Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-20 mention part numbers in parentheses throughout the limitations, the part numbers and parentheses need to be removed from the claim language limitations.
In claim 8, “arrangement for characterising sub-cells” in line 1, “a lighting device for characterising solar cells” in line 2, and “all sub-cells have been characterised” in ll. 22-23, should read, “arrangement for characterizing sub-cells”, “a lighting device for characterizing solar cells”, and “all sub-cells have been characterized”.
In claims 9 & 10, “A method for characterising sub-cells” in line 1, should read, “A method for characterizing sub-cells”.
In claim 12, “ A method for simultaneous or serial characterisation” in line 1, should read, “A method for simultaneous or serial characterization”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Dependent claims do not rectify the indefiniteness.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation, “from the division of full cells”, in line 2, without prior disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “from a division of full cells”. Dependent claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of dependency on independent claim 1.
Dependent claim 3 recites the limitation, “arranged on the illumination side”, in line 2, without prior disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “arranged on an illumination side”. Dependent claim 17 is also rejected by virtue of dependency on dependent claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eymard et al (US 2022/0360215 A1, Fil. Date Jun. 9, 2020, hereinafter Eymard).
Regarding independent claim 1, Eymard, teaches:
A contact device for contacting multiple sub-cells that have resulted from the division of full cells and that are physically and electrically separate from one another (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]: describes a device for characterizing cut photovoltaic cells (sub-cells) which are physically separated parts of a whole cell), each of the sub-cells having at least one back-side contact and at least one front-side contact ([0052]-[0056] & [0097]: sub-cells retain the metallization (contacts) of the original cell on both front and rear faces),
wherein the contact device comprises:
- a planar carrier element with at least two back-side contact arrangements (Figs. 5-7; [0060]-[0062], [0079]-[0080], & [0097]-[0098]: discloses a chuck or PCB, which correspond to a planar carrier, that serves as the rear contact, which is split into multiple insulated parts (arrangements) for the sub-cells), or at least two planar carrier elements each with at least one back-side contact arrangement, wherein each back-side contact arrangement corresponds to the at least one back-side contact of one of the sub-cells and is suitable for electrically contacting the at least one back-side contact of the sub-cell (Figs. 5-7; [0060]-[0062], [0079]-[0080], & [0097]-[0098]);
- at least one front-side contact arrangement, wherein each front-side contact arrangement corresponds to the at least one front-side contact of one of the sub-cells (Figs. 5-7; [0060], [0065]-[0069], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]) and is suitable for electrically contacting the at least one front-side contact of the sub-cell ([0060], [0065]-[0069], & [0097]-[0098]); and
- at least one holding device for fixing the sub-cells on the planar carrier element or elements (Figs. 5-6; [0078] & [0097]: a chuck is a standard holding device in the art (often vacuum-based) used to fix cells in place, employs a chuck as the contact/carrier),
wherein:
a) the back-side contact arrangements of the individual sub-cells can be electrically contacted separately, while the front-side contact arrangements of all the sub-cells are electrically connected to a common front-contact arrangement and can be contacted with a common front-side potential (Fig. 5; [0068]-[0069], [0079]-[0081], [0084]-[0086]: back contacts are physically split (separate), and the front contacts include switches that can connect all front tips together (common)),
or
b) the front-side contact arrangements of the individual sub-cells can be electrically contacted separately, while the back-side contact arrangements of all the sub-cells are electrically connected to a common back-contact arrangement and can be contacted with a common back-side potential (Fig. 6; [0054]-[0056], [0065]-[0066], [0068]-[0069], [0079]-[0081], [0084]-[0086], & [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the at least one front-side contact arrangement is also designed on the carrier element or elements (Figs. 5-6; [Abstract], [0009]-[0011], [0060], [0065]-[0067], [0071]-[0072], [0078]-[0080], [0097]-[0098], [Claim 1]: front-side contact arrangements (tips 115) are designed on carrier elements (conductive combs 113) which are part of the measurement assembly), but is electrically insulated from the back-side contact arrangements (Figs. 2-3; [0060]-[0068], [0071]-[0072], [0078]-[0080], & [0097]-[0098]: front contacts (combs) and back contacts (chuck) are physically distinct components connected to separate inputs of the measurement device, providing electrical insulation between the rig components).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the at least one front-side contact arrangement is arranged on the illumination side of the sub-cells (Figs. 3 & 5-7; [0039], [0052], [0057], [0060], [0063], [0077], [0097]-[0098], & [Claim 11]: front-side contacts (combs) are arranged on the front face, which is the side illuminated during testing) independently of the at least one holding device (Fig. 2; [0060]-[0063], [0065]-[0070], [0078], [0084], & [0097]: front contacts (combs) and the holding device (chuck) are separate, distinct physical assemblies that contact opposite faces of the cell).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the at least one front-side contact arrangement is integrated into the holding device (Figs. 3 & 5-7; [0035], [0060], [0065]-[0070], [0078], & [0098]: front-side contact arrangements (tips) are integrated into (“provided with”) the holding/support structures (conductive combs) that are applied to the cell, figure further illustrates the tips physically embedded/integrated into the comb structure 113).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the at least one holding device comprises a grid, one or more brackets, one or more spring elements, or some other releasable clamping device (Figs. 5-7; [0060], [0078], & [0097]-[0098]: discloses that the contact elements can be of a grid type and further discloses a chuck, (a releasable clamping device) for holding wafer/cells, typically via vacuum, wires 121 form a grid and tips 115 serve as brackets).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the at least one holding device comprises a suction device ([0061] & [0097]: discloses that the holding device is a chuck, which is a standard suction (vacuum) device used to hold the cell, element 124 is the chuck/suction device).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the carrier element or elements are designed as a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Eymard, teaches:
An arrangement for characterising sub-cells resulting from the division of full cells ([Abstract], [0008]-[0017], [0050], [0057]-[0061], [0073]-[0076], [0084]-[0089], & [Claim 4]), having a lighting device for characterising solar cells ([0039], [0057] & [0077]: uses a solar simulator (lighting device)), a chuck for holding solar cells, on which a contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0057], [0073]-[0077], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]) is arranged which is suitable for contacting multiple sub-cells, and one or more measuring devices suitable for recording measured values while the multiple sub-cells are being exposed to light by means of the lighting device ([Abstract], [0039], [0057], [0060]-[0064], [0077]-[0078], [0081], [0097]-[0098]: employs a chuck to hold the cells and contact elements (combs/wires) to record I-V values under illumination), wherein
a measuring device is assigned to each sub-cell ([0081]: discloses multiple measuring devices, one for each sub-cell), and the multiple measuring devices are configured to perform a simultaneous measurement ([0081]) between
- the back-side contact arrangements of the individual sub-cells and the common front-contact arrangement ([0055]-[0056], [0069] & [0079]-[0082], & [0084]), or
- the front-side contact arrangement of the individual sub-cells and the common back-contact arrangement during the lighting operation ([0055]-[0056], [0069], [0079]-[0081], & [0084]: device is capable of measuring with switches closes (common front) and back elements split), or the one measuring device performs successive measurements on each sub-cell ([0055], [0081]-[0082], [0084], & [0086]) between
- the back-side contact arrangements of one of the sub-cells and the common front-contact arrangement ([0055], [0079]-[0082], [0084], & [0086]), or
- the front-side contact arrangement of one of the sub-cells and the common back-contact arrangement during successive lighting operations, wherein a circuit connects the one measuring device to another sub-cell after each lighting operation until all sub-cells have been characterized ([0055], [0079]-[0082], [0084], & [0086]: discloses the alternative successive measurement mode using a switching/multiplexing circuit).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Eymard, teaches:
A method for characterising sub-cells resulting from the division of full cells, comprising at least the following steps ([Abstract], [0001], [0009]-[0012], & [0050]-[0051):
- providing an arrangement according to claim 8 ([Abstract], [0008]-[0017], [0029]-[0032], [0046]-[0050], [0057]-[0067], [0073]-[0080], [0084]-[0089], & [Claim 4]),
- arranging at least two sub-cells on the contact device and fixing the sub-cells by means of the at least one holding device ([0061], [0078]-[0079], & [0097]: describes arranging the sub-cells side-by-side on a chuck (holding device) which fixes/holds them);
- electrically contacting the measuring devices with the back-side contact arrangements and the front-side contact arrangements ([0041], [0060]-[0067], [0079]-[0084], & [0087]: method involves physically contacting the busbars (front) and metallization (back) with the contact elements connected to the measurement device); and
- simultaneously illuminating all sub-cells ([0041], [0057], [0081]-[0084], & [0087]) and, at the same time, simultaneously recording the measured values of all the sub-cells located on the contact device ([0041], [0080]-[0084], & [0087]: discloses simultaneous illumination and simultaneous parallel measurement of the sub-cells).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Eymard, teaches:
A method for characterising sub-cells resulting from the division of full cells, comprising at least the following steps ([Abstract], [0001], [0009]-[0012], & [0050]-[0051):
a) providing an arrangement according to claim 8 ([Abstract], [0008]-[0017], [0029]-[0032], [0046]-[0050], [0057]-[0067], [0073]-[0080], [0084]-[0089], & [Claim 4]),
b) arranging at least two sub-cells on the contact device and fixing the sub-cells by means of the at least one holding device ([0061], [0078]-[0079], & [0097]: describes arranging the sub-cells side-by-side on a chuck (holding device) which fixes/holds them);
c) electrically contacting the measuring devices with the back-side contact arrangements and the front-side contact arrangements of a first sub-cell ([0041], [0060]-[0067], [0079]-[0084], & [0087]: the contact elements (combs/wires and chuck) are brought into contact with the cell terminals, method involves physically contacting the busbars (front) and metallization (back) with the contact elements connected to the measurement device); and
d) simultaneously illuminating all sub-cells ([0041], [0057], [0081]-[0084], & [0087]) and, at the same time, recording the measured values of the first sub-cell ([0041], [0080]-[0084], & [0087]: discloses an embodiment where all cells are illuminated in a single step while a single device records the first cell’s data);
e) electrically contacting the measuring devices with the back-side contact arrangements and the front-side contact arrangements of a further sub-cell ([0080]-[0084]: discloses connecting the single measurement device to the next sub-cell’s circuit (establishing electrical contact with the device)); and
f) Simultaneous illumination of all the sub-cells and parallel recording of the measured values of the other sub-cell ([0080]-[0084] & [0086]-[0087]: simultaneous illumination on all sub-cells continues while the device records the next cell),
g) repeating steps e) and f) until all sub-cells have been measured ([0080]-[0084]: process repeats successively for each sub-cell).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Eymard, teaches:
The method according to claim 9 ([Abstract], [0001], [0009]-[0012], [0050]-[0051], & [0055]-[0065]), wherein the electrical characteristics (I-V curves) of the individual sub-cells are determined from the measured values ([0013]-[0015], [0018], [0064], [0078]-[0079], & [0083]-[0089]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Eymard, teaches:
A method for simultaneous or serial characterisation of multiple sub-cells ([0080]-[0082]: discloses measuring (characterizing) sub-cells either simultaneously (in parallel) or serially (successively/multiplexed)) comprising providing the contact device according to claim 1 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0066], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]-[0080]) and illuminating the sub-cells with a lighting device for full cells ([0041]-[0042], [0057], & [0077]-[0078]: uses a solar simulator (standard lighting device for full cells) to illuminate sub-cells).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 5 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0051], [0060], [0066]-[0076], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]), wherein:
the at least one front-side contact arrangement is also designed on the carrier element or elements, but is electrically insulated from the back-side contact arrangements ([0029]-[0032], [0050]-[0057], [0066]-[0068], [0079]-[0080], & [0097]-[0098]); or
the at least one front-side contact arrangement is arranged on the illumination side of the sub-cells independently of the at least one holding device (Figs. 2-3; [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0039], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0057], [0060]-[0068], [0077]-[0078], & [0097]-[0098]: figures illustrate the contact elements 112 (front) as separate mechanical assemblies above the cell, independent of the rear chuck/holding device 124 is a plate below the cell); or
the at least one front-side contact arrangement is integrated into the holding device ([0050]-[0057], [0059]-[0068], & [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 6 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0035]-[0036], [0051], [0066]-[0068], [0073]-[0076], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]), wherein:
the at least one front-side contact arrangement is also designed on the carrier element or elements, but is electrically insulated from the back-side contact arrangements ([0029]-[0032], [0050]-[0057], [0066]-[0068], [0079]-[0080], & [0097]-[0098]); or
the at least one front-side contact arrangement is arranged on the illumination side of the sub-cells independently of the at least one holding device (Figs. 2-3; [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0039], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0057], [0060]-[0068], [0077]-[0078], & [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according to claim 14 (Figs. 3-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0035]-[0036], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0066]-[0068], [0073]-[0076], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]), wherein the at least one holding device comprises a grid, one or more brackets, one or more spring elements, or some other releasable clamping device (Figs. 5-7; [0060], [0078], & [0097]-[0098]: discloses that the contact elements can be of a grid type and further discloses a chuck, (a releasable clamping device) for holding wafer/cells, typically via vacuum, wires 121 form a grid and tips 115 serve as brackets).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according claim 2 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the carrier element or elements are designed as a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according claim 3 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the carrier element or elements are designed as a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according claim 4 (Figs. 4-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0073]-[0076], & [0079]), wherein the carrier element or elements are designed as a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Eymard, teaches:
The contact device according claim 15 (Figs. 3-7; [Abstract], [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0012], [0035]-[0036], [0051], [0059]-[0061], [0066]-[0068], [0073]-[0076], [0079], & [0097]-[0098]), wherein the carrier element or elements are designed as a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0097]-[0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Eymard, teaches:
The method according to claim 10 ([Abstract], [0001], [0009]-[0012], [0050]-[0051], & [0055]-[0065]), wherein the electrical characteristics (I-V curves) of the individual sub-cells are determined from the measured values ([0013]-[0015], [0018], [0064], [0078]-[0079], & [0083]-[0089]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Garg et al (US11811360B2) discloses high voltage solar modules. Baudrit et al. (US20160149068A1) discloses multi-junction solar cell. Kamino et al. (US2022/0102659A1) discloses a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of multijunction photovoltaic cells.
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
01/05/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
1/9/2026