CTNF 18/712,839 CTNF 85131 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Objection/s to the Specification The title of the invention, “ILLUMINATION OPTICAL SYSTEM AND PROJECTION-TYPE DISPLAY APPARATUS,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by JP 3969038 B2 (the supplied translation is referenced below) . Regarding claims 1 and 8, JP 3969038 B2 teaches a projection-type display apparatus (Fig. 1-8) comprising: a light source (122); an illumination optical system (126, 140, 150, 160, 170); an image generation optical system (300R/G/B) that generates image light by modulating light from the illumination optical system (126, 140, 150, 160, 170) on a basis of an input picture signal; and a projection optical system (340) that projects the image light generated in the image generation optical system (300R/G/B), wherein the illumination optical system (126, 140, 150, 160, 170) includes: a first fly-eye lens (140) that divides exit light outputted from the light source into a plurality of light fluxes and expands the exit light to output expanded light, the first fly-eye lens (140) including a plurality of first lens cells (142) vertically and horizontally arranged in a matrix (Fig. 4, 6); and a second fly-eye lens (150) disposed downstream of the first fly-eye lens (140), the second fly-eye lens (150) including a plurality of second lens cells (152) vertically and horizontally arranged in a matrix, the plurality of second lens cells (152) having a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of first lens cells (142) included in the first fly-eye lens (140) and having a lens pitch larger than a lens pitch of the plurality of first lens cells (142; Fig. 6A/B; [0030], [0050]). Regarding claim 2, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches an optical axis of each of the plurality of first lens cells (142) is eccentric in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction of a lens surface of the first fly-eye lens (140), toward an outer side from a center portion of the first fly- eye lens (140; [0029], [0044], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0067], [0077], [0082]), and an optical axis of each of the plurality of second lens cells (152) is eccentric in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction of a lens surface of the second fly-eye lens (150), toward an inner side from a center portion of the second fly-eye lens (150; Fig. 6A/B; [0029], [0044], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0067], [0077], [0082]). Regarding claim 3, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches each of the plurality of first lens cells (142) has the lens surface having a substantially rectangular shape (Fig. 4; [0042], [0043], [0049]), and each of the plurality of first lens cells (142) has an amount of eccentricity in the vertical direction and an amount of eccentricity in the horizontal direction which are different from each other (Fig. 6A/B; [0029], [0044], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0067], [0077], [0082]). Regarding claim 4, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches each of the plurality of second lens cells (152) has the lens surface having a substantially rectangular shape ([0029]), and each of the plurality of second lens cells (152) has an eccentricity ratio in the vertical direction and an amount of eccentricity in the horizontal direction which are different from each other (Fig. 6A/B; [0029], [0044], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0067], [0077], [0082]). Regarding claim 5, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches each of the first fly-eye lens (140) and the second fly-eye lens (150) has a lens surface having a substantially paraboloidal surface shape (Fig. 4C, 6A). Regarding claim 6, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches the first fly-eye lens (140) has a concave substantially-paraboloidal-surface shape on a light incident side (Fig. 4C, 6A). Regarding claim 7, JP 3969038 B2 further teaches the second fly-eye lens (150) has a convex substantially-paraboloidal-surface shape on a light exit side (Fig 6A). Conclusion The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent documents, US 20140226132 A1, US 20120262679 A1, US 20120188468 A1, US 20120188468 A1, US 20070291344 A1, US 20070091270 A1, US 20060007398 A1, US 20020008910 A1, and US 6246526 B1, disclose illumination optical systems in projection systems having: a first fly-eye lens that divides exit light outputted from a light source into a plurality of light fluxes and expands the exit light to output expanded light, the first fly-eye lens including a plurality of first lens cells vertically and horizontally arranged in a matrix; and a second fly-eye lens disposed downstream of the first fly-eye lens, the second fly-eye lens including a plurality of second lens cells vertically and horizontally arranged in a matrix, the plurality of second lens cells having a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of first lens cells included in the first fly-eye lens. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BAO-LUAN Q LE whose telephone number is (571)270-5362. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday; 9:00AM-5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minh-Toan Ton can be reached on (571) 272 230303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Any response to this action should be mailed to: Commissioner for Patents P.O. Box 1450 Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450 Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry) Or: (571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”) Hand-delivered responses should be brought to: Customer Service Window Randolph Building 401 Dulany Street Alexandria, VA 22314 /BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/712,839 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/712,839 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/712,839 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/712,839 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/712,839 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882