DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 2/11/26.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1,34, and the cancellation of claims 23 and 31.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-22,24-30 and 32-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,16,18-19,22,24-25, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 and further in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399.
Regarding claim 1, Easley teaches an integrated reader system for reading radio frequency identification (RFID) tags in a transport unit of a vehicle, the integrated reader system comprising:
an RFID reader (col. 9 line 45-col. 10 line 3);
a processor functionally connected to the RFID reader (controller processes data received from the RFID reader, col. 7 lines 12-22); and
an energy storage device operatively connected to the RFID reader and configured to independently power the RFID reader (col. 9 lines 5-6,col. 10 lines 20-25,col. 10 lines 38-41). Easley is silent on teaching the reader system is secured in a mounting tray and the mounting tray is disposed just below a ceiling of the transport unit. Lee in an analogous art teaches the reader system is secured in a mounting tray secured along an inner surface of the mounting tray (fig. 1, paragraph 012-013,032-033). The reference of Khoche teaches mounting the RFID reader just below a ceiling of the transport unit (paragraph 0175,227).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley as disclosed by Lee in view of Khoche because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley in order to mount the RFID in position for the effective recording of the coming and going of the RFID tags.
Regarding claim 2, Easley et al. teaches the system comprises one or
more sensors communicatively connected to the RFID reader, the one or more sensors comprising
a door sensor (col. 3 line 65-col. 4 line 22).
Regarding claim 16, Easley teaches a cellular communication module operatively connected to the reader and the processor (the monitoring data is provided by the processor and the reader, col. 11 lines 52-62).
Regarding claim 18, Easley teaches the processor is configured to trigger an alert on detection of a prohibited event (col. 7 lines 32-50).
Regarding claim 19, Easley teaches the prohibited event includes movement of the door (col. 7 line 60-65).
Regarding claim 22, Easley teaches one or more antenna communicatively coupled to the reader, and wherein the one or more antenna are disposed on side walls of the transport unit (col. 9 lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 32, Easley is not explicit in teaching the transport unit is permanently attached to the vehicle. Khoche et al. in an analogous art teaches the transport unit include a cargo van and a package car (paragraph 0157) represents a transport unit is permanently attached to the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley as disclosed by Khoche because such modification represent the substitution of one type of transportation vehicle for another and producing the predictable result of storing RFID tagged objects.
Regarding claim 33, Easley teaches the transport unit (1202) is detachably attached to the vehicle (fig. 12, col. 2 lines 44-52, col. 11 lines 23-49).
Regarding claim 23-25, Easley is silent on teaching the reader system is secured in a mounting tray. Elizondo, II in an analogous art teaches the reader system is secured in a mounting tray. Lee in an analogous art teaches the reader system is secured in a mounting tray secured along an inner surface of the mounting tray (fig. 1, paragraph 012-013,032-033) and teaches the mounting tray is covered by a lid formed by a sheet (paragraph 089)
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley as disclosed by Lee in view of Khoche because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by providing a tray for organizing the RFID tags object according to the user’s preferences and the lid further serve the purpose of reducing interference from the other RF devices.
Claim(s) 3-4,14,17, and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of Lui et al. US Patent 9,959,439.
Regarding claim 3-4, Easley is not explicit in teaching detection of movement of a door of the transport unit by the door sensor, the processor is configured to cause the RFID reader to move from a first state to a second state. Lui et al. in an analogous art teaches detection of movement of a door of the transport unit by the door sensor, the processor is configured to cause the RFID reader to move from a first state to a second state (the RFID reader is activated when the door is open/closed, activating the RFID reader indicated that the RFID moved from an inactive sate to the active state, col. 2 lines 17-35;45-50). Lui teaches the first state is a lower power state, and the second state is a higher power state, the inactive state can be the off state, col. 11 lines 50-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Lui because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley in order to conserve power by activating the RFID reader only when it is necessary.
Regarding claim 14, Easley teaches the sensors comprising a motion sensor (col. 5 lines 14-18) but is not explicit in teaching wherein the motion sensor is configured to trigger the reader to come out of an idle state after the motion sensor detects movement. Lui in an analogous art teaches a motion sensor is configured to trigger the reader to come out of an idle state after the motion sensor detects movement (col. 2 line 60-col. 3 line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Lui because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by enabling the detection and recording of objects moving in and out of the container and further increasing the security of the container.
Regarding claim 17, Easley is not explicit in teaching the cellular communication module is configured to communicate a real-time location of the vehicle to the processor. Lui in an analogous art teaches the cellular communication module is configured to communicate a real-time location of the vehicle to the processor (col. 13 lines 4-9,col. 17 lines 11-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Lui because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by providing real time tracking information and further providing improve security of the container.
Regarding claims 34-35, Easley teaches a method comprising;
using an integrated reader system for reading radio frequency identification (RFID) tags in a transport unit of a vehicle (col. 3 lines 42-64), the integrated reader system comprising an RFID reader (col. 9 line 45-col. 10 line 3), a processor functionally connected to the RFID reader (controller processes data received from the RFID reader, col. 7 lines 12-22), one or more sensors communicatively connected to the RFID reader (col. 3 line 65-col. 4 line 22), the one or more sensors comprising a door sensor (col. 3 line 65-col. 4 line 22), and an energy storage device operatively connected to the RFID reader and configured to independently power the RFID reader (col. 9 lines 5-6,col. 10 lines 20-25,col. 10 lines 38-41). Easley is silent on teaching the reader system is secured in a mounting tray and the mounting tray is disposed just below a ceiling of the transport unit. Lee in an analogous art teaches the reader system is secured in a mounting tray secured along an inner surface of the mounting tray (fig. 1, paragraph 012-013,032-033). The reference of Khoche teaches mounting the RFID reader just below a ceiling of the transport unit (paragraph 0175,227). Easley is not explicit in teaching detection of movement of a door of the transport unit by the door sensor, the processor is configured to cause the RFID reader to move from a first state to a second state. Lui et al. in an analogous art teaches detection of movement of a door of the transport unit by the door sensor, the processor is configured to cause the RFID reader to move from a first state to a second state (the RFID reader is activated when the door is open/closed, activating the RFID reader indicated that the RFID moved from an inactive sate to the active state, col. 2 lines 17-35;45-50). Lui teaches the first state is a lower power state, and the second state is a higher power state, the inactive state can be the off state, col. 11 lines 50-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley as disclosed by Lee in view of Khoche in view of Lui because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley in order to conserve power by activating the RFID reader only when it is necessary and to mount the RFID in position for the effective recording of the coming and going of the RFID tags.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of in view of Tsutsumi et al. US Patent 5828302.
Regarding claim 5, Easley is silent on teaching the door sensor is communicatively connected to the reader via a relay circuit. Tsutsumi et al. in an analogous art teaches connecting a relay circuit to a sensor in order to detect when the power to the sensor is interrupted (col. 6 lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Tsutsumi et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by implementing a failure detection means for detecting when the power to the sensor is interrupted and further increasing the reliability of the system.
;
Regarding claim 6, Easley is silent on teaching the energy storage device is operatively connected to the reader via relay circuit. Tsutsumi et al. in an analogous art teaches operatively connecting a relay circuit to a power supply in order to detect when the power to the sensor is interrupted (col. 6 lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Tsutsumi et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by implementing a failure detection means for detecting when the power to the sensor is interrupted and further increasing the reliability of the system.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 in view of Tsutsumi et al. US Patent 5828302 and further in view of Sekiguchi et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210288508.
Regarding claim 7, Easley is silent on teaching the relay circuit comprises a relay unit, a fuse, and a switch. Sekiguchi et al. in an analogous art teaches the relay circuit comprises a relay unit, a fuse, and a switch (paragraph 020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche in view of Tsutsumi et al. as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche in view of Tsutsumi et al. by implementing additional protection means for detecting when the power to the sensor is interrupted and further increasing the reliability of the system.
Claim(s) 8-9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of in view of Savarese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20120313758.
Regarding claims 8-9,13, Easley is silent on teaching the energy storage device is connected to a charging circuit and the energy storage device is connected to a charging circuit. Savarese et al in an analogous art teaches the energy storage device is connected to a charging circuit and the energy storage device is connected to a charging circuit (paragraph 09). Savarese et al. teaches the energy storage device (10A) is connected to a power unit 4A (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Savarese because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley by providing a renewable source of power and further increasing the reliability of the system.
.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 in view of in view of Savarese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20120313758 and further in view of Morton et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210271831.
Regarding claim 10, Easley is silent on teaching the charging circuit comprises a motor generator. Morton et al. in an analogous art teaches the charging circuit comprises a motor generator (paragraph 031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche in view of Savarese et al. as disclosed by Morton because such modification represent the substitution of one means for charging the RFID reader for another and producing the predictable result of effecting powering the RFID reader.
Regarding claim 11, Easley is silent on teaching the charging circuit is connected to the wiring harness of the vehicle. Morton et al. in an analogous art teaches the charging circuit comprises a motor generator of the vehicle (paragraph 031). Morton teaches the charging circuit is wired to the vehicle power wiring (fig. 1) and is therefore connected to the wiring harness of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche in view of Savarese et al. as disclosed by Morton because such modification represent the substitution of one means for charging the RFID reader for another and producing the predictable result of effecting powering the RFID reader. Connecting the charging circuit to the wiring harness of the vehicle further utilize the existing wiring resources and reduce cost.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of in view of Bergman et al. US Patent 7417543.
Regarding claim 12, Easley is silent on teaching the energy storage device is connected to a remote battery unit. Bergman et al. in an analogous art teaches the energy storage device is connected to a remote battery unit (col. 8 line 17-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Bergman because the battery supply can be only located locally or remotely and battery location is further determined based on the application environment of the RFID reader.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of Clouser et al. US Patent Application Publication 20190272396.
Regarding claim 15, Easley is silent on teaching the reader is a micro reader. Clouser et al. in an analogous art teaches a container that include a micro RFID reader (paragraph 095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Clouser because such modification represents the substitution of form of RFID reader for another and providing the predictable result detecting the RFID tagged objects.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of Aladesyi WO 2011038018.
Regarding claims 20-21, Easley is silent on teaching the system further comprises a camera. Aladesyi in an analogous art teaches a RFID reader system comprising a camera (paragraph 039-040) and teaches the camera is operatively connected to the cellular communication module (paragraph 016).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Aladesyi because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche by providing additional monitoring of the container and therefore increasing the security of the system.
Claim(s) 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easley US Patent 7,098,784 in view of Lee US Patent Application Publication 20130168449 in view of Khoche US Patent Application Publication 20230252399 and further in view of Lia US Patent Application Publication 20070063624.
Regarding claims 26-30, Easley is silent on teaching the mounting tray along with the lid are secured to a pair of telescoping tubes to form a mounting tray sub-assembly. Liao in an analogous art teaches the use a pair of telescoping tubes to form a mounting tray sub-assembly in order to provide a support structure for supporting the container (paragraph 020-0213). Lia teaches each telescoping tube of the pair of telescoping tubes comprises a front mounting flange (hanging plate 226) and a rear mounting flange (paragraph 020). Lia teaches the front mounting flange and the rear mounting flange enable in securing the mounting tray assembly to opposite walls of a transport unit (the drawers are secured to the transport unit and teaches the opposite walls include side walls of the transport unit (fig. 6, fig.7). Lia teaches each telescoping tube of the pair of telescoping tubes comprises a front mounting flange and a rear mounting flange (fig. 2, paragraph 020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche as disclosed by Venturi because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Easley in view of Lee in view of Khoche by providing a more reliable and adjustable support system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686