DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 12, 15, 21, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-20, 22, 23, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kasslin et al. (USPGPub 2021/0076329).
As per claim 1, Kasslin teaches a method performed by a first node for handling a receiver at a wireless device the first node and the wireless device operating in a wireless communications network (Kasslin, see paragraph [0026], wireless network showing setup of a distance aware wake-up notification mode between a wireless caller device or access node and a wireless called device or STA) and the method comprising:
determining whether or not a condition is met, the condition being a measurement of a signal received by the wireless device being above or below a first threshold (Kasslin, see paragraph [0072], The basic idea in the use and setting of the reference signal level is to provide basis for a STA to estimate whether a received WUF 140 meets the distance criteria. The STA compares signal level of each WUF 140 targeted to it with a WID with the DAW-mode on to the reference signal level. If the distance threshold is set, as an example) and
initiating based on a result of the determining a procedure to wake-up the wireless device by applying at least one of: a downlink signal to be used, and a receiver to receive the downlink signal to wake-up the wireless device at the wireless device (Kasslin, see paragraph [0072], If the distance threshold is set, as an example, to wake-up the STA at any time when a WUF 140 targeted to the STA is received from the AP no more than 2 meters from the STA, the reference signal level determines the minimum signal level for a received WUF 140 that wakes up the STA's PCR 120. Also see paragraph [0005], transmitting, by a primary connectivity radio of a first wireless device, a wireless wake-up radio configuration request. Note: wireless signal from base station to the wireless device is downlink signal).
As per claim 3, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 2 further comprising obtaining at least one of a configuration comprising the condition the first threshold and the second threshold (Kasslin, see paragraph [0060], the STA needs to indicate also the corresponding distance thresholds. A distance threshold may determine the minimum distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100, which needs to be met before the transmitted WUF 140 has an effect. Alternatively, a distance threshold may determine the upper limit to the distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100 after which the WUF 140 has no effect. Multiple distance thresholds may be also assigned to a WID for which the DAW-mode is requested).
As per claim 4, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the applying comprises entering a different state of a plurality of states defined for the wireless device and wherein the condition defines a trigger to enter the state (Kasslin, see paragraph [0011], waking-up, by the first wireless device, the primary connectivity radio, if the receive signal strength of the wireless wake-up frame is above the reference level value and if the received wake-up identifier corresponds to the wake-up identifier for the distance aware wake-up notification mode associated with the reference level value. Note: these are the different states defined).
As per claim 6, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the first node is one of a network node serving the wireless device and the wireless device. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0026], wireless network showing setup of a distance aware wake-up notification mode between a wireless caller device or access node and a wireless called device or STA).
As per claim 7, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first node is the wireless device and wherein the method further comprises: sending a second indication to a second node operating in the wireless communications network the second indication indicating a result of the determination (Kasslin, see paragraph [0060], With this sub-field, the STA indicates one or more distance thresholds e.g. in meters. For each threshold, one indicates also whether the threshold is the minimum distance or the maximum distance. Each WID may have its own distance parameter or one may apply one distance threshold setting for multiple/all WIDs).
As per claim 8, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the first node is a network node and wherein the applying comprises entering a mode of operation of a plurality of modes of operation comprising one of: a) continuous monitoring with the receiver and b) discontinuous monitoring with the receiver. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0025], disabled (or sleeping) wireless devices that meet a distance and identity requirement wake-up their primary connectivity radio interface due to receiving a wake-up frame (WUF), while other disabled wireless devices that do not meet the distance and identity requirement, continue sleeping).
As per claim 9, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the condition is a coverage level in a cell comprised in the wireless communications network wherein the wireless device is located or receiving service. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0045], The wireless called device 100 may be WLAN STA, cell phone, NAN device, wireless sensor, or the like. The caller device 102 may be an access node, an access point, a base station, a non-access node, a NAN device, or the like. If the caller device 102 is a base station, it may be a cellular base station in a wireless telephone macrocell, microcell, picocell, or femtocell network).
As per claim 10, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the receiver is a Wake-Up Receiver, WUR. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0028], wake-up radio (WUR) Action frame format).
As per claim 11, Kasslin teaches a method performed by a second node for handling a receiver at a wireless device the second node and the wireless device operating in a wireless communications network (Kasslin, see paragraph [0026], wireless network showing setup of a distance aware wake-up notification mode between a wireless caller device or access node and a wireless called device or STA) the method comprising:
receiving a second indication from a first node operating in the wireless communications network the second indication indicating a result of a determination of whether or not a condition is met, wherein the condition being a measurement of a signal received by the wireless device being above or below a first threshold (Kasslin, see paragraph [0072], The basic idea in the use and setting of the reference signal level is to provide basis for a STA to estimate whether a received WUF 140 meets the distance criteria. The STA compares signal level of each WUF 140 targeted to it with a WID with the DAW-mode on to the reference signal level. If the distance threshold is set, as an example) and
initiating based on the received second indication, a procedure to wake-up the wireless device by applying at least one of: a downlink signal to be used, and a receiver to receive the downlink signal to wake-up the wireless device at the wireless device (Kasslin, see paragraph [0072], If the distance threshold is set, as an example, to wake-up the STA at any time when a WUF 140 targeted to the STA is received from the AP no more than 2 meters from the STA, the reference signal level determines the minimum signal level for a received WUF 140 that wakes up the STA's PCR 120. Also see paragraph [0005], transmitting, by a primary connectivity radio of a first wireless device, a wireless wake-up radio configuration request. Note: wireless signal from base station to the wireless device is downlink signal).
As per claim 13, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 further comprising sending to the first node at least one of a configuration comprising the condition the first threshold and the second threshold (Kasslin, see paragraph [0060], the STA needs to indicate also the corresponding distance thresholds. A distance threshold may determine the minimum distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100, which needs to be met before the transmitted WUF 140 has an effect. Alternatively, a distance threshold may determine the upper limit to the distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100 after which the WUF 140 has no effect. Multiple distance thresholds may be also assigned to a WID for which the DAW-mode is requested).
As per claim 14, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 wherein the applying comprises entering a different state of a plurality of states defined for the wireless device and wherein the condition defines a trigger to enter the state (Kasslin, see paragraph [0011], waking-up, by the first wireless device, the primary connectivity radio, if the receive signal strength of the wireless wake-up frame is above the reference level value and if the received wake-up identifier corresponds to the wake-up identifier for the distance aware wake-up notification mode associated with the reference level value. Note: these are the different states defined).
As per claim 16, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 wherein the first node is one of a network node serving the wireless device and the wireless device. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0026], wireless network showing setup of a distance aware wake-up notification mode between a wireless caller device or access node and a wireless called device or STA).
As per claim 17, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 wherein the first node is a network node and wherein the applying comprises entering a mode of operation of a plurality of modes of operation comprising one of: a) continuous monitoring with the receiver and b) discontinuous monitoring with the receiver. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0025], disabled (or sleeping) wireless devices that meet a distance and identity requirement wake-up their primary connectivity radio interface due to receiving a wake-up frame (WUF), while other disabled wireless devices that do not meet the distance and identity requirement, continue sleeping).
As per claim 18, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 wherein the condition is a coverage level in a cell comprised in the wireless communications network wherein the wireless device is located or receiving service. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0045], The wireless called device 100 may be WLAN STA, cell phone, NAN device, wireless sensor, or the like. The caller device 102 may be an access node, an access point, a base station, a non-access node, a NAN device, or the like. If the caller device 102 is a base station, it may be a cellular base station in a wireless telephone macrocell, microcell, picocell, or femtocell network).
As per claim 19, Kasslin teaches the method according to claim 11 wherein the receiver is a Wake-Up Receiver, WUR. (Kasslin, see paragraph [0028], wake-up radio (WUR) Action frame format).
As per claim 20,
[Rejection rational for claims 1 and 11 is applicable].
As per claim 22, Kasslin teaches the first node according to claim 21 being further configured to obtain at least one of a configuration configured to be comprising the condition the first threshold and the second threshold (Kasslin, see paragraph [0060], the STA needs to indicate also the corresponding distance thresholds. A distance threshold may determine the minimum distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100, which needs to be met before the transmitted WUF 140 has an effect. Alternatively, a distance threshold may determine the upper limit to the distance between the AP 102 and the STA 100 after which the WUF 140 has no effect. Multiple distance thresholds may be also assigned to a WID for which the DAW-mode is requested).
As per claim 23,
[Rejection rational for claim 4 is applicable].
As per claim 30,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 and 11 is applicable].
As per claim 32,
[Rejection rational for claim 4 is applicable].
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449