DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority is not claimed for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2024 and 01/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It isn’t dependent on any claim before it. For examination purposes, examiner interprets it to be dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 2 says “multiple power cells,” line 6 says “at least two power cells,” then line 8 again says “at least two power cells.” This language makes it seem like they are all different power cells, and it makes the claim unclear and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-7 and 11-12 inherit this rejection.
Claims 8 and 9 have the same issue as claim 1. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 10 and 13-20 inherit this rejection.
Regarding claim 3, line 3 says “one or more transmission lines connected in series,” however if there is only one, how is it connected in series? The claim language is unclear and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11 and 16 have the same issue as claim 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 100835057 by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in a power amplifier (Fig. 7), the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (210, 220) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells (110, 120) comprised in the power amplifier;
a voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells (500, 600) comprised in the power amplifier; and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (output of the current combiner feeds into the voltage combiner).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the power combiner according to claim 1, wherein:
an input terminal of the voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) is connected to an output terminal of the current combiner (210,220) and an output terminal of the voltage combiner is connected to a load of the power amplifier (OUT terminal leads to load).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the power combiner according to claim 1, wherein the current combiner comprises one or more transmission lines connected in series and output terminals of the at least two power cells for current combining are connected to the transmission lines (Fig. 7 output of 110 /120 connected to 210/220).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the power combiner, wherein the voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary winding connected to output of current combiner) having a first input terminal and a first output terminal and a secondary transmission line (secondary winding connected to OUT) having a second input terminal and a second output terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a power amplifier comprising a power combiner, the power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in the power amplifier (Fig. 7), the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (210, 220) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells (110, 120) comprised in the power amplifier;
a voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier; and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (output of the current combiner feeds into the voltage combiner).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising a power amplifier, the power amplifier comprising a power combiner, the power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in the power amplifier (Fig. 7), the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (210, 220) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells (110, 120) comprised in the power amplifier;
a voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier; and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (the output of the current combiner feeds into the voltage combiner).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the electronic device is any one of a transmitter, a transceiver, a base station, a mobile device, a user equipment, a radar, a wireless communication device for a communication system (Background art).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the power combiner according to claim 2, wherein the current combiner comprises one or more transmission lines connected in series and output terminals of the at least two power cells for current combining are connected to the transmission lines (Fig. 7 output of 110 /120 connected to 210/220).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the power combiner according to claim 2, wherein the voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary winding connected to output of current combiner) having a first input terminal and a first output terminal and a secondary transmission line (secondary winding connected to OUT) having a second input terminal and a second output terminal.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the power amplifier according to claim 8 wherein:
an input terminal of the voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) is connected to an output terminal of the current combiner (210, 220) and an output terminal of the voltage combiner is connected to a load of the power amplifier (OUT terminal leads to load);
or an input terminal of the current combiner is connected to an output terminal of the voltage combiner and an output terminal of the current combiner is connected to a load of the power amplifier.
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches the power amplifier according to claim 8, wherein the current combiner comprises one or more transmission lines connected in series and output terminals of the at least two power cells for current combining are connected to the transmission lines (Fig. 7 output of 110 /120 connected to 210/220).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the power amplifier according to claim 8, wherein the voltage combiner (BAL-OUT) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary winding connected to output of current combiner) having a first input terminal and a first output terminal and a secondary transmission line (secondary winding connected to OUT) having a second input terminal and a second output terminal.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2012080218 by Kawai.
Regarding claim 1, Kawai teaches a power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in a power amplifier (Fig. 10), the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (20) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells (amp 1-4) comprised in the power amplifier;
a voltage combiner (22) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells (amp 1-4) comprised in the power amplifier; and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (output of the current combiner feeds into the voltage combiner).
Regarding claim 2, Kawai teaches the power combiner according to claim 1, wherein:
an input terminal of the voltage combiner (22) is connected to an output terminal of the current combiner (20) and an output terminal of the voltage combiner (OUT) is connected to a load of the power amplifier; or
an input terminal of the current combiner is connected to an output terminal of the voltage combiner and an output terminal of the current combiner is connected to a load of the power amplifier.
Regarding claim 4, Kawai teaches the power combiner, wherein the voltage combiner (22) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary winding that is connected to nodes b and d) having a first input terminal (nodes b and d) and a first output terminal (ground) and a secondary transmission line (secondary winding connected to output node) having a second input terminal and a second output terminal (Pout).
Regarding claim 8, Kawai teaches a power amplifier (Background art) comprising a power combiner, the power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in the power amplifier (Fig. 10), the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (20) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier (Amp 1-4);
a voltage combiner (22) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier (Amp 1-4); and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (the output of 20 feeds into the input of 22).
Regarding claim 9, Kawai teaches an electronic device comprising a power amplifier (background art), the power amplifier comprising a power combiner (Fig. 10), the power combiner for combining output powers from multiple power cells comprised in the power amplifier, the power combiner comprising:
a current combiner (20) configured to combine output currents from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier (amp 1-4);
a voltage combiner (22) configured to combine output voltages from at least two power cells comprised in the power amplifier (amp 1-4); and
the voltage combiner and current combiner being connected in cascade (the output of 20 feeds into the input of 22).
Regarding claim 10, Kawai teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the electronic device is any one of a transmitter, a transceiver, a base station, a mobile device, a user equipment, a radar, a wireless communication device for a communication system (Background art).
Regarding claim 12, Kawai teaches the power combiner according to claim 2, wherein the voltage combiner (Fig. 10 #22) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary windings connected to nodes b and d) having a first input terminal and a first output terminal and a secondary transmission line having a second input terminal and a second output terminal (secondary windings connected to ground and Pout).
Regarding claim 15, Kawai teaches the power amplifier according to claim 8, wherein:
an input terminal of the voltage combiner (22) is connected to an output terminal of the current combiner (20) and an output terminal of the voltage combiner (OUT) is connected to a load of the power amplifier;
or an input terminal of the current combiner is connected to an output terminal of the voltage combiner and an output terminal of the current combiner is connected to a load of the power amplifier.
Regarding claim 17, Kawai teaches the power amplifier according to claim 8, wherein the voltage combiner (Fig. 10 #22) comprises one or more transformer or coupled transmission lines, and wherein each transformer or coupled transmission line comprises a primary transmission line (primary windings connected to nodes b and d) having a first input terminal and a first output terminal and a secondary transmission line having a second input terminal and a second output terminal (secondary windings connected to ground and Pout).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13-14, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAREH SHAMIRYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843