DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13, 16-17, 21 and 63-72 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 11/30/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 7 recites “the first wiper arm is configured as a first wiper arm printed circuit element, a first coupling portion coupled to the first input port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a second coupling portion coupled to the first printed trace are printed on the first wiper arm printed circuit element; and the second wiper arm is configured as a second wiper arm printed circuit element, a third coupling portion coupled to the second input port of the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a fourth coupling portion coupled to the second printed trace are printed on the second wiper arm printed circuit element” but drawings do not show the first, second, third and fourth coupling portions.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para [0008]: “wherein an input end of each second filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter” should read “wherein an input end of each second filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter” based on fig. 4 and para [0051].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 65-68 and 70 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the plurality of first filters” should read “the
“the plurality of second filters” should read “the
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13, 16-17, 21 and 63-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "first filters, which are configured to pass the first radio frequency signal while blocking the second radio frequency signal, wherein an input end of each first filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter; second filters, which are configured to pass the second radio frequency signal while blocking the first radio frequency signal, wherein an input end of each second filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter; and a conductive structure spanning the first substrate, the conductive structure being configured to electrically connect an output end of a first filter with a corresponding output end of a second filter so as to be electrically connected together to a common output port of the multi- band phase shifter assembly" in lines 10-19 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these first and second filters relate to the first filters and the second filters previously recited. It is not clear how both input end of each first and second filters connect to the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as "first filters, which are configured to pass the first radio frequency signal while blocking the second radio frequency signal, wherein an input end of each of the first filters is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter; second filters, which are configured to pass the second radio frequency signal while blocking the first radio frequency signal, wherein an input end of each of the second filters is connected to a corresponding output port of the one of the first filters with a corresponding output end of [[a]] one of the second filters so as to be electrically connected together to a common output port of the multi- band phase shifter assembly".
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 13, 16-17, 21 and 63-72 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter comprises a first input port, a first output port, a second output port, a first printed trace electrically connected to the first output port and the second output port, and a first wiper arm, the first wiper arm is configured to couple the first input port to the first printed trace and is capable of sliding relative to the first printed trace; and the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter comprises a second input port, a third output port, a fourth output port, a second printed trace electrically connected to the third output port and the fourth output port, and a second wiper arm, the second wiper arm is configured to couple the second input port to the second printed trace and is capable of sliding relative to the second printed trace" in lines 2-10 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these first, second, third and fourth output ports relate to the corresponding output ports of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " wherein an arc-shaped trajectory of the first printed trace and an arc-shaped trajectory of the second printed trace substantially extend overlapping with each other" in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these arc-shaped trajectory relate to the arc-shaped trajectory recited in claim 5. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " wherein the multi-band phase shifter comprises a plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters and a plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters, the plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters perform a phase shift operation via a first operating lever, and the plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters perform a phase shift operation via a second operating lever" in lines 1-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these plurality of first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters relate to the first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters recited in claim 1. Moreover, it is not clear how these phase shift operations relate to the phase shift operations recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " wherein a first end portion of the conductive structure is electrically connected to an output end of the first filter through a first opening, and a second end portion of the conductive structure is electrically connected to an output end of the second filter through a second opening, thereby achieving an electrical connection between an output end of a first filter and an output end of a corresponding second filter" in lines 1-6 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these output ends relate to the output ends recited in claim 1. Moreover, it is not clear how these first and second filters relate to the first filters and second filters recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 21 recites the limitation " wherein each first rotary wiper arm phase shifter or each second rotary wiper arm phase shifter has a width less than 70 mm" in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters relate to the first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters recited in claim 1. Moreover, it is not clear why there is only one first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and one second rotary wiper arm phase shifter recited in claim 1 but claim 21 recited “each”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 67 recites the limitation " wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as filter microstrip lines printed on corresponding printed circuit boards” in lines 1-5 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There was no printed circuit boards previously recited so it is not clear what corresponding printed circuit boards are.
Claim 69 recites the limitation " wherein every two first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other, and every two second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other" in lines 1-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these two first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters relate to the first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters recited in claim 1. Moreover, it is not clear why there is only one first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and one second rotary wiper arm phase shifter recited in claim 1 but claim 69 recited “every two”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 70 recites the limitation " wherein the plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the first radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization, and the plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the second radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization" in lines 1-5 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear how these plurality of first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters relate to the first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters recited in claim 1 and the every two first rotary wiper arm phase shifters and the every two second rotary wiper arm phase shifters recited in claim 69. Moreover, it is not clear why there is only one first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and one second rotary wiper arm phase shifter recited in claim 1 but claim 70 recited “a plurality of”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 13, 16-17 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al, US-20190273317-A1 (hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Xiao discloses the following:
a multi-band phase shifter assembly, comprising:
a first substrate (80, fig. 8);
a first rotary wiper arm phase shifter arranged on a first surface of the first substrate (figs. 8-9, para [0076]: 82 and 83 are signal lines of two phase shifters on two sides of the substrate), the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter being configured to perform a phase shift operation on a first radio frequency signal in a first frequency band (para [0056], [0060]);
a second rotary wiper arm phase shifter arranged on a second surface of the first substrate opposite to the first surface (figs. 8-9, para [0076]: 82 and 83 are signal lines of two phase shifters on two sides of the substrate), the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter being configured to perform a phase shift operation on a second radio frequency signal in a second frequency band, the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band (para [0056], [0060]);
first filters (91-94, fig. 9, para [0078]), wherein an input end of each first filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 9 below);
second filters (91-94, fig. 9, para [0078]), wherein an input end of each second filter is connected to a corresponding output port of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 9 below); and
a conductive structure (50, 51) spanning the first substrate, the conductive structure (50, 51, fig. 5) being configured to electrically connect an output end of a first filter with a corresponding output end of a second filter so as to be electrically connected together (para [0064, [0065]) to a common output port (60, 61) of the multi- band phase shifter assembly.
Although Xiao does not explicitly disclose first filters, which are configured to pass the first radio frequency signal while blocking the second radio frequency signal; second filters, which are configured to pass the second radio frequency signal while blocking the first radio frequency signal, Xiao discloses the first and second filters perform filtering functions and signals of the upper and lower layers (of the first and second phase shifters) of the substrate have different frequencies (para [0064], [0078]), it is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art the filtering functions of the first and second filters are passing signal of one frequency and blocking signal of the other frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first filters taught in Xiao to pass the first radio frequency signal while blocking the second radio frequency signal and the second filters to pass the second radio frequency signal while blocking the first radio frequency signal as claimed for the purpose of avoiding the interference between the two different frequency input signals in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein:
the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter comprises a first input port (70, 71, fig. 7, para [0077]), a first output port (70_a1, 71_a1), a second output port (70_a3, 71_a3), a first printed trace (74, para [0059]) electrically connected to the first output port and the second output port (fig. 7), and a first wiper arm (72, 73), the first wiper arm is configured to couple the first input port (70, 71) to the first printed trace (74) and is capable of sliding relative to the first printed trace (para [0077]); and
the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter comprises a second input port (70, 71, fig. 7, para [0077]), a third output port (70_a1, 71_a1), a fourth output port (70_a3, 71_a3), a second printed trace (74, para [0059]) electrically connected to the third output port and the fourth output port (fig. 7), and a second wiper arm (72, 73), the second wiper arm is configured to couple the second input port (70, 71) to the second printed trace(74) and is capable of sliding relative to the second printed trace (para [0077]).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Regarding claim 3, Xiao discloses wherein the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 4, para [0060]: first phase shifter includes a first substrate 30, a first signal line layer 20 disposed on the first substrate 30, and first dielectric layers 40 symmetrically disposed on two sides of the first signal line layer 20) and the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 4, para [0060]: second phase shifter includes a second substrate 31, a second signal line layer 21 disposed on the second substrate 31, and second dielectric layers 41 symmetrically disposed on two sides of the second signal line layer 21) are superimposed (fig. 4, para [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Xiao discloses wherein the first printed trace (74, 76, fig. 7) and the second printed trace (74, 76, fig. 7) at least partially extend along an arc-shaped trajectory.
Regarding claim 7, Xiao discloses wherein:
the first wiper arm (72, 73, fig. 7) is configured as a first wiper arm printed circuit element (para [0059]), a first coupling portion (70_b4) coupled to the first input port (70) of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a second coupling portion (70_b6) coupled to the first printed trace (74) are printed on the first wiper arm printed circuit element (para [0059]); and
the second wiper arm (72, 73, fig. 7) is configured as a second wiper arm printed circuit element (para [0059]), a third coupling portion (70_b4) coupled to the second input port (70) of the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a fourth coupling portion (70_b6) coupled to the second printed trace (74) are printed on the second wiper arm printed circuit element (para [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the multi-band phase shifter comprises a plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters (74, 76, fig. 7) and a plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters (74, 76), the plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters perform a phase shift operation via a first operating lever (72, 73), and the plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters perform a phase shift operation via a second operating lever (72, 73).
Regarding claim 16, although Xiao does not explicitly disclose wherein a channel is provided on the first substrate, and the conductive structure spans the first substrate through the channel, Xiao discloses the conductive structure 50, 51 are used to connect the output signals of the first and second phase shifters (para [0064]) which are disposed on two opposite surface of the substrate 80 (fig. 8, para [0076]: 82 and 83 are signal lines of two phase shifters on two sides of the substrate), it is implied that there is a channel provided on the first substrate for the conductive structure to go through.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein a first end portion of the conductive structure (50, 51, fig. 5) is electrically connected to an output end of the first filter (20b2, 20b1) through a first opening (fig. 5), and a second end portion of the conductive structure (50, 51) is electrically connected to an output end of the second filter (21b2, 21b1) through a second opening, thereby achieving an electrical connection between an output end of a first filter and an output end of a corresponding second filter.
Regarding claim 64, Xiao discloses wherein the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and the plurality of first filters are integrated on a first printed circuit board (fig. 9, para [0059]), and the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter and the plurality of second filters are integrated on a second printed circuit board (fig. 9, para [0059]).
Claims 6 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claims 3 and 5 above, and in view of Zimmerman, US-20080024385-A1.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, although Xiao does not disclose wherein an arc-shaped trajectory of the first printed trace and an arc-shaped trajectory of the second printed trace substantially extend overlapping with each other, Xiao discloses the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter overlaps the second rotary wiper arm phase shifters (fig. 4).
Zimmerman suggests wherein an arc-shaped trajectory of the first printed trace (49, 60, fig. 2a) and an arc-shaped trajectory of the second printed trace (49, 60) substantially extend overlapping with each other (fig. 1, para [0040], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the arc-shaped trajectory of the first and second printed traces of the phase shifter assembly taught in Xiao to overlap with each other as suggested in Zimmerman for the purpose of sharing the same wiper arm in order to reduce the linkage complexity and the length of the interconnecting cables (Zimmerman, para [0018]).
Regarding claim 63, Xiao discloses the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 4, para [0060]: first phase shifter includes a first substrate 30, a first signal line layer 20 disposed on the first substrate 30, and first dielectric layers 40 symmetrically disposed on two sides of the first signal line layer 20) and the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter (fig. 4, para [0060]: second phase shifter includes a second substrate 31, a second signal line layer 21 disposed on the second substrate 31, and second dielectric layers 41 symmetrically disposed on two sides of the second signal line layer 21) are superimposed.
Xiao does not disclose a contour of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a contour of the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter substantially overlap.
Zimmerman suggests a contour of the first rotary wiper arm phase shifter and a contour of the second rotary wiper arm phase shifter substantially overlap (fig. 1, para [0040], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the contour of the first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters taught in Xiao to substantially overlap as suggested in Zimmerman for the purpose of sharing the same wiper arm in order to reduce the linkage complexity and the length of the interconnecting cables (Zimmerman, para [0018]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claim 1 above in view of Park, US-20160111785-A1 applied as a teaching reference.
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, although Xiao does not disclose wherein each first rotary wiper arm phase shifter or each second rotary wiper arm phase shifter has a width less than 70 mm, it is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art that the size of the rotary wiper arm phase shifter depends on size of the application and the desired phase shifting required.
Park applied as a teaching reference suggests the size of the rotary wiper arm phase shifter depends on the phase variance and number of the require output ports of the application (para [007]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the width of the rotary wiper arm phase shifter taught in Xiao and Park to be less than 70 mm as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired number of output ports, the desired phase increments and have enough space to fit the multi-band phase shifter in the application.
Claims 65 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Kim et al, US-20110069644-A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 65, Xiao does not disclose wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as band- rejection filters or band-pass filters.
Kim suggests wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as band- rejection filters or band-pass filters (para [0080], [0255]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide band-pass filters as suggested in Kim to the phase shifter assembly taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of passing the desired frequency bands depending on the requirements of the application (Kim, para [0067]).
Regarding claim 67, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as filter microstrip lines printed on corresponding printed circuit boards (para [0059]).
Regarding claim 68, Xiao discloses wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as resonant stubs (90-94, fig. 9, para [0078]) or stepped impedance microstrip lines.
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Kurk et al, US-20150200467-A1 (hereinafter Kurk).
Regarding claim 66, Xiao does not disclose wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as notch filters.
Kurk discloses wherein the plurality of first filters and/or the plurality of second filters are respectively configured as notch filters (para [0026], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide notch filters as suggested in Kurk to the phase shifter assembly taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of passing the desired frequency bands while blocking other frequencies depending on the requirements of the application (Kurk, para [0027]).
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claim 68 above, and in view of Chang et al, CN-113823884-A (hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 69, as best understood, although Xiao does not disclose wherein every two first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other, and every two second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other, Xiao discloses there could be four or more phase shifters disposed inside the cavity (para [0073]).
Chang suggests wherein every two first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other, and every two second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are arranged side by side and facing each other (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the phase shifters taught in Xiao to be side by side and facing each other as suggested in Chang for the purpose of being able to use the same linkage connection to control the phase shifters at the same time in order to reduce the redundant components and the size of the assembly.
Claims 70 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao and Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Li et al, US-20190334636-A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 70, as best understood, Xiao does not disclose wherein the plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the first radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization, and the plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the second radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization.
Li suggests wherein the plurality of first rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the first radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization, and the plurality of second rotary wiper arm phase shifters are configured for phase shifting of the second radio frequency signal of a first polarization and a second polarization (para [0087]: top and back phase shifters 670 perform phase shifting connected to dual polarized radiating elements 620).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of first and second rotary wiper arm phase shifters taught in Xiao and Chang to phase shift radio frequency signals of first and second polarizations as claimed for the purpose of designing a phase shifter assembly being able to operate in two different frequencies and in dual polarization while still using the same components in order to reduce the cost and size of the design.
Regarding claim 72, Xiao discloses wherein the conductive structure is configured as a metal conductor (50, 51, fig. 5, para [0064]-[0065]).
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao, Chang and Li as applied to claim 70 above, and further in view of 山方 et al, JP-H0425777-A (hereinafter 山方).
Regarding claim 71, although Xiao does not disclose wherein the conductive structure is configured as a coaxial connector, Xiao discloses the conductive structure is a conductor to electrically connect the output ends of the first and second filters (para [0064, [0065]). It is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art to understand that the inner conductor of a coaxial cable is a conductor and can be used to electrically connect two components together.
山方 applied as a teaching reference discloses the conductive structure is configured as a coaxial connector (figs. 1-4: using core wire 27a of a coaxial cable to connect signal lines 40/42 of layers 30a-30c together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coaxial connector as suggested in 山方 as the conductive structure taught in Xiao, Chang and Li as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing method and using the shielding layer of the coaxial connector to protect the signal inside from other circuitry inside the substrate in order to maintain the antenna’s performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845