Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al., “Q-Mixing Network for Multi-agent Pathfinding in Partially Observable Grid Environments”, October 4, 2021 (hereinafter Davydov) in view of Gemelos, US PGPub #20180376390, published December 27, 2018
With regard to Independent Claim 1,
Davydov teaches a method of distributed training of a machine learning model, the method comprising inputting a first set of observations and a first set of actions for a primary agent to generate a first Q function for the primary agent. See e.g., Abstract (multi agent reinforcement learning … many agents working together to accomplish a mission.) See also, Section 2, 2nd paragraph (discussing that each agent generates a Q function from observations (states) and actions.)
Davydov further discloses inputting a second set of observations and a second set of actions for a set of secondary agents to generate a set of Q functions for the set of secondary agents. See e.g., Abstract (multi agent reinforcement learning … many agents working together to accomplish a mission.) See also, Section 2, 2nd paragraph (discussing that each agent generates a Q function from observations (states) and actions.) Although not important for this mapping, the examiner notes that the BRI of a second set of agents includes a single second agent.
Davydov further discloses generating a Qtot function from the first Q function and the set of Q functions by a mixing network for the primary agent, the Q tot function to [achieve a goal.] See Section 3, 5th paragraph, (Q tot function is generated from all Q-values of the different agents, including primary and secondary agents.)
Davydov does not explicitly disclose using this to generate actions or predictions to configure a first node to operate in a telecommunication network.
In an analogous art, Gemelos uses reinforcement learning to generate actions or predictions to configure a first node to operate in a telecommunications network. See e.g., Abstract (based on observed states at nodes in device take actions). See Fig. 2, (reinforcement learning).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having both Davydov and Gemelos before them to modify Davydov to put it to use in the reinforcement system of Gemelos. One would be motivated to do so to use the theories of Davydov in a practical environment to further the reinforcement learning of Nyembe.
With regard to Dependent Claim 2,
As discussed with Claim 1, Davydov-Gemelos teach all of the limitations. Davydov-Gemelos further teaches deploying the Qtot function to the first node in the telecommunication network to manage actions of the first node. See e.g., Fig. 3, [0038], (discussing reinforcement learning agent which carries out functions can be deployed on the individual devices.)
With regard to Dependent Claim 3,
As discussed with Claim 2, Davydov-Gemelos teach all of the limitations. Davydov-Gemelos further teaches wherein the primary agent represents the first node in a telecommunications network. See e.g., Fig. 3, [0038], (discussing reinforcement learning agent which carries out functions can be deployed on the individual devices, thus the agents represent the nodes)
With regard to Dependent Claim 4,
As discussed with regard to Claim 3, Davydov-Gemelos teach all of the limitations. Davydov-Gemelos further teaches wherein the secondary agents represent a set of nodes in the telecommunication network that affect operation of the first node. See e.g., Fig. 3, [0038], (discussing reinforcement learning agent which carries out functions can be deployed on the individual devices, thus the agents represent the nodes.) The examiner notes devices in a telecommunication network naturally “affect operation” of other devices.
With regard to Dependent claim 5,
As discussed with regard to Claim 1, Davydov-Gemelos teach all of the limitations. Davydov-Gemelos further teaches wherein each of the secondary agents has a respective mixing network to determine a respective Qtot function for each of the secondary agents. The examiner notes at least two ways this claim limitation is met by the art. First, as noted above the BRI of a set of secondary agents includes a single secondary agent. In this situation even if there is only one mixing network then the secondary agent has a “respective mixing network.” Second, even in a situation with a plurality of secondary agents and a plurality of mixing networks this would simply result in more of the same functionality of Davydov-Gemelos and would not result in anything new or unexpected. As such this is an obvious duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.
With regard to Claims 6-10,
Claims 6-10 are similar in scope to Claims 1-5 respectively and are rejected under a similar rationale.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Gemelos further in view of Joseph, US PGPub #20210105228, published April 8, 2021
With regard to Claims 11-15,
Claims 11-15 are largely similar in scope to Claims 1-5 respectively and are rejected under a similar rationale.
Davydov-Gemelos does not explicitly disclose a plurality of virtual machines, the plurality of virtual machines implementing network function virtualization (NFV).
In an analogous art, Joseph discloses a telecom network that uses reinforcement learning that comprises a plurality of virtual machines, the plurality of virtual machines implementing network function virtualization (NFV). See e.g., [0003].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having both Davydov-Gemelos and Joseph before them to include the NFV system of Joseph. One would have been motivated to do so as NFV “promises ability to scale and adapt to new technology advancement without significant increase” in costs. See Joseph, [0003].
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Gemelos further in view of Dechene, US PGPub #20220245441, filed January 29, 2021
With regard to Claims 16-20,
Claims 16-20 are largely similar in scope to Claims 1-5 respectively and are rejected under a similar rationale. The examiner notes that Gemelos discloses a control plane device (see [0020]).
Davydov-Gemelos does not explicitly disclose a software defined networking (SDN) network or that the telecommunication network is managed by the SDN network.
In an analogous art, Dechene discloses a telecom network that uses reinforcement learning that is managed by a software defined networking (SDN) network. See e.g., [0034, 0035].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having both Davydov-Gemelos and Dechene before them to include the SDN network of Dechene. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the static architecture of traditional networks.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW ELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141