DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al (WO 20210385512, cited in IDS, cited herein with identical US 20220282036) in view of Yang et al (CN 101392050) and further view of Fiber industries (GB996689).
Kulkarni discloses a process of making Polyesters and Co - Polyesters comprising the following steps:
adding recycled Bis 2 - Hydroxy Ethyl Terephthalate ( rBHET ) melting powder in a reactor by increasing temperature to 120 degree Celsius (meeting the limitations of claim 2);
increasing temperature of the mixture of step II gradually in a range of 120- to 240 ° C;
adding diols and / or comonomers to the mixture above and applying a pressure of 2.5 bar absolute and perform the polymerization reaction (meeting the limitations of claim 3);
depressurizing the to distill the byproduct (see claim 1).
Kulkarni further discloses that the comonomers are selected from the group of aliphatic and aromatic diacids (see claim 4), meeting the corresponding limitation of claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use diacids as comonomers, since they are clearly disclosed in the reference.
Kulkarni fails to teach diol/diacid composition in a form of slurry.
Yang discloses a method of making polyethylene terneplate, which includes the following steps:
Mixing ethylene glycol (EG) -terephthalic acid (TPA) in a slurry;
Continuously adding the slurry to a molten terephthalic acid dihydroxy ethyl esters (BHET) at 258C(meeting the limitations of claim 3);
Supplying the mixture to a polymerization reactor;
Recovering EG from the reaction mixture.
Note that Yang teaches a polymerization at atmospheric pressure (1 bar) (see Embodiment 1).
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) , 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301, see also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use TPA/EG slurry in PET production, because it is a known commercially used manufacturing approach.
Even though Kulkarni and Yang teach distilling of byproduct and recovering EG from the reaction mixture, the references fail to disclose a step of returning EG to the mixing container.
Fiber industries disclose a process of making PET from dimethyl terephthalate or terephthalic acid, EG and BHET, where the glycol is utilized from the polymerization reaction and returned into the initial step (see Example 1 at 3:5, particularly 3:50).
Fiber industries teaches that along with obvious environmental advantages, recycling of unpurified EG leads to a polyester with equal or superior properties compared to regular commercial PET (see 1:55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use unpurified recycled EG in PET production, since it is environmentally friendly and produce a polymer with equal or superior properties compared to regular commercial PET.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765