The preliminary amendment filed on 2/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/26/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 7/17/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 5/28/2024 have been approved by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation " the lenses " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Suehiro et al. (US 2006/0164836).
With respect to Claim 1, Suehiro teaches the circuit board comprising
a plurality of mounting positions for light-emitting diodes (LEDs) 2, wherein the mounting
positions are distributed in a regular two-dimensional pattern on a first surface side of the circuit board 18. The circuit board 18 is characterized by a plurality of transparent domains 24 (i.e. PDL, bank, or silicone resin). Each transparent domain extending around one mounting position of the plurality of mounting positions. A plurality of thermally conductive domains 10, 23 (i.e. any conductive or metal structure). Each thermally conductive domain 10, 23 being thermally and electrically connected to at least one mounting position, wherein an average area of the thermally conductive domains is at least 2% or at least 4% or at least 8% of an average area of the transparent domains. Each thermally conductive domain 10, 23 of the plurality of thermally conductive domains comprises at least a portion which extends as a two-dimensional area on a surface of the circuit board 18 (see paragraphs 164-222; Figs.10, 11A-11E, 12A-12D, 13A-13C, 14A-14C, and 15).
With respect to Claims 2 and 5, Suehiro teaches the thermally conductive
domains 231 which is made of copper that is opaque material would have an electrical resistivity in Ω m that is 10¹⁰, preferably 10¹⁵, even more preferably or 10¹⁸ times smaller than an electrical resistivity of the transparent domains (i.e. silicone resin) , in particular a material layer forming the transparent domains between a mounting position and a thermally conductive domain (see paragraphs 185, 191, and 197).
With respect to Claim 3, Suehiro teaches the thermally conductive domains 231 are at least partially covered by an electrically insulating layer (i.e. polyimide film) (see Fig. 13A – 13C).
With respect to Claim 4, Suehiro teaches the thermally conductive domains 231 comprise thermal connectors that extend across the transparent domains (see Fig. 13A – 13C).
With respect to Claims 6 and 7, Suehiro teaches the thermally conductive domains 10, 23 cover at least 90% of an area of the circuit board that is not associated with the transparent domains 24 (see Figs. 13A – 13C)..
With respect to Claims 8, Suehiro teaches wherein the transparent domains 24 have a transparency that is at least 10 times larger than a transparency of the electrically thermally conductive domains (i.e. made of metal). (see paragraphs 164 and 200).
With respect to Claims 9, Suehiro teaches a plurality of LEDs 15 mounted respectively to the circuit board 18 at the plurality of mounting positions and configured to emit light into the hemisphere delimited by the first surface side (see Figs. 12C and 13B).
With respect to Claims 10, Suehiro teaches each LED of the plurality of LEDs 2 has a heat sink 26 that is positioned in a central region of a respective transparent domain of the plurality of transparent domains. The plurality of thermally conductive domains comprises a thermally conductive layer and thermal connections respectively connecting one of the heat sinks with the thermally conductive layer in one of the thermally conductive domains (see Figs. 12A, 13B, and 14A-14C)..
With respect to Claims 11, Suehiro teaches the thermally conductive domains 23 comprise a plurality of areal electrical connecting sections which define heat removing regions of the support circuit board 18 (see Figs. 10, 12C, and 13B).
With respect to Claims 12, Suehiro teaches the areal electrical connecting sections extend outside the transparent domains. The thermally conductive domains 231 also comprise a plurality of linear electrical connecting sections extending across the transparent domains to electrically and thermally connect the LEDs with the areal electrical connecting sections (see Figs. 10 and 13B).
With respect to Claims 14, Suehiro teaches a reflector panel 11 having an inner surface side 11A subdivided into a two-dimensional array of surface sections, such as surface sections having a square or hexagonal geometry. Generally a geometry that allows combination to cover a continuous surface, wherein each surface section
comprises a concave reflecting surface area 11A and a thermal contact area outside of the concave reflecting surface area. A transparent circuit board 23 mounted to the reflector panel with a first surface side facing the inner surface side of the reflector pane. Light emitting diodes (LEDs) 2 distributed in a two-dimensional array on the first surface side of the transparent circuit board such that each LED is associated with one of the concave reflecting surface areas. Heat conductors 101 that respectively thermally connect one of the LEDs with one of the thermal contact areas (see Figs. Figs. 12A-12D).
With respect to Claims 17, Suehiro teaches a support board 23 with a plurality of mounting positions, wherein the mounting positions are distributed in a regular two-dimensional pattern on a first surface side of the support board. The support board 23 is transparent with respect to visible light at least within a plurality of transmission areas (light transmitting regions). Each transmission area extending around one of the plurality of mounting positions,. The regular two-dimensional pattern is defined by equal distances between neighboring mounting positions in a respective direction. A plurality of light sources 2 mounted to the support board at the plurality of mounting
Positions. Each light source includes at least one light emitting diode (LED) 2. A
a reflector panel 11 having a three-dimensionally shaped surface and mounted to the support board. The three-dimensionally shaped surface faces the first surface side of the support board and includes a plurality of connecting surface sections (thermal contact areas) 231 and a plurality of reflective surface sections 11A (concave reflecting surface areas). The plurality of connecting surface sections extends within a connecting
plane and is in contact with the first surface side of the support board. Each reflective surface section faces an associated transmission area of the support board 23. A plurality of conducting tracks (heat conductors) 231 extending on the first surface side
and configured for thermal dissipation of heat from the light source and/or for power supply of the light source. At least one of the plurality of conducting tracks extends from
one of the plurality of mounting positions to at least one of the plurality of connecting surface sections(see paragraphs 164-222; Figs.10, 11A-11E, 12A-12D, 13A-13C, 14A-14C, and 15).
With respect to Claims 18, Suehiro teaches the opaque material is an opaque
material layer (i.e. made of metal) and the flat connectors are orthogonal to the first surface side of the circuit board (see paragraphs 164 and 200).
With respect to Claims 19, Suehiro teaches during operation of the light
emitting module light emitted from one of the LEDs 15 is reflected by the associated concave reflecting surface area to pass through the transparent circuit board 23. Heat generated by the LEDs is spread via the heat conductors 231 and the thermal
contact areas (see Figs. 13A – 13C).
With respect to Claims 20, Suehiro teaches the lens arrangement 11
comprises a plurality of abutting lenses respectively associated with one of the surface sections (see Fig. 12D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of
the linear electrical connecting sections have a first thickness in a dimension
orthogonal to the surface of the circuit board and the areal electrical connecting sections have a second thickness in a dimension orthogonal to the surface of the circuit board, with the first thickness being larger than the second thickness in claim 13.
A lens arrangement mounted at a distance of at least 3 times of a side length of the surface section from the transparent circuit board. A plurality of abutting lenses respectively associated with one of the surface sections in claim 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/July 17, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897