Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements disposed adjacent to each other of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa et al. (US Patent Pub 20180182942 A1) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (US Patent Pub 20160118548 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yuasa teaches a semiconductor light emitting device comprising:
a wiring substrate on which a p-electrode and an n-electrode are provided on a substrate (Fig. 1, wiring substrate 10. Paragraph 0057 teaches the p-electrode and n-electrode are mounted on 10));
a light-emitting functional layer including a p-type semiconductor layer connected to the p-electrode, a light emitting layer, and an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the n-electrode, and bonded onto the wiring substrate (Fig. 1, light-emitting functional layer 20, which includes a p-type semiconductor layer connected to the p-electrode (paragraph 0057 teaches p-type semiconductor layer 21a is connected to the p-type electrode, a light emitting layer 21b, and an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the n-electrode (paragraph 0057 teaches the n-type semiconductor layer 21c is connected to the n-electrode), and bonded onto the wiring substrate (paragraph 0057 teaches 20 is bonded to 10));
a light-transmitting optical element having a light shielding film provided on a side surface of a light-transmitting optical body (Fig. 1, light-transmitting optical element 30/40/50 with a light transmitting optical body 50, having a light shielding film 70 provided on a side surface of 50);
and an adhesive layer configured to adhere the light-transmitting optical element to an upper surface of the wiring substrate (Fig. 1, adhesive layer 60 which adheres the light-transmitting optical element 30/40/50 to an upper surface of wiring substrate 10),
Yuasa fails to teach the light-transmitting optical body is plate shaped, that the light shielding film has an annular frame portion that covers a peripheral edge portion of a back surface of the light- transmitting optical body and formed on the peripheral edge portion, and that the adhesive layer is configured such that the light-emitting functional layer is inserted into a recessed portion inside the frame portion, wherein the recessed portion is filled with the adhesive layer.
However, Kawaguchi teaches a light-emitting device having a p and n-type layers arranged on a wiring substrate, a light-emitting functional layer, a light-transmitting optical element, and a light-shielding film that has an annular frame portion that covers a peripheral edge portion of a back surface of the light- transmitting optical body and formed on the peripheral edge portion, and that the adhesive layer is configured such that the light-emitting functional layer is inserted into a recessed portion inside the frame portion, wherein the recessed portion is filled with the adhesive layer (Kawaguchi, Fig. 1B, light shielding film 30, which has an annular frame portion that covers a peripheral edge portion of a back surface of the light-transmitting optical body (30 covers the back portion of 4, which is a back surface of the light-transmitting optical body). Further, adhesive layer 40 is configured such that the light-emitting functional layer 2/3/4/5/6 is inserted into a recessed portion inside frame portion of 30. Further, the recessed portion of 30 is filled with adhesive layer 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Kawaguchi into the method of Yuasa by forming the light emitting device such that the light-transmitting optical body is plate shaped, that the light shielding film has an annular frame portion that covers a peripheral edge portion of a back surface of the light- transmitting optical body and formed on the peripheral edge portion, and that the adhesive layer is configured such that the light-emitting functional layer is inserted into a recessed portion inside the frame portion, wherein the recessed portion is filled with the adhesive layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yuasa in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing light leakage and improving the sharpness in luminance leakage at edges of the light emitting device (Kawaguchi, paragraph 0040).
Regarding Claim 2, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the p-electrode and the n-electrode is provided on a surface of the wiring substrate to which the light-transmitting optical element is adhered (Yuasa, Fig. 1, paragraph 0042 teaches the n-type and p-type electrodes (located in 20) are provided on a surface of the wiring substrate to which the light-transmitting optical element is adhered).
Regarding Claim 3, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1 wherein at least a part of the frame portion of the light shielding film is in contact with the upper surface of the wiring substrate (Kawaguchi, Fig. 1B, a part of the frame portion 30 is in contact with the upper surface of wiring substrate 50).
Regarding Claim 4, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light shielding film is provided over an entire side surface of the light-transmitting optical body (Kawaguchi, Fig. 1B and paragraph 0033 teach side surface 23 of the light transmitting optical body 20 is covered by 30).
Regarding Claim 7, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting functional layer has a reflective layer on a surface close to the wiring substrate (Yuasa, fig. 1, reflective layer 40, which has a surface in contact with the wiring substrate).
Regarding Claim 8, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light-transmitting optical element is a wavelength conversion element (Yuasa, paragraph 0061 teaches the light-transmitting optical element 30/40/50 is a wavelength conversion element).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Im et al. (US Patent Pub 20140246648 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1.
Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi fail to teach the semiconductor light emitting device wherein at least a part of a side surface of the light-transmitting optical element protrudes from a side surface of the wiring substrate.
However, Im teaches a semiconductor light emitting device wherein at least a part of a side surface of the light-transmitting optical element protrudes from a side surface of the wiring substrate (Im, Fig. 3 teaches the light-transmitting optical element 109/115 protrudes from a side surface of the wiring substrate 120b).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Im into the method of Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi by forming the semiconductor light emitting device wherein at least a part of a side surface of the light-transmitting optical element protrudes from a side surface of the wiring substrate. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of ensuring a void is present below the protrusion portion beyond a sidewall of the wiring substrate (Im, paragraph 0111).
Regarding Claim 6, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Im teaches the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1 wherein the light-transmitting optical element has a rectangular shape, and three side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical element protrude from a side surface of the wiring substrate (Im, Fig. 3, 109 of the light-transmitting optical element has a rectangle shape and three side surfaces that protrude from a side surface of wiring substrate 120b).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Ozeki et al. (US Patent Pub 20230005895 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teach the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1.
Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi fail to teach a semiconductor light emitting module comprising:
a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting devices,
Wherein two of the semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed adjacent to each other.
However, Ozeki teaches a light emitting module comprising a plurality of semiconductor light emitting devices wherein two of the semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed adjacent to each other (Ozeki, Fig. 1B and 1C teach a light emitting module comprising a plurality of light emitting devices such that side surface of the light-transmitting optical elements 30 are provided adjacent to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Ozeki into the method of Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi by forming a light emitting module comprising a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting devices, wherein two of the semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed adjacent to each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of reducing the spacing between light transmitting members, which can simplify and reduce the size of the structure of the optical system for employment as a light source of an automotive headlight (Ozeki, paragraph 0135).
Regarding Claim 11, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Ozeki teaches the semiconductor light emitting module according to claim 9, wherein the two semiconductor light emitting devices have different light emission colors from each other (Ozeki, Fig. 12A, 12B, and paragraph 0256 teaches the light emitting module wherein two light emitting devices 16a and 16b have different light emission colors).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Ozeki as applied to claims 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Im (US Patent Pub 20140246648 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Ozeki teach the semiconductor light emitting module according to claim 9.
Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Ozeki fail to teach the semiconductor light emitting module wherein the two semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed in contact with each other.
However, Im teaches a semiconductor light emitting module wherein the two semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed in contact with each other (Im, Fig. 7K teaches two semiconductor light emitting elements provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements 109/115 are disposed in contact with each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Im into the method of Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and further in view of Ozeki by forming a light emitting module wherein the two semiconductor light emitting devices are provided such that side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements are disposed in contact with each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and further in view of Ozeki in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of changing the light distribution characteristics according to the shape of the light-transmitting optical elements. (Im, paragraph 0260).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US Patent Pub 20210063818 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi teach the semiconductor light emitting device of claim 1.
Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi fail to teach a semiconductor light emitting module comprising:
A plurality of the semiconductor light emitting devices, and
a plurality of series connection systems, each of the series connection systems including two of the semiconductor light emitting devices having side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements disposed adjacent to each other and connected in series.
However, Yamashita teaches a plurality of semiconductor light emitting elements, and a plurality of series connection systems, each of the series connection systems including two of the semiconductor light emitting devices having side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements disposed adjacent to each other and connected in series (Yamashita, Fig. . 9B teaches a plurality of semiconductor light emitting elements (121a, 121b, 121c, and 121d), and a plurality of series connection systems (Fig. 9B depicts a plurality of series connection systems. Paragraph 0112 of Yamashita teaches the light emitting elements are connected in series). Each of the series connection systems includes two semiconductor light emitting devices. Fig. 3 depicts the structure of the light emitting elements, wherein 110A/130 is the light-transmitting optical element. When arranged in series, these light-transmitting optical elements are disposed adjacent to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamashita into the method of Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi by forming a light emitting module comprising a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting devices, and a plurality of series connection systems, each of the series connection systems including two of the semiconductor light emitting devices having side surfaces of the light-transmitting optical elements disposed adjacent to each other and connected in series. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of reducing the occurrence of cracks in the wiring layer in the case in which an external force would cause a distortion in the surface-emitting light source (Yamashita, paragraph 0117).
Regarding claim 13, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Yamashita teaches the semiconductor light emitting module according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of series connection systems is disposed such that the semiconductor light emitting devices of the plurality of series connection systems are arranged adjacent to each other in a matrix (Yamashita, fig. 9B).
Regarding Claim 14, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Yamashita teaches the semiconductor light emitting module according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of series connection systems has different light emission colors for each connection system (Yamashita, paragraph 0087 teaches the wavelength conversion members of each light emitting element can provide a light of a different color. Fig. 9B teaches four light emitting elements arranged in a series connection system. Therefore, each of the plurality of series connection systems may have different light emission colors for each connection system).
Regarding Claim 15, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Yamashita teaches a semiconductor light emitting module comprising: a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting devices according to claim 1, and
two series connection systems connected in series, wherein four semiconductor light emitting devices are arranged in a 2 x 2 matrix, and one pair of the semiconductor light emitting devices are disposed at a diagonal position and the other pair of the semiconductor light emitting devices are disposed at a diagonal position (Yamashita, Fig. 9B).
Regarding Claim 16, Yuasa in view of Kawaguchi and in further view of Yamashita teaches the semiconductor light emitting module according to claim 15, wherein the two series connection systems have different light emission colors from each other (Yamashita, Fig. 9B. Paragraph 0087 teaches the wavelength conversion members of each light emitting element can provide a light of a different color. Therefore, the two series connection systems may have different light emission colors from each other).
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899