greater than or equal to 700 nm. In addition, the depth D of the depressed portion 108 is preferably less than or equal to 10 μm, further preferably less than or equal to 5 μm, still further preferably less than or equal to 4 μm, yet still further preferably less than or equal to 3 μm.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Relevant Prior Art includes Baek et. al (US 2023/0059253 A1). Baek discloses (as shown in Fig. 2) A display apparatus comprising:
a first insulating layer; ([0032] second overcoating layer 150)
a first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element ([0032] light emitting elements 160) over the first insulating layer (150); ([0063] The light emitting element 160 is disposed on the second overcoating layer 150)
wherein the first insulating layer (150) comprises a depressed portion, ([0062] The groove H can be formed by etching a portion of the protrusion 152 using the first electrode 161 and the bank 170 as a mask.)
wherein the depressed portion (H) comprises a region overlapping with the first pixel electrode, a region overlapping with the second pixel electrode, and a region overlapping with neither the first pixel electrode nor the second pixel electrode, ([0062] The groove H can include an undercut area UC under the first electrode 161 and the bank 170)
Other relevant Prior Art includes Xie et. al (US 2021/0193760 A1). Xie discloses (as shown in Fig. 3e) A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate; ([0046] substrate 01)
a first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element ([0046] the organic light emitting layer 03) over the substrate (01); (See Fig. 3a-e)
wherein the substrate (01) comprises a depressed portion, ([0060] As shown in FIG. 3c, by using the barrier layer 2 as the mask, the groove T2 corresponding to the via hole T1 is formed in the substrate 1)
wherein the depressed portion (T2) comprises a region overlapping with the first light emitting device, a region overlapping with the second light emitting device, and a region overlapping with neither the first pixel electrode nor the second pixel electrode, (See Fig. 3c, showing the groove T2 wraps under the barrier layer 02 of each of the light emitting devices)
Other relevant Prior Art includes Yanagisawa et. al (US 2024/0423026 A1). Yanagisawa (‘026) contains a similar disclosure to Yanagisawa (‘909).
Other relevant Prior Art includes Yanagisawa et. al (US 2025/0098429 A1). Yanagisawa (‘4296) contains a similar disclosure to Yanagisawa (‘909).
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893