DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. Claims 17-19 and 25 are apparatus claims; however, the claims do not recite any structural components of the apparatus claims.
Appropriate correction required.
Claims 15 and 16 recites the limitation "the node". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. “Hwang” US 2020/0396687 (cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Hwang teaches a method and a node, for handling a time gap, the node being configured to operate in a wireless communications network, and the node being further configured to:
determine a respective duration of a time gap between a transmission of one or more respective signals to wake-up one or more wireless devices configured to operate in the wireless communications network and a beginning of one or more respective paging occasions, the determining being configured to be based on a condition, the condition being configured to be independent of whether or not the one or more wireless devices are configured to use discontinuous reception or extended discontinuous reception (configuration information includes a gap that is between a wakeup signal (WUS) and a paging occasion (PO) see Figure 25 and paragraph 293. This determination is not directly based on whether or not DRX is used thus the condition is satisfied); and
initiate transmission of the one or more respective signals to the one or more wireless devices based on the respective duration configured to be determined (the WUS can be transmitted during the maximum WUS duration; Figure 25 and paragraph 293).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Hwang teaches the condition is one of a type of UE, capability of the device to receive signals to wakeup, duration of the time gap supported and an identity of the wireless devices (Paragraph 289 (and 379) teaches a UE monitoring a PO based on the UE_ID (identify of the device). The plurality of UEs expect paging in one PO and the UEs may be determined according to a configuration transmitted by a base station (identity of the cell, capability of the device to receive the wakeup signals).
Regarding claim 3 and 19, Hwang teaches obtaining first indication indicating the respective capability of the devices to receive the respective signals to wakeup the devices supporting one time gap or a plurality of time gaps (Paragraph 379 discusses WUS-to-PO gap capabilities of UEs).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang teaches sending indications towards the devices indicating a result of the determined duration of the time gap (Paragraph 292 teaches a UE receives configuration information from a base station. Paragraph 293 states the configuration information includes gap information. Thus the base station sends indications towards the devices with respect to the time gap).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang teaches initiating the transmission of the respective signals includes at least one of the devices supporting reception of the signals, WUS being supported in a cell the UEs are located (Paragraph 289 teaches a UE monitoring a PO based on the UE_ID. The plurality of UEs expect paging in one PO and the UEs may be determined according to a configuration transmitted by a base station (supported in a cell where the UEs are located. Paragraph 379 discusses WUS-to-PO gap capabilities of UEs. This shows the devices support reception of the signals as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches determining which paging from or PO to use for the devices wherein the duration of the gap is based on the determining paging frame or PO or determining, based on the gap, a search spare or random access occasion (Paragraph 289 teaches UEs monitor paging based on a PO and Paging frame (PF). Which one to monitor is based on the user ID as there are a plurality of PO/PFs (Paragraphs 290 and 293). The gap is based on the PO as shown in Figure 25).
Regarding claim 7 Hwang teaches the duration of the time gap is based on a correspondence between the capability of the wireless device and duration of the time gap (Paragraph 379) and further, sending a previous indication to the devices, the previous indication indicating the correspondence (Paragraph 292 teaches a UE receives configuration information from a base station. Paragraph 293 states the configuration information includes gap information. Thus the base station sends a previous indications towards the devices with respect to the time gap/correspondence. The UE’s capabilities correspond to the gap).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches the node is a network node, core network node or another wireless device (Figures 27-32 shows communications between wireless devices and base stations. Thus the node can be a network node or wireless device. Paragraphs 292-293 and 379 disclose a UE communicating with a base station).
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Hwang teaches a method and a wireless device, for handling a time gap, the wireless device being configured to operate in a wireless communications network, and the node being further configured to:
determine a respective duration of a time gap between a transmission of a signal to wake-up the wireless device, and a beginning of a respective paging occasion for the wireless device, the determining being based on a condition being independent of whether or not the wireless device uses discontinuous reception or extended discontinuous reception (configuration information includes a gap that is between a wakeup signal (WUS) and a paging occasion (PO) see Figure 25 and paragraph 293. This determination is not directly based on whether or not DRX is used thus the condition is satisfied); and
receive the respective signal based on the respective duration (the WUS can be transmitted (thus received) during the maximum WUS duration. This is performed by communications between the base station and UE; Figure 25 and paragraph 293).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang teaches the condition is one of a type of UE, capability of the device to receive signals to wakeup, duration of the time gap supported and an identity of the wireless devices (Paragraph 289 (and 379) teaches a UE monitoring a PO based on the UE_ID (identify of the device). The plurality of UEs expect paging in one PO and the UEs may be determined according to a configuration transmitted by a base station (identity of the cell, capability of the device to receive the wakeup signals).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches sending the first indication indicating the respective capability of the wireless device to receive the respective signals to wakeup the device supporting one time gap or a plurality of time gaps (Paragraph 379 discusses WUS-to-PO gap capabilities of UEs transmit between the base station and UE).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang teaches receiving an indication from a node indicating a result of the determined duration of the time gap (Paragraph 292 teaches a UE receives configuration information from a base station. Paragraph 293 states the configuration information includes gap information. Thus the base station sends indications towards the devices with respect to the time gap).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang teaches receiving the respective signal includes at least one of the devices supporting reception of the signals, WUS being supported in a cell the UEs are located (Paragraph 289 teaches a UE monitoring a PO based on the UE_ID. The plurality of UEs expect paging in one PO and the UEs may be determined according to a configuration transmitted by a base station (supported in a cell where the UEs are located. Paragraph 379 discusses WUS-to-PO gap capabilities of UEs. This shows the devices support reception of the signals as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang teaches determining which paging from or PO to use for the devices wherein the duration of the gap is based on the determining paging frame or PO or determining, based on the gap, a search spare or random access occasion (Paragraph 289 teaches UEs monitor paging based on a PO and Paging frame (PF). Which one to monitor is based on the user ID as there are a plurality of PO/PFs (Paragraphs 290 and 293). The gap is based on the PO as shown in Figure 25).
Regarding claim 15 Hwang teaches the duration of the time gap is based on a correspondence between the capability of the wireless device and duration of the time gap (Paragraph 379) and further, receiving a previous indication to the devices, the previous indication indicating the correspondence (Paragraph 292 teaches a UE receives configuration information from a base station. Paragraph 293 states the configuration information includes gap information. Thus the base station sends a previous indications towards the devices with respect to the time gap/correspondence. The UE’s capabilities correspond to the gap).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang teaches the node is a network node, core network node or another wireless device (Figures 27-32 shows communications between wireless devices and base stations. Thus the node can be a network node or wireless device. Paragraphs 292-293 and 379 disclose a UE communicating with a base station).
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411