Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 11, 12, 13, 17, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210376907 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a network device ([0068]: A base station may sweep through all transmit beams.) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor (Examiner note: A base station necessarily includes these components and features.), cause the network device to perform: sweeping a first set of beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams. ), the first set of beams being predefined for a cell ([0068]: A base station may sweep through all transmit beams (e.g., of the base station) during a beam selection procedure (e.g., the first beam management procedure described above). [0025]:BS may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area.) ; determining one or more supplement beams for one or more user equipments in the cell, the one or more supplement beams being selected from a second set of beams different from the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.); and sweeping at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches wherein the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is swept at a timing different from the timing for sweeping the first set of beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams. [0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches wherein determining one or more supplement beams for one or more user equipments comprises: selecting a candidate beam for a user equipment from the first set of beams and a second set of beams different from the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.); and determining the candidate beam as the supplement beam for the user equipment when the candidate beam is selected from the second set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may enable the base station 110 to select a best transmit beam based at least in part on reported measurements received from the UE 120.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches wherein the number of supplement beams included in the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is less than or equal to the number of beams included in the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.), or when the number of supplement beams included in the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is larger than the number of beams included in the first set of beams, the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is divided into supplement beam groups including a number of supplement beams less than or equal to the number of beams included in the first set of beams, and the supplement beam groups are swept at different timing (Examiner note: examiner does not give patentable weight to this second limitation due to the “or” conjunction; thus, claim 7 is anticipated by Zhu.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches a beam selection method comprising: sweeping a first set of beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams.), the first set of beams being predefined for a cell ([0068]: A base station may sweep through all transmit beams (e.g., of the base station) during a beam selection procedure (e.g., the first beam management procedure described above). [0025]:BS may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area.); determining one or more supplement beams for one or more user equipments in the cell, the one or more supplement beams being selected from a second set of beams different from the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure); and sweeping at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches wherein the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is swept at a timing different from the timing for sweeping the first set of beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams. [0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu teaches wherein determining one or more supplement beams for one or more user equipments comprises: selecting a candidate beam for a user equipment from the first set of beams and a second set of beams different from the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.); and determining the candidate beam as the supplement beam for the user equipment when the candidate beam is selected from the second set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may enable the base station 110 to select a best transmit beam based at least in part on reported measurements received from the UE 120.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches wherein the number of supplement beams included in the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is less than or equal to the number of beams included in the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure.), or when the number of supplement beams included in the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is larger than the number of beams included in the first set of beams, the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is divided into supplement beam groups including a number of supplement beams less than or equal to the number of beams included in the first set of beams, and the supplement beam groups are swept at different timing (Examiner note: examiner does not give patentable weight to this second limitation due to the “or” conjunction; thus, claim 7 is anticipated by Zhu.).
Regarding claim 31, Zhu teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, when executed by at least one processor in a network device (Examiner note: a base station necessarily contains a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction.), cause the network device to at least perform: sweeping a first set of beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams.), the first set of beams being predefined for a cell ([0068]: A base station may sweep through all transmit beams (e.g., of the base station) during a beam selection procedure (e.g., the first beam management procedure described above). [0025]:BS may provide communication coverage for a particular geographic area.) ; determining one or more supplement beams for one or more user equipments in the cell, the one or more supplement beams being selected from a second set of beams different from the first set of beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure); and sweeping at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams.).
Claims 9, 10, 19, 20, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Islam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200274602 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Islam teaches a terminal device comprising: at least one processor ([0194]: the base station may generate a set of BRSs and the base station may transmit the set of BRSs through a set of beams to be used for communication with a UE. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.); and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform ([0194]: the base station may generate a set of BRSs and the base station may transmit the set of BRSs through a set of beams to be used for communication with a UE. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.): receiving a first resource allocation for a first set of beams ([0194]: the base station may generate a set of BRSs and the base station may transmit the set of BRSs through a set of beams to be used for communication with a UE. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.); measuring the first set of beams based on the first resource allocation ([0195]: the base station may receive, from the UE, an indication of a first beam index based on the BRS. The first beam index may be a coarse beam index to be used for beam refinement); receiving a second resource allocation for a supplement beam ([0196]: the base station may transmit, based on the first indication of the first beam index, at least one BRRS. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.) different from the first set of beams ([0182]: The UE 904 may communicate with the base station 902 through the best beam corresponding to the beam index (e.g., the UE 904 may send information indicating the beam index to the base station 902)); and measuring the supplement beam at a timing different from the timing of measuring the first set of beams, based on the second resource allocation ([0197]: the base station may receive, based on the at least one BRRS, a second indication of a second beam index corresponding to a second beam. The base station 602 may receive, from the UE 604, an indication of a beam index corresponding a fine beam, such as the sixth beam 620 f The indication may be the second indication 565.).
Regarding claim 10, Islam teaches wherein the first set of beams and the supplement beam are measured at a first period with a time difference between measurement of the first set of beams and measurement of the supplement beam ([0195]: the base station may receive, from the UE, an indication of a first beam index based on the BRS. The first beam index may be a coarse beam index to be used for beam refinement. [0197]: the base station may receive, based on the at least one BRRS, a second indication of a second beam index corresponding to a second beam.), and the second resource allocation is received at a second period longer than or equal to the first period ([0132]: the base station 602 may determine that beam tracking is to be performed based on DRX durations. [0133]: The base station 602 may transmit the message 642 indicating that beam tracking is to be performed, for example, based on a time at which the UE 604 is to transition to an active DRX cycle from an inactive DRX cycle. [0008]: the beam tracking includes transmitting at least one beam refinement reference signal (BRRS).).
Regarding claim 19, Islam teaches a beam selection method comprising: receiving a first resource allocation for a first set of beams ([0194]: the base station may generate a set of BRSs and the base station may transmit the set of BRSs through a set of beams to be used for communication with a UE. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.); measuring the first set of beams based on the first resource allocation ([0195]: the base station may receive, from the UE, an indication of a first beam index based on the BRS. The first beam index may be a coarse beam index to be used for beam refinement); receiving a second resource allocation for a supplement beam ([0196]: the base station may transmit, based on the first indication of the first beam index, at least one BRRS. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.) different from the first set of beams ([0182]: The UE 904 may communicate with the base station 902 through the best beam corresponding to the beam index (e.g., the UE 904 may send information indicating the beam index to the base station 902)); and measuring the supplement beam at a timing different from the timing of measuring the first set of beams, based on the second resource allocation ([0197]: the base station may receive, based on the at least one BRRS, a second indication of a second beam index corresponding to a second beam. The base station 602 may receive, from the UE 604, an indication of a beam index corresponding a fine beam, such as the sixth beam 620 f The indication may be the second indication 565.).
Regarding claim 20, Islam teaches wherein the first set of beams and the supplement beam are measured at a first period with a time difference between measurement of the first set of beams and measurement of the supplement beam ([0195]: the base station may receive, from the UE, an indication of a first beam index based on the BRS. The first beam index may be a coarse beam index to be used for beam refinement. [0197]: the base station may receive, based on the at least one BRRS, a second indication of a second beam index corresponding to a second beam.), and the second resource allocation is received at a second period longer than or equal to the first period ([0132]: the base station 602 may determine that beam tracking is to be performed based on DRX durations. [0133]: The base station 602 may transmit the message 642 indicating that beam tracking is to be performed, for example, based on a time at which the UE 604 is to transition to an active DRX cycle from an inactive DRX cycle. [0008]: the beam tracking includes transmitting at least one beam refinement reference signal (BRRS).).
Regarding claim 32, Islam teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, when executed by at least one processor in a terminal device (Examiner note: a user equipment necessarily contains a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction.), cause the terminal device to at least perform: receiving a first resource allocation for a first set of beams ([0194]: the base station may generate a set of BRSs and the base station may transmit the set of BRSs through a set of beams to be used for communication with a UE. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.); measuring the first set of beams based on the first resource allocation ([0195]: the base station may receive, from the UE, an indication of a first beam index based on the BRS. The first beam index may be a coarse beam index to be used for beam refinement); receiving a second resource allocation for a supplement beam ([0196]: the base station may transmit, based on the first indication of the first beam index, at least one BRRS. Examiner note: transmitting a set of BRSs or BRRSs necessarily requires resource allocation.) different from the first set of beams ([0182]: The UE 904 may communicate with the base station 902 through the best beam corresponding to the beam index (e.g., the UE 904 may send information indicating the beam index to the base station 902)); and measuring the supplement beam at a timing different from the timing of measuring the first set of beams, based on the second resource allocation ([0197]: the base station may receive, based on the at least one BRRS, a second indication of a second beam index corresponding to a second beam. The base station 602 may receive, from the UE 604, an indication of a beam index corresponding a fine beam, such as the sixth beam 620 f The indication may be the second indication 565.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210376907 A1) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170012692 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches the subject matter of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is swept using the allocated resources ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams.). Zhu fails to teach allocating resources to the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams based on priority of the one or more supplement beams.
However, Kim does teach allocating resources to the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0028]: The base station determines a beam to be allocated to UE and to provide a communication service to the UE, based on the beam selection information received from individual UE devices, and then informs the UE of the beam allocating information via a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).) based on priority of the one or more supplement beams ([0041]: the base station sets the orders of priority for transmission beams, and broadcasts information regarding the orders of priority set according to transmission beams to UE devices. UE selects a beam (beams) with a high priority from the beams with RSRP the level of which is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and feeds back information regarding a BI (BIs) of the selected beam (beams) to the base station.). Zhu teaches a two-stage beam sweeping method for beam management scheduling. Zhu does not teach allocating resource based on priority. However, Kim discloses allocating resources to perform beam sweeping based on beam priority. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu’s teachings with Kim’s priority-based resource allocation for beam sweeping method in order to efficiently perform beam selection (Kim [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu teaches the subject matter of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams is swept using the allocated resources ([0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams.). Zhu fails to teach allocating resources to the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams based on priority of the one or more supplement beams.
However, Kim does teach allocating resources to the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0028]: The base station determines a beam to be allocated to UE and to provide a communication service to the UE, based on the beam selection information received from individual UE devices, and then informs the UE of the beam allocating information via a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).) based on priority of the one or more supplement beams ([0041]: the base station sets the orders of priority for transmission beams, and broadcasts information regarding the orders of priority set according to transmission beams to UE devices. UE selects a beam (beams) with a high priority from the beams with RSRP the level of which is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and feeds back information regarding a BI (BIs) of the selected beam (beams) to the base station.). Zhu teaches a two-stage beam sweeping method for beam management scheduling. Zhu does not teach allocating resource based on priority. However, Kim discloses allocating resources to perform beam sweeping based on beam priority. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu’s teachings with Kim’s priority-based resource allocation for beam sweeping method in order to efficiently perform beam selection (Kim [0006]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210376907 A1) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170012692 A1) and further in view of Ryoo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170318608 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu in view of Kim teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 4 but fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 5.
However, Ryoo does teach wherein the priority of the one or more supplement beams is in proportion to the number of user equipments corresponding to the supplement beam ([0067]: the number of selectable RA resources is determined in proportion to the number of reception beam links of the UEs illustrated in FIG. 3. [0065]: FIG. 3 illustrates a structure in which UEs have different numbers of reception beam links.) and in inverse proportion to correlation between the supplement beam and one or more beams with allocated resources ([0101]: the UE may determine the areas of the radio transmission resources in inverse proportion to the number or reception beams. Examiner note: correlation is shown in Fig. 5: 6 selectable RA resources areas), the one or more beams with allocated resources including the first set of beams or both the first set of beams and one or more supplement beams selected to allocate resources ([0101], examiner note: beam resources shown in Fig. 5 as B1, B2, and B3). Zhu in combination with Kim disclose a priority-based resource allocation and beam sweep refinement process. The combined teachings of Zhu and Kim do not disclose how priority can be defined based on a beam management procedure. Ryoo discloses a method used to efficiently perform beam selection based on beam priority derived from UE count beam coverage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings Zhu and Kim with that of Ryoo’s priority mechanism in order to increase transmission distance and beamforming efficiency (Ryoo [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu in view of Kim teaches the subject matter disclosed in claims 11 and 14, but they do not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 15.
However, Ryoo does teach wherein the priority of the one or more supplement beams is in proportion to the number of user equipments corresponding to the supplement beam ([0067]: the number of selectable RA resources is determined in proportion to the number of reception beam links of the UEs illustrated in FIG. 3. [0065]: FIG. 3 illustrates a structure in which UEs have different numbers of reception beam links.) and in inverse proportion to correlation between the supplement beam and one or more beams with allocated resources ([0101]: the UE may determine the areas of the radio transmission resources in inverse proportion to the number or reception beams. Examiner note: correlation is shown in Fig. 5: 6 selectable RA resources areas), the one or more beams with allocated resources including the first set of beams or both the first set of beams and one or more supplement beams selected to allocate resources ([0101], examiner note: beam resources shown in Fig. 5 as B1, B2, and B3). Zhu in combination with Kim disclose a priority-based resource allocation and beam sweep refinement process. The combined teachings of Zhu and Kim do not disclose how priority can be defined based on a beam management procedure. Ryoo discloses a method used to efficiently perform beam selection based on beam priority derived from UE count beam coverage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings Zhu and Kim with that of Ryoo’s priority mechanism in order to increase transmission distance and beamforming efficiency (Ryoo [0004]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210376907 A1) in view of Islam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200274602 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein the first set of beams and the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams are swept at an interval of a first period with a time difference between the sweeping of the first set of beams and the sweeping of the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams. [0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure). Zhu fails to teach and the one or more supplement beams are determined at an interval of a second period longer than or equal to the first period.
However, Islam does teach and the one or more supplement beams are determined at an interval of a second period longer than or equal to the first period ([0198]: The base station may communicate with the UE through the beam corresponding to the index indicated in the second indication. The communication may be uplink communication and/or downlink communication. Examiner note: this determination step occurs at a period after the first and second beam sweep.). Zhu teaches a two-stage beam sweeping method for beam management scheduling. Zhu does not specify determining a supplemental beam at a second period. Islam discloses a beam sweeping procedure. Islam also explicitly teaches determining a second beam at a period longer than the first period. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhu with that of Islam in order to improve data rates and beam sweep efficiency (Islam [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 11. Zhu further teaches wherein the first set of beams and the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams are swept at an interval of a first period with a time difference between the sweeping of the first set of beams and the sweeping of the at least a portion of the one or more supplement beams ([0065]: The first beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over multiple transmit (Tx) beams. [0066]: The second beam management procedure may include the base station 110 performing beam sweeping over one or more transmit beams. The one or more transmit beams may be a subset of all transmit beams associated with the base station 110 (e.g., determined based at least in part on measurements reported by the UE 120 in connection with the first beam management procedure). Zhu fails to teach and the one or more supplement beams are determined at an interval of a second period longer than or equal to the first period.
However, Islam further teaches and the one or more supplement beams are determined at an interval of a second period longer than or equal to the first period ([0198]: The base station may communicate with the UE through the beam corresponding to the index indicated in the second indication. The communication may be uplink communication and/or downlink communication. Examiner note: this determination step occurs at a period after the first and second beam sweep.). Zhu teaches a two-stage beam sweeping method for beam management scheduling. Zhu does not specify determining a supplemental beam at a second period. Islam discloses a beam sweeping procedure. Islam also explicitly teaches determining a second beam at a period longer than the first period. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhu with that of Islam in order to enhance data rates and beam sweep efficiency (Islam [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim 6 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479