DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Pg. 6, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the interpretation of claims 1, 3-6, 9 and 10 under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the interpretation of the claims. The interpretation of claims 1, 3-6, 9 and 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Pg. 6-7, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to claims 1-10 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims. The rejection of claims 1-10 has been withdrawn. Applicant has canceled claim 2.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 6-9, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (KR 101855366 B1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0378745 A1). Applicant has canceled claim 2.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a data acquisition unit” in claim 9, “a selection unit” in claim 9, “an evaluation unit” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 101855366 B1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0378745 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method for evaluating a refractive index distribution comprising:
acquiring refractive index distribution data of an observation object (201) (Fig. 1 and 2; [0047]; [0048]);
selecting whether or not an object included in the refractive index distribution data is an evaluation object (Fig. 1; [0050]); and
evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object (Fig. 1; [0051]), wherein the acquiring the refractive index distribution data of the observation object includes:
acquiring, for each of a plurality of light irradiation directions, an interference intensity image generated by interference between light irradiating the evaluation object along each of the plurality of light irradiation directions and passed through the evaluation object and reference light ([0048]; [0061]-[0063]);
generating, for each of the plurality of light irradiation directions, a complex amplitude image at each of a plurality of positions based on the interference intensity image ([0061]-[0063]);
calculating a refractive index distribution based on the two-dimensional phase image at each of the plurality of positions ([0061]-[0063]).
Park does not explicitly disclose correcting a phase of the complex amplitude image of each of the plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of the plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction;
generating a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions.
However, Li, in the same field of endeavor of non-destructive and quantitative imaging systems and methods, discloses a method for correcting a phase of a complex amplitude image of each of a plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of a plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction ([0039], last 5 lines; [0040]-[0043]);
generating a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions ([0035]; [0038]; [0039], last 5; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park with a method which corrects the phase of a complex amplitude image where the motivation would be to overcome nonlinearities introduced in the measurement field by multiple scattering, improving the accuracy of non-destructive imaging methods (Li: [0039], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein selecting whether or not the object included in the refractive index distribution data is the evaluation object includes:
acquiring at least one refractive index cross sectional data in a certain direction from the refractive index distribution data (Park: [0070]; [0074], last 5 lines); and
selecting whether or not an object included in the refractive index cross sectional data is an evaluation object (Park: [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein
evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object includes:
extracting a region having a refractive index greater than or less than a threshold (Park: [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object includes:
dividing the region by its shape, its size, its density or its position in the observation object (Park: [0070]; [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 4, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object includes:
specifying one or more positions in the evaluation object and dividing the evaluation object into a region present at a predetermined distance from the position and a region present at a distance farther than the predetermined distance from the position (Park: [0042]; [0075]; [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the observation object is a three-dimensional culture (Park: [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Li discloses the evaluation method according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein
the refractive index distribution data includes:
at least one refractive index data selected from the group consisting of a lipid droplet, a mitochondrion, a vesicle, a nucleolus and DNA (Park: [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses an apparatus for evaluating a refractive index distribution comprising:
a data acquisition unit (210) for acquiring refractive index distribution data of an observation object (201) (Fig. 1 and 2; [0047]; [0048]);
a selection unit (220) for obtaining an indicator for an object included in the refractive index distribution data from the refractive index distribution data and selecting whether or not the object is an evaluation object based on the indicator (Fig. 1; [0050]); and
an evaluation unit (230) for evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object (Fig. 1; [0051]), wherein the data acquisition unit is configured to:
acquire, for each of a plurality of light irradiation directions, an interference intensity image generated by interference between light irradiating the evaluation object along each of the plurality of light irradiation directions and passed through the evaluation object and reference light ([0048]; [0061]-[0063]);
generate, for each of the plurality of light irradiation directions, a complex amplitude image at each of a plurality of positions based on the interference intensity image ([0061]-[0063]);
calculate a refractive index distribution based on the two-dimensional phase image at each of the plurality of positions ([0061]-[0063]).
Park does not explicitly disclose a system which corrects a phase of the complex amplitude image of each of the plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of the plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction;
generates a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions.
However, Li, in the same field of endeavor of non-destructive and quantitative imaging systems and methods, discloses a system which corrects a phase of a complex amplitude image of each of a plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of a plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction ([0039], last 5 lines; [0040]-[0043]);
generates a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions ([0035]; [0038]; [0039], last 5; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park with a method which corrects the phase of a complex amplitude image where the motivation would be to overcome nonlinearities introduced in the measurement field by multiple scattering, improving the accuracy of non-destructive imaging methods (Li: [0039], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method for evaluating a refractive index distribution, the method comprising:
acquiring refractive index distribution data of an observation object (201) (Fig. 1 and 2; [0047]; [0048]);
obtaining an indicator for an object included in the refractive index distribution data from the refractive index distribution data and selecting whether or not the object is an evaluation object based on the indicator (Fig. 1; [0050]); and
evaluating the refractive index distribution of the evaluation object (Fig. 1; [0051])z
wherein acquiring the refractive index distribution data of the observation object includes:
acquiring, for each of a plurality of light irradiation directions, an interference intensity image generated by interference between light irradiating the evaluation object along each of the plurality of light irradiation directions and passed through the evaluation object and reference light ([0048]; [0061]-[0063]);
generating, for each of the plurality of light irradiation directions, a complex amplitude image at each of a plurality of positions based on the interference intensity image ([0061]-[0063]);
calculating a refractive index distribution based on the two-dimensional phase image at each of the plurality of positions ([0061]-[0063]).
Park does not explicitly disclose correcting a phase of the complex amplitude image of each of the plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of the plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction;
generating a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions.
However, Li, in the same field of endeavor of non-destructive and quantitative imaging systems and methods, discloses a method for correcting a phase of a complex amplitude image of each of a plurality of light irradiation directions based on the light irradiation direction for each of a plurality of positions, and generating a complex amplitude summation image representing a summation of the complex amplitude images after the correction ([0039], last 5 lines; [0040]-[0043]);
generating a two-dimensional phase image based on the complex amplitude summation image for each of the plurality of positions ([0035]; [0038]; [0039], last 5; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park with a method which corrects the phase of a complex amplitude image where the motivation would be to overcome nonlinearities introduced in the measurement field by multiple scattering, improving the accuracy of non-destructive imaging methods (Li: [0039], lines 1-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877