Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dang et al (US 20220337125 A1) in view of Lang et al (US 20200373815 A1) in view of HÅKANSSON et al (US 20220352781 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Dang teaches a rotor assembly for an electric machine, comprising: a hollow shaft which is rotatable about a rotational axis (fig. 5, shaft 12); a rotor element coaxial to and surrounding the hollow shaft (fig. 5, rotor core 14), wherein the rotor element rotates and/or can rotate together with the hollow shaft (paragraph 37 “The rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14 are configured to rotate concentrically about a common rotor assembly axis 5 in unison, potentially at high RPM”); contact regions and spacing regions formed alternatively in a circumferential direction about a rotational axis between an outer periphery of the hollow shaft and an inner periphery of the rotor element (fig. 5, cavity 24 and webs between cavities), wherein the rotor element is arranged to contact the hollow shaft in the contact regions and be spaced from the hollow shaft in the spacing regions (fig. 8, shaft 12 and inlet tube 44 are spaced apart); and a conduction tube arranged in a cavity of the hollow shaft to be coaxial to the hollow shaft and to the rotor element and configured to conduct a cooling fluid (fig. 5 and paragraph 33 “the passages 32 and the cavity 34 provide a centrifugal force flow path for the cooling fluid as the rotor assembly 10 is spun, in part providing further motive force for forcing the cooling fluid through the rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14.”).
Dang does not teach “[the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour, and wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
Lang teaches [the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour (fig. 3, hollow shaft 11).
Lang does not teach “wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
HÅKANSSON teaches wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path (fig. 3, inflow 61 and outflow 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the non-circular outer contour of Lang with the simultaneous cooling paths of HÅKANSSON to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 17, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches the cooling fluid is introduced into the conduction tube in an axial direction relative to the rotational axis (paragraph 33 “the passages 32 and the cavity 34 provide a centrifugal force flow path for the cooling fluid as the rotor assembly 10 is spun, in part providing further motive force for forcing the cooling fluid through the rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14.”), wherein the conduction tube is configured to discharge the cooling fluid to flow along a first flow path and to flow along a second flow path (fig. 5, channels 24), and wherein the first flow path and the second flow path are arranged radially offset to one another relative to the rotational axis (see at least figure 4-5, channels are radially offset).
With respect to claim 18, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches the first flow path extends through the cavity of the hollow shaft and over at least one rotor end face of the rotor element (fig. 5, channel 24 connected via cavity 34 on top of page), and that the second flow path extends through the spacing regions between the hollow shaft and the rotor element and over the at least one rotor end face (fig. 5, channel 24 connected via cavity 34 on bottom of page).
With respect to claim 19, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches a flow of cooling fluid along the first flow path, the conduction tube has a tube opening through which the cooling fluid can escape into the cavity of the hollow shaft (fig. 5, passages 32).
With respect to claim 20, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches a flow of cooling fluid along the first flow path, the hollow shaft has at least one shaft outflow opening through which the cooling fluid flows out of the cavity to at least one rotor end face (fig. 5, cavity 34).
With respect to claim 21, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches the rotor assembly has a first end flange and a second end flange for rotatable mounting of the hollow shaft (fig. 5, first and second end rings 16/18), wherein the conduction tube is rotationally fixedly connected to the hollow shaft by the first and second end flanges (fig. 5, passage 32-34 is fixed via the end ring 18), wherein at least one of the first and second end flanges has a hollow cylindrical portion which is fluidically connected to the conduction tube (fig. 4, outlet cavity 34), and wherein the cooling fluid is conducted through the hollow cylindrical portion into the conduction tube (paragraph 43 “For example, the passages 32 may directly couple the internal cavity 22 of the rotor shaft 12 to the internal channels 24 of the rotor core 14, or the internal cavity 22 of the rotor shaft 12 and the internal channels 24 of the rotor core 14 may both directly intersect the cavity 34.”).
With respect to claim 22, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches for flow of cooling fluid along the first flow path, at least one of the first and second end flanges has at least one flange outflow opening, through which the cooling fluid can flow out of the cavity to at least one rotor end face (fig. 5, marked below).
With respect to claim 23, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches for flow of cooling fluid along the second flow path, one of the first and second end flanges has an output opening, through which the cooling fluid can be output into the spacing regions, and/or that for the flow of cooling fluid along the second flow path (fig. 5, marked above openings at the end flanges allow cooling to flow), the hollow shaft has at least one shaft bore through which the cooling fluid can flow into the spacing regions (fig. 10, radially aligned passages 55).
With respect to claim 24, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches for flow of cooling fluid along the second flow path, the other of the first and second end flange has an outlet opening, through which the cooling fluid can be expelled from the spacing regions to a rotor end face and/or that the cooling fluid can flow directly out of the spacing regions to at least one of the rotor end faces (fig. 9, inlet tube 44).
With respect to claim 25, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Dang further teaches for fluid volume division, the hollow cylindrical portion of the at least one of the end flanges has a stepped internal diameter with a first step and a second step (see at least figure 8, Examiner is interpreting the axially outer edge of the radially-aligned passages 55 as step portions), wherein the outlet opening is made in one of the steps and wherein a further flange outflow opening is made in the other step, through which opening the cooling fluid can flow out of the conduction tube along a third flow path to at least one rotor end face (fig. 8 radially-aligned passages 55).
With respect to claim 28, Dang teaches a rotor assembly for an electric machine, comprising: a hollow shaft which is rotatable about a rotational axis (fig. 5, shaft 12); a rotor element coaxial to and surrounding the hollow shaft (fig. 5, rotor core 14), wherein the rotor element rotates and/or can rotate together with the hollow shaft (paragraph 37 “The rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14 are configured to rotate concentrically about a common rotor assembly axis 5 in unison, potentially at high RPM”); contact regions and spacing regions formed alternatively in a circumferential direction about a rotational axis between an outer periphery of the hollow shaft and an inner periphery of the rotor element (fig. 5, cavity 24 and webs between cavities), wherein the rotor element is arranged to contact the hollow shaft in the contact regions and be spaced from the hollow shaft in the spacing regions (fig. 8, shaft 12 and inlet tube 44 are spaced apart); and a conduction tube arranged in a cavity of the hollow shaft to be coaxial to the hollow shaft and to the rotor element and configured to conduct a cooling fluid (fig. 5 and paragraph 33 “the passages 32 and the cavity 34 provide a centrifugal force flow path for the cooling fluid as the rotor assembly 10 is spun, in part providing further motive force for forcing the cooling fluid through the rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14.”).
Dang does not teach “[the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour, and wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
Lang teaches [the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour (fig. 3, hollow shaft 11).
Lang does not teach “wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
HÅKANSSON teaches wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path (fig. 3, inflow 61 and outflow 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the non-circular outer contour of Lang with the simultaneous cooling paths of HÅKANSSON to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 29, Dang discloses generate a magnetic field, the rotor assembly has a first end winding and a second end winding which are arranged on end face regions of the rotor element (fig. 8, end windings 43), wherein the electric machine has a first collection container for collection and distribution of cooling fluid to the first and second end windings and a flow channel for conduction of cooling fluid into the first collection container (paragraph 56 “After this cooling and lubricating is accomplished, the now hot cooling fluid is again collected in the cooling fluid sump 56 before being eventually recirculated to the heat exchanger 26, pump 28, and filter 30.”), wherein the flow channel is arranged radially outside the rotor assembly and extends in an axial direction (fig. 8, sumps 56 are radially outside), and wherein the first collection container has multiple container openings through which the cooling fluid can flow onto the first and second end windings (paragraph 55 “the passages 53, 55 are aligned non-perpendicular to the rotor axis 5 such that the cooling fluid passes from the internal cavity 22 of the rotor shaft 12 to one or more of the crown end windings 41 and the weld end windings 43, as well as to lubricate the bearing assemblies 25, 27, when the rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14 are rotated/rotating, thereby still cooling their entire internal diameter at this point”).
With respect to claim 16, Dang teaches a rotor assembly for an electric machine, comprising: a hollow shaft which is rotatable about a rotational axis (fig. 5, shaft 12); a rotor element coaxial to and surrounding the hollow shaft (fig. 5, rotor core 14), wherein the rotor element rotates and/or can rotate together with the hollow shaft (paragraph 37 “The rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14 are configured to rotate concentrically about a common rotor assembly axis 5 in unison, potentially at high RPM”); contact regions and spacing regions formed alternatively in a circumferential direction about a rotational axis between an outer periphery of the hollow shaft and an inner periphery of the rotor element (fig. 5, cavity 24 and webs between cavities), wherein the rotor element is arranged to contact the hollow shaft in the contact regions and be spaced from the hollow shaft in the spacing regions (fig. 8, shaft 12 and inlet tube 44 are spaced apart); and a conduction tube arranged in a cavity of the hollow shaft to be coaxial to the hollow shaft and to the rotor element and configured to conduct a cooling fluid (fig. 5 and paragraph 33 “the passages 32 and the cavity 34 provide a centrifugal force flow path for the cooling fluid as the rotor assembly 10 is spun, in part providing further motive force for forcing the cooling fluid through the rotor shaft 12 and rotor core 14.”).
Dang does not teach “[the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour, and wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
Lang teaches [the hollow shaft] having a non-circular outer contour (fig. 3, hollow shaft 11).
Lang does not teach “wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path.”
HÅKANSSON teaches wherein the spacing regions form a second cooling flow path for the cooling fluid, such that the cooling fluid flows simultaneously through the conduction tube and the second cooling flow path (fig. 3, inflow 61 and outflow 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the non-circular outer contour of Lang with the simultaneous cooling paths of HÅKANSSON to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 31, Dang does not teach “the non-circular outer contour is polygonal.”
Lang teaches the non-circular outer contour is polygonal (fig. 3, shaft 11 is polygonal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the polygonal shaft of Lang with the simultaneous cooling paths of HÅKANSSON to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dang in view of Lang et al in view of HÅKANSSON et al in view of Michael (US 20220060072 A1).
With respect to claim 26, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the rotor assembly has a fluid distribution adapter for distribution of cooling fluid into the first flow path and into the second flow path, wherein the fluid distribution adapter is arranged coaxially with the conduction tube and is rotationally fixedly on the conduction tube within the cavity of the hollow shaft.”
Michael teaches the rotor assembly has a fluid distribution adapter for distribution of cooling fluid into the first flow path and into the second flow path, wherein the fluid distribution adapter is arranged coaxially with the conduction tube and is rotationally fixedly on the conduction tube within the cavity of the hollow shaft (fig. 11-12, impact protrusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the fluid distribution adapter of Michael to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
With respect to claim 27, Dang in view of Lang in view of HÅKANSSON teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the fluid distribution adapter has multiple adapter openings, wherein for the flow of cooling fluid along the first flow path, at least one adapter opening forms a fluidic connection between the conduction tube and the cavity of the hollow shaft, and/or wherein for the flow of cooling fluid along the second flow path, at least one further adapter opening forms a fluidic connection between the conduction tube and the spacing regions, wherein to control a fluid volume of the cooling fluid, a shaft bore in the hollow shaft has a smaller diameter than the first adapter opening”
Michael teaches the fluid distribution adapter has multiple adapter openings (fig, 15, bypass 44), wherein for the flow of cooling fluid along the first flow path, at least one adapter opening forms a fluidic connection between the conduction tube and the cavity of the hollow shaft, and/or wherein for the flow of cooling fluid along the second flow path (fig. 11a, fluid moves through at least one bypass 44), at least one further adapter opening forms a fluidic connection between the conduction tube and the spacing regions (fig. 15, two parts of the impact protrusion 4), wherein to control a fluid volume of the cooling fluid, a shaft bore in the hollow shaft has a smaller diameter than the first adapter opening (see figure 11, outflow openings appear larger than radial channels 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor and cooling channels of Dang with the fluid distribution adapter of Michael to further disperse coolant internally within the rotor, thereby reducing the effects of heat related damage to the rotor and therefore increasing the motor’s lifespan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834