DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/09/2026.
Claims 1-12, 14-20, and 22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIMIONIS et al. (US 2023/0176207 A1; hereafter KIMIONIS).
With respect to claim 1, KIMIONIS discloses a method for communicating with passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags), the method comprising:
configuring a single controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) to control access points, APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1), operatively interfaced to the single controller, in a multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network);
partitioning, by the single controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), the multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network) into groups of APs according to proximity indicating information of the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1), the proximity indicating information indicating how proximate (201, 202 in FIG. 2a; paragraphs [0088] and [0089]) the APs are relative each other (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]);
assigning, by the single controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), to the APs in each of the groups, either a transmitting role or a receiving role for communicating with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags), at least one AP in each group being assigned the transmitting role and at least one other AP in each group is assigned the receiving role (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]); and
initiating, by the single controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1) to communicate with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags) in accordance with the assigned roles (FIG. 3A; FIG. 3B; FiG. 3C; paragraph [0110]).
With respect to claim 2, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the proximity indicating information relates to received power (201, 202 in FIG. 2a; paragraphs [0088] and [0089]) for wireless communication between the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 3, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the proximity indicating information is based on pairwise over-the-air measurements (201, 202 in FIG. 2a; paragraphs [0088] and [0089]) between the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 4, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the proximity indicating information relates to geographical locations (201, 202 in FIG. 2a; paragraphs [0088] and [0089]) for each of the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 16, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network) is partitioned into at least two groups of APs, and wherein the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) configures the APs in one of the at least two groups of APs to communicate with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags) independently of the APs in any other of the at least two groups of APs (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
With respect to claim 17, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network) is partitioned into at least two groups of APs, and wherein the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) configures the APs such that, when at least one of the APs in one of the at least two groups of APs (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]) is communicating with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags) in the transmitting role, all APs in at least one other of the at least two groups of APs are communicating with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags) in the receiving role (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
With respect to claim 18, KIMIONIS further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) configures the APs to switch between the transmitting role and the receiving role and vice versa within each of the groups between two consecutive communication instances (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
With respect to claim 22, KIMIONIS discloses a controller for communicating with passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags), the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) comprising:
processing circuitry (502 in FIG. 5; paragraph [0135]), the processing circuitry configured to cause the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) to:
configure a single controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]) to control access points, APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1), operatively interface to the controller, in a multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network);
partition, by the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), the multi-static wireless network (102a-102m of FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023], [0046], [0086], see the multistatic wireless network) into groups of APs according to proximity indicating information of the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1), the proximity indicating information indicating how proximate the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1) are relative each other (201, 202 in FIG. 2a; paragraphs [0088] and [0089]);
assign, by the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), to the APs in each of the groups, either a transmitting role or a receiving role for communicating with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags), at least one AP in each group being assigned the transmitting role and at least one other AP in each group is assigned the receiving role (211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216 in FIG. 2b; 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 in FIG. 2c; paragraphs [0085] and [0086]); and
initiate, by the controller (108a or 106 or 102a in FIG. 1; paragraph [0088]), the APs (102a, 102b, 102m, 102c in FIG. 1) to communicate with the passive wireless backscattering devices (104 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0023] and [0073], see the backscatter tag or tags) in accordance with the assigned roles (FIG. 3A; FIG. 3B; FiG. 3C; paragraph [0110]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12, 14, 15, 19 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 22 under KO have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KIMIONIS.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 18, 2026