DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 to 3, 5, 8 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Takano et al (WO 2020225985).
The Takano et al reference teaches a seed pulling method and apparatus with a magnetic field, note entire reference. The single crystal pulling apparatus comprising a pulling furnace having a central axis in which a heater and a crucible for accommodating molten single crystal material, note fig 1. There is a magnetic field generating device provided around the pulling furnace and having a superconducting coil and a cryostat incorporating the superconducting coil, para 0021 and 0024. The magnetic field generating device applying a horizontal magnetic field to the molten single crystal material by passing current through the superconducting coil, thereby suppressing convection of the molten single crystal material in the crucible, para 0022 The magnetic field generating device having four superconducting coils, the coil axes of all four superconducting coils being aligned in a single horizontal plane. When the direction of magnetic field lines at the central axis in the horizontal plane is taken as an X-axis, two of the superconducting coils are arranged in each of a first region and a second region divided by a cross section including the X-axis and the central axis of the pulling furnace, figure 2, para 0024. The four superconducting coils are arranged in line symmetry with respect to the cross section, and the four superconducting coils are all arranged such that their coil axes are in an angle range of more than -30° and less than 30° with respect to a Y-axis perpendicular to the X-axis in the horizontal plane. The direction of magnetic field lines generated by the four superconducting coils is linearly symmetric with respect to the cross section. The document discloses a single crystal pulling apparatus which is symmetrical, and in each of the first and second regions, the two superconducting coils generate magnetic lines of force in opposite directions. There is a control unit for the magnetic fields, para 0025
With regards to claim 2, the Takano et al reference teaches a magnet shape which is a hollowed rectangle, note fig 4a.
With regards to claim 3, the Takano et al reference teaches a magnet height of up to 1000 mm, note para 0042.
With respect to claims 5, 12, 13 and 15, the Takano et al reference teaches a crucible for seed pulling surrounded by a magnetic field, note figures.
With regards to claim 8, the Takano et al reference teaches a magnet height of up to 1000 mm, note para 0042.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 9 to 11, 14 and 16 to 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al (WO 2020225985).
The Takano et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the magnetic field flux density at various points. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable magnetic flux density at points in the crucible or melt in the Takano et al reference in order to have a uniformly mixed melt as the magnetic flux density in the prior art is a known variable.\
With regards to claim 7, the Takano et al reference teaches growing single crystal silicon, note page 1.
With respect to claims 14, and 16 to 18 the Takano et al reference teaches a crucible for seed pulling surrounded by a magnetic field, note figures.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in magnetic czochralski growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714