DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 07/09/2026.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1 – 18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/09/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 18 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the independent claim 1. The amendments have changed the scope of the claim; therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior art NGUYEN et al. (US 2019/0159150 A1) and a new prior art WU et al. (US 2021/0219248 A1). Independent claims 10 and 16 were not amended; therefore, same rejection has been kept for the claims.
Applicant argued on page 2: 1st paragraph of the remark, that “Although Lee discloses transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) on a selected carrier component (e.g. paragraph [0146] of Lee), Lee does not disclose or suggest that the carrier component on which the SLSS is transmitted is not used for transmission of any sidelink traffic, as required by claim 16”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. The prior art Lee teaches in ¶ [0146] that “it is preferable that the UE transmits the SLSS/PSBCH only in the carrier in which the highest-priority synchronization source is monitored (in a carrier selected as a synchronization reference carrier or an anchor carrier by the UE)”. Further, Fig.11 along with specification ¶ [0073] discloses that when the synchronization reference is identified as a BS or a GNSS, the UE performs operations S1103 and S1104 and the UE selects the synchronization carrier between a carrier for PSCCH transmission and a carrier for PSSCH transmission (¶ [0178]). Here, the PSSCH transmission means sidelink data/ traffic transmission. Therefore, the selected carrier is for PSSCH/ sidelink traffic transmission. Regarding Fig. 11, both the transmissions in S1104 and S1105 are described as SLSS; but the transmission S1104 is on the selected carrier/ synchronization carrier and the transmission S1105 is on legacy carrier. The selected carrier is used for transmission of sidelink traffic and none of the legacy carrier is used for transmission of any sidelink traffic. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on page 2: 2nd paragraph of the remark, that “Paragraph [0173] of Lee merely states that the SLSS transmission is based on a legacy sidelink transmission procedure defined by applicable communication standards, and Paragraph [0037] of Lee merely identifies example standards such as LTE and NR. Neither paragraph discloses or suggests that the carrier used for SLSS transmission is excluded from carrying sidelink traffic, nor that SLSS transmission is conditioned on the absence of sidelink traffic on the carriers”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark and conclusion. Lee discloses in Fig.11 along with specification ¶ [0073] discloses that When the synchronization reference is identified as a network entity (e.g., SyncRef UE) other than the BS and the GNSS, the UE performs operation S1105; operation S1105, transmission of an SLSS is based on a legacy SL channel/signal transmission procedure, when the synchronization reference is a UE, or a procedure of transmitting an SL channel/signal on a selected synchronization carrier as in operations S1103 and S1104. As described above, the operation S1105 is performed using legacy carrier and the operation S1104 is performed with a selected synchronization carrier, which not a legacy carrier. Further the selected synchronization carrier is used for sidelink traffic transmission; therefore, it is understood from the discussion that legacy carrier is not used for sidelink traffic. Therefore, Lee definitely teaches the limitation in question; accordingly, applicant’s argument is not proper.
Applicant argued on page 2: 3rd paragraph of the remark, that “At most, Lee discloses the SLSS transmission within existing sidelink communication frameworks in which sidelink traffic may be present. However, Lee does not disclose or suggest a transmission condition in which sidelink synchronization information is transmitted specifically when none of the carrier frequencies is used for transmission of any sidelink traffic, as required by claim 16.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comments. As discussed above, sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) is considered as a sidelink synchronization information and according to Fig. 11 it is transmitted using legacy carrier (operation S1105), wherein sidelink traffic/ PSSCH is transmitted using a selected carrier (operation S1104). Therefore, transmission condition in which sidelink synchronization information is transmitted (operation S1105) specifically when none of the carrier frequencies (legacy carrier) is used for transmission of any sidelink traffic.
Applicant argued on page 2: 2nd last paragraph of the remark, that claims 17 – 18 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 16. Accordingly, claims 17- 18 are allowable at least by virtue of their dependence from claim 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. AS discussed above, the independent claim 16 is not allowable, therefore, the dependent claims are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on page 3: 2nd and 3rd paragraph of the remark, “Claim 1 has been amended to further clarify that the at least one carrier frequency (on which sidelink synchronization information is transmitted) is associated with the respective peer terminal device. Neither Nguyen nor Chen discloses the aforementioned feature”.
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s arguments. The new prior art Wu discloses that each sidelink 504a and 504b utilizes a sidelink carrier (Fig.5 and ¶ [0083]); each sidelink device 502a, 502b, and 502c detects a synchronization signal for use in synchronizing sidelink communication in both time and frequency (¶ [0084]). Here, Each sidelink 504a and 504b uses a carrier frequency for sidelink communication with peer terminal devices 502b and 502c, respectively; therefore, the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted to each of the plurality of peer terminal devices on a frequency carrier, wherein the frequency carrier is associated with a respective peer terminal device of the plurality of peer terminal devices. Accordingly, Wu teaches the limitation in question; therefore, applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 4: 4th and last paragraph of the remark, regarding dependent claims 2 – 9. According to applicant, “Nguyen and Chen fail to disclose or suggest each and every feature of claim 1”; therefore, the dependent claims are allowable at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Since, the combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all limitations of the currently amended independent claim 1; therefore, claim 1 is not allowable, therefore, the dependent claims 2 – 9 are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claim 1. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not proper.
Applicant argued on page 5: 3rd last paragraph of the remark, “In rejecting claim 10, the Examiner relies on Li's disclosure of a PC5 unicast link between UE1 and UE2 and the use of multiple carriers for PSSCH transmission. However, PSSCH is a physical sidelink shared channel used for sidelink data transmission, and its operation depends on prior synchronization but does not itself constitute or disclose any synchronization signal/information”. According to applicant, Li is concerned with HARQ-based feedback and RLF detection over PSSCH/PSFCH, but is silent regarding SLSS transmission or carrier selection for SLSS”.
Examiner respectfully agrees Li may not discuss sidelink synchronization information; but Li definitely discloses one or more carrier frequencies for unicast sidelink communication (¶ [0008] and ¶ [0045]) and one or more carrier frequencies to transmit sidelink information to a peer terminal device (Fig.1 and ¶ [0057]). The secondary reference Lee discloses the sidelink synchronization information on one or more carrier. Therefore, the combination of Li and Lee teaches all the limitation as recited in claim 10. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not convincing.
Applicant argued on page 5: 2nd last paragraph of the remark, “Lee, on the other hand, is directed to synchronization carrier selection for SLSS transmission. In Lee, SLSS is transmitted on selected synchronization/anchor carriers based on synchronization-related assistance information. However, these carriers are not disclosed as sidelink communication carriers used for PC5 unicast data exchange (e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH- based communication as described in Li)”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments and remarks. As discussed above and the applicant also agreed that Lee discloses SLSS is transmitted on selected synchronization/anchor carriers based on synchronization-related assistance information; therefore, it is obvious that the selected synchronization/anchor carriers are the one or more carrier frequencies for sidelink transmission. Lee may be silent about unicast sidelink; but the combination of Li and Lee teaches all the limitation as recited in the claim.
Applicant argued on page 5: last paragraph of the remark, “neither Li nor Lee discloses or suggests transmitting SLSS on sidelink communication carrier frequencies as recited in claim 10. In particular, neither Li nor Lee teaches or suggests that synchronization carriers are equivalent to sidelink communication carriers, or that SLSS transmission and sidelink data communication operate over unified carriers defined for the peer terminal device. Therefore, Li and Lee, singly or in combination, fails to describe each and every feature of claim 10, and claim 10 is allowable”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment and conclusion. Li definitely discloses one or more carrier frequencies for unicast sidelink transmission with an peer terminal, as required by the claim and Lee definitely discloses one or more carrier frequencies to transmit sidelink synchronization information based on assistance information, as required by the claim. Therefore, the combination of Li and Lee teaches all the limitations as recited in the claim. Applicant argued that “neither Li nor Lee teaches or suggests that synchronization carriers are equivalent to sidelink communication carriers”; but claim limitations do not clarify whether the one or more carrier frequencies for unicast sidelink transmission and the one or more carrier frequencies to transmit sidelink synchronization information are the same. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not proper.
Applicant argued on page 6: 2nd and 5th paragraph of the remark, regarding dependent claims 15 and 12 – 14. According to applicant, claims 15 and 12-14 are allowable at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. Since, the combination of Li and Lee teaches all limitations of the claim 10; therefore, claim 10 is not allowable, therefore, the dependent claims 12 – 15 are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claim 10. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not correct.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the arguments filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied to in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the respective peer terminal device” in line 4 – 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as “respective peer terminal device” has not been recited in previous statement. Claims 2 – 9 depend on claim 1; therefore, same rational applies to them. Accordingly, claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it is considered as if the limitation is recited as, “a respective peer terminal device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (LEE hereinafter referred to LEE) (US 2021/0250881 A1) (Cited in IDS).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 16, LEE teaches a method (Title, METHOD AND TERMINAL FOR TRANSMITTING SIDELINK CHANNEL/SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM) in a terminal device (Fig.5 and [0085], UE transmits a sidelink signal using the selected resource unit), comprising:
transmitting sidelink synchronization information on one or more carrier frequencies ([0146], UE actually transmits an sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) in a specific CC; it is preferable that the UE transmits the SLSS/PSBCH only in the carrier in which the highest-priority synchronization source is monitored) when none of the one or more carrier frequencies is used for transmission of any sidelink traffic ([0173], transmission of an SLSS is based on a legacy SL channel/signal transmission procedure, an SL channel/signal transmission procedure defined in standards (e.g., the 3GPP standards); [0037], present disclosure is described based on 3GPP communication systems (e.g., LTE-A, NR, etc.). Here, the SLSS is transmitted on a legacy carrier, wherein the SL channel/signal transmission (i.e. sidelink traffic) is based on the 3GPP standards (i.e. LTE, NR); therefore, it is implicit that none of the one or more carrier frequencies (i.e. legacy carrier) is used for transmission of any sidelink traffic).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 17, LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
LEE further teaches
wherein the one or more carrier frequencies comprise one or more carrier frequencies configured for legacy sidelink communication ([0173], transmission of an SLSS is based on a legacy SL channel/signal transmission procedure. Here, the carrier frequency is specific to legacy sidelink communication).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 18, LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
LEE further teaches
wherein the one or more carrier frequencies comprise carrier frequencies specific to different releases or services ([0173], transmission of an SLSS is based on a legacy SL channel/signal transmission procedure. Here, the carrier frequency is specific to legacy services).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 – 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NGUYEN et al. (NGUYEN hereinafter referred to NGUYEN) (US 2019/0159150 A1) (cited in IDS) in view of WU et al. (WU hereinafter referred to WU) (US 2021/0219248 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, NGUYEN teaches a method (Title, SYNCHRONIZATION FOR V2X CARRIER AGGREGRATION) in a terminal device (Fig.2, UE 104-a) configured with a plurality of carrier frequencies for sidelink communication with a plurality of peer terminal devices (Fig.2 and [0039], first UE 104 (e.g., UE 104-a) is configured with a set of synchronization carriers (e.g., Set A) in addition to one or more frequency carriers for side link communication 205 between the first UE 104-a and one or more second UEs 104-b; Fig.4 and [0063], at the first UE, one or more frequency carriers used to establish communication with one or more second UEs. Here, the second UEs 104-b are the plurality of peer terminal devices), comprising:
transmitting, sidelink synchronization information on at least one carrier frequency (Abstract, techniques that allow the user equipment (UE) to autonomously manage timing synchronization of a plurality of carriers using sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS); Fig.4 and [0064], determining that the sidelink synchronization capabilities of the first UE allow the first UE to receive SLSS on a first and a second carrier of the plurality of carriers, and transmit the SLSS on a second carrier. Here, the SLSS is sidelink synchronization information; therefore, the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted on at least one carrier frequency) for sidelink communication ([0040], identify the one or more frequency carriers that the first UE 104 is utilizing for side link communication 205) with the respective peer terminal device ([0039], one or more frequency carriers for side link communication 205 between the first UE 104-a and one or more second UEs 104-b. Here, the one or more frequency carriers is used for side link communication with the one or more second UEs/ respective peer terminal device).
NGUYEN does not specifically teach
transmitting, to each of the plurality of peer terminal devices, sidelink synchronization information for sidelink communication with the respective peer terminal device, wherein the at least one carrier frequency is associated with the respective peer terminal device.
However, WU teaches a method (Title, SIDELINK SYNCHRONIZATION ASSISTANCE), comprising:
transmitting, to each of the plurality of peer terminal devices (Fig.5 and [0083], The sidelink devices 502a and 502b communicates over a first sidelink 504a, while sidelink devices 502a and 502c communicates over a second sidelink 504b. Here, the sidelink devices 502b and 502c are the plurality of peer terminal devices), sidelink synchronization information (Fig.5 and [0082], sidelink synchronization in a wireless communication network 500) on at least one carrier frequency for sidelink communication with the respective peer terminal device, wherein the at least one carrier frequency is associated with the respective peer terminal device (Fig.5 and [0083], Each sidelink 504a and 504b utilizes a sidelink carrier that is time-divided into a plurality of frames, subframes, and slots; [0084], each sidelink device 502a, 502b, and 502c detects a synchronization signal for use in synchronizing sidelink communication in both time and frequency. Here, Each sidelink 504a and 504b uses a carrier frequency for sidelink communication with peer terminal devices 502b and 502c, respectively; therefore, the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted to each of the plurality of peer terminal devices on a frequency carrier, wherein the frequency carrier is associated with a respective peer terminal device of the plurality of peer terminal devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified NGUYEN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of WU. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide mechanisms for a base station to provide sidelink synchronization assistance to a plurality of user equipment (UEs), in which one or more UEs (e.g., UE 128) within coverage area of the base station operates as relaying UEs to extend the coverage of the base station to improve transmission reliability to one or more UEs (CHEN, Abstract, Fig.1 and [0051]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 4, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches
wherein, among the plurality of carrier frequencies, a carrier frequency used for sidelink communication with more peer terminal devices has a higher priority to be used for transmitting the sidelink synchronization information ([0066], transmitting SLSS on the second carrier. The method includes selecting the sync source based on pre-determined rules of priorities and configuration for the synchronization carrier; [0067], the method identifies a priority associated with each frequency carrier within the set of frequency carriers, and determining that the sync carrier is a highest priority carrier within the set of communication carriers; [0069], the synchronization carrier is based on the highest priority carrier. Here, the highest priority carrier is the synchronization carrier; therefore, the carrier frequency used for sidelink communication has a highest priority to be used for transmitting the sidelink synchronization information).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 5, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches
transmitting the sidelink synchronization information on a first number of, at least a second number of, or at most a third number of, carrier frequencies for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device ([0064], transmit the SLSS on a second carrier; In such situation, the method includes tuning the first UE to the synchronizations search carrier, where the second carrier is set as the synchronization search carrier. Here, the second carrier is used for synchronization; i.e. for transmitting the sidelink synchronization information; therefore, number of carrier frequency for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device is one)
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 6, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches wherein the first number, the second number, or the third number is configured by a network node ([0046], if the UE 104 is able to perform sync source selection for only one carrier (e.g., anchor sync carrier), then that carrier is pre-configured or network configured such that all UEs on the network listen to the same carrier for SLSS signal; [0048], the UE 104 loops through all available carriers in the plurality of carriers to identify the highest priority synchronization source based on sync source selection priority rules that are either pre-configured or established by the network; [0069], the synchronization carrier is based on the highest priority carrier. Here, the synchronization carrier is configured by a network node), and/or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only) is dependent on one or more of:
the peer terminal device,
a type of sidelink communication with the peer terminal device,
a service type associated with sidelink communication with the peer terminal device, or
a frequency band of the first, second, or third number of carrier frequencies
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 7, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches
wherein the type of sidelink communication comprises broadcast ([0031], UEs 104 communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link. The D2D communication link uses one or more sidelink channels, such as a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH)), multicast, or unicast (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 9, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches
wherein, for each peer terminal device, the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted to the peer terminal device when:
the terminal device is in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, connected state and is configured by a network node to transmit the sidelink synchronization information to the peer terminal device,
the terminal device is in coverage and measured Uu Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, is lower than a configured threshold for the peer terminal device,
the terminal device is out of coverage ([0019] and [0043], when the UE is unable to establish communication with the GNSS (e.g., when the UE 104 is underground and does not have signal to GNSS), the UE 104 needs to identify a synchronization source in order to manage timing and frequency of multiple carriers based on the synchronization reference; the synchronization source is another UE on the network that is in direct or indirect communication with GNSS or a UE 104 that is capable of both receiving and transmitting SLSS (but not in sync with GNSS). In either of these latter two examples, the UE is using the SLSS transmission in a selected carrier of the other UE to synchronize timing within a group of carriers transmitted by the other UE, and the selected carrier is based on the synchronization source) and selects a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, as a synchronization reference source ([0019] and [0043], synchronization reference for V2X CA is based on a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)), or
the terminal device is out of coverage and not directly synchronized to the GNSS, and has no selected synchronization reference terminal device or has a selected synchronization reference terminal device but measured sidelink RSRP to the selected synchronization reference terminal device is lower than a preconfigured threshold for the peer terminal device (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Claims 2 – 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NGUYEN in view of WU and further in view of LEE.
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 2, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN does not specifically teach
wherein, for at least one of the plurality of peer terminal devices, a number of the at least one carrier frequency for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device is less than the number of all carrier frequencies for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device.
However, LEE teaches (Title, METHOD AND TERMINAL FOR TRANSMITTING SIDELINK CHANNEL/SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
wherein, for at least one of the plurality of peer terminal devices, a number of the at least one carrier frequency for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device is less than the number of all carrier frequencies for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device ([0131], An anchor carrier refers to a carrier related to detection of an SLSS; [0143], UE monitors only a limited number of anchor carriers among the anchor carriers configured by the network according to the performance (e.g., UE capability) of the UE; the UE selects a synchronization reference carrier by monitoring only some of the anchor carriers. These anchor carriers monitored by the UE are referred to as an anchor carrier subset. Here, the anchor carrier subset is a number of carrier frequency for sidelink communication and is less than the number of all carrier frequencies for sidelink communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of NGUYEN and WU as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal by a terminal in a wireless communication system. This method brings the technical effect of extending effective synchronization coverage by summing measurements, on the assumption that the same synchronization signal is transmitted distributed to multiple CCs (LEE, Abstract and [0186]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 3, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN does not specifically teach
wherein the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted when:
the terminal device is not configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies, or
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies and the list does not include any carrier frequency used for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device.
However, LEE teaches (Title, METHOD AND TERMINAL FOR TRANSMITTING SIDELINK CHANNEL/SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
wherein the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted when:
the terminal device is not configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies ([0129], syncFreqList representing a list of candidate carrier frequencies available for synchronization of SL communication, received from the BS) and the list does not include any carrier frequency used for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device ([0147], UE A transmits a synchronization signal only in a specific carrier (e.g., carrier X), and when another neighbor UE (e.g., UE B) selects a different carrier (e.g., carrier Y) as a synchronization reference, the synchronization signal from UE A is not monitored in carrier Y. As a result, UE A and UE B do not acquire synchronization with each other. In order to solve the problem, the UE needs to transmit the SLSS/PSBCH in all carriers in which the UE has monitored synchronization signals. Here, the UE A transmits in carriers that are not in the list to be synchronized with UE B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of NGUYEN and WU as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal by a terminal in a wireless communication system. This method brings the technical effect of extending effective synchronization coverage by summing measurements, on the assumption that the same synchronization signal is transmitted distributed to multiple CCs (LEE, Abstract and [0186]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 8, combination of NGUYEN and WU teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
NGUYEN further teaches
wherein, for each carrier frequency used for sidelink communication with each peer terminal device ([0039], one or more frequency carriers for side link communication 205 between the first UE 104-a and one or more second UEs 104-b).
NGUYEN does not specifically teach
the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted to the peer terminal device on the carrier frequency when:
the terminal device is not configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies for the peer terminal device,
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies, but the list does not include any carrier frequency selected by the terminal device for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device, or the carrier frequency is selected as a synchronization carrier frequency, or
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies that includes the carrier frequency, and for the peer terminal device, the terminal device has selected another carrier frequency as a synchronization carrier frequency and the terminal device is capable of transmitting the sidelink synchronization information on the carrier frequency.
However, LEE teaches (Title, METHOD AND TERMINAL FOR TRANSMITTING SIDELINK CHANNEL/SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
the sidelink synchronization information is transmitted to the peer terminal device on the carrier frequency when:
the terminal device is not configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies for the peer terminal device,
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies ([0129], syncFreqList representing a list of candidate carrier frequencies available for synchronization of SL communication, received from the BS), but the list does not include any carrier frequency selected by the terminal device for sidelink communication with the peer terminal device ([0147], UE A transmits a synchronization signal only in a specific carrier (e.g., carrier X), and when another neighbor UE (e.g., UE B) selects a different carrier (e.g., carrier Y) as a synchronization reference, the synchronization signal from UE A is not monitored in carrier Y. As a result, UE A and UE B do not acquire synchronization with each other. In order to solve the problem, the UE needs to transmit the SLSS/PSBCH in all carriers in which the UE has monitored synchronization signals. Here, the UE A transmits in carriers that are not in the list to be synchronized with UE B), or the carrier frequency is selected as a synchronization carrier frequency, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
the terminal device is configured with a list of candidate synchronization carrier frequencies that includes the carrier frequency, and for the peer terminal device, the terminal device has selected another carrier frequency as a synchronization carrier frequency and the terminal device is capable of transmitting the sidelink synchronization information on the carrier frequency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of NGUYEN and WU as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal by a terminal in a wireless communication system. This method brings the technical effect of extending effective synchronization coverage by summing measurements, on the assumption that the same synchronization signal is transmitted distributed to multiple CCs (LEE, Abstract and [0186]).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2024/0260066 A1) in view of LEE.
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 10, LI teaches a method (Title, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSCEIVING SIGNAL AND COMMUNICATION SYSTEM) in a terminal device (Fig.1 and [0057], terminal equipment UE1) configured with one or more carrier frequencies for unicast sidelink communication ([0008], a sidelink (SL) unicast link between terminal equipments operates by using more than one carrier or component carriers (CCs); [0045], in using carrier aggregation operations for sidelink communication, an SL unicast link between terminal equipments performing sidelink communication operates by using more than one carrier or CCs or frequencies) with a peer terminal device (Fig.1 and [0057], terminal equipment UE2), comprising:
determining whether and/or on which one or more carrier frequencies to transmit sidelink information to the peer terminal device (Fig.1 and [0057], a PC5 unicast link is established between terminal equipment UE1 of the transmitter end and terminal equipment UE2 of the receiver end. UE1 performs physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission with UE2 via carrier 1, carrier 2 and carrier 3. Here, the PSSCH (i.e. sidelink information) is transmitted to the peer terminal UE2 via carrier frequencies via carrier 1, carrier 2 and carrier 3); or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
receiving information on a determination, made based on the assistance information, about whether and/or on which one or more carrier frequencies to transmit the sidelink synchronization information to the peer terminal device.
LI does not specifically teach
transmit sidelink synchronization information based on assistance information;
wherein the assistance information comprises one or more of:
a list of carrier frequencies on which the peer terminal device is to monitor, is capable of monitoring, or prefers to monitor, sidelink synchronization information from the terminal device, or
a synchronization reference resource selected by the peer terminal device.
However, LEE teaches a method (Title, Physical Sidelink Channel Packet-based Synchronization), comprising:
determining whether and/or on which one or more carrier frequencies to transmit sidelink synchronization information ([0146], it is preferable that the UE transmits the sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) only in the carrier in which the highest-priority synchronization source is monitored (in a carrier selected as a synchronization reference carrier or an anchor carrier by the UE)) based on assistance information ([0131], An anchor carrier refers to a carrier related to detection of an SLSS; [0141], This anchor carrier capability or SLSS/PSBCH search capability is given to the UE. Here, the anchor carrier capability is considered as assistance information); or
receiving information on a determination, made based on the assistance information, about whether and/or on which one or more carrier frequencies to transmit the sidelink synchronization information to the peer terminal device,
wherein the assistance information comprises one or more of:
a list of carrier frequencies on which the peer terminal device is to monitor, is capable of monitoring, or prefers to monitor, sidelink synchronization information from the terminal device ([0129], syncFreqList representing a list of candidate carrier frequencies available for synchronization of SL communication), or
a synchronization reference resource selected by the peer terminal device ([0008], The selection of a synchronization carrier and a synchronization reference includes selecting the synchronization carrier from among a plurality of carriers for PSCCH transmission or a plurality of carriers for PSSCH transmission by the UE; [0129], When the information indicating the type of a synchronization reference indicates the BS (e.g., eNB or gNB) or the GNSS, the UE select, as a synchronization reference frequency, one of frequencies included in information (e.g., syncFreqList) representing a list of candidate carrier frequencies available for synchronization of SL communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LI as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LEE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sidelink synchronization signal by a terminal in a wireless communication system. This method brings the technical effect of extending effective synchronization coverage by summing measurements, on the assumption that the same synchronization signal is transmitted distributed to multiple CCs (LEE, Abstract and [0186]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 15, combination of LI and LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
LI further teaches wherein
the information on the determination is received from the peer terminal device using:
Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling,
PC5 Signaling, PC5-S,
Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE,
control Protocol Data Unit, PDU, of a protocol layer, or
Layer 1, L1, signaling, or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
the information on the determination is received from the network node using:
RRC signaling ([0075], the first SL carrier and the second SL carrier corresponding thereto are configured or preconfigured ; the network transmits a configuration message to terminal equipment UE1, the configuration message being, e.g., an RRC configuration message, or an RRC resume message, etc.),
MAC CE,
paging message,
control PDU of a protocol layer, or
L1 signaling.
Claims 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of LEE and further in view of DAI et al. (DAI hereinafter referred to DAI) (US 2023/0163933 A1).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 12, combination of LI and LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
LI does not specifically teach
prior to said determining:
receiving the assistance information from the peer terminal device.
However, DAI teaches (Title, INFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS)
prior to said determining:
receiving the assistance information (Fig.3, step 301: [0079], The second device sends first configuration information to the first device. The first configuration information instructs the second device to configure T uplink carriers for the first device) from the peer terminal device ([0081], the first device is a terminal device, and the second device is a peer device of the terminal device. The second device configures a plurality of uplink carriers for the first device. Here, the first terminal device receives first configuration information/ assistance information of plurality of uplink carriers from the peer terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LI and LEE as mentioned in claim 10 and further incorporate the teaching of DAI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an information transmission method and a communication apparatus, in which a first device has a capability of flexibly selecting a carrier from more carriers beyond an uplink concurrency capability of the first device, so that the second device can configure more uplink carriers for the first device, and the first device flexibly selects a carrier from more carriers. Therefore, the first device can flexibly use spectrum resources, effectively perform uplink transmission by using appropriate resources, improve an uplink rate and coverage, and reduce power consumption of the first terminal device (DAI, Title and [0150]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 13, combination of LI and LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
LI further teaches
wherein the information on the determination is received from the network node ([0075], the first SL carrier and the second SL carrier corresponding thereto are configured or preconfigured; the network transmits a configuration message to terminal equipment UE1).
LI does not specifically teach
prior to said receiving:
receiving the assistance information from the peer terminal device; and
transmitting the assistance information to a network node.
However, DAI teaches (Title, INFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS)
receiving the assistance information (Fig.3, step 301: [0079], The second device sends first configuration information to the first device. The first configuration information instructs the second device to configure T uplink carriers for the first device) from the peer terminal device ([0081], the first device is a terminal device, and the second device is a peer device of the terminal device. The second device configures a plurality of uplink carriers for the first device. Here, the first terminal device receives first configuration information/ assistance information of plurality of uplink carriers from the peer terminal device); and
transmitting the assistance information to a network node ([0182], The user equipment reports second capability information to the network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LI and LEE as mentioned in claim 10 and further incorporate the teaching of DAI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an information transmission method and a communication apparatus, in which a first device has a capability of flexibly selecting a carrier from more carriers beyond an uplink concurrency capability of the first device, so that the second device can configure more uplink carriers for the first device, and the first device flexibly selects a carrier from more carriers. Therefore, the first device can flexibly use spectrum resources, effectively perform uplink transmission by using appropriate resources, improve an uplink rate and coverage, and reduce power consumption of the first terminal device (DAI, Title and [0150]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 14, combination of LI and LEE teaches all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
LI does not specifically teach
wherein the information on the determination is received from the peer terminal device.
However, DAI teaches (Title, INFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS)
wherein the information on the determination (Fig.3, step 301: [0079], The second device sends first configuration information to the first device. The first configuration information instructs the second device to configure T uplink carriers for the first device) is received from the peer terminal device ([0081], the first device is a terminal device, and the second device is a peer device of the terminal device. The second device configures a plurality of uplink carriers for the first device. Here, the first terminal device receives first configuration information/ information on the determination of plurality of uplink carriers from the peer terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of LI and LEE as mentioned in claim 10 and further incorporate the teaching of DAI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an information transmission method and a communication apparatus, in which a first device has a capability of flexibly selecting a carrier from more carriers beyond an uplink concurrency capability of the first device, so that the second device can configure more uplink carriers for the first device, and the first device flexibly selects a carrier from more carriers. Therefore, the first device can flexibly use spectrum resources, effectively perform uplink transmission by using appropriate resources, improve an uplink rate and coverage, and reduce power consumption of the first terminal device (DAI, Title and [0150]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474