DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions and Status of Claims
Applicant’s timely election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6, drawn to a steel, in the reply filed on September 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, Group II, Claims 7-14, drawn to a method of manufacturing, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-14 are pending and Claims 1-6 are currently considered in this office action.
Priority
Applicant’s claim to foreign priority in application no. CN202111382933.8, filed November 22, 2021, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, and dependent Claims 2-6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites the transitional language ‘consisting of’; however, dependent Claim 2 requires the inclusion of at least one of Ti and Nb and Claim 3 recites 0-0.015 P%, 0-0.01% S and 0-0.002% O. It is unclear if the composition being claimed is to be limited the elements recited in claim 1 or not. Examiner interprets wherein Claim 1 requires the elements recited, and optionally one of Ti and Nb, and optionally 0-0.015 P%, 0-0.01% S and 0-0.002% O.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim requires the inclusion of at least one of Ti and Nb; however, Claim 1 recites the transitional language ‘consisting of’ regarding the composition. It is unclear if Ti and Nb are permitted in the steel.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim recites 0-0.015 P%, 0-0.01% S and 0-0.002% O; however, Claim 1 recites the transitional language ‘consisting of’ regarding the composition. It is unclear if amounts of P, S and O are permitted in the steel.
Claim 2 and Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 3, the Claim recites additional elements (see Claim 2 – Nb and/or Ti; see Claim 3 0-0.015 P%, 0-0.01% S and 0-0.002% O); however, Claim 1 requires the composition to be limited to exclude additional elements by use of the transitional language ‘consisting of’. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (previously cited, CN 109136737 A, updated English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 2 and Claim 3, Zhao discloses a steel comprising:
Element
Claim 1 (wt%)
Claim 2 (wt%)
Claim 3 (wt%)
Zhao, Abstract (wt%)
C
0.22-0.33
0.245-0.350
Si
0.1-1.0
0.10-0.50
Mn
0.3-1.5
0.20-1.20
Cr
0.2-1.6
0.30-1.20
Ni
2.2-3.8
2.00-3.70
Mo
0.1-0.7
0.20-0.80
Cu
0.02-0.3
0-0.30
Al
0.01-0.045
0.01-0.08
V
0.01-0.25
0-0.12
N
0-0.013
0-0.0120
Nb
>0 to 0.04
0-0.08
Ti
>0 to 0.03
0.003-0.06
P
0-0.015
0-0.015
S
0-0.01
0-0.003
O
0-0.002
0-0.003
Balance
Fe+imp.
Fe+imp.
Fe+imp.
Fe+imp.
(12C+0.3Mn+Ni)/
(Cr+2Mo+2Si)
2.5-3.2
1.3-9.2
The ranges of Ca and H disclosed by Zhao are inclusive of 0%, and therefore the composition of Zhao reads on the claimed transitional language ‘consisting of’ (Abstract; para. [0026]-[0027]).
Additionally:
Zhao teaches wherein Mn and Ni exist in solid solution, and are included to increase hardenability and to improve low-temperature impact toughness by reducing stacking fault energy, respectively, while balancing for the amount of retained austenite which reduces yield strength (para. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 1.2% Mn and 3.7% Ni, as disclosed and taught by Zhao, in order to maximize hardenability and low temperature toughness through solid solution elements, while balancing for the amount of retained austenite and therefore yield strength (see teaching above).
Zhao teaches wherein Cr is included to increase hardenability and strength by promoting martensite, while balancing for the formation of coarse carbides and therefore low-temperature toughness (). Zhao teaches that Si is included in order to hinder dislocation movement and to prevent coarse carbides, thereby increasing strength, while balancing for low-temperature impact toughness (see teaching above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 1.2% Cr and 0.5% Si, as disclosed and taught by Zhao, in order to maximize strength through martensite formation and pinning of dislocations, while balancing for coarse carbide formation and therefore low-temperature toughness (see teaching above).
Zhao teaches wherein Mo is included to enhance hardenability through bainite and martensite formation, and increase strength through solid solution strengthening and fine carbide formation, while balancing for cost.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 0.2% Mo, as disclosed and taught by Zhao, in order to enhance hardenability and strength through bainite/martensite, solid solution strengthening and fine carbide formation, while maximizing cost (see teaching above).
A steel comprising 1.2% Mn, 3.7% Ni, 1.2% Cr, 0.5% Si and 0.2% Mo comprises a (12C+0.3Mn+Ni)/(Cr+2Mo+2Si) value of 2.69-3.18, depending on C content, which further reads on the claimed 2.5-3.2 range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 4, the compositional ranges of Zhao equate to a weather resistance Index I, wherein I=26.01*Cu+3.88*Ni+1.20*Cr+1.49*Si+17.28*P-7.29*Cu*Ni- 9.10*Ni*P-33.39*Cu2, ranging from 8.26-16.54, which overlaps and reads on the claimed range of 10 or more. Further, the steel comprising 1.2% Mn, 3.7% Ni, 1.2% Cr, 0.5% Si and 0.2% Mo (see Claim 1 above), comprises a weather index of 13-16.54 for 0-0.3% Cu and 0-0.015% P. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao discloses tempered martensite, tempered bainite and dispersed fine carbides throughout the steel matrix (para. [0045]). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that dispersed carbides throughout the matrix of the steel would include carbides distributed between lamellae as claimed because the matrix includes the lamellae.
Further, Zhao discloses the claimed composition (see Claim 1 above), and Zhao discloses the same quenching and tempering process after reheating and hot-rolling(see table below).
Process step
Instant Invention (pg. 19-20)
Zhao
Para.
Zhao Ex. 4,
para. [0065]
Quench/aust. T
860-1000C
840-1050C
[0037]
930C
Quench/aust. time
2-6 hr
2.5 hr (150 min)
Cooling
Water
Quenching*
Temper T
400-600
500-650C
[0039]
590C
Temper time
1-4hr
3 hr
Cooling
Air
Air
[0039]
air
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Because the steel of Zhao comprises the claimed composition and the quenching and tempering method is the same as the instant invention, one or ordinary skill in the art would appreciate Zhao to comprise the claimed microstructure. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao discloses the following mechanical properties, which read on and overlap the claimed ranges:
Property
Claim 6
Zhao (Abstract)
Yield strength
1100 MPa or more
900 MPa or more
Tensile strength
1250 MPa or more
1150 MPa or more
Charpy impact energy (-20C)
70 J or more
70 J or more
Elongation
15% or more
15% or more
Reduction of area
50% or more
50% or more
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Zhao is silent towards the Charpy impact energy at room temperature; however, the Charpy impact values of Zhao at -20C are above 80J (see Table 2 of Zhao), and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Charpy impact values increase with increasing temperature. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the steel of Zhao would comprise a Charpy Impact value of 80J or more at room temperature as claimed because room temperature is a higher temperature than -20C.
Further, Zhao discloses the claimed composition (see Claim 1 above), and Zhao discloses the same quenching and tempering process after reheating and hot-rolling(see table below).
Process step
Instant Invention (pg. 19-20)
Zhao
Para.
Zhao Ex. 4,
para. [0065]
Quench/aust. T
860-1000C
840-1050C
[0037]
930C
Quench/aust. time
2-6 hr
2.5 hr (150 min)
Cooling
Water
Quenching*
Temper T
400-600
500-650C
[0039]
590C
Temper time
1-4hr
3 hr
Cooling
Air
Air
[0039]
air
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Because the steel of Zhao comprises the claimed composition and the quenching and tempering method is the same as the instant invention, one or ordinary skill in the art would appreciate Zhao to comprise the claimed mechanical properties. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Claims 5 and 6 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (previously cited, CN 109136737 A, updated English machine translation provided), applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Yuan (CN 104480406 A, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao discloses tempered martensite, tempered bainite and dispersed fine carbides throughout the steel matrix (para. [0045]).
While one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that dispersed carbides throughout the matrix of the steel would include carbides distributed between lamellae as claimed because the matrix includes the lamellae, Zhao does not expressly disclose that the carbides are interlamellar (i.e., between lamellae).
However, Zhao discloses the claimed composition (see Claim 1 above), and Zhao and Yuan disclose the instant method (see details below).
Zhao discloses the instant steps of reheating, hot-rolling, austenizing (quenching) and tempering (see table below), but is silent towards the reheating time and initial rolling temperature during hot-rolling.
Yuan teaches reheating at 1000-1250C for 1-5 hours in order to achieve a uniform austenized microstructure while preventing austenite grain growth, thereby facilitating smooth rolling and preventing cracking (para. [0038]).
Yuan teaches an initial rolling temperature of 1000-1150C and a finish rolling temperature of 780-980C in order to facilitate the homogenization of deformed austenite and to yield a uniform microstructure and uniform plate thickness after water cooling (para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reheated the steel slab for a time of 1-5 hours and to have comprised an initial rolling temperature of 1000-1150C, as taught by Yuan, for the invention disclosed by Zhao, in order to achieve a uniform austenized microstructure while preventing austenite grain growth, thereby facilitating smooth rolling and preventing cracking, and in order to facilitate the homogenization of deformed austenite and to yield a uniform microstructure and uniform plate thickness after water cooling (see teachings above).
Therefore, Zhao and Yuan disclose the instant method (see Table below).
Process step
Instant Invention (pg. 19-20)
Zhao
Para.
Zhao Ex. 4, para. [0065]
Yuan, para. [0038]-[0039]
Reheat T
1150-1250C
1050-1250C
[0033]
1150C
1000-1250C
Reheat time
3-12 hr
1-5 hr
Initial rolling T
1050C+
1000-1150C
Final rolling T
900C+
760C+
[0035]
980C
780-980C
Rolling steps
Roll-in-one
Roll directly to final spec.
[0054]
Quench/aust. T
860-1000C
840-1050C
[0037]
930C
Quench/aust. time
2-6 hr
2.5 hr
(150 min)
Cooling
Water
Quenching*
Temper T
400-600
500-650C
[0039]
590C
Temper time
1-4hr
3 hr
Cooling
Air
Air
[0039]
air
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Because the steel of Zhao comprises the claimed composition and the method of Zhao and Yuan is the same as the instant invention, one or ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the microstructure of Zhao and Yuan to comprise the claimed interlamellar carbides distributed between lamellae. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao discloses the following mechanical properties, which read on and overlap the claimed ranges:
Property
Claim 6
Zhao (Abstract)
Yield strength
1100 MPa or more
900 MPa or more
Tensile strength
1250 MPa or more
1150 MPa or more
Charpy impact energy (-20C)
70 J or more
70 J or more
Elongation
15% or more
15% or more
Reduction of area
50% or more
50% or more
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Zhao is silent towards the Charpy impact energy at room temperature; however, the Charpy impact values of Zhao at -20C are above 80J (see Table 2 of Zhao), and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Charpy impact values increase with increasing temperature. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the steel of Zhao would comprise a Charpy Impact value of 80J or more at room temperature as claimed because room temperature is a higher temperature than -20C.
Further, Zhao discloses the claimed composition (see Claim 1 above), and Zhao and Yuan disclose the instant method (see details below).
Zhao discloses the instant steps of reheating, hot-rolling, austenizing (quenching) and tempering (see table below), but is silent towards the reheating time and initial rolling temperature during hot-rolling.
Yuan teaches reheating at 1000-1250C for 1-5 hours in order to achieve a uniform austenized microstructure while preventing austenite grain growth, thereby facilitating smooth rolling and preventing cracking (para. [0038]).
Yuan teaches an initial rolling temperature of 1000-1150C and a finish rolling temperature of 780-980C in order to facilitate the homogenization of deformed austenite and to yield a uniform microstructure and uniform plate thickness after water cooling (para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reheated the steel slab for a time of 1-5 hours and to have comprised an initial rolling temperature of 1000-1150C, as taught by Yuan, for the invention disclosed by Zhao, in order to achieve a uniform austenized microstructure while preventing austenite grain growth, thereby facilitating smooth rolling and preventing cracking, and in order to facilitate the homogenization of deformed austenite and to yield a uniform microstructure and uniform plate thickness after water cooling (see teachings above).
Therefore, Zhao and Yuan disclose the instant method (see Table below).
Process step
Instant Invention (pg. 19-20)
Zhao
Para.
Zhao Ex. 4, para. [0065]
Yuan, para. [0038]-[0039]
Reheat T
1150-1250C
1050-1250C
[0033]
1150C
1000-1250C
Reheat time
3-12 hr
1-5 hr
Initial rolling T
1050C+
1000-1150C
Final rolling T
900C+
760C+
[0035]
980C
780-980C
Rolling steps
Roll-in-one
Roll directly to final spec.
[0054]
Quench/aust. T
860-1000C
840-1050C
[0037]
930C
Quench/aust. time
2-6 hr
2.5 hr
(150 min)
Cooling
Water
Quenching*
Temper T
400-600
500-650C
[0039]
590C
Temper time
1-4hr
3 hr
Cooling
Air
Air
[0039]
air
*one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the quenching to be water quenching unless otherwise specified
Because the steel of Zhao comprises the claimed composition and the method of Zhao and Yuan is the same as the instant invention, one or ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the steel of Zhao and Yuan to comprise the claimed mechanical properties. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735