CTNF 18/714,321 CTNF 91641 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A preliminary amendment received on 5/29/2024 amending claims 1-8, canceling claim 9, and adding claims 10-21 has been entered by the examiner. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/24/2024 and 8/07/2024 have been entered and considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: The acronym "eDRX” is utilized without first defining it . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US2019/0132817 A1) . Regarding claims 1-4 and 8 , Liu teaches a method/wireless device/network node/storage medium storing an executable computer program of operating a wireless device/network node in a wireless communication network, the wireless device/network node being configured to operate based on a clear channel assessment, CCA, on one or both of at least one carrier and cell for which an eDRX cycle is configured ( Abstract; Paras. 0029, 0034, and 0129; In certain other configurations, the LBT component 812 may be configured to perform an LBT procedure up to a threshold number of attempts at a frame boundary of each of the plurality non-anchor hopping frames in the paging super frame window; i.e. the “on one or both of at least one carrier or cell for which an eDRX cycle is configured” is not given patentable weight as carrier, cell, and eDRX are only recited in the preamble and nothing in the body of the independent claims or any dependent claims refers to these limitations and thus do not give life, meaning, and vitality to the claims ), the method comprising: performing one or more radio procedures based on one or more CCA parameters ( Abstract; Paras. 0034, 0102, 0108-0111, and 0129; In certain other configurations, the LBT component 812 may be configured to perform an LBT procedure up to a threshold number of attempts at a frame boundary of each of the plurality non-anchor hopping frames in the paging super frame window; i.e. threshold number of attempts reads on CCA parameters. Also, at para. 0057 of Applicant’s published specification, it says CCA is also called LBT ). Regarding claims 5, 10, 13, and 16 , Liu teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Liu further teaches wherein the one or more radio procedures comprise one or both performing measurement and measurement reporting ( Paras. 0009, 0034, 0047, 0102, 0108-0111, and 0129; controller/processor 375 provides RRC layer functionality associated with broadcasting of system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs), RRC connection control (e.g., RRC connection paging, RRC connection establishment, RRC connection modification, and RRC connection release), inter radio access technology (RAT) mobility, and measurement configuration for UE measurement reporting ). Regarding claims 6, 11, 14, 17, and 19 , Liu teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Liu further teaches wherein one or both: performing the one or more radio procedures is based on a Paging Time Window, PTW; and a PTW is based on one or more CCA parameters ( Paras. 0009, 0034, 0102, 0108-0111, and 0129; An extended DRX (eDRX) cycle may include a plurality of non-anchor hopping frames, and a single paging time window (PTW) located in one of the non-anchor hopping frames. When the LBT procedure fails for the non-anchor hopping frame in which the PFW or PTW is located, transmission of the paging message may be delayed until the PFW or PTW in the subsequent DRX cycle or eDRX cycle ). Regarding claims 7, 12, 15, 18, and 20-21 Liu teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Liu further teaches wherein the one or more CCA parameters comprise one or more of: determining success or failure of a CCA procedure; a number of CCA procedures; a number of successful or failed CCA procedures; one or more time intervals for determining one or more of a number of CCA procedures and successful and failed CCA procedures; and one or more occasions, for one or more of paging and transmission and reception ( Paras. 0034, 0102, 0108-0111, and 0129; In certain other configurations, the LBT component 812 may be configured to perform an LBT procedure up to a threshold number of attempts at a frame boundary of each of the plurality non-anchor hopping frames in the paging super frame window; i.e. threshold number of attempts reads on CCA parameters. Also, at para. 0057 of Applicant’s published specification, it says CCA is also called LBT ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENT KRUEGER whose telephone number is (303)297-4238. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00 MT. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached on (571) 272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/714,321 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/714,321 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/714,321 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/714,321 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/714,321 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474