DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the second link between the second CD and the access network node” which lacks antecedent basis as claim 1 does not define a “second link” and “the second CD.” Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (“Li”) (US 20240275433 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches:
A method for configuring a set of configurable reflectors, wherein the set of configurable reflectors are provided by a set of one or more intelligent reflecting surfaces, (IRSs) [Figure 3, ¶0058 including multiple reflective subarrays, configured by access node Figure 8A BS], the method comprising:
determining a first set of one or more IRS configuration parameters [¶0066 set subarrays based on parameters], wherein the first set of IRS configuration parameters comprises at least one of:
(a) a first link quality metric for a first link between a first communication device, (CD), and an access network node, wherein the first link comprises a first channel between the first CD and the set of one or more IRSs and a second channel between the set of one or more IRSs and the access network node;
(b) a first quality-of-service, (QoS) requirement for the first CD; or
(c) a transmission status for the first CD [¶0066-67, IRS configuration parameters include directing subarrays to converge at user equipment, to improve signal gain, based on distance of UE, further comprising the subsets defined to direct signal to the CD, all corresponding to transmission status of first CD under broadest reasonable interpretation]; and based on the first set of IRS configuration parameters, partitioning the set of configurable reflectors, wherein the partitioning comprises defining at least a first subset of the set of configurable reflectors and a second subset of the set of configurable reflectors [¶0066-67 divide into subarrays with different codebooks corresponding to two subsets of reflector, see also ¶0064 divide into N subarrays, N may be 4, which includes two subarrays]; and after defining the first and second subsets, configuring the first subset of the configurable reflectors and configuring the second subset of the configurable reflectors [¶0064, ¶0066-67, divide in N subarrays and configure the subarrays to serve user equipment].
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions which when executed by processing circuitry of a network node causes the network node to perform the method of claim 1 [Figure 8A shows BS, known to comprise these components].
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches:
A network node for configuring a set of configurable reflectors, wherein the set of configurable reflectors are for configuring a set of configurable reflectors, wherein the set of configurable reflectors are provided by a set of one or more intelligent reflecting surfaces (IRSs), the network node comprising: a storage unit; a processing circuitry coupled to the storage unit, wherein the network node is configured to perform a method comprising: [Figure 3, ¶0058 including multiple reflective subarrays, configured by access node Figure 8A BS], the method comprising:
determining a first set of one or more IRS configuration parameters [¶0066 set subarrays based on parameters], wherein the first set of IRS configuration parameters comprises at least one of:
(a) a first link quality metric for a first link between a first communication device, (CD), and an access network node, wherein the first link comprises a first channel between the first CD and the set of one or more IRSs and a second channel between the set of one or more IRSs and the access network node;
(b) a first quality-of-service, (QoS) requirement for the first CD; or
(c) a transmission status for the first CD [¶0066-67, IRS configuration parameters include directing subarrays to converge at user equipment, to improve signal gain, based on distance of UE, further comprising the subsets defined to direct signal to the CD, all corresponding to transmission status of first CD under broadest reasonable interpretation]; and based on the first set of IRS configuration parameters, partitioning the set of configurable reflectors, wherein the partitioning comprises defining at least a first subset of the set of configurable reflectors and a second subset of the set of configurable reflectors [¶0066-67 divide into subarrays with different codebooks corresponding to two subsets of reflector, see also ¶0064 divide into N subarrays, N may be 4, which includes two subarrays]; and after defining the first and second subsets, configuring the first subset of the configurable reflectors and configuring the second subset of the configurable reflectors [¶0064, ¶0066-67, divide in N subarrays and configure the subarrays to serve user equipment].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”) (US 20240275433 A1) in view of Bengtsson et al. (“Bengtsson”) (US 20240014884 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises a first reconfigurable reflector [¶0064 reconfigurable panel includes first subarray, part of reconfigurable surface device, where the device is used to reflect see ¶0035 and ¶0045, thus the subarray is a reconfigurable reflector, and ¶0066 subarrays configured to reflect].
Li teaches reconfiguring reflective device but does not teach imposing certain phase shift.
Bengtsson teaches the method further comprises determining a phase shift for the first reconfigurable reflector, and configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises configuring the first configurable reflector to produce the determined phase shift [¶0062 panels adjusted to provide a configurable / determined phase shit].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify configuring a specified phase shift for the reflective surfaces as in Bengtsson who teaches this allows for providing coverage extension by reflection Li ¶0065 using configured phase shifts ¶0062.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches:
The network node of claim 13 wherein the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises a first reconfigurable reflector [¶0064 reconfigurable panel includes first subarray, part of reconfigurable surface device, where the device is used to reflect see ¶0035 and ¶0045, thus the subarray is a reconfigurable reflector, and ¶0066 subarrays configured to reflect].
Li teaches reconfiguring reflective device but does not teach imposing certain phase shift.
Bengtsson teaches the method further comprises determining a phase shift for the first reconfigurable reflector, and configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises configuring the first configurable reflector to produce the determined phase shift [¶0062 panels adjusted to provide a configurable / determined phase shit].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify configuring a specified phase shift for the reflective surfaces as in Bengtsson who teaches this allows for providing coverage extension by reflection Li ¶0065 using configured phase shifts ¶0062.
Claim(s) 3, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”) (US 20240275433 A1) in view of Elshafie et al. (“Elshafie”) (US 20240048188 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Li teaches reconfiguring panels but not disabling them.
Elshafie teaches wherein the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises a first reconfigurable reflector, and configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises placing the first configurable reflector in an off state to prevent the first configurable reflector from reflecting an impinging signal [¶0198, a subset of RIS elements disabled by applying all zero vector in RIS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify configuring certain subsets to be disabled as in Elshafie who in ¶0089 teaches this allows for reduced computation workloads by clustering the arrays.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches:
The network node of claim 13.
Li teaches reconfiguring panels but not disabling them.
Elshafie teaches wherein the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises a first reconfigurable reflector, and configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises placing the first configurable reflector in an off state to prevent the first configurable reflector from reflecting an impinging signal [¶0198, a subset of RIS elements disabled by applying all zero vector in RIS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify configuring certain subsets to be disabled as in Elshafie who in ¶0089 teaches this allows for reduced computation workloads by clustering the arrays.
Claim(s) 4-5, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”) (US 20240275433 A1) in view of Wang et al. (“Wang”) (US 20240171239 A1, effective filing date 63/169,096 filed March 31, 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Li teaches reconfiguring panels based on transmission status but not expressly first and second sets of quality metrics.
Wang teaches wherein configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises obtaining a first set of link quality metrics, wherein each link quality metric in the first set of link quality metrics indicates a quality of the first link between the first CD and the access network node [¶0088, base station determines first configuration (subset of APD surfaces) based on link-quality parameters indicating metrics with the UE, and can be for first link as in ¶0095 as it is iterative], and configuring the second subset of configurable reflectors comprises obtaining a second set of link quality metrics, wherein each link quality metric in the second set of link quality metrics indicates a quality of the second link between the second CD and the access network node [¶0095 iterations wherein updated configurations (second subset) of reflective panels determined based on updated link parameters, may apply to second CD see Figure 5 504-510].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify second parameters for a second subset of panels as in Wang who teaches this allows for transmission in an urban environment with multiple obstructions and correcting for signal distortion to obtain sustainable performance ¶0002.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a second set of one or more IRS configuration parameters, wherein the second set of IRS configuration parameter comprises at least one of: (a) a second link quality metric for a second link between a second CD and the access network node, wherein the second link comprises a third channel between the second CD and the set of one or more IRSs and a fourth channel between the set of one or more IRSs and the access network node [‘239 ¶0062-63 configure different subsets of reflective surfaces 180 toward different UEs 504-510 producing different beams 522-528]; (b) a second QoS requirement for the second CD; or (c) a transmission status for the second CD, wherein partitioning the set of configurable reflectors comprises partitioning the set of configurable reflectors based on both the first set of IRS configuration parameters and the second set of IRS configuration parameters [¶0048, ¶0062, reconfigure based on threshold and quality parameters, considered first and second set of configuration parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify second parameters for a second subset of panels as in Wang who teaches this allows for transmission in an urban environment with multiple obstructions and correcting for signal distortion to obtain sustainable performance ¶0002.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches:
The network node of claim 13.
Li teaches reconfiguring panels based on transmission status but not expressly first and second sets of quality metrics.
Wang teaches wherein configuring the first subset of configurable reflectors comprises obtaining a first set of link quality metrics, wherein each link quality metric in the first set of link quality metrics indicates a quality of the first link between the first CD and the access network node [¶0088, base station determines first configuration (subset of APD surfaces) based on link-quality parameters indicating metrics with the UE, and can be for first link as in ¶0095 as it is iterative], and configuring the second subset of configurable reflectors comprises obtaining a second set of link quality metrics, wherein each link quality metric in the second set of link quality metrics indicates a quality of the second link between the second CD and the access network node [¶0095 iterations wherein updated configurations (second subset) of reflective panels determined based on updated link parameters, may apply to second CD see Figure 5 504-510].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify second parameters for a second subset of panels as in Wang who teaches this allows for transmission in an urban environment with multiple obstructions and correcting for signal distortion to obtain sustainable performance ¶0002.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches:
The network node of claim 13, further comprising: determining a second set of one or more IRS configuration parameters, wherein the second set of IRS configuration parameter comprises at least one of: (a) a second link quality metric for a second link between a second CD and the access network node, wherein the second link comprises a third channel between the second CD and the set of one or more IRSs and a fourth channel between the set of one or more IRSs and the access network node [‘239 ¶0062-63 configure different subsets of reflective surfaces 180 toward different UEs 504-510 producing different beams 522-528]; (b) a second QoS requirement for the second CD; or (c) a transmission status for the second CD, wherein partitioning the set of configurable reflectors comprises partitioning the set of configurable reflectors based on both the first set of IRS configuration parameters and the second set of IRS configuration parameters [¶0048, ¶0062, reconfigure based on threshold and quality parameters, considered first and second set of configuration parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify second parameters for a second subset of panels as in Wang who teaches this allows for transmission in an urban environment with multiple obstructions and correcting for signal distortion to obtain sustainable performance ¶0002.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2021239311 A1 – Figure 3
/JAY L VOGEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478