DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20180345421 A1, hereinafter Kang)
With regards to claim 1, Kang discloses a ball-bond arrangement comprising a bond pad of a semiconductor device and a wire ball-bonded to the bond pad, (Paragraph [0061]: “The wires were ball bonded to Al-0.5 wt.-% Cu bond pads…”)
wherein the wire extending from the bonded ball has a diameter of 15 to 50 µm, (Paragraph [0013]: ‘For the invention, the term “bonding wire” comprises all shapes of cross-sections and all usual wire diameters, though bonding wires with circular cross-section and thin diameters are preferred. The average cross-section is in the range of for example from 50 to 5024 μm^2…” Therefore, the cross-section has a diameter within the range of 15-50μm, which overlaps the claimed subject matter, and is prima facie obvious) and comprises a silver-based wire core with a surface, the wire core having a coating layer superimposed on its surface, (See paragraph [0012], where the wire has a silver core and a superimposed coating)
wherein the coating layer is a double-layer comprised of a 1 to 40 nm thick inner layer of palladium or nickel and an adjacent 20 to 500 nm thick outer layer of gold, (Paragraph [0017]: “The coating layer superimposed on the surface of the wire is … a double-layer comprised of a 1 to 100 nm, preferably 1 to 20 nm thick inner layer of nickel or palladium and an adjacent 1 to 200 nm, preferably 1 to 40 nm thick outer layer of gold.” where the ranges of thickness overlap, and is prima facie obvious) and
Kang further discloses wherein the surface of the bonded ball has a gold coverage of 70 to 100 %. (See Paragraph [0092], describing the BSR of 1.8, where the relative diameters is 31 microns for the ball bond and a wire diameter of 17 microns for the wire, and so the surface area of the ball bond (A=4 pi r^2) would be 3019 microns and the area of the wire cross section (A = pi r^2) would be 227 microns. Thus 227/3019 represents the amount of surface area of the ball bond that is missing gold plating because is correlates to where the wire meets the ball bond that value is about 7.5% so 100-7.5 is 92.5 so 92.5% of the ball bond portion is coated in gold, which falls within the range stated above.
With regards to claim 4, Kang teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 1.
Kang further teaches wherein the silver-based material of the wire core is doped silver, a silver alloy or a doped silver alloy. (See Paragraph [0012], showing the different options for silver)
With regards to claim 5, Kang teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 4.
Kang further teaches wherein the silver alloy comprises palladium as the only alloying element. (See paragraph [0012], option c) where the materials can be only silver and palladium)
With regards to claim 7, Kang in view of 538 teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 1.
Kang further teaches wherein the bond pad consists of a metal M, of an alloy of > 90 wt.-% of a metal M, or of a metal other than the metal M with an outer metal M (alloy) top layer, wherein the metal M is aluminum, gold, silver, copper, (Paragraph [0021]: “an Al-0.5 wt.-% Cu bond pad (see “Test method H” as described below),…”) palladium or nickel.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20180345421 A1, hereinafter Kang) in view of WO 2020218969 (hereinafter 969)
With regards to claim 2, Kang teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 1.
However, Kang does not explicitly teach wherein the outer gold layer comprises at least one member selected from the group consisting of antimony, bismuth, arsenic and tellurium in a total proportion in the range of from 10 to 300 wt.-ppm, based on the weight of the wire.
969 teaches the outer gold layer comprises at least one member selected from the group consisting of antimony, bismuth, arsenic and tellurium in a total proportion in the range of from 10 to 300 wt.-ppm, based on the weight of the wire. (See Page 1 last Paragraph, showing the outer gold layer comprising at least one of tellurium at 10-40 wt.-ppm, which falls within the range and would be prima facie obvious)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Kang to have the antimony of 969, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that the dopant allows for a suppression of OCB when bonding (See 969 Page 5)
With regards to claim 3, Kang in view of 969 teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 2.
969 further teaches wherein the total proportion of the at least one member selected from the group consisting of antimony, bismuth, arsenic and tellurium is in the range of 300 to 3500 wt.-ppm, based on the weight of the gold of the outer gold layer. (See Pages 4-5, showing the weight of 300-3500wt.-ppm, which falls within the range)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Kang to have the tellurium of 969, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that the dopant allows for a suppression of OCB when bonding (See 969 Page 5)
With regards to claim 6, Kang teaches the ball-bond arrangement of claim 1.
However, Kang does not explicitly teach wherein antimony is present within the outer gold layer.
969 teaches wherein antimony is present within the outer gold layer. (See Page 1 last Paragraph, showing the outer gold layer comprising at least one of tellurium at 10-40 wt.-ppm, which falls within the range and would be prima facie obvious)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Kang to have the antimony of 969, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that the dopant allows for a suppression of OCB when bonding (See 969 Page 5)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Karnezes (US 6323065 B1) – grid array with gold plated ball
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812