DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 6 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka et al. (JP 2010-45844).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 14, Kusaka discloses an assembly comprising: a first member (2a); and a second member (2b) attached to the first member; a substrate (10a) accommodated in a space formed between the first member and the second member; and a cable (24) attached to the substrate (cable 24 is attached to device 10a; pg. 3, 4th paragraph), wherein a contact region (area where members 2a and 2b contact) where the first member and the second member are in contact with each other includes a first contact region (area where members 2a and 2b contact), and the first contact region has surfaces facing each other (Figure 14), each of the surfaces inclined with respect to a reference surface perpendicular to a direction (x-direction) in which the first member and the second member face each other (Figure 14). Kusaka does not specifically disclose the surfaces of the ends of members 2a and 2b being inclined.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide for the surfaces of the ends of members 2a and 2b to be inclined, since more than a mere change of form or rearrangement of parts is necessary for patentability (See Span-Deck Inc. v. Fab-Con, Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835), in which it was held that, change in form of any element of prior patent must result in more than useful natural phenomenon that man has accumulated through common knowledge; even though use of new device greatly improves field and provides great utility, and commercial success is enjoyed because of long-felt need, these features cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Kusaka discloses wherein the contact region includes the first contact region and a second contact region, the second contact region is adjacent to the first contact region, and is located closer to a tip end than the first contact region, and the second contact region is parallel to the reference surface, or is inclined at an angle different from that of the first contact region with respect to the reference surface (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 3, Kusaka discloses wherein a width of the second contact region is smaller than a width of the first contact region (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 4, Kusaka discloses wherein an inclination angle of the first contact region with respect to the reference surface is larger than an inclination angle of the second contact region with respect to the reference surface (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 5, Kusaka discloses wherein one of the first member and the second member is a cover, an other of the first member and the second member is a holding portion, the cover includes one of a hooking portion and a hooked portion hooked to the hooking portion, and the holding portion includes the other of the hooking portion and the hooked portion (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 6, Kusaka discloses wherein the cover includes a rib configured to press one surface of the substrate, and a claw portion configured to press another surface of the substrate via the holding portion (Figure 14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847