Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 30-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susitaival et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0370305 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0187064 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Susitaival discloses a user equipment (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Wireless Device 110) comprising at least one processor (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Processing Circuitry 120); and at least one memory (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Device Readable medium 130) including computer program code (See Par. [145] of Susitaival for a reference to the device readable medium 130 may be operable to store instructions, such as a computer program, software, an application including one or more of logic, rules, code, tables, etc.); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- establish a connection to a first master node (See Par. [173] and Fig. 11 of Susitaival for a reference to a wireless device (UE) establishes connection/dual connectivity to a network node (160b) operating as master node (first MN)),
- receive a first reconfiguration message including configuration information for a secondary node addition including a first key (See Par. [70] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE may be provided with a new radio resource control (RRC) configuration and security keys so that the UE is able to receive the handover command from the secondary node where the secondary node will continue to serve the UE [SN addition with a key]),
- perform a random access to the secondary node (See Par. [48]-[49] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE synchronization to the SN corresponds to performing random access to the secondary node),
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the secondary node on one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key (See Par. [4], [113]-[114] of Susitaival for a reference to the SCG bearer data transfer secured using an SN-specific key (S-KeNB) [first key]),
- receive a second reconfiguration message relating to an inter-master node handover from the first master node to a second master node (See Par. [18], [113] of Susitaival for a reference to the MN-handover reconfiguration carrying a new (second) key while the SN/SCG connection is retained),
- perform a random access to the second master node (See Par. [48] and Fig. 7; step 7/8 of Susitaival for a reference to the UE random-access synchronization to the target (second) master node);
- transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the second master node (See Par. [48] and Fig. 7; step 7/8 of Susitaival for a reference to transmitting of a reconfiguration-complete message to the target (second) master node. The UE replies with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message); and
Susitaival does not explicitly disclose the reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) for one or more secondary cell group bearers associated with the secondary node and a second key; - establish the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers of the secondary node based on the configuration information; - transmit and/or receive data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers; - transmit and/or receive data towards/from the secondary node for the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers.
However, Zhang discloses the reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) for one or more secondary cell group bearers associated with the secondary node and a second key (See Par. [6], [56] and Fig. 7; step 5 of Zhang for a reference to the PDCP reconfiguration includes reconfiguring a normal PDCP to an DAPS PDCP for a DAPS bearer such that the DAPS PDCP is associated with both the source cell and the target cell. The reconfiguration establishes DAPS with a new (second) key for the retained bearers);
- establish the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers of the secondary node based on the configuration information (See Par. [35]-[37] of Zhang for a reference to the UE reconfigures the normal PDCP to DAPS PDCP. It includes two security handling modules and can perform integrity protection/verification separately for the source cell and the target cell);
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers (See Par. [56] of Zhang for a reference to the DAPS PDCP entity continuing to use the old (first) key to communicate with the still-connected node while target-key data path is set up);
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the secondary node for the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers (See Par. [60] of Zhang for a reference to the UE configures the DAPS PDCP entity applying the new keys of the target cell for the data transmission/reception to/from the target cell and the old keys for the source cell. The DAPS PDCP entity applying the new (second) key for continued data transfer once the target link is active).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Susitaival and Zhang, specifically Susitaival discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- transmit a measurement report to the first master node to trigger handover (See Par. [26], [98], [108] and Fig. 5 of Susitaival for a reference to the UE reports measurements to the (source/first) master node that triggers the network's handover decision).
Regarding claim 32, Susitaival discloses wherein the second reconfiguration message comprises: Master Cell Group (MCG) configuration information, Secondary Cell Group (SCG) configuration information without reconfig with Sync (See Par. [44] of Susitaival for a reference to a handover reconfiguration carrying both MCG (target MN) and SCG (retained SN) configuration), and
Susitaival does not explicitly disclose the second reconfiguration message comprises SCG Radio Bearer (RB) configuration for DAPS with Medium Access Control (MAC) retained.
However Zhang discloses the second reconfiguration message comprises SCG Radio Bearer (RB) configuration for DAPS with Medium Access Control (MAC) retained (See Par. [56] and Fig. 7; step 4 of Zhang for a reference to the DAPS-enabled bearer configuration retaining (not resetting) the existing MAC entity).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 33, Susitaival does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following: - configure for the secondary node (SN) connection during handover a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting two security layers for ciphering and integrity protection: a first layer using the first SN key derived from a first Master node (MN) key and a second layer using the second SN key derived from a second MN key.
However, Zhang discloses - configure for the secondary node (SN) connection during handover a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting two security layers for ciphering and integrity protection: a first layer using the first SN key derived from a first Master node (MN) key and a second layer using the second SN key derived from a second MN key (See Par. [37] and Fig. 7; step 4 of Zhang for a reference to the DAPS PDCP entity includes both DAPS PDCP transmitting entity and DAPS PDCP receiving entity. It includes two security handling modules and can perform integrity protection/verification separately for the source cell and the target cell [a DAPS PDCP with two distinct security (ciphering/integrity) layers, one per key/cell, matching the claimed dual-key DAPS PDCP structure]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 34, Susitaival does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following: - configure for the secondary node (SN) connection during handover a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting two different security layers and one common Medium Access Control (MAC) layer.
However, Zhang discloses - configure for the secondary node (SN) connection during handover a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting two different security layers and one common Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (See Par. [36], [56] of Zhang for a reference to the MAC entity created for the target cell is also an MCG MAC entity. The UE has two MAC entities for the source cell and the target cell, respectively. A DAPS PDCP with two distinct security (ciphering/integrity) layers, one per key/cell. UE does not reset the MCG MAC entity for the source cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 35, Susitaival does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following: - receive a third reconfiguration message including information related to release of the first master node, and
- configure for the secondary node (SN) connection a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting the second key.
However, Zhang discloses - receive a third reconfiguration message including information related to release of the first master node (See Par. [61] of Zhang for a reference to the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message includes a flag such as releaseSourceCell to release the connection with the source cell).
- configure for the secondary node (SN) connection a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting the second key (See Par. [61] of Zhang for a reference to reconfiguration message that releases the source (first) node connection and converts the DAPS PDCP to a normal PDCP hosting only the retained (second) key).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 36, Susitaival does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following: - use a common medium access control entity for the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack and for the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack.
However, Zhang discloses - use a common medium access control entity for the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack and for the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack (See Par. [36] of Zhang for a reference to that Upon reception of the HO command, UE keeps the UP protocol for the source cell. The UE does not reset the master cell group (MCG) MAC entity for the source cell. The same (common) MAC entity continues to serve data transmission/reception for both the source-keyed and target-keyed DAPS PDCP traffic (no MAC reset)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 37, Susitaival does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following: - determine, based at least on the configuration information comprised in the second reconfiguration message, whether to use the common medium access control entity or whether to reset the medium access control entity after the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack and/or before the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active proto-col stack.
However, Zhang discloses - determine, based at least on the configuration information comprised in the second reconfiguration message, whether to use the common medium access control entity or whether to reset the medium access control entity after the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack and/or before the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active proto-col stack (See Par. [8], [60] of Zhang for a reference to the created MAC entity is a master cell group (MCG) MAC entity, and wherein the UE maintains a source MCG MAC entity and a target MCG MAC entity [separate target MAC entity vs. retained/common source MAC entity) selected according to the received configuration, corresponding to the claimed determination step]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Susitaival and Zhang, specifically Susitaival discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- switch from the transmitting of the data towards the secondary node for the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack to the transmitting of the data towards the secondary node for the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack after the random access to the second master node has been completed and after the reconfiguration complete message has been transmitted to the second master node (See Par. [43], [45] and Fig. 7; step 7/8 of Susitaival for a reference to the key-switch trigger tied to target-cell uplink access; this occurs after random access/synchronization to the target node and after the reconfiguration-complete [RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete] message is sent).
Regarding claim 39, Susitaival discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer pro-gram code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- perform a random access to the secondary node associated with the one or more secondary cell group bearers (See Par. [18], [48]-[49], [113] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE synchronization to the SN corresponds to performing random access to the secondary node. The MN-handover reconfiguration carrying a new (second) key while the SN/SCG connection is retained).
Susitaival does not explicitly disclose - start the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack after the random access to the second master node and the random access to the secondary node have been completed.
However, Zhang discloses - start the transmitting and/or receiving of the data towards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack after the random access to the second master node and the random access to the secondary node have been completed (See Par. [56], [60] of Zhang for a reference to the UE derives the keys of the target cell... configures the DAPS PDCP entity to apply the new keys of the target cell for the data transmission/reception to/from the target cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 40, Susitaival discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the secondary node (See Par. [48] and Fig. 7; step 7/8 of Susitaival for a reference to transmitting of a reconfiguration-complete message to the target (second) master node. The UE replies with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message).
Susitaival does not explicitly disclose - receive a reconfiguration message from the secondary node associated with the one or more secondary cell group bearers, the reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a use of a single protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers; - based at least on the configuration information received from the secondary node, initiate the use of the single protocol stack for transmitting and/or receiving data to-wards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key; and - transmit a reconfiguration complete message to the secondary node.
However, Zhang discloses - receive a reconfiguration message from the secondary node associated with the one or more secondary cell group bearers, the reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a use of a single protocol stack for the one or more secondary cell group bearers (See Par. [45] and Fig. 6; Steps 601, 602, 610 & 620 of Zhang for a reference to the UE with a normal (single) PDCP entity that is reconfigured to a DAPS (dual) PDCP entity upon a handover command, and reconfigured back to a normal/single PDCP entity upon receiving an RRC reconfiguration message that releases the source cell);
- based at least on the configuration information received from the secondary node, initiate the use of the single protocol stack for transmitting and/or receiving data to-wards/from the secondary node on the one or more secondary cell group bearers using the second key (See Par. [60] and Fig. 13; Steps 1310 & 1320 of Zhang for a reference to the DAPS PDCP entity applies a newly derived key for the target cell while continuing to use the old key for the source cell, illustrating a UE that can hold two keys concurrently, which is comparable to, but not the same node/entity relationship as, the claimed single-protocol-stack/second-key configuration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 41, Susitaival discloses a user equipment (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Wireless Device 110) comprising at least one processor (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Processing Circuitry 120); and at least one memory (See Susitaival; Fig. 8; Device Readable medium 130) including computer program code (See Par. [145] of Susitaival for a reference to the device readable medium 130 may be operable to store instructions, such as a computer program, software, an application including one or more of logic, rules, code, tables, etc.); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform the following:
- establish a connection to a first network node (See Par. [173] and Fig. 11 of Susitaival for a reference to a wireless device (UE) establishes connection/dual connectivity to a network node (160b) operating as master node (first MN)),
- receive a first reconfiguration message including configuration information including a first key (See Par. [70] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE may be provided with a new radio resource control (RRC) configuration and security keys so that the UE is able to receive the handover command from the secondary node where the secondary node will continue to serve the UE [SN addition with a key]),
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the first network node on one or more bearers using the first key (See Par. [4], [113]-[114] of Susitaival for a reference to the SCG bearer data transfer secured using an SN-specific key (S-KeNB) [first key]),
Susitaival does not explicitly disclose - receive a second reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) for one or more bearers associated with the first network node and a second key - establish the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers of the first network node based on the configuration information and configure for the first network node connection a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) hosting two different security layers with the first and the second keys and one common Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, - transmit and/or receive data towards/from the first network node on the one or more bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers; and - transmit and/or receive data towards/from the first network node for the one or more bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers.
However, Zhang discloses - receive a second reconfiguration message comprising configuration information relating to a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) for one or more bearers associated with the first network node and a second key (See Par. [6], [56] and Fig. 7; step 5 of Zhang for a reference to the receiving PDCP reconfiguration, which includes reconfiguring a normal PDCP to an DAPS PDCP for a DAPS bearer such that the DAPS PDCP is associated with both the source cell and the target cell. The reconfiguration establishes DAPS with a new (second) key for the retained bearers);
- establish the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers of the first network node based on the configuration information and configure for the first network node connection a DAPS Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (See Par. [35]-[37] of Zhang for a reference to the UE reconfigures the normal PDCP to DAPS PDCP. It includes two security handling modules and can perform integrity protection/verification separately for the source cell and the target cell) hosting two different security layers with the first and the second keys and one common Medium Access Control (MAC) layer (See Par. [36], [56] of Zhang for a reference to the MAC entity created for the target cell is also an MCG MAC entity. The UE has two MAC entities for the source cell and the target cell, respectively. A DAPS PDCP with two distinct security (ciphering/integrity) layers, one per key/cell. UE does not reset the MCG MAC entity for the source cell),
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the first network node on the one or more bearers using the first key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers (See Par. [56] of Zhang for a reference to the DAPS PDCP entity continuing to use the old (first) key to communicate with the still-connected node while target-key data path is set up); and
- transmit and/or receive data towards/from the first network node for the one or more bearers using the second key hosted by the dual active protocol stack for the one or more bearers (See Par. [60] of Zhang for a reference to the UE configures the DAPS PDCP entity applying the new keys of the target cell for the data transmission/reception to/from the target cell and the old keys for the source cell. The DAPS PDCP entity applying the new (second) key for continued data transfer once the target link is active).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Susitaival. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing mobility interruption time through dual protocol stacks in the new radio access system. (Zhang; Par. [2])
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Susitaival and Zhang, specifically Susitaival discloses wherein the user equipment is configured to operate in dual connectivity connection with a first master node and a secondary node (See Par. [58], [173] and Fig. 11 of Susitaival for a reference to a wireless device having dual connectivity to the first network node (160) operating as secondary node and a second network node (160b) operating as a source master node), wherein the first reconfiguration message is received from the first master node (See Par. [70] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE may receive a new radio resource control (RRC) configuration from the first master node), wherein the second reconfiguration message is received from the first master node and comprises configuration information relating to a handover from the first master node to a second master node while maintaining connection to the secondary node (See Par. [70] of Susitaival for a reference to the UE may be provided with a new radio resource control (RRC) configuration and security keys so that the UE is able to receive the handover command from the secondary node where the secondary node will continue to serve the UE [SN addition with a key]), and wherein the first network node is the secondary node (See Par. [58], [173] and Fig. 11 of Susitaival for a reference to a wireless device having dual connectivity to the first network node (160) operating as secondary node).
Regarding claim 43, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 30.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awada et al. (US 2024/0323775 Al) teaches systems, methods, apparatuses, and computer program products for reducing handover interruption time using sidelink communication.
Fang et al. (US 2023/0262781 A1) teaches systems and methods for random access channel (RACH) optimization.
Yao et al. (U.S. 2022/0264410 Al) teaches systems, and methods for performing uplink transmissions during a dual active protocol stack handover.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413