DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed 07/22/2026. Claims 46, 53, 62, 64 and 65 have been amended; claims 66-71 have been added; claims 48-52 and 55 have been cancelled. Claims 46, 47, 53, 54 and 56-71 are pending and are examined herein.
Applicant’s amendment of independent claims 46, 62, 64 and 65, which deleted the alternative the prior Office action relied upon, and the addition of claims 66-71 necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amended independent claims recite two alternatives joined by “or”: wake-up signals based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code, or wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots. Prior art that teaches either alternative meets the claim. Nevertheless, the Examiner addressed both alternatives below, because new claims 66-71 each select one of them.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “Mazloum and Rostami, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the first recited alternative” (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 3), and that “adding an optional checksum to a WUS is not the same as the cell-specific wake-up signals themselves being based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code” (Remarks, page 9, paragraph 2), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a codeword of a binary error correcting code is a block of bits that carries the redundancy needed to detect and correct errors across the block, and a wake-up signal is “based on” such a codeword when the bits transmitted as the wake-up signal form one. The claims do not exclude a systematic code, in which the codeword is the information bits followed by the error-correcting redundancy.
Similarly, Mazloum’s wake-up signal is a bit sequence (Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be a randomly generated set of bits”). Mazloum’s wake-up signal may carry a checksum of a type chosen according to an error-correction algorithm (Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”), and that checksum corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal (Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS, i.e., across multiple parts of the WUS”) where the cell-related first part and the UE-related second part share it (Mazloum, para [0165] “the first part 711 and the second part 712 may share a common checksum. As such, the checksum may be based, both, on data of the first part 711 and data of the second part 712”).
In the Examiner’s view, a wake-up signal protected over its whole length by error-correcting redundancy is, as a whole, a codeword of a binary error correcting code. Therefore, the Examiner does not read the checksum as something merely appended to the wake-up signal; the checksum is what makes each transmitted wake-up signal a codeword.
Mazloum presents the error-correcting checksum as an option that does not lessen the disclosure. A reference is available for all it teaches, including optional embodiments (MPEP 2123).
The wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords. Mazloum teaches that different cells use different base sequences (Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”) and that one coding scheme is configured for the wake-up signal transmission of the serving cell and the further cells (Mazloum, para [0129] “the configuration data 4001 may be indicative of a modulation and/or coding scheme (MCS) of the WUS transmission in the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168”). Different information bits with the error-correcting checksum computed over them are different codewords of the same code.
Applicant’s statement that “A randomly generated set of bits is not a codeword of a binary error correcting code” (Remarks, page 9, paragraph 1) addresses the base sequence alone. The Examiner relies on the wake-up signal as transmitted, with the error-correcting checksum of Mazloum para [0104] computed over its entire length. Mazloum’s remark that channel coding may not be preferred for the wake-up signal (Mazloum, para [0116] “it may not be preferred to have channel coding such turbo code, convolutional code, etc.”) concerns the channel coding of a payload and does not withdraw the checksum of Mazloum para [0104]. The CRC bits of Mazloum para [0172] are one of the checksum types that the checksum protection parameter of Mazloum para [0104] selects among. The correspondence is set forth in the rejection of claim 46 below.
In regard to Applicant’s argument that “Rostami’s cited teachings appear to use cyclic shifts of Zadoff-Chu sequences associated with a root index” (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 6), that “A cell-specific root index suggests using a root index associated with a cell or gNB. It does not teach constructing a root wake-up signal from multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 1), and that “The Office Action does not identify where Rostami discloses that the cyclic shifts generate the claimed cell-specific wake-up signals from a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 2), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the root wake-up signal is the wake-up signaling of a cell before any cyclic shift is applied. The claim requires that this signaling be formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots and that the cell-specific wake-up signals be a function of different cyclic shifts of it. The claim does not require that every constituent sequence be shifted by the same amount.
The Examiner does not read the root wake-up signal on a single root Zadoff-Chu sequence, as Applicant assumes, but on the whole PDWCH signaling of a cell. Rostami teaches that a cell may have several PDWCH groups (Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups”) and that each group has its own root index (Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”). The PDWCH signaling of a cell with several groups is therefore formed by several root Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots; that is the claimed root wake-up signal. Rostami further teaches that the root sequence itself is always transmitted (Rostami, page 8, “Z0 is assumed to be always transmitted within the PDWCH group”), that every sequence in a group is a cyclic shift of the root sequence (Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”), and that different cyclic shifts of one root are orthogonal (Rostami, page 7, “the cross-correlation between different sequences based on cyclic shifts of the same ZC root sequence is zero as long as the cyclic shift used when generating the sequences is larger than the maximum DL propagation time in the cell plus the maximum delay spread of the channel”). Those cyclic shifts are the claimed function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal. These passages are identified in the rejection of claim 46 below.
Rostami’s statement that, for simplicity of presentation, the rest of the article assumes one PDWCH group and omits the root index notation follows its express teaching of several groups per cell. It is not a teaching away.
As to Applicant’s argument that “Nor does Rostami teach that its cyclic-shifted sequences are multiple cell-specific wake-up signals in the claimed set” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 2), the Examiner agrees that Rostami assigns the different cyclic shifts to different wake-up receivers within a cell and distinguishes cells by the root index (Rostami, page 7, “A pool of known cyclic shift sequences is allocated to each gNB within a cell with a cell-specific root index, providing low inter-cell interference”).
That does not distinguish the claims from the combination. The rejection is one of obviousness. The Examiner relies on Rostami for the structure of the signaling, a multi-root root wake-up signal and a pool of orthogonal sequences that are its different cyclic shifts, and on the combination with Mazloum for assigning those sequences to cells. Mazloum requires a different wake-up signal for each cell (Mazloum, para [0101] “different cells 161-168 may use different WUSs. Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”). Rostami teaches that the cyclic shifts of one root are orthogonal and that orthogonal sequences keep the signaling of one transmitter from interfering with another. Using those orthogonal cyclic shifts as Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals is the use of a known pool of orthogonal sequences for its known purpose of separating transmitters, and it gives the predictable result of cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal.
Applicant’s characterization of Rostami’s cell-specific root index as pointing “in a different direction” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 1) is not a teaching away. The cell-specific root index shows that Rostami, like Mazloum, makes the wake-up signaling of one cell distinct from that of another. Rostami expresses no preference against distinguishing cells by the cyclic shift as well.
Furthermore, in regard to Applicant’s arguments that “Combining the references would not produce that limitation without using Applicant’s claim as a roadmap” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 4), that “Even if those teachings were combined, the result would be, at most, a cell-specific WUS using a Zadoff-Chu sequence or cyclic-shifted Zadoff-Chu signaling” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 5), and that “The Examiner’s rationale that Rostami’s Zadoff-Chu signaling could provide low inter-cell interference and efficient correlation-based detection does not supply the missing structure” (Remarks, page 12, paragraph 1).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971), also see MPEP 2145 (X)(A) “A. Impermissible Hindsight”
The Examiner further note that he does not rely on the rationale to supply any claimed structure. Mazloum supplies the wake-up receiver, the cell-specific wake-up signal, the wake-up of the main receiver and the binary error correcting code alternative; Rostami supplies the multi-root wake-up signaling and its orthogonal cyclic shifts. The rationale explains only why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have generated Mazloum’s cell-specific wake-up signals as those cyclic shifts. The result of the combination is therefore Mazloum’s multi-cell wake-up scheme in which a cell’s wake-up signaling is Rostami’s multi-group Zadoff-Chu signaling with different root indices, and in which the different cell-specific wake-up signals are its different cyclic shifts. That is the claimed structure, not merely a wake-up signal that uses a Zadoff-Chu sequence.
To the extent Applicant addresses Mazloum and Rostami separately (Remarks, pages 9 to 11), in response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant does not separately argue dependent claims 47, 53, 54, 56-61 and 63. New claims 66-71 each select one of the two alternatives and are rejected on the same passages relied upon for that alternative in the independent claims. Claim 54, which adds the modulo-two addition of different codewords with different pseudo-random sequences, is rejected in a separate ground below that adds 3GPP TS 36.211 for that feature.
The rejection of independent claims 46, 62, 64 and 65 on the Zadoff-Chu alternative rests on the same passages of Rostami that the prior Office action applied to that alternative, and is maintained. Applicant’s amendment deleted from every independent claim the alternative that the prior Office action relied upon. The rejection of the independent claims on the binary error correcting code alternative therefore rests on passages of Mazloum that the prior Office action did not cite; new claims 66-71 are rejected for the first time; and the rejection of claim 54, which the prior Office action rested on claim 46 as then rejected, is now drawn to the added limitation of claim 54 over an additional reference. These are new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of claims 46, 62, 64 and 65 and by the addition of claims 66-71.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 46, 47, 53 and 56-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum (US 2021/0022077 A1) in view of Rostami (“Novel Wake-up Scheme for Energy-Efficient Low-Latency Mobile Devices in 5G Networks”, arXiv:2001.00914v1, 3 January 2020).
Regarding claim 46, (Currently Amended) Mazloum discloses: A method performed by a first communication node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: monitoring, with a wake-up receiver of the first communication node, for a cell-specific wake-up signal that is any of multiple cell-specific wake-up signals in a set,, because Mazloum teaches a UE with a main receiver and a low-power receiver, the low-power receiver receiving the wake-up signals, the UE listening for the wake-up signal of the serving cell and of a plurality of cells, and different cells using different wake-up signals, so that each cell’s wake-up signal is one of a set of cell-specific wake-up signals: (Mazloum, para [0003] “a terminal/user equipment (UE) may include two receivers, i.e., one main receiver and a low-power receiver”; Mazloum, para [0090] “it may then be possible to receive WUSs using the low-power receiver 1352”; Mazloum, para [0188] “the UE 101 listens for a WUS transmission in the serving cell 161”; Mazloum, para [0181] “it would be possible to listen for WUS transmission of a plurality of cells for which the configuration data is indicative of support of WUS transmission”; Mazloum, para [0101] “different cells 161-168 may use different WUSs. Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”).
Furthermore, Mazloum discloses: wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are: based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code; or, because Mazloum teaches that the wake-up signal is a bit sequence, that its base sequence is unique to a cell and differs from cell to cell, that the wake-up signal may carry a checksum of a type chosen by an error-correction algorithm that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, and that the cell-related first part and the UE-related second part share that checksum, so that each cell’s transmitted wake-up signal is a codeword of a binary error correcting code (its information bits plus the error-correcting redundancy computed over them) and the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords: (Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be a randomly generated set of bits . . . the base sequence may be unique for a cell 161-168 of the network 100”; Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”; Mazloum, para [0165] “the first part 711 and the second part 712 may share a common checksum. As such, the checksum may be based, both, on data of the first part 711 and data of the second part 712”).
Moreover, Mazloum discloses: receiving the cell-specific wake-up signal with the wake-up receiver; and based on receiving the wake-up signal, waking up one or more components of another receiver of the first communication node., because Mazloum teaches that the low-power receiver receives the wake-up signal and that the main receiver, some or all of whose components are shut down in the inactive state, then transitions to the active state: (Mazloum, para [0003] “the low-power receiver can receive the wake-up signal (WUS) and, in response to receiving the WUS, the main receiver can transition again to the active state”; Mazloum, para [0037] “the main receiver may be unfit to receive any data in the inactive state such that some or all components may be shut down. Wakeup of the main receiver from the inactive state is then triggered by a WUS”; Mazloum, para [0136] “In response to receiving the WUS 4003, the main receiver 1351 of the UE 101 is transitioned to the active state”).
Although Mazloum teaches that the base sequence of the wake-up signal may be a Zadoff-Chu sequence and that different cells use different base sequences: (Mazloum, para [0098], para [0101]), Mazloum does not explicitly disclose cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots.
However, Mazloum in view of Rostami discloses a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots; because Rostami teaches wake-up signaling in which the base station transmits a set of Zadoff-Chu signatures with different cyclic shifts, a cell may have several PDWCH groups, each group has its own root index, the unshifted root sequence is itself transmitted, every wake-up sequence is the root sequence with a different cyclic shift, the cyclic shifts of one root are orthogonal, and the Zadoff-Chu sequences have ideal cyclic auto-correlation; the signaling of a cell with several groups is thus a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots, and Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals, generated as those different cyclic shifts, are a function of different cyclic shifts of that root wake-up signal (Rostami, page 7, “The proposed signaling is based on the 5G base station, commonly called gNB, transmitting a set of Zadoff-Chu (ZC) signatures with different cyclic shifts over a dedicated and pre-reported set of subcarriers, carrying set of WIs along with synchronization”; Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups, adjusting to match the PDWCH demand”; Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”; Rostami, page 8, “Z0 is assumed to be always transmitted within the PDWCH group”; Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”; Rostami, page 8, “Zm[k] refers to root ZC sequence with cyclic-shift of τ[m]”; Rostami, page 7, “the cross-correlation between different sequences based on cyclic shifts of the same ZC root sequence is zero as long as the cyclic shift used when generating the sequences is larger than the maximum DL propagation time in the cell plus the maximum delay spread of the channel”; Rostami, page 7, “The ZC sequences are known to have ideal cyclic auto-correlation, which is important for obtaining an accurate timing estimation and WRx identification”; Rostami, page 8, Eq. (2); Rostami, page 8, Eq. (3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazloum’s multi-cell wake-up signaling by generating the different wake-up signals of Mazloum’s different cells as different cyclic shifts of Rostami’s multi-root Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling, because both references concern low-power wake-up signaling received by a dedicated wake-up receiver in a cellular network, Mazloum needs a different wake-up signal for each cell and leaves its sequence design to configuration, and Rostami teaches that the cyclic shifts of one root sequence are orthogonal and that Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling gives low inter-cell interference and accurate timing estimation. Assigning orthogonal sequences to different transmitters is a known way to keep their signals apart. Doing so would have predictably yielded the claimed method, because Rostami’s wake-up receiver detects a cyclic-shift signature the same way whether the shift identifies a receiver or a cell, and Mazloum’s wake-up receiver still wakes the main receiver when it receives the wake-up signal.
Regarding claim 47, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the set of cell-specific wake-up signals is re-used for different sets of cells in the wireless communication network according to a reuse pattern, with each cell-specific wake-up signal being specific to one of multiple cells in a set of cells., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signal configuration, including the sequence design, is set cell by cell across the serving cell and the further cells of the tracking area, that each cell’s configuration is selected by a mapping index from one predefined set of candidate configurations, so that the same set is used again and again across the cells of the network, and that the time or frequency pattern varies between cells to reduce inter-cell interference, so that each cell’s wake-up signal is specific to that cell (Mazloum, para [0048] “The configuration data may be cell specific. Hence, different configurations for the WUS transmission may be used in the cell and the at least one further cell”; Mazloum, para [0126] “the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168 may define the tracking area 160 of the cellular network”; Mazloum, para [0129] “The configuration data 4001 may be indicative of the sequence design configuration of WUS transmission of each one of the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168”; Mazloum, para [0067] “it would be possible that the configuration data is indicative of a selected configuration for the WUS transmission, the selected configuration being selected from the predefined set of candidate configurations. A corresponding index mapping scheme may be implemented”; Mazloum, para [0125] “A mapping index may be used which is indicative of a configuration for WUS transmission selected form a predefined set of candidate transmissions”; Mazloum, para [0128] “at least one of the time pattern and the frequency pattern varies between the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168, to reduce inter-cell interference”).
Regarding claim 53, which depends on claim 46, (Currently Amended) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the cell-specific wake-up signals are cell-specific wake-up signals for different groups of first communication nodes., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signal, whose first part is cell-specific, may be directed to a group of UEs identified by its second part, and that different base sequences address different UEs or groups of UEs (Mazloum, para [0050] “the WUS could be directed to one UE or a group of UEs. As such, the second part may be UE-specific. The second part of the WUS may include a respective identifier indicative of the identity of the one or more UEs”; Mazloum, para [0171] “the second part 712 of the WUS 700 includes an identity 731 of one or more UEs. This helps to address individual UEs or a group of UEs”; Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be unique for a UE or a group of UEs”; Mazloum, para [0100] “Different UEs may be addressed by different base sequences”).
Regarding claim 56, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the wake-up receiver is a non-coherent receiver, and wherein monitoring for the cell-specific wake-up signal comprises monitoring for the cell-specific wake-up signal using non-coherent detection., as Mazloum further discloses that the low-power receiver may detect the wake-up signal by non-coherent decoding, which needs no reference phase (Mazloum, para [0038] “the WUS may be received by a dedicated low-power receiver of the UE. The WUS may have a comparably simple modulation, e.g., On-Off Keying or the like, which facilitates a simple time-domain operation by the low-power receiver. For example, non-coherent decoding may be possible. For non-coherent decoding, knowledge of a reference phase is not required for signal detection”).
Regarding claim 57, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the cell-specific wake-up signal is an OOK signal, an FSK signal, a PSK signal, or an ASK signal., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signal may use On-Off Keying, which is the recited OOK signal (Mazloum, para [0038] “The WUS may have a comparably simple modulation, e.g., On-Off Keying or the like”; Mazloum, para [0116] “It can be a lower order modulation, such as On-Of-Keying (OOK), BPSK”).
Regarding claim 58, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, further comprising, based on the wake-up signal, performing time and/or frequency synchronization with a second communication node from which the wake-up signal is received., as Mazloum further discloses that the cell-related first part of the wake-up signal may include a synchronization signal for time and frequency synchronization between the UE and the base station that transmits the wake-up signal (Mazloum, para [0052] “a synchronization signal for synchronization between the UE and the BS”; Mazloum, para [0166] “the first part 711 of the WUS 700 includes a synchronization signal 721 for time-frequency synchronization of the BS 112 and the UE 101”).
Regarding claim 59, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the cell-specific wake-up signal carries information that indicates a cell identity of a cell for which the cell-specific wake-up signal is specific., as Mazloum further discloses that the cell-related first part of the wake-up signal may include the cell identity of the cell of the transmitting base station (Mazloum, para [0052] “the first part includes a cell identity of the cell associated with the transmitting BS”; Mazloum, para [0168] “the first part 711 of the WUS 700 includes a cell identity 722 of a cell 161-168 associated with the BS 112 transmitting the WUS 700”).
Regarding claim 60, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein said monitoring comprises monitoring for at least some different cell-specific wake-up signals that are in different radio resources, wherein at least some of the different radio resources are non-overlapping in time and/or frequency., as Mazloum further discloses that the UE listens for the wake-up signals of the various cells in the time-frequency resources indicated for each cell, that different cells use different time-frequency resources, and that the time pattern or frequency pattern varies between cells to reduce inter-cell interference, which separates the resources of different cells in time or in frequency (Mazloum, para [0184] “Listening for the WUS transmission in block 2112 may be implemented in accordance with the respectively indicated time-frequency resources of the various cells”; Mazloum, para [0058] “different cells of the cellular network may use different time-frequency resources”; Mazloum, para [0128] “at least one of the time pattern and the frequency pattern varies between the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168, to reduce inter-cell interference”).
Regarding claim 61, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein said monitoring comprises monitoring for at least some different cell-specific wake-up signals that have different periodicities, frequency hopping patterns, and/or repetition factors., as Mazloum further discloses that the configuration data for the serving cell and the further cells indicates the periodicity of the wake-up signal occasions and a frequency pattern, which may be a cyclic shift of the frequency used, that the time pattern or frequency pattern varies between cells, and that parts of the wake-up signal may be repeated at different repetition rates (Mazloum, para [0059] “the configuration data could be indicative of a periodicity of corresponding WUS occasion (WO)”; Mazloum, para [0128] “at least one of the time pattern and the frequency pattern varies between the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168, to reduce inter-cell interference”; Mazloum, para [0061] “the frequency pattern i.e., a cyclic shift of the frequency used for the WUS transmission, would be possible”; Mazloum, para [0051] “the first part and the second part may be repeatedly transmitted at the same repetition rate or at different repetition rates”).
Regarding claim 62, (Currently Amended) Mazloum discloses: A method performed by a second communication node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: transmitting, to a first communication node, a cell-specific wake-up signal that is any of multiple cell-specific wake-up signals in a set,, because Mazloum teaches a base station that transmits a wake-up signal to a UE, and different cells using different wake-up signals, so that each cell’s wake-up signal is one of a set of cell-specific wake-up signals: (Mazloum, para [0135] “the BS 112 transmits a WUS 4003, 3004”; Mazloum, para [0135] “The WUS 4003 is received by the UE 101”; Mazloum, para [0101] “different cells 161-168 may use different WUSs. Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”).
Furthermore, Mazloum discloses: wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are: based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code; or, because Mazloum teaches that the wake-up signal is a bit sequence, that its base sequence is unique to a cell and differs from cell to cell, that the wake-up signal may carry a checksum of a type chosen by an error-correction algorithm that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, and that the cell-related first part and the UE-related second part share that checksum, so that each cell’s transmitted wake-up signal is a codeword of a binary error correcting code (its information bits plus the error-correcting redundancy computed over them) and the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords: (Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be a randomly generated set of bits”; Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be unique for a cell 161-168 of the network 100”; Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”; Mazloum, para [0165] “the first part 711 and the second part 712 may share a common checksum. As such, the checksum may be based, both, on data of the first part 711 and data of the second part 712”).
Although Mazloum teaches that the base sequence of the wake-up signal may be a Zadoff-Chu sequence and that different cells use different base sequences: (Mazloum, para [0098], para [0101]), Mazloum does not explicitly disclose cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots.
However, Mazloum in view of Rostami discloses a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots. because Rostami teaches wake-up signaling in which the base station transmits a set of Zadoff-Chu signatures with different cyclic shifts, a cell may have several PDWCH groups, each group has its own root index, the unshifted root sequence is itself transmitted, every wake-up sequence is the root sequence with a different cyclic shift, the cyclic shifts of one root are orthogonal, and the Zadoff-Chu sequences have ideal cyclic auto-correlation; the signaling of a cell with several groups is thus a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots, and Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals, generated as those different cyclic shifts, are a function of different cyclic shifts of that root wake-up signal (Rostami, page 7, “The proposed signaling is based on the 5G base station, commonly called gNB, transmitting a set of Zadoff-Chu (ZC) signatures with different cyclic shifts over a dedicated and pre-reported set of subcarriers, carrying set of WIs along with synchronization”; Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups, adjusting to match the PDWCH demand”; Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”; Rostami, page 8, “Z0 is assumed to be always transmitted within the PDWCH group”; Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”; Rostami, page 8, “Zm[k] refers to root ZC sequence with cyclic-shift of τ[m]”; Rostami, page 7, “the cross-correlation between different sequences based on cyclic shifts of the same ZC root sequence is zero as long as the cyclic shift used when generating the sequences is larger than the maximum DL propagation time in the cell plus the maximum delay spread of the channel”; Rostami, page 7, “The ZC sequences are known to have ideal cyclic auto-correlation, which is important for obtaining an accurate timing estimation and WRx identification”; Rostami, page 8, Eq. (2); Rostami, page 8, Eq. (3)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazloum’s multi-cell wake-up signal transmission by generating the different wake-up signals of Mazloum’s different cells as different cyclic shifts of Rostami’s multi-root Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling, because both references concern low-power wake-up signaling received by a dedicated wake-up receiver in a cellular network, Mazloum needs a different wake-up signal for each cell and leaves its sequence design to configuration, and Rostami teaches that the cyclic shifts of one root sequence are orthogonal and that Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling gives low inter-cell interference and accurate timing estimation. Assigning orthogonal sequences to different transmitters is a known way to keep their signals apart. Doing so would have predictably yielded the claimed method, because Rostami’s wake-up receiver detects a cyclic-shift signature the same way whether the shift identifies a receiver or a cell, and Mazloum’s base station still transmits the wake-up signal to the UE.
Regarding claim 63, which depends on claim 62, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 62, wherein the set of cell-specific wake-up signals is re-used for different sets of cells in the wireless communication network according to a reuse pattern, with each cell-specific wake-up signal being specific to one of multiple cells in a set of cells., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signal configuration, including the sequence design, is set cell by cell across the serving cell and the further cells of the tracking area, that each cell’s configuration is selected by a mapping index from one predefined set of candidate configurations, so that the same set is used again and again across the cells of the network, and that the time or frequency pattern varies between cells to reduce inter-cell interference, so that each cell’s wake-up signal is specific to that cell (Mazloum, para [0048] “The configuration data may be cell specific. Hence, different configurations for the WUS transmission may be used in the cell and the at least one further cell”; Mazloum, para [0126] “the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168 may define the tracking area 160 of the cellular network”; Mazloum, para [0129] “The configuration data 4001 may be indicative of the sequence design configuration of WUS transmission of each one of the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168”; Mazloum, para [0067] “it would be possible that the configuration data is indicative of a selected configuration for the WUS transmission, the selected configuration being selected from the predefined set of candidate configurations. A corresponding index mapping scheme may be implemented”; Mazloum, para [0125] “A mapping index may be used which is indicative of a configuration for WUS transmission selected form a predefined set of candidate transmissions”; Mazloum, para [0128] “at least one of the time pattern and the frequency pattern varies between the serving cell 161 and the at least one further cell 162-168, to reduce inter-cell interference”).
Regarding claim 64, (Currently Amended) the claim recites: A first communication node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the first communication node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: monitor, with a wake-up receiver of the first communication node, for a cell-specific wake-up signal that is any of multiple cell-specific wake-up signals in a set, wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are: based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code; or a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots; receive the cell-specific wake-up signal with the wake-up receiver; and based on receiving the wake-up signal, wake up one or more components of another receiver of the first communication node. Claim 64 is analogous to claim 46 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 65, (Currently Amended) Mazloum discloses: A second communication node configured for use in a wireless communication network, the second communication node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to transmit, to a first communication node, a cell-specific wake-up signal that is any of multiple cell-specific wake-up signals in a set,, because Mazloum teaches a base station with an interface having an analog front end and a digital front end, which is the communication circuitry, and control circuitry of one or more processors and software, which is the processing circuitry, the control circuitry transmitting the wake-up signals to the UE, and different cells using different wake-up signals, so that each cell’s wake-up signal is one of a set of cell-specific wake-up signals: (Mazloum, para [0087] “The BS 112 includes an interface 1121. For example, the interface 1121 may include an analog front end and a digital front end. The BS 112 further includes control circuitry 1122, e.g., implemented by means of one or more processors and software”; Mazloum, para [0087] “various functionality may be implemented by the control circuitry 1122, e.g.: transmitting configuration data for WUS transmission in multiple cells; transmitting WUSs”; Mazloum, para [0135] “the BS 112 transmits a WUS 4003, 3004”; Mazloum, para [0135] “The WUS 4003 is received by the UE 101”; Mazloum, para [0101] “different cells 161-168 may use different WUSs. Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”).
Furthermore, Mazloum discloses: wherein the set cell-specific wake-up signals that are: based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code; or, because Mazloum teaches, that the wake-up signal is a bit sequence, that its base sequence is unique to a cell and differs from cell to cell, that the wake-up signal may carry a checksum of a type chosen by an error-correction algorithm that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, and that the cell-related first part and the UE-related second part share that checksum, so that each cell’s transmitted wake-up signal is a codeword of a binary error correcting code (its information bits plus the error-correcting redundancy computed over them) and the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords: (Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be a randomly generated set of bits”; Mazloum, para [0098] “the base sequence may be unique for a cell 161-168 of the network 100”; Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”; Mazloum, para [0165] “the first part 711 and the second part 712 may share a common checksum. As such, the checksum may be based, both, on data of the first part 711 and data of the second part 712”).
Although Mazloum teaches that the base sequence of the wake-up signal may be a Zadoff-Chu sequence and that different cells use different base sequences: (Mazloum, para [0098], para [0101]), Mazloum does not explicitly disclose cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots.
However, Mazloum in view of Rostami discloses a function of different cyclic shifts of a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots. because Rostami teaches wake-up signaling in which the base station transmits a set of Zadoff-Chu signatures with different cyclic shifts, a cell may have several PDWCH groups, each group has its own root index, the unshifted root sequence is itself transmitted, every wake-up sequence is the root sequence with a different cyclic shift, the cyclic shifts of one root are orthogonal, and the Zadoff-Chu sequences have ideal cyclic auto-correlation; the signaling of a cell with several groups is thus a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots, and Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals, generated as those different cyclic shifts, are a function of different cyclic shifts of that root wake-up signal (Rostami, page 7, “The proposed signaling is based on the 5G base station, commonly called gNB, transmitting a set of Zadoff-Chu (ZC) signatures with different cyclic shifts over a dedicated and pre-reported set of subcarriers, carrying set of WIs along with synchronization”; Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups, adjusting to match the PDWCH demand”; Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”; Rostami, page 8, “Z0 is assumed to be always transmitted within the PDWCH group”; Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”; Rostami, page 8, “Zm[k] refers to root ZC sequence with cyclic-shift of τ[m]”; Rostami, page 7, “the cross-correlation between different sequences based on cyclic shifts of the same ZC root sequence is zero as long as the cyclic shift used when generating the sequences is larger than the maximum DL propagation time in the cell plus the maximum delay spread of the channel”; Rostami, page 7, “The ZC sequences are known to have ideal cyclic auto-correlation, which is important for obtaining an accurate timing estimation and WRx identification”; Rostami, page 8, Eq. (2); Rostami, page 8, Eq. (3)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazloum’s base station, which transmits a cell-specific wake-up signal, by generating the different wake-up signals of Mazloum’s different cells as different cyclic shifts of Rostami’s multi-root Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling, because both references concern low-power wake-up signaling received by a dedicated wake-up receiver in a cellular network, Mazloum needs a different wake-up signal for each cell and leaves its sequence design to configuration, and Rostami teaches that the cyclic shifts of one root sequence are orthogonal and that Zadoff-Chu wake-up signaling gives low inter-cell interference and accurate timing estimation. Assigning orthogonal sequences to different transmitters is a known way to keep their signals apart. Doing so would have predictably yielded the claimed second communication node, because Rostami’s wake-up receiver detects a cyclic-shift signature the same way whether the shift identifies a receiver or a cell, and Mazloum’s base station still transmits the wake-up signal to the UE through its interface and control circuitry.
Regarding claim 66, which depends on claim 46, (New) Mazloum in view of Rostami discloses The method of claim 46, wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots., as Rostami further discloses that a cell may have several PDWCH groups, each with its own root index, so that the signaling of the cell is a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots, and that every wake-up sequence is the root sequence with a different cyclic shift, which, as Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals in the manner set forth in the rejection of claim 46 above, are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal (Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups, adjusting to match the PDWCH demand”; Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”; Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”; Rostami, page 8, “Zm[k] refers to root ZC sequence with cyclic-shift of τ[m]”).
Regarding claim 67, which depends on claim 46, (New) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein different cell-specific wake-up signals in the set are based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signals of different cells carry different base sequences and may carry a checksum, chosen by an error-correction algorithm, that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, so that the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords of a binary error correcting code (Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”).
Regarding claim 68, which depends on claim 62, (New) Mazloum in view of Rostami discloses The method of claim 62, wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots., as Rostami further discloses that a cell may have several PDWCH groups, each with its own root index, so that the signaling of the cell is a root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots, and that every wake-up sequence is the root sequence with a different cyclic shift, which, as Mazloum’s different cell-specific wake-up signals in the manner set forth in the rejection of claim 62 above, are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal (Rostami, page 7, “Each carrier or, equivalently each cell may have none, one or multiple PDWCH groups, adjusting to match the PDWCH demand”; Rostami, page 7, “reading PDWCH group index value implying root index value of ZC sequence”; Rostami, page 8, “each sequence within PDWCH group is chosen from a set of M cyclic-shifted ZC sequences with length of K”; Rostami, page 8, “Zm[k] refers to root ZC sequence with cyclic-shift of τ[m]”).
Regarding claim 69, which depends on claim 62, (New) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 62, wherein different cell-specific wake-up signals in the set are based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code., as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signals of different cells carry different base sequences and may carry a checksum, chosen by an error-correction algorithm, that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, so that the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords of a binary error correcting code (Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”).
Regarding claim 70, which depends on claim 64, (New) the claim recites: The first communication node of claim 64, wherein the set includes cell-specific wake-up signals that are a function of different cyclic shifts of the root wake-up signal formed by multiple Zadoff-Chu sequences with different roots. Claim 70 is analogous to claim 66 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 71, which depends on claim 64, (New) the claim recites: The first communication node of claim 64, wherein different cell-specific wake-up signals in the set are based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code. Claim 71 is analogous to claim 67 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum (US 2021/0022077 A1) in view of Rostami (“Novel Wake-up Scheme for Energy-Efficient Low-Latency Mobile Devices in 5G Networks”, arXiv:2001.00914v1, 3 January 2020) and further in view of ETSI TS 136 211 V15.2.0 (2018-10) (“LTE; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); Physical channels and modulation (3GPP TS 36.211 version 15.2.0 Release 15)”).
Regarding claim 54, which depends on claim 46, (Previously Presented) Mazloum discloses The method of claim 46, wherein different cell-specific wake-up signals in the set are based on different codewords of a binary error correcting code,, as Mazloum further discloses that the wake-up signals of different cells carry different base sequences and may carry a checksum, chosen by an error-correction algorithm, that corrects errors across the whole wake-up signal, so that the wake-up signals of different cells are different codewords of a binary error correcting code (Mazloum, para [0101] “Different BSs or cells 161-168 may be identified by different base sequences”; Mazloum, para [0104] “the checksum protection parameter may set a type of the checksum, e.g., according to different error-correction algorithms”; Mazloum, para [0104] “The checksum may provide for joint error detection and, optionally, correction capability across the entire length of the WUS”).
Even though Mazloum in view of Rostami teaches wake-up signals of different cells that are different codewords of a binary error correcting code, scrambling of the wake-up signal bit sequence, and scrambling of a wake-up signal by a cell-specific code against inter-cell interference: (Mazloum, para [0101], para [0103], para [0104], Rostami, page 5), Mazloum in view of Rostami does not explicitly disclose that the different cell-specific wake-up signals are formed from the modulo-two addition of different codewords with different pseudo-random sequences.
However, Mazloum in view of Rostami and further in view of TS 36.211 discloses wherein the different cell-specific wake-up signals in the set are formed from the modulo-two addition of different codewords because TS 36.211 teaches that the bits of each codeword q are scrambled before modulation into a block of scrambled bits, the scrambling being defined on the same page as b~(q)(i) = (b(q)(i) + c(q)(i)) mod 2, that is, the modulo-two addition of the codeword bits and a scrambling sequence c(q)(i) (TS 36.211, page 103, “is the number of bits in codeword q transmitted on the physical channel in one subframe/slot/subslot, shall be scrambled prior to modulation, resulting in a block of scrambled bits”).
In addition, TS 36.211 discloses with different pseudo-random sequences. because TS 36.211 teaches that the scrambling sequence c(q)(i) of clause 6.3.1 is the pseudo-random sequence of clause 7.2, a length-31 Gold sequence, and, on page 103 cited above, that its initialization value c_init depends on the RNTI, the codeword index q and the physical-layer cell identity, so that the codewords of different cells are scrambled with different pseudo-random sequences (TS 36.211, page 185, “Pseudo-random sequences are defined by a length-31 Gold sequence”).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cell-specific wake-up signal codewords of Mazloum in view of Rostami by modulo-two addition with a cell-dependent pseudo-random scrambling sequence, as taught by TS 36.211, because Mazloum already scrambles the wake-up signal bit sequence so that it is randomized and can be recovered at the receiver, Rostami already scrambles a wake-up signal with a cell-specific code against inter-cell interference, and TS 36.211 defines, for the LTE framework to which Mazloum refers, the standard way to scramble a block of codeword bits: modulo-two addition with a pseudo-random sequence initialized from the cell identity.
Doing so would have predictably yielded the claimed method, because it applies a known scrambling technique to a similar bit sequence in the same way, and Mazloum’s wake-up receiver already de-scrambles the wake-up signal. Accordingly, Mazloum and Rostami are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 46 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478