DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goransson (US 2010/0057010).
Regarding claim 1, Goransson discloses:
A trocar fixation assembly (Fig. 1) comprising a fixation device (4, 5) and a medical dressing (2), wherein said fixation device (4, 5) comprises an annular member (4) defining a channel (3) for receiving a trocar (1; Fig. 2); said annular member (4) being disposed about a longitudinal center line, wherein said fixation device (4, 5) is configured to be movable between a first configuration (Fig. 1), which allows for a trocar (1) to be moved along said longitudinal center line of said annular member (4), and a second configuration (Fig. 3), which allows for a trocar (1) to be fixed in a locked position (¶0036), wherein in said second configuration (Fig. 3), the cross-sectional area of at least one portion of said channel (3) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of said at least one portion of said channel (3) in said first configuration (Fig. 1) (the opening 3 shrinks in diameter from the first configuration to the second configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 1, wherein said second configuration (Fig. 3) is a relaxed configuration (¶0034) and wherein said first configuration (Fig. 1) is a retracted configuration (¶0034 – a user has to put pressure on tabs 6 to open the device. When that pressure is removed, the device springs back into a closed position).
Regarding claim 3, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 1, wherein said fixation device (4, 5) comprises locking means (6) configured to move said fixation device between said first and second configurations (¶0034).
Regarding claim 4, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 3, wherein said locking means (6) comprises a spring member (¶0034).
Regarding claim 10, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 1, wherein said medical dressing (2) comprises a centrally disposed aperture (cutout of the dressing 2) configured to encircle said annular member (4).
Regarding claim 11, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 1, wherein said medical dressing (2) extends uninterrupted around said annular member (4) (the dressing 2 can be interpreted as uninterrupted along the sheet; the insertion slot 7 still allows the dressing 2 to extend around the annular member 4).
Regarding claim 12, Goransson discloses:
The trocar fixation assembly according to claim 1, wherein said medical dressing (2) comprises a backing layer and an adhesive skin contact layer (¶0037 – it would be understood to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the dressing would have a backing layer to cover the adhesive layer before use of the device).
Regarding claim 16, Goransson discloses:
A trocar system (Fig. 2) comprising a trocar fixation assembly (Fig. 1) according to claim 1 and a trocar (1).
Regarding claim 17, Goransson discloses:
A trocar system according to claim 16, wherein said trocar (1) comprises a cannula, wherein said cannula (see Fig. 2) comprises an interior surface and an exterior surface, wherein said exterior surface of said cannula is smooth (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goransson in view of Worthley (US 2004/0220505).
Regarding claim 13, Goransson discloses the trocar fixation assembly according to claim 12 but is silent regarding “said adhesive skin contact layer comprises a silicone based adhesive.” However, Worthley teaches a medical dressing (Fig. 2; Abstract), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that teaches the adhesive layer for such a dressing can be silicone adhesive, among other options (¶0050). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive of Goransson to be a silicone adhesive as taught by Worthley in order to provide sufficient structure to adhere a dressing to skin.
Regarding claim 14, Goransson discloses the trocar fixation assembly according to claim 12 but is silent regarding “an absorbent pad between said backing layer and said adhesive skin contact layer.” However, Worthley teaches a medical dressing (Fig. 2; Abstract), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that comprises multiple layers including a backing (16), an adhesive layer (52) and an absorbent layer (46) in the form of a polyurethane foam (¶0051). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dressing of Goransson to incorporate an absorbent layer between the backing layer and the adhesive layer as taught by Worthley in order to provide sufficient structure to prevent the adhesive from being damaged prior to use.
Regarding claim 15, Goransson in view of Worthley discloses that the absorbent pad, modified in view of Worthley in the rejection of claim 14, comprises a polyurethane foam (Worthley; ¶0051).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783