DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 is newly amended to recite “wherein the first image partially overlaps with the second image”. However, this limitation is lack of support from the specification of the instant application, nor from any cited paragraphs of applicant’s remarks. The closest disclosure is in the specification of US 20250069335 A1, “[0084] For example, the display position of the display image 1042 can be a position overlapping with the display image 1040 seen through the display portion of the first display apparatus 1000A”, and “[0110] a display image 1061 is displayed at a position overlapping with the display image 1060”. However, these disclosures fail to explicitly teach “partially overlaps” as newly amended. Namely, the specification is silent on the first image partially overlaps with the second image. Therefore, “wherein the first image partially overlaps with the second image” is considered as new subject matter.
Claim 20 is amended comprising similar limitations set forth in claim 2, thus is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 3 is newly amended to recite “wherein the fourth image comprises information displayed only for the first user and the fifth image comprises information displayed only for the second user”. However, this limitation is lack of support from the specification of the instant application, nor from any cited paragraphs of applicant’s remarks. The closest disclosure is in the specification of US 20250069335 A1, “[0551] Thus, without additionally requiring an audio device such as headphones, earphones, or a speaker, the user can enjoy video and sound only by wearing the electronic device 800A”. However, this disclosure fails to explicitly teach “the fourth image comprises information displayed only for the first user and the fifth image comprises information displayed only for the second user” as newly amended. Since the specification is silent on this limitation, “the fourth image comprises information displayed only for the first user and the fifth image comprises information displayed only for the second user” is considered as new subject matter.
Appropriate amendments or further detailed clarifications to the claims is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasuda (US 20220244899).
Regarding claim 1, Yasuda discloses A display system comprising: a first display apparatus worn by a first user; and a second display apparatus placed at a position seen by the first user (Yasuda, “[0027] FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a display system according to embodiments of the present invention. The display system shown in FIG. 1 is formed by communicably connecting a smartphone 100 as an example of an information processing apparatus and smart glasses 110 as an example of a head mounted display via a wireless communication path 120. [0034] The display section 204 is comprised of a right display section 204R disposed in front of a user's right eye and a left display section 204L disposed in front of a user's left eye. [0043] FIG. 4 is a view showing an example of a state of the smartphone 100 in the first embodiment in a position visible through the right display section 204R.”. Therefore, the smart glasses correspond to the first display apparatus, and the smartphone corresponds to the second display apparatus),
wherein the first display apparatus comprises a first display portion displaying a first image superimposed on a transmission image (Yasuda, “[0062] Further, the virtual object 600 may be displayed such that part or whole of the virtual object 600 is superimposed on the display section 101 of the smartphone 100”),
wherein the second display apparatus comprises a second display portion displaying a second image seen by the first user (Yasuda, Figs.6A-6B, “[0028] The smartphone 100 is capable of displaying a variety of icons, photograph information, and so forth, and further, has a display section 101 on which a touch panel is disposed in a state superposed thereon such that a touch operation can be performed. [0041] FIG. 3B is a block diagram of the smartphone 100. The smartphone 100 includes the wireless communication section 311, a control unit 312, and the display section 101. [0043] FIG. 4 is a view showing an example of a state of the smartphone 100 in the first embodiment in a position visible through the right display section 204R”),
wherein the first display apparatus has is configured to obtain positional information of the second display portion (Yasuda, “[0038] The position detection section 302 detects position information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203 by calculation (image processing), as an item of information on the smartphone 100”), and
wherein a display position of the first image is determined on the basis of the positional information of the second display portion (Yasuda, “[0040] The display controller 304 performs control for displaying a virtual object on the display section 204 based on the information on a distance, a position, and tilts detected by the distance detection section 301, the position detection section 302, and the tilt detection section 303, respectively”).
Regarding claim 4, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first image is displayed in the case where at least part of the second display portion is positioned in a range of the transmission image (Yasuda, “[0057] In a step S802, the distance detection section 301 detects distance information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203. Further, it is assumed that the smartphone 100 appears in the image captured by the image capturing section 203. Further, in a case where the control unit 202 analyzes (performs image processing of) the captured image before execution of the step S802, and it is detected as a result of the analysis that the smartphone 100 (display section 101) does not appear in the captured image, the present process may be terminated”).
Regarding claim 5, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first image is generated in accordance with the positional information (Yasuda, “[0038] The position detection section 302 detects position information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203 by calculation (image processing), as an item of information on the smartphone 100. [0040] The display controller 304 performs control for displaying a virtual object on the display section 204 based on the information on a distance, a position, and tilts detected by the distance detection section 301, the position detection section 302, and the tilt detection section 303, respectively”).
Regarding claim 6, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display apparatus is a glasses-type apparatus (Yasuda, “[0012] FIG. 2 is a perspective view of the appearance of smart glasses”).
Regarding claim 7, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display apparatus is a goggle-type display apparatus (Yasuda, “[0032] Note that the head mounted display as a component of the display system according to the present embodiment is not limited to the glasses type, but may be of any other type, such as a goggles type which encloses an area surrounding the eyes or a helmet type which covers the entire head”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of Eidam et al. (US 11741517), and further in view of Lyren et al. (US 20200081522 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display portion has a light-transmitting property, wherein the transmission image is an image passing through the first display portion (Yasuda, “[0032] The smart glasses 110 are configured as a glasses-type head mounted display (HIVID). The smart glasses 110 are also configured as an optical transmission type HMD on which a user can visually recognize an image (display image) displayed on the display section 204 and directly view an outside scenery at the same time”).
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses wherein the first image partially overlaps with the second image (Eidam, col.36, lines 53-57, “Generally, various views can be a combination of headset display interfaces (e.g., on headset display 1301) overlaid on environment 1200 (e.g., smart table 106) during a smart table provider session.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda. That is, applying the virtual image overlaid on the smart table of Eidam to the display system of Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, col.5, lines 62-63).
On the other hand, Yasuda in view of Eidam fails to explicitly disclose but Lyren discloses wherein the first image is a three-dimensional virtual object (Lyren, “[0040] These electronic glasses capture images of the field of views of the users, build 3D images of these fields of view, and place these 3D images into a map that shows people and objects captured with the electronic glasses. Movements of the woman are recorded and provided to the map in real-time such that the 3D image of the woman moves in synchronization with actual movements of the woman in the coffee shop”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lyren into the combination of Eidam and Yasuda, to include all limitations of claim 2. That is, applying the 3D virtual image of Lyren to the first image of Eidam and Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing more vivid presentations for the augmented reality display.
Claim(s) 3, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of Eidam et al. (US 11741517),
Regarding claim 3, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises an imaging means, wherein the transmission image is an image captured by the imaging means (Yasuda, “[0095] Therefore, in a case where the video see-through type HMD is used, a display image generated by superimposing an image of a virtual object on a real image captured by an image capturing section is displayed on the display section in a manner visually recognizable by a user”).
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses wherein the first display apparatus is configured to display a third image on the first display portion which is not superimposed on the transmission image (Eidam, col.39, line 64-col.40, line 5, “(147) Referring now to FIGS. 15A-15B in more detail. FIG. 15A is shown to include a plurality of graphical interface objects displayed on the headset display 1501 including, a request 1524, a magnification 1526, and a tool icon 1514. In this example, a customer may be wearing the smart headset 195 and receiving the request 1524 indicating to provide their legal name (e.g., customer view). As shown, in the environment 1200, is a smart table 106 and a display 1528 displaying a loan application form”. Therefore, the request 1524 is not superimposed on the smart table 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda. That is, applying the virtual image overlaid on the smart table of Eidam to the display system of Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, col.5, lines 62-63).
Regarding claim 19, Yasuda in view of Eidam discloses The display system according to claim 3.
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses the third image is a two-dimensional image (Eidam, col.39, line 64-col.40, line 3, “(147) Referring now to FIGS. 15A-15B in more detail. FIG. 15A is shown to include a plurality of graphical interface objects displayed on the headset display 1501 including, a request 1524, a magnification 1526, and a tool icon 1514. In this example, a customer may be wearing the smart headset 195 and receiving the request 1524 indicating to provide their legal name (e.g., customer view)”). The same motivation of claim 3 applies here.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of Smith et al. (US 10340969).
Regarding claim 8, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Smith discloses wherein the second display apparatus comprises a hinge portion, and wherein the second display apparatus is configured to be folded at the hinge portion (Smith, claim 3, “wherein the magnetic hinge assembly allows the flap to pivot from the closed configuration, in which at least a portion of the flap is in contact with the outer protective layer, to a reverse folded configuration, in which at least a portion of the flap is in contact with a back portion of the housing of the tablet device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Smith and Yasuda. That is, replacing the smart phone of Yasuda with the tablet device of Smith. The motivation/ suggestion would have been the flap can form a structure that can be used to enhance the functionality of the cover with regards to the electronic device (Smith, (20)).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of KURATA et al. (US 20180151742).
Regarding claim 9, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 1.
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but KURATA discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit, wherein the third layer comprises a display device (KURATA, fig. 41, “[0304] A CPU including a semiconductor device such as any of the above-described transistors or the above-described memory device is described below. [0328] a peripheral circuit” or “a driver circuit” indicates all of the peripheral circuits 260, 270, 280, and 290. For example, the peripheral circuit 260 can be regarded as part of the peripheral circuit. [0342] Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 35(A), light 256 enters a photoelectric conversion element 220 through the lens 255, the filter 254 (a filter 254R, a filter 254G, and a filter 254B), a pixel circuit 230, and the like which are provided in the pixel 211. [0374] A display device including an EL element (EL display device) and a display device including a liquid crystal element (liquid crystal display device) are described below as examples of the display device.”),
wherein the first layer comprises a first transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising silicon in a channel formation region (KURATA, “[0319] Furthermore, in FIG. 32, the transistors included in the memory element 1200 except for the transistor 1209 can each be a transistor in which a channel is formed in a film formed using a semiconductor other than an oxide semiconductor or in the substrate 1190. For example, the transistor can be a transistor whose channel is formed in a silicon film or a silicon substrate”),
wherein the second layer comprises a second transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region (KURATA, “[0185] Furthermore, a substrate including a metal nitride, a substrate including a metal oxide, or the like is used”), and
wherein the third layer comprises an organic EL device (KURATA, “[0374] The light-emitting element includes, in its category, an element whose luminance is controlled by a current or voltage, and specifically includes, in its category, an inorganic EL (Electroluminescence), an organic EL, and the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined KURATA and Yasuda, to include all limitations of claim 9. That is, applying the display structure of KURATA to the smart glasses of Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to provide a semiconductor device that operates at high speed (KURATA, [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Yasuda in view of KURATA discloses The display system according to claim 9.
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but KURATA discloses wherein the metal oxide comprises indium, an element M, and zinc, and wherein the element Mis aluminum, gallium, yttrium, or tin (KURATA, “[0106] The conductor 404 may be formed of a single layer or a stack of a conductor containing, for example, one or more kinds of boron, nitrogen, oxygen, fluorine, silicon, phosphorus, aluminum, titanium, chromium, manganese, cobalt, nickel, copper, zinc, gallium, yttrium, zirconium, molybdenum, ruthenium, silver, indium, tin, tantalum, and tungsten. For example, an alloy film or a compound film may be used, and a conductor containing aluminum, a conductor containing copper and titanium, a conductor containing copper and manganese, a conductor containing indium, tin, and oxygen, a conductor containing titanium and nitrogen, or the like may be used”). The same motivation of claim 9 applies here.
Regarding claim 11, Yasuda discloses The display system according to claim 9.
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but KURATA discloses wherein the organic EL device is a light-emitting device processed by a photolithography method (KURATA, “[0374] Examples of a display element provided in the display device include a liquid crystal element (also referred to as a liquid crystal display element.) and a light-emitting element (also referred to as a light-emitting display element.). The light-emitting element includes, in its category, an element whose luminance is controlled by a current or voltage, and specifically includes, in its category, an inorganic EL (Electroluminescence), an organic EL, and the like”). The same motivation of claim 9 applies here.
Claim(s) 12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of Eidam et al. (US 11741517), and further in view of DELL (US 20200169712).
Regarding claim 12, Yasuda discloses A display system comprising: a first display apparatus worn by a first user; and a second display apparatus (Yasuda, “[0027] FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a display system according to embodiments of the present invention. The display system shown in FIG. 1 is formed by communicably connecting a smartphone 100 as an example of an information processing apparatus and smart glasses 110 as an example of a head mounted display via a wireless communication path 120. [0034] The display section 204 is comprised of a right display section 204R disposed in front of a user's right eye and a left display section 204L disposed in front of a user's left eye. [0043] FIG. 4 is a view showing an example of a state of the smartphone 100 in the first embodiment in a position visible through the right display section 204R.”. Therefore, the smart glasses correspond to the first display apparatus, and the smartphone corresponds to the second display apparatus),
wherein the first display apparatus comprises a first display portion displaying a first image superimposed on a transmission image (Yasuda, “[0062] Further, the virtual object 600 may be displayed such that part or whole of the virtual object 600 is superimposed on the display section 101 of the smartphone 100”),
wherein the first display apparatus is configured to obtain positional information of the second display portion (Yasuda, “[0038] The position detection section 302 detects position information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203 by calculation (image processing), as an item of information on the smartphone 100”).
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses a third display apparatus worn by a second user (Eidam, “(137) At block 1110, the one or more processing circuits can, update, in response to receiving the sensor device date, a second graphical user interface for a second smart headset of the smart headsets based on the sensor device data, and wherein the second graphical user interface is unique to the second smart headset and is worn by a second individual different than the first individual”. Therefore, the second smart headset corresponds to a third display apparatus),
wherein the second display apparatus is placed at a position seen by the first user and the second user (Eidam, col.5, lines 33-38, “(30) Accordingly, the present disclosure is directed to a smart table system including systems and methods for device collaboration in a smart table environment, in which one or more users are present and sensors of various computing devices (e.g., an interactive surface, a plurality, a user device, and so on) are within the environment”),
wherein the third display apparatus comprises a third display portion displaying a third image superimposed on a transmission image (Eidam, “(107) the smart headset client application 238 is configured to receive data from the smart table 106 and overlay additional content and/or provide additional input (e.g., audio, vibrations, light, colors, and so on) on (e.g., display) and/or in (e.g., sensors) the smart headsets 195 pertaining to the content displayed on the smart table 106. (140) Still referring generally to FIGS. 13-17, each smart headset 195 can include a headset display (e.g., 1301, 1401, 1501, 1601, 1701). The headset display can be any suitable see-through display (sometimes referred to as a “transparent display”) that utilizes any suitable technique to display a graphical user interface on the headset display. (141) improvements to traditional computing system … can also rearrange (e.g., at the same time, in real-time) content displayed on a second smart headset display based on a second user's preferences and environmental data such that content can be rearranged differently based on the user specific user utilizing a specific headset with particular preferences”),
wherein the second display apparatus comprises a second display portion displaying a second image seen by the first and second user (Eidam, fig.12, col.36, lines 35-50, “(138) Referring now to FIG. 12, an illustration of the smart table 106 and smart headsets 195 of FIG. 1A … the environment 1200 can include IoT devices 190A, 190B, 190C (described in detail with reference to FIG. 1A), one or more smart tables 106 (described in detail with reference to FIGS. 1A and 1B), one or more smart headsets (described in detail with reference to FIG. 1A, 1B, and FIGS. 13-17), and one or more users 1205 and 1210 (e.g., people, customers, employees, managers, and so on). In one example, one or more processing circuits in the environment 1200 (e.g., IoT devices 190, smart table 106, smart headsets 195) can collect biological or behavioral data to perform various actions associated with a smart table provider session”; col.30, lines 51-57, “(119) in some embodiments, the notification may be provided to one or more user devices 104. The generated notification for a successful pairing between the customer user device 104 and the smart table 106 may also be provided via the input/output device 220 of the smart table 106. For example, the smart table 106 may show the notification on a display screen”),
wherein the third display apparatus is configured to obtain the positional information of the second display portion (Eidam, “(56) the user devices 104 include personal computers (e.g., desktop computers or laptop computers), tablets, smart watches or other wearable devices (e.g., rings, jewelry, headsets, bands), smart glasses… (70) One or more user devices 104 may include one or more location sensors to allow the user devices 104 to detect its location relative to other physical objects (e.g., a smart table 106 or other user devices) or geographic locations”. Therefore, the location relative to a smart table corresponds to the positional information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda. That is, adding the second headset of Eidam to the display system of Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, (31)), and provide augmented visualization to multiple users.
On the other hand, Yasuda in view of Eidam fails to explicitly disclose but DELL discloses Wherein the first image and third image comprise a same three-dimensional virtual object shown from different perspectives (DELL, “[0007] d. a computer that is programmed to respond to the tracking system and thereby control the imaging assembly to produce stereo 3D images of the virtual environment corresponding to tracking data from the tracking system for each of the two or more users for each user to perceive different views of the same virtual environment appropriate to their position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined DELL into the combination of Eidam and Yasuda, to include all limitations of claim 12. That is, replacing the virtual images of Eidam and Yasuda with the 3D images from different views of DELL. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation experience, such as an image separation arrangement whereby each user sees images emanating from a corresponding one of the sets of projectors only (DELL, abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL discloses The display system according to claim 12.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display portion has alight-transmitting property, and wherein the transmission image is an image passing through the first display portion (Yasuda, “[0032] The smart glasses 110 are configured as a glasses-type head mounted display (HIVID). The smart glasses 110 are also configured as an optical transmission type HMD on which a user can visually recognize an image (display image) displayed on the display section 204 and directly view an outside scenery at the same time”)
Regarding claim 15, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL discloses The display system according to claim 12.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first image is displayed in the case where at least part of the second display portion is positioned in a range of the transmission image (Yasuda, “[0057] In a step S802, the distance detection section 301 detects distance information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203. Further, it is assumed that the smartphone 100 appears in the image captured by the image capturing section 203. Further, in a case where the control unit 202 analyzes (performs image processing of) the captured image before execution of the step S802, and it is detected as a result of the analysis that the smartphone 100 (display section 101) does not appear in the captured image, the present process may be terminated”).
Regarding claim 16, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL discloses The display system according to claim 12.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display apparatus is a glasses-type apparatus (Yasuda, “[0032] Note that the head mounted display as a component of the display system according to the present embodiment is not limited to the glasses type, but may be of any other type, such as a goggles type which encloses an area surrounding the eyes or a helmet type which covers the entire head”).
On the other hand, Yasuda in view of DELL fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses wherein the third display apparatus is a glasses-type apparatus (Eidam, “(43) the input/output device 122 includes a keyboard, a keypad, a mouse, joystick, a touch screen, a microphone, a biometric device, a virtual reality headset, smart glasses, smart headsets, and the like”). The same motivation of claim 12 applies here.
Regarding claim 17, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL discloses The display system according to claim 12.
Yasuda further discloses wherein the first display apparatus is a goggle-type display apparatus (Yasuda, “[0032] Note that the head mounted display as a component of the display system according to the present embodiment is not limited to the glasses type, but may be of any other type, such as a goggles type which encloses an area surrounding the eyes or a helmet type which covers the entire head”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda, to include all limitations of claim 17. That is, applying the goggles type of Yasuda to the second headset of Eidam. Therefore, the third display apparatus is a goggle-type display apparatus. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, (31)) , and provide augmented visualization to multiple users.
Regarding claim 18, Yasuda discloses A display system comprising: a first display apparatus worn by a first user; and a second display apparatus (Yasuda, “[0027] FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a display system according to embodiments of the present invention. The display system shown in FIG. 1 is formed by communicably connecting a smartphone 100 as an example of an information processing apparatus and smart glasses 110 as an example of a head mounted display via a wireless communication path 120. [0034] The display section 204 is comprised of a right display section 204R disposed in front of a user's right eye and a left display section 204L disposed in front of a user's left eye. [0043] FIG. 4 is a view showing an example of a state of the smartphone 100 in the first embodiment in a position visible through the right display section 204R.”. Therefore, the smart glasses correspond to the first display apparatus, and the smartphone corresponds to the second display apparatus),
wherein the first display apparatus comprises a first display portion displaying a first image superimposed on a transmission image (Yasuda, “[0062] Further, the virtual object 600 may be displayed such that part or whole of the virtual object 600 is superimposed on the display section 101 of the smartphone 100”),
wherein the first display apparatus is configured to obtain positional information of the second display portion (Yasuda, “[0038] The position detection section 302 detects position information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203 by calculation (image processing), as an item of information on the smartphone 100”).
On the other hand, Yasuda fails to explicitly disclose but Eidam discloses a third display apparatus worn by a second user (Eidam, “(137) At block 1110, the one or more processing circuits can, update, in response to receiving the sensor device date, a second graphical user interface for a second smart headset of the smart headsets based on the sensor device data, and wherein the second graphical user interface is unique to the second smart headset and is worn by a second individual different than the first individual”. Therefore, the second smart headset corresponds to a third display apparatus),
wherein the second display apparatus is placed at a position seen by the first user and the second user (Eidam, col.5, lines 33-38, “(30) Accordingly, the present disclosure is directed to a smart table system including systems and methods for device collaboration in a smart table environment, in which one or more users are present and sensors of various computing devices (e.g., an interactive surface, a plurality, a user device, and so on) are within the environment”),
wherein the third display apparatus comprises a third display portion displaying a third image superimposed on a transmission image (Eidam, “(107) the smart headset client application 238 is configured to receive data from the smart table 106 and overlay additional content and/or provide additional input (e.g., audio, vibrations, light, colors, and so on) on (e.g., display) and/or in (e.g., sensors) the smart headsets 195 pertaining to the content displayed on the smart table 106. (140) Still referring generally to FIGS. 13-17, each smart headset 195 can include a headset display (e.g., 1301, 1401, 1501, 1601, 1701). The headset display can be any suitable see-through display (sometimes referred to as a “transparent display”) that utilizes any suitable technique to display a graphical user interface on the headset display. (141) improvements to traditional computing system … can also rearrange (e.g., at the same time, in real-time) content displayed on a second smart headset display based on a second user's preferences and environmental data such that content can be rearranged differently based on the user specific user utilizing a specific headset with particular preferences”),
wherein the second display apparatus comprises a second display portion displaying a second image seen by the first and second user (Eidam, fig.12, col.36, lines 35-50, “(138) Referring now to FIG. 12, an illustration of the smart table 106 and smart headsets 195 of FIG. 1A … the environment 1200 can include IoT devices 190A, 190B, 190C (described in detail with reference to FIG. 1A), one or more smart tables 106 (described in detail with reference to FIGS. 1A and 1B), one or more smart headsets (described in detail with reference to FIG. 1A, 1B, and FIGS. 13-17), and one or more users 1205 and 1210 (e.g., people, customers, employees, managers, and so on). In one example, one or more processing circuits in the environment 1200 (e.g., IoT devices 190, smart table 106, smart headsets 195) can collect biological or behavioral data to perform various actions associated with a smart table provider session”; col.30, lines 51-57, “(119) in some embodiments, the notification may be provided to one or more user devices 104. The generated notification for a successful pairing between the customer user device 104 and the smart table 106 may also be provided via the input/output device 220 of the smart table 106. For example, the smart table 106 may show the notification on a display screen”),
wherein the third display apparatus is configured to obtain the positional information of the second display portion (Eidam, “(56) the user devices 104 include personal computers (e.g., desktop computers or laptop computers), tablets, smart watches or other wearable devices (e.g., rings, jewelry, headsets, bands), smart glasses… (70) One or more user devices 104 may include one or more location sensors to allow the user devices 104 to detect its location relative to other physical objects (e.g., a smart table 106 or other user devices) or geographic locations”. Therefore, the location relative to a smart table corresponds to the positional information),
wherein the first image and third image comprise different virtual object (Eidam, col.36, lines 15-21, “At block 1110, the one or more processing circuits can, update, in response to receiving the sensor device date, a second graphical user interface for a second smart headset of the smart headsets based on the sensor device data, and wherein the second graphical user interface is unique to the second smart headset and is worn by a second individual different than the first individual”; col.38, lines 2-12, “improvements to traditional computing system can include rearranging (sometimes referred to herein as generating or modifying) content displayed on a first smart headset display based on a first user's preferences and environmental data and can also rearrange (e.g., at the same time, in real-time) content displayed on a second smart headset display based on a second user's preferences and environmental data such that content can be rearranged differently based on the user specific user utilizing a specific headset with particular preferences”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda. That is, adding the second headset of Eidam to the display system of Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, (31)), and provide augmented visualization to multiple users.
On the other hand, Yasuda in view of Eidam fails to explicitly disclose but DELL discloses Wherein the first image and third image comprise three-dimensional virtual object (DELL, “[0032] The computer 11 is programmed to respond to the tracking system 9 and thereby control the imaging assembly, namely projectors 7a and 7b to produce stereo 3D images of a virtual environment corresponding to tracking data from the tracking system for each of the two or more users 14a, 14b”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined DELL into the combination of Eidam and Yasuda, to include all limitations of claim 18. That is, applying the 3D virtual images of DELL to the virtual image of Eidam and Yasuda. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation experience such as three dimensional images.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 20220244899) in view of Eidam et al. (US 11741517), and further in view of DELL (US 20200169712) and Iezaki (US 10120633).
Regarding claim 13, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL discloses The display system according to claim 12.
Yasuda further discloses wherein a display position of the first image for the first user of the first display apparatus is determined on the basis of the positional information of the second image of the second display portion (Yasuda, “[0040] The display controller 304 performs control for displaying a virtual object on the display section 204 based on the information on a distance, a position, and tilts detected by the distance detection section 301, the position detection section 302, and the tilt detection section 303, respectively”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Eidam and Yasuda. That is, applying the determining display position based on the positional information of the second display of Yasuda to the second headset of Eidam. Therefore, a display position of the third image for the second user of the third display apparatus is determined on the basis of the positional information of the second image of the second display portion. The motivation/ suggestion would have been providing improved presentation technology for the presentation of content on particular computer devices (Eidam, (31)) , and provide augmented visualization to multiple users.
On the other hand, Yasuda in view of Eidam and DELL fails to explicitly disclose but Iezaki discloses wherein the first display portion is configured to display a fourth image and the third display portion is configured to display a fifth image, and wherein the fourth image comprises information displayed only for the first user and the fifth image comprises information displayed only for the second user (Iezaki, claim 10, “A display control device comprising: a memory configured to store computer-readable instructions relating to first work and second work, the first work being viewable on a first head mounted display by only a first user to conduct the first work for an electronic device, the second work being viewable on a second head mounted display by only a second user to conduct the second work for the electronic device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Iezaki into the combination of Eidam and Yasuda, DELL, to include all limitations of claim 13. That is, applying the user-specific displaying content of Iezaki to the headsets of DELL, Yasuda, and Eidam. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to provide a technology which supports a plurality of workers who divide work for a work object and which enables the respective workers to easily execute their own work contents (Iezaki, col.1, lines 45-48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, as amended, it recites, inter alia, wherein the first image partially overlaps with the second image, wherein the first image comprises a region not overlapping with the second image, wherein the first display apparatus is configured to display a third image on the first display portion which is not superimposed on the transmission image, and wherein the third image is a two-dimensional image. None of the prior arts on the record or any of the prior arts searched, alone or in combination, renders obvious the combination of elements recited in the claim(s) as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant submitted: With respect to independent claims 1 and 12, the prior art has not been shown to teach all the features of the independent claims, as amended. Specifically, claim 1 now clarifies that the first display apparatus is worn by a first user, the second display apparatus is placed at a position seen by the first user and displays a second image seen by the first user, and previously recited that the first display apparatus obtains positional information of the second display portion and a position of the first image is determined on the basis of the positional information. Yasuda has not been shown to teach, expressly or inherently, each and every claim limitation of independent claim 1 (Remarks, pages 1-2).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in claim mapping of claim 1, Yasuda discloses “[0027] FIG. 1 is a schematic view of a display system according to embodiments of the present invention. The display system shown in FIG. 1 is formed by communicably connecting a smartphone 100 as an example of an information processing apparatus and smart glasses 110 as an example of a head mounted display via a wireless communication path 120. [0034] The display section 204 is comprised of a right display section 204R disposed in front of a user's right eye and a left display section 204L disposed in front of a user's left eye. [0043] FIG. 4 is a view showing an example of a state of the smartphone 100 in the first embodiment in a position visible through the right display section 204R”. Therefore, the smart glasses correspond to the first display apparatus, and the smartphone corresponds to the second display apparatus.
Yasuda further discloses “[0038] The position detection section 302 detects position information of the smartphone 100 from an image of the smartphone 100 captured by the image capturing section 203 by calculation (image processing), as an item of information on the smartphone 100. [0040] The display controller 304 performs control for displaying a virtual object on the display section 204 based on the information on a distance, a position, and tilts detected by the distance detection section 301, the position detection section 302, and the tilt detection section 303, respectively”.
The remaining of Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE Q LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618 5/29/2026