DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2024, 06/25/2025, 07/23/2025 and 11/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 1, line 14 discloses “components and a methods for producing” which has a grammatical error.
Page 11, line 2 discloses “and thus efectuate a high” which has a misspelling.
Page 26, line 29 discloses “saw markds 41” which has a misspelling.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 states “The the radiation-emitting component” which has a grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FURUYAMA et al. (US 20130313581 A1, see IDS dated 06/25/2025), hereinafter “Furuyama.”
Re: Independent Claim 1, Furuyama discloses a radiation-emitting component (Fig. 1A: LED 1a; ¶0003: semiconductor light emitting device), comprising:
a semiconductor chip which (Fig. 1A: light emitting element (chip) 5), during operation, is configured to emit electromagnetic radiation of a first wavelength range from a radiation exit surface (Fig. 1A shows radiation exit surface 15a with electromagnetic radiation, i.e., light, represented by arrows; ¶0029: the excitation light wavelength (emission wavelength) of the light emitting element 5 is set to 450 nm, i.e., first wavelength), and
a conversion element on a cover surface of the semiconductor chip comprising the radiation exit surface (Fig. 1A: phosphor layer 30, i.e., conversion element, on cover surface 15a), the conversion element containing a matrix material and phosphor particles embedded therein (¶0028: phosphor layer 30 includes a resin layer, i.e., matrix material, as a transparent medium, and a plurality of phosphor particles), which convert electromagnetic radiation of the first wavelength range into electromagnetic radiation of a second wavelength range (¶0028: phosphor layer 30 includes a resin layer as a transparent medium, and a plurality of phosphor particles excited by excitation light of the light emitting element 5 to emit fluorescence, i.e., radiation of a second wavelength),
wherein the conversion element has a bearing surface which is equal to or smaller than the cover surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig. 1A: conversion element 30 has a bottom surface, i.e., bearing surface, equal to the size of the top surface 15a of the semiconductor chip 5), and the bearing surface is completely in direct contact with the cover surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig. 1A: conversion element 30 has a bottom surface which is in complete and direct contact with top surface 15a of chip 5),
wherein the conversion element has a cross-sectional area which tapers from the bearing surface towards the side of the conversion element facing away from the semiconductor chip (Fig. 2A: conversion element 30 is tapered from the bearing surface towards the top as shown by oblique surface 30c; See ¶0038: oblique surface 30c inclined w.r.t. 15a), or
wherein the conversion element has a cross-sectional area which tapers from a side of the conversion element facing away from the semiconductor chip towards the bearing surface (See Fig. 2A: oblique surface 30c, i.e., tapered), and/or
wherein the conversion element has side surfaces which have rounded corners (Note: this limitation is optional; previous optional limitations are taught above.).
Re: Claim 2, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and wherein the bearing surface is equal to or smaller than the radiation exit surface (Fig. 1A: phosphor layer 30 has a bottom surface, i.e., bearing surface, equal to the radiation exit surface 15a).
Re: Claim 3, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and wherein the semiconductor chip has side surfaces (Fig. 1A: chip 5 has side surfaces 5a), and the side surfaces are free of the conversion element (Fig. 1A: conversion element 30 covers only the first surface 15a of chip 5 and not the sides; ¶0031: phosphor layer 30 has an upper surface 30a parallel to the first surface 15a of the light emitting element 5).
Re: Claim 5, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and wherein the conversion element is applied only to partial regions of the semiconductor chip (Figs. 1A and 2A show embodiments wherein the conversion element 30 is applied only to the top of chip 5, i.e., partial region, as opposed to also the sides of the chip which Furuyama shows in Fig. 4A).
Re: Claim 13, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and further comprising connections for electrical contacting (Fig. 6A: 23a and 24a; ¶0066: light emitting layer of the light emitting element 5 is electrically connected to the wiring pattern of the mounting substrate 70), wherein the connections are present on the side of the semiconductor chip facing away from the radiation exit surface (See Figs. 6A-6C: terminals 23a and 24a, solder 40, pads 72 are located below the radiation exit surface).
Re: Claim 14, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and further comprising connections for electrical contacting, wherein the connections are present on the side of the semiconductor chip facing the radiation emitting surface (Fig. 10 shows an embodiment with n-side electrode 17 which is present on a side of the chip facing the light emitting layer 13, i.e., radiation emitting surface; See ¶¶0091-0092).
Re: Claim 15, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1, and further comprising connections for electrical contacting, wherein the connections are present on the side of the semiconductor chip facing away from the radiation exit surface and on the side of the semiconductor chip facing the radiation exit surface (Fig. 10 shows connections n-side electrode 17 and p-side electrode 16 which are on both sides of the radiation exit surface; See ¶¶0091-0092).
Re: Independent Claim 16, Furuyama discloses a method for producing a radiation-emitting component (FIGS. 7A to 8C are schematic sectional views showing a method for manufacturing the semiconductor light emitting device of the embodiment) comprising:
providing at least one semiconductor chip which (Fig. 7A: chip 5), during operation, is configured to emit electromagnetic radiation of a first wavelength range from a radiation exit surface (Fig. 1A shows radiation exit surface 15a with electromagnetic radiation, i.e., light, represented by arrows; ¶0029: the excitation light wavelength (emission wavelength) of the light emitting element 5 is set to 450 nm, i.e., first wavelength),
depositing of a precursor material (¶0163: A liquid transparent resin 31 dispersed with phosphor 32 is supplied onto the first surface 15a by such a method as printing, potting, molding, and compression molding, and then heat-cured), in which phosphor particles are embedded (¶0028: phosphor layer 30 includes a resin layer as a transparent medium, and a plurality of phosphor particles; See ¶0163: A liquid transparent resin 31 dispersed with phosphor 32 is supplied onto the first surface 15a), which convert electromagnetic radiation of the first wavelength range into electromagnetic radiation of a second wavelength range, directly onto at least one region of a cover surface of the semiconductor chip comprising the radiation exit surface (Fig. 1A shows radiation exit surface 15a with electromagnetic radiation, i.e., light, represented by arrows; ¶0029: the excitation light wavelength (emission wavelength) of the light emitting element 5 is set to 450 nm, i.e., first wavelength),
curing the precursor material to form a conversion element comprising a matrix material and the phosphor particles embedded therein (¶0028: phosphor layer 30 includes a resin layer, i.e., matrix material, as a transparent medium, and a plurality of phosphor particles; ¶0163: A liquid transparent resin 31 dispersed with phosphor 32 … and then heat-cured),
wherein the conversion element has a bearing surface which is equal to or smaller than the cover surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig. 1A: conversion element 30 has a bottom surface, i.e., bearing surface, equal to the size of the top surface 15a of the semiconductor chip 5), and the bearing surface is completely in direct contact with the cover surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig. 1A: conversion element 30 has a bottom surface which is in complete and direct contact with top surface 15a of chip 5),
wherein the precursor material is structured during deposition (¶0163: A liquid transparent resin 31 dispersed with phosphor 32 is supplied onto the first surface 15a by such a method as printing, potting, molding, and compression molding, i.e., structured, and then heat-cured) and the conversion element has a cross-sectional area which tapers from the bearing surface in the direction of the side of the conversion element facing away from the semiconductor chip (Fig. 2A: conversion element 30 is tapered from the bearing surface towards the top as shown by oblique surface 30c; See ¶0038: oblique surface 30c inclined w.r.t. 15a), or
the conversion element has a cross-sectional area which tapers from a side of the conversion element facing away from the semiconductor chip in the direction of the bearing surface (See Fig. 2A: oblique surface 30c, i.e., tapered), and/or
wherein the conversion element has side surfaces which have rounded corners (Note: this limitation is optional; previous optional limitations are taught above.).
Re: Claim 18, Furuyama discloses the method according to claim 16, and wherein providing at least one semiconductor chip comprises providing a plurality of semiconductor chips (See Figs. 7A-E and 8A-C which show a plurality of chips 5), wherein the method further comprises singulating and curing the plurality of semiconductor chips after the deposition and curing of the precursor material (Figs. 7E and 8C show singulation of chips; ¶0163: A liquid transparent resin 31 dispersed with phosphor 32 is supplied onto the first surface 15a by such a method as printing, potting, molding, and compression molding, and then heat-cured).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-9, 11, 12, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUYAMA et al. (US 20130313581 A1) in view of PIQUETTE et al. (US 20180340119A1, see IDS dated 05/23/2024), hereinafter “Piquette.”
Re: Claim 4, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the conversion element has side surfaces which have an average roughness of less than 2µm and/or have no saw marks.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the conversion element has side surfaces which have an average roughness of less than 2µm (Figs. 4A-C: wavelength conversion element 40; ¶0119: the average area surface roughness Sa is an order of magnitude larger (2.35 μm) for the comparative silicone converter 80 than for the polysiloxane wavelength conversion element 40 (0.12 μm).) and/or have no saw marks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced a conversion element having an average area surface roughness less than 2µm in order to produce parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point (See Piquette, ¶¶0025 and 0087).
Re: Claim 7, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the conversion element has a thickness which is less than or equal to 150 µm and/or which is greater than or equal to 10 µm.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the conversion element has a thickness which is less than or equal to 150 µm and/or which is greater than or equal to 10 µm (¶0046: wavelength conversion element comprises a thickness of between 10 μm and 500 μm, advantageously of between 25 μm and 200 μm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶0087).
Re: Claim 8, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the conversion element has a solids content of greater than or equal to 45% by volume.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the conversion element has a solids content of greater than or equal to 45% by volume (¶0045: The concentration of the phosphor, i.e., solids content, or the phosphor blend may be equal to or smaller than 90 wt %, for example in the range of 15 wt % to 75 wt %, i.e., greater than or equal to 45%).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶0087).
Re: Claim 9, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the matrix material has an organic content which is less than 40% by weight.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the matrix material has an organic content which is less than 40% by weight (¶0005: a wavelength conversion element comprising a crosslinked matrix and at least one phosphor dispersed in said matrix is provided; ¶0016: the crosslinked matrix comprises an organic content of less than 40 wt %. In a preferred embodiment, the organic content is less than or equal to 25 wt %; See ¶0043: The amount of organic and inorganic polymers may be in the range from 0 to 75 wt %, i.e., less than 40% by weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶0087).
Re: Claim 11, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the matrix material is a three-dimensionally crosslinked polyorganosiloxane.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the matrix material is a three-dimensionally crosslinked polyorganosiloxane (¶0014: Any other combination of a polysiloxane backbone or a polysilazane backbone with alkyl, for example methyl, and alkoxy, for example methoxy, side groups is possible as well; ¶0016: the crosslinked matrix comprises an organic content of less than 40 wt %. In a preferred embodiment, the organic content is less than or equal to 25 wt %; In other words, polyorganosiloxane is composed of polysiloxane and organic content.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶0087).
Re: Claim 12, the combination of Furuyama in view of Piquette discloses the the radiation-emitting component according to the claim 11.
Piquette further discloses wherein the three-dimensionally crosslinked polyorganosiloxane is prepared from a precursor material comprising an alkoxy-functionalized polyorganosiloxane resin (¶0014: Any other combination of a polysiloxane backbone or a polysilazane backbone with alkyl, for example methyl, and alkoxy, for example methoxy; ¶0107: In step A, a phosphor powder, fumed silica, a polysiloxane resin, and catalysts are mixed together to get a starting mixture 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶0087).
Re: Claim 17, Furuyama discloses the method according to the claim 16.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the curing is carried out at a temperature which is less than or equal to 220°C.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the curing is carried out at a temperature which is less than or equal to 220°C (¶0025: Furthermore, the wavelength conversion element can be made using an inexpensive process at room temperature or slightly elevated temperatures if it is desired to speed up the curing process of the precursor material; ¶0081: the curing takes place at room temperature or at elevated temperatures, for example at temperatures of equal to or greater than 50° C… By exposing the starting material to temperatures above room temperature, the curing can be accelerated; ¶0082: In the presence of humidity or if liquid water is added to the starting mixture, the mixture will begin to cure at room temperature or with mild heating at, for example, 50° C. or 150° C. or even higher.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶¶ 0025 and 0087).
Re: Claim 19, Furuyama discloses the method according to claim 16.
However, Furuyama does not clearly disclose wherein the thickness and shape of the conversion element is adjusted during the deposition and/or the curing of the precursor material.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein the thickness and shape of the conversion element is adjusted during the deposition and/or the curing of the precursor material (¶0025: the wavelength conversion element can be made using an inexpensive process at room temperature or slightly elevated temperatures if it is desired to speed up the curing process of the precursor material... the wavelength conversion element is more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because its thickness and surface roughness can be better controlled due to the material of the crosslinked matrix.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶¶0025 and 0087).
Re: Claim 20, Furuyama discloses the method according to claim 16.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein during curing the precursor material crosslinks three-dimensionally.
In a similar field of endeavor, Piquette discloses wherein during curing the precursor material crosslinks three-dimensionally (¶0005: a wavelength conversion element comprising a crosslinked matrix and at least one phosphor dispersed in said matrix is provided; ¶0025: wavelength conversion element can be made using an inexpensive process at room temperature or slightly elevated temperatures if it is desired to speed up the curing process of the precursor material.; ¶0028: crosslinked matrix comprises a three-dimensional siloxane-based network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have produced an optoelectronic chip with parts that are more uniform in terms of brightness and color point because the thickness and surface roughness of the wavelength conversion elements are better controlled. (See Piquette, ¶¶ 0025 and 0087).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUYAMA et al. (US 20130313581 A1) in view of VAMPOLA et al. (US 20170365746 A1, see IDS dated 06/25/2025), hereinafter “Vampola.”
Re: Claim 6, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein an edge region of the cover surface of the semiconductor chip is free of the conversion element, wherein the edge region has a width selected from the range including 10 µm to including 12 µm.
In a similar field of endeavor, Vampola discloses wherein an edge region of the cover surface of the semiconductor chip is free of the conversion element (Fig. 1 shows an LED chip 1 with a wavelength converting element 30 which is smaller in area than the surface of the LED 1. In other words, the wavelength converting element 30 does not cover the entire surface of the light extraction surface 37 of LED 1 which leaves edge regions of the cover surface of LED 1 free of the conversion element; See ¶0031), wherein the edge region has a width … (Fig. 1: light output surface area 31 and LED top surface 37; ¶0032: The light output surface area 31 of the wavelength converting element 30 may be no more than 90%, 80%, 60% or at least 30% and 50%; ¶0055: devices illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 3-18 may be made by placing a wavelength converting element over a single 1 mm2 die).
Vampola teaches a wavelength converting element 30 that may be no more than 90% of the light output surface area 33 of LED 1. In other words, Vampola teaches that the wavelength converting element is deliberately made smaller than the light extraction surface area of the LED. As a direct result, peripheral/edge portions of the LED surface remain free of the converting element. Vampola also discloses preferred area ratios in which the converting element occupies no more than 90%, 80%, or 60% of the LED area and illustrates multiple embodiments in which edge regions of the LED surface are left uncovered (See Figs. 1, 3, 6, 7 and 13-17).
While Vampola does not expressly disclose a width “selected from the range including 10 µm to including 12 µm,” the width of the conversion element free edge region is a result-effective variable. It directly controls the degree of area confinement and therefor the magnitude of the luminance increase (See Vampola, ¶0018) that Vampola seeks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified the base structure such as that of Furuyama, being motivated by Vampola’s teaching of the benefits of a smaller converting-element area, to have left an edge region of the cover surface free of the conversion element and to optimize the width of that conversion element free edge. Selection of a width in the range of approximately 10-12 µm constitutes routine optimization of a known result-effective variable. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUYAMA et al. (US 20130313581 A1) in view of HARAGUCHI et al. (US 20130056788 A1), hereinafter “Haraguchi.”
Re: Claim 10, Furuyama discloses the radiation-emitting component according to claim 1.
However, Furuyama does not specifically disclose wherein the matrix material has a Shore D hardness which is greater than 50.
In a similar field of endeavor, Haraguchi discloses wherein the matrix material has a Shore D hardness which is greater than 50 (¶0104: The amount of the filler contained in the molded resin may be appropriately selected according to the type of the filler used. However, the ratio of the binder resin and the filler in the molded resin is preferably 10 to 60:90 to 40 because this allows better control of Shore D hardness of the molded resin within a suitable range, facilitating production of the molded resin having high resistance to temperature, less detachment of a lead frame or an encapsulant from the resin material and high resistance to physical impact without cracks or chips. The above range is more preferably 20 to 40:80 to 60.; ¶0169: phosphor layer converts light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have created a conversion element with an appropriately selected combination and amount of materials which allows for better control of hardness in order to enhance resistance to physical impacts (See Haraguchi, ¶0104).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KUO et al. (US 20160190409 A1) – discloses a light-emitting device relevant to the current claims.
FUJITA et al. (US 20110006329 A1) - discloses a wavelength conversion member relevant to the current claims.
TISCHLER (US 8907362 B2) - discloses a light-emitting device relevant to the current claims.
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898