DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 9-13 in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 depends upon withdrawn claim 1, making it indefinite. Correction is required.
Claim 12 includes that the ink is removed from the surface of the cosmetic after 4-10 contacts. This is defining the invention by the intended results and not the steps performed. As the method steps necessary to perform this result are not present in the claim, any method that meets the claim will be considered to meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2004-0087095 A, hereafter KR 2004 (citations taken from attached Google translated document).
As to claim 9, KR 2004 applies an ink composition to the surface of a cosmetic using an inkjet printing method (abstract) where the composition includes a water-soluble pigment (middle of p4), a water miscible organic solvent (p3), and a glyceryl ester or silicone-based surfactant (bottom of p3/top of p 4).
As to claim 12, the physical property of contacts to use the composition naturally flows from the claimed method as discussed above. Thus, as KR 2004 teaches the method, it also teaches this claim limitation.
As to claim 13, the cosmetic is of a solid powder or oil-based formulation (abstract, p 1).
Claim(s) 9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urashima et al. (US 2020/0095441 A1, hereafter Urashima)
As to claim 9, Urashima applies an ink composition to the surface of a cosmetic using an inkjet printing method (abstract) where the composition includes a water-soluble pigment (para 0026-0031), a water miscible organic solvent (para 0033-0034), and a glyceryl ester or silicone-based surfactant (para 0037 and silicone can be used as a dispersant- a type of surfactant material- in para 0020).
As to claim 12, the physical property of contacts to use the composition naturally flows from the claimed method as discussed above. Thus, as Urashima teaches the method, it also teaches this claim limitation.
As to claim 13, the cosmetic is of a solid powder or oil-based formulation (para 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2004 in view of KR 2020-0077971A (hereafter KR 2020)
KR 2004 teaches pretreatment of cosmetics (claims) but not plasma treatment. KR 2020 teaches pretreating cosmetics before other coatings are applied by atmospheric plasma in order to improve the coating properties and process efficiency (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify KR 2004 to include atmospheric plasma pretreatment as taught by KR 2020 in order to improve the coating properties and process efficiency.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima in view of KR 2020-0077971A (hereafter KR 2020)
Urashima does not teach plasma treatment. KR 2020 teaches pretreating cosmetics before other coatings are applied by atmospheric plasma in order to improve the coating properties and process efficiency (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Urashima to include atmospheric plasma pretreatment as taught by KR 2020 in order to improve the coating properties and process efficiency.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718