CTNF 18/711,729 CTNF 83735 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/16/2026 with respect to claims 16-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In re pages 6-7, Applicant states that “Claims 16-20 and 22-30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (U.S. Patent No. 11,678,011 Bi) in view of GunasekaranBabu (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0150272 Al). Claim 21 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of GunasekaranBabu and further in view of Bellemare (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0125371 Al). Applicant has amended the independent claims to clarify certain features of the claims and to further distinguish the claims from the cited references, taken individually or in any proper combination. The independent claims now set forth, in some form or another, to "enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas, wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas." Support for this amendment can be found at least in paragraphs [0202]- [0204] of the present application. Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach or suggest this feature and that any proper combination is correspondingly deficient. In the Office Action, a combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu is cited for allegedly disclosing all features of the independent claims. Fu is cited for allegedly disclosing to "enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display of areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas." Fu discloses selecting and displaying a subset of multiple video streams and allowing a user to switch between live viewing and recorded video for the displayed streams; while Fu discloses user interaction with recorded video and multi-stream display layouts, Fu fails to teach or suggest enabling independent user playback control for each display area within the subset such that playback control of one display area does not affect the others. Thus, Fu fails to teach or suggest to "enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas, wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas", as recited, in one form or another, by the amended independent claims. GunasekaranBabu and Bellemare also fail to teach or suggest this feature and were not cited for this purpose such that any proper combination of the cited references is therefore also necessarily deficient for at least the same reasons. For at least the aforementioned reasons and deficiencies, Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, taken individually or in any proper combination, fail to teach or suggest independent claims 16, 28, and 30, at least now as amended. Applicant therefore submits that the rejections of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are overcome and that the independent claims are in condition for allowance.” (1) In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It should be noted that the Applicant’s arguments are mostly directed to Fu and the Examiner will respond accordingly. For instance, Fu discloses the following: First, the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42. Also, see col. 24 lines 4-39 to lines 47-60. Thus, it is noted that the touchscreen interface 120c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, consequently, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5. From the above passages, Fu discloses the following claimed limitations of independent claim 16 that recites “enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas.” See actual claim rejection further below. Second, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42. Third, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, Fourth, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55. Therefore, it should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example. From the above passages, Fu discloses the following claimed limitations of independent claim 16 that recites “wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas.” See actual claim rejection further below. As a result, the Applicant’s statements are unsupported by Fu. In fact, Fu discloses the following claimed limitations of independent claim 16 that recites “receive a video stream” (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receive a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); “segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas” (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); “record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas” (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); “and enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas” (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5), “wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas” (see col. 26 lines 42-57, col. 27 lines 15-46 for user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, furthermore, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, furthermore, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55). It should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example) On the other hand, GunasekaranBabu discloses the following claimed limitations of independent claim 16 that recites “receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream” (see ¶ 49 for receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); “segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects” (see ¶ 49 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu discloses all the claimed limitations of independent claim 16, and also, all the claimed limitations of independent claims 28 and 30 that recite similar features. In re pages 7-8, Applicant states that “Because each of the dependent claims includes each of the recitations of a respective independent base claim, Applicant further submits that the dependent claims are patentably distinct from the cited references, taken alone or in combination, for at least those reasons as discussed above. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejections of the dependent claims are overcome, and the dependent claims are in condition for allowance. As the patentability of the independent claims has been argued as set forth above, Applicant will not take this opportunity to argue the merits of the rejection with regard to specific dependent claims. However, Applicant does not concede that the dependent claims are not independently patentable and reserves the right to argue the patentability of dependent claims at a later date if necessary.” (2) In response, as discussed above in (1) with respect to independent claims 16, 28 and 30 which is also applicable to the above Applicant’s arguments, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu discloses all the claimed limitations of independent claims 16, 28 and 30 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16-20 and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 11,678,011 B1)(hereinafter Fu), and further in view of GunasekaranBabu et al. (US 2011/0150272 A1)(hereinafter GunasekaranBabu) . Re claim 16, Fu discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor (i.e. processor as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 57-61); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67): receive a video stream (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receive a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); and enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5), wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (see col. 26 lines 42-57, col. 27 lines 15-46 for user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, furthermore, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, furthermore, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55). It should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example) Fu fails to explicitly teach receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream; segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects. However, the reference of GunasekaranBabu explicitly teaches receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (see ¶ 49 for receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (see ¶ 49 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (user inputs) into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu for the benefit of having a video viewer or monitor that can display a video data stream, and an object displayed in the video data stream can be configured by a user, for example, when a particular object is displayed on the monitor, a user can select or mark the object, wherein properties of the object, such as the perimeter and color of the object, can be automatically identified by the system, wherein the properties of the object can be saved and used for tracking the selected object, wherein once the properties of the selected object are selected and/or identified, the selected objects and other similar objects can be identified throughout the video data stream, thus the selected object and other similar objects can be tracked, wherein the video data stream can be associated with a grid that includes a plurality of rectangular areas, wherein the size of the grid and the rectangular area can be selected and defined by a user, as necessary in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶s 26-28) Re claim 17, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)) comprises determining the one or more objects in the video stream (see col. 24 lines 47-60 for determining the one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320a of the video feeds 260a-260c may be intelligently selected based on events detected by the smart security devices 102a-102n and/or the AI model 140 (e.g., using computer vision analysis, motion detection, analysis of audio, etc.), for example, the video feeds 260a-260c in the arrangement row 320a may be displayed as larger than the video feeds 260g-260i in the bottom arrangement row 320c, the AI model 140 may perform the computer vision analysis on the video data VD_A-VD_N and determine that the video data VD_A-VD_N with the most urgent events (e.g., objects and/or behavior determined to be the most pressing issue) may be selected to be displayed as the video feeds 260a-260c in the top arrangement row 320a as described in fig. 5 col. 25 lines 3-16)) Re claim 18, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein the video stream is a live video stream of a real-world scene (see col. 24 lines 10-13 for the video stream is a live video stream of a real-world scene (i.e. in the example 300, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may be a live feed and the time and date 304 may be the current time and date as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 13-15). Also, see col. 24 lines 35-39) Re claim 19, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein segmenting the video stream is performed prior to an event in the subset of the plurality of display areas of the video stream and wherein enabling user playback control within the subset of the plurality of display areas enables a user to review the event (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segmenting the video stream is performed prior to an event in the subset of the plurality of display areas of the video stream and wherein enabling user playback control within the subset of the plurality of display areas enables a user to review the event (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42, furthermore, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60, moreover, the event thumbnails 392 a -392 i may comprise the video data VD_A-VD_N and/or clips (e.g., a portion) of the video data VD_A-VD_N, the AI model 140 may perform the computer vision analysis on the video data VD_A-VD_N to detect events, the event thumbnails 392 a -392 i may enable the operator 302 to review previously detected events (e.g., non-live events), in one example, the event thumbnails 329 a -392 i may be added after the event is shown live as one of the video feeds 260 a -260 f in the live video feed location 384 c , for example, the AI model 140 may present one of the signals PRI_A-PRI_N to promote one of the video streams VS_A-VS_N to the video feeds 260 a -260 f in response to detecting an event, while the event is detected, the operator 302 may view a live stream of the event as one of the video feeds 260 a -260 f as described in fig. 7 col. 29 lines 20-34). It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas enabling the user/operator 302 to review the event as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5 and the event thumbnails 392a-392i of fig. 7) Re claim 20, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein enabling user playback control comprises enabling a user to watch again footage from the video stream that has already been presented in a field of view of the user (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enabling user playback control comprises enabling a user to watch again footage from the video stream that has already been presented in a field of view of the user (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, moreover, the event thumbnails 392 a -392 i may comprise the video data VD_A-VD_N and/or clips (e.g., a portion) of the video data VD_A-VD_N, the AI model 140 may perform the computer vision analysis on the video data VD_A-VD_N to detect events, the event thumbnails 392 a -392 i may enable the operator 302 to review previously detected events (e.g., non-live events), in one example, the event thumbnails 329 a -392 i may be added after the event is shown live as one of the video feeds 260 a -260 f in the live video feed location 384 c , for example, the AI model 140 may present one of the signals PRI_A-PRI_N to promote one of the video streams VS_A-VS_N to the video feeds 260 a -260 f in response to detecting an event, while the event is detected, the operator 302 may view a live stream of the event as one of the video feeds 260 a -260 f as described in fig. 7 col. 29 lines 20-34). Thus, it should be noted that the user/operator 302 is allowed to watch over footage/video from the video streams) Re claim 22, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67) at least to reposition display of at least one display area under user playback control (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for at least to reposition display of at least one display area under user playback control (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42, furthermore, in the example shown, the bottom arrangement row 320 c of video feeds 260 g -260 i may be regularly rotated in and out of view, rotating the video feeds 260 g -260 i in and out of view may enable the operator 302 to see all the available video streams over time (e.g., even when no event is detected), a subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N may be rotated in and out at particular time intervals (e.g., every 30 seconds) as described in fig. 5 col. 25 lines 38-45)) Re claim 23, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67) at least to, when the video stream is viewed separately by a plurality of users, enable independent playback control of at least one display area for different users (see col. 26 lines 42-57, col. 27 lines 15-46 for at least to, when the video stream is viewed separately by a plurality of users, enable independent playback control of at least one display area for different users (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, furthermore, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, furthermore, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55). It should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example) Re claim 24, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67) at least to provide the segmented video stream to at least one display device (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 for at least to provide the segmented video stream to at least one display device (i.e. the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 i simultaneously, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a - 260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 4-5 to lines 47-60)) Re claim 25, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67) at least to discard the video stream for area or areas outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 22 lines 34-43 for at least to discard the video stream for area or areas outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the communication of the video streams 270 c -270 d may be stopped (e.g., the video streams may be discarded, communication may be terminated, only thumbnails may be communicated, etc.), the video streams 270 c -270 d may no longer be displayed on the companion app 130 as described in col. 22 lines 43-47)) Re claim 26, Fu discloses a display device comprising an apparatus as claimed in claim 16, an apparatus comprising: at least one processor (i.e. processor as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 57-61); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67): receive a video stream (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receive a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); and enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5) Fu fails to explicitly teach receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream; segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects. However, the reference of GunasekaranBabu explicitly teaches receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (see ¶ 49 for receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (see ¶ 49 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (user inputs) into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu for the benefit of having a video viewer or monitor that can display a video data stream, and an object displayed in the video data stream can be configured by a user, for example, when a particular object is displayed on the monitor, a user can select or mark the object, wherein properties of the object, such as the perimeter and color of the object, can be automatically identified by the system, wherein the properties of the object can be saved and used for tracking the selected object, wherein once the properties of the selected object are selected and/or identified, the selected objects and other similar objects can be identified throughout the video data stream, thus the selected object and other similar objects can be tracked, wherein the video data stream can be associated with a grid that includes a plurality of rectangular areas, wherein the size of the grid and the rectangular area can be selected and defined by a user, as necessary in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶s 26-28) Re claim 27, Fu discloses an electronic device comprising an apparatus as claimed claim 16 and at least one input configured to receive the video stream, an apparatus comprising: at least one processor (i.e. processor as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 57-61); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (i.e. in an example, the circuit 120 a may implement a processor, the circuit 120 b may implement a memory, etc., the circuits 120 a -120 n may be configured to execute computer readable instructions as described in fig. 1 col. 10 lines 60-67): receive a video stream (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receive a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for record the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); and enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enable user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5) Fu fails to explicitly teach receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream; segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects. However, the reference of GunasekaranBabu explicitly teaches receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (see ¶ 49 for receive one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (see ¶ 49 for segment the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (user inputs) into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu for the benefit of having a video viewer or monitor that can display a video data stream, and an object displayed in the video data stream can be configured by a user, for example, when a particular object is displayed on the monitor, a user can select or mark the object, wherein properties of the object, such as the perimeter and color of the object, can be automatically identified by the system, wherein the properties of the object can be saved and used for tracking the selected object, wherein once the properties of the selected object are selected and/or identified, the selected objects and other similar objects can be identified throughout the video data stream, thus the selected object and other similar objects can be tracked, wherein the video data stream can be associated with a grid that includes a plurality of rectangular areas, wherein the size of the grid and the rectangular area can be selected and defined by a user, as necessary in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶s 26-28) Re claim 28, Fu discloses a method comprising: receiving a video stream (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receiving a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); recording the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for recording the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); and enabling user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enabling user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5), wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (see col. 26 lines 42-57, col. 27 lines 15-46 for user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, furthermore, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, furthermore, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55). It should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example) Fu fails to explicitly teach receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream; segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects. However, the reference of GunasekaranBabu explicitly teaches receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (see ¶ 49 for receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (see ¶ 49 for segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (user inputs) into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu for the benefit of having a video viewer or monitor that can display a video data stream, and an object displayed in the video data stream can be configured by a user, for example, when a particular object is displayed on the monitor, a user can select or mark the object, wherein properties of the object, such as the perimeter and color of the object, can be automatically identified by the system, wherein the properties of the object can be saved and used for tracking the selected object, wherein once the properties of the selected object are selected and/or identified, the selected objects and other similar objects can be identified throughout the video data stream, thus the selected object and other similar objects can be tracked, wherein the video data stream can be associated with a grid that includes a plurality of rectangular areas, wherein the size of the grid and the rectangular area can be selected and defined by a user, as necessary in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶s 26-28) Re claim 29, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 20 discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 29. Re claim 30, Fu discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon for performing at least the following: receiving a video stream (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for receiving a video stream (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30)); segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (see col. 23 lines 53-67, col. 24 lines 1-7 for segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas (i.e. arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); recording the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 14 lines 18-20 for recording the video stream for a subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the video stream storage 210 may be configured to store the video data VD_A-VD_N received from the smart devices 102 a -102 n as described in figs. 1-2 col. 18 lines 28-30, furthermore, recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 2 col. 24 lines 41-42, moreover, arrangement rows 320 a -320 c are shown, the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may be one example implementation of an arrangement of the subset of the video streams VS_A-VS_N that may be configured by the companion app 130, in the example shown, the top arrangement row 320 a may comprise the video feeds 260 a -260 c , the middle arrangement row 320 b may comprise the video feeds 260 d -260 f and the bottom arrangement row 320 c may comprise the video feeds 260 g -260 i , in the example shown, the video feeds 260 a -260 i may display the video data captured by the smart security devices 102 a -102 n implemented in a parking lot (e.g., various cars and parking spaces may be shown), the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c may display the video feeds 260 a -260 i as a 3×3 grid arrangement as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 47-60)); and enabling user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enabling user playback control of the recorded video stream within the subset of the plurality of display areas without enabling user playback control of the video stream outside of the subset of the display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5), wherein user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (see col. 26 lines 42-57, col. 27 lines 15-46 for user playback control is enabled such that respective ones of the display areas in the subset of the plurality of display areas are associated with independent playback control enabling individual control of playback of the recorded video stream for the respective ones of the of the display areas (i.e. the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 24 lines 39-42, furthermore, the companion app 130 is shown displaying multiple of the video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously, the companion app 130 may be configured to enable the user 302 to access the multiple video feeds 260 a -260 f simultaneously as described in fig. 6 col. 26 lines 58-61, furthermore, in the example shown, a pin icon 360 is displayed on the bottom left video feed 260 f , the pin icon 360 may indicate that the operator 302 has provided a preference to always display the particular video feed 260 f , the companion app 130 may enable different users to pin some of the video streams VS_A-VS_N as worthy of permanent attention, and deprecate the priority of others, for example, the operator 302 may pin the video stream VS_K for display as the video feed 260 f for constant monitoring as described in fig. 6 col. 27 lines 47-55). It should be noted that different users are allowed to view video streams separately and have independent playback control of display areas as shown in figs. 5-7, for example) Fu fails to explicitly teach receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream; segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects. However, the reference of GunasekaranBabu explicitly teaches receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (see ¶ 49 for receiving one or more user inputs corresponding to one or more objects in the video stream (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)); segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (see ¶ 49 for segmenting the video stream into a plurality of display areas based on the one or more user inputs corresponding to the one or more objects (i.e. an interactive window 40 displayed on a viewing screen of a graphical user interface for designating the boundaries of a selected object, a first sub-window 42 can display the selected video data stream, and a second sub-window 44 can display the selected frame, a grid can be associated with the selected video data stream and/or with the selected frame, the grid can include a plurality of rectangular areas, the size of the grid and the rectangular areas can be determined by a user as described in fig. 6 paragraphs 47-48)) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (user inputs) into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by GunasekaranBabu for the benefit of having a video viewer or monitor that can display a video data stream, and an object displayed in the video data stream can be configured by a user, for example, when a particular object is displayed on the monitor, a user can select or mark the object, wherein properties of the object, such as the perimeter and color of the object, can be automatically identified by the system, wherein the properties of the object can be saved and used for tracking the selected object, wherein once the properties of the selected object are selected and/or identified, the selected objects and other similar objects can be identified throughout the video data stream, thus the selected object and other similar objects can be tracked, wherein the video data stream can be associated with a grid that includes a plurality of rectangular areas, wherein the size of the grid and the rectangular area can be selected and defined by a user, as necessary in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶s 26-28) 07-22-aia AIA Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (US 11,678,011 B1)(hereinafter Fu) as applied to claim s 16-20 and 22-30 above, and further in view of GunasekaranBabu et al. (US 2011/0150272 A1)(hereinafter GunasekaranBabu), and further in view of Bellemare et al. (US 2023/0125371 A1)(hereinafter Bellemare) . Re claim 21, the combination of Fu and GunasekaranBabu as discussed above in claim 16 discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by Fu wherein enabling user playback control within the subset of the plurality of display areas (see col. 24 lines 4-39 for enabling user playback control within the subset of the plurality of display areas (i.e. the touchscreen interface 120 c is shown displaying output for and receiving input (e.g., requests) for the companion app 130, a finger 302 is shown interacting with the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c may receive the input from the finger 302 that may be interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, the touchscreen interface 120 c and/or the companion app 130 may update the display in response to the video streams received and/or the requests of the user 302, the live view button 314 may enable the operator 302 to toggle between a live view and watching previously recorded video streams (e.g., the video streams stored in the video stream storage 210) as described in fig. 5 col. 23 lines 61-67, col. 24 lines 1-3 to lines 39-42). Also, see col. 24 lines 47-60. It is noted that the touchscreen interface 120 c receives the input from the finger 302 that is interpreted as requests from the user by the companion app 130, as a result, allowing the user/operator 302 playback control of the recorded video streams within the subset of the plurality of display areas as shown in the arrangement rows 320 a -320 c of fig. 5) Fu fails to explicitly teach comprises enabling at least one of: pausing, rewinding, fast-forwarding, or adjusting playback speed of at least one display area within the subset of display areas. However, the reference of Bellemare explicitly teaches comprises enabling at least one of: pausing, rewinding, fast-forwarding, or adjusting playback speed of at least one display area within the subset of display areas (see ¶ 31 for enabling at least one of: pausing, rewinding, fast-forwarding, or adjusting playback speed of at least one display area within the subset of display areas (i.e. a set of media files may be selected by a user from a list 230 of available media files, for example, individual media files may be selected from a list 230 of available media files and dragged into corresponding display areas 210 using a pointer, e.g., a mouse, via a user interface provided by an operating system of the client computer 110 in conjunction with the web browser presenting the web page 200, in the example depicted, three media files have been selected as the set of selected media files for display in three display areas 210 of the screen, the web page 200 may provide a set of controls 235, such as buttons to begin play and move forward or back in time, e.g., by frames as described in fig. 2 paragraph 32). Also, see figs. 3-5 paragraphs 34-35, 39) Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Fu, GunasekaranBabu and Bellemare as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (enabling) into the system of Fu as taught by Bellemare. One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Fu as taught by Bellemare for the benefit of having a web page 200 which may provide a user interface element (not shown), e.g., a button, which allows a selected media file to be selected from a file system menu provided by the operating system of the client computer 110 in conjunction with the web browser, thus, these features provide for outputting the retrieved media content of a set of selected media files to corresponding display areas 210 provided on the web page 200, wherein three media files have been selected as the set of selected media files for display in three display areas 210 of the screen, wherein the web page 200 may provide a set of controls 235, such as buttons to begin play and move forward or back in time, e.g., by frames in order to have a user friendly interaction when providing a set of controls 235, such as buttons to move forward or back in time, e.g., by frames (see fig. 2 ¶ 32) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSE M MESA whose telephone number is (571)270-1706. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30AM-6:00PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thai Tran can be reached at 571-272-7382. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. 5/26/2026 /JOSE M. MESA/ Examiner Art Unit 2484 /THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 2 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 3 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 4 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 5 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 6 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 7 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 8 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 9 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 10 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 11 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 12 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 13 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 14 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 15 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 16 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 17 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 18 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 19 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 20 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 21 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 22 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 23 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 24 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 25 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 26 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 27 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 28 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 29 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 30 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 31 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 32 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 33 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 34 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 35 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 36 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 37 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 38 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 39 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 40 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 41 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 42 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 43 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 44 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 45 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 46 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 47 Art Unit: 2484 Application/Control Number: 18/711,729 Page 48 Art Unit: 2484