CTNF 18/714,659 CTNF 88152 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s): “wherein the compressible material is [an] asymmetric shape with respect to a diameter of the polishing pad” is not shown. Applicant describes “ a polishing pad 600 may be asymmetric with respect to axis 610,” [Present Application; paragraph 0047], “ [p]olishing pad 740 may have symmetry 752 with respect to a central axis, extending down from a spindle 712, but may be asymmetrical with respect to an axis along the largest diameter of polishing pad 740” [Present Application; paragraph 0057], “[t]he system may be implemented such that the polishing pad is asymmetric with respect to an axis extending through a diameter of the polishing pad” [Present Application; paragraph 0083], “ [t]he compressible material is asymmetric shape with respect to a diameter of the polishing pad” [Present Application; paragraph 00111], wherein asymmetric is having two sides or halves that are not the same. 06-22 No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the passive heat dissipation mechanism of claim 1 - The specification defines the “passive heat mechanism” wherein “the passive heat dissipation mechanism is a thermally conductive material in contact with the polishing pad” [Present Application; paragraph 0095], “the passive heat dissipation mechanism includes an airflow feature” [Present Application; paragraph 0096], “the passive heat dissipation mechanism includes a plurality of fins coupled to the abrasive contacting side” [Present Application; paragraph 0099]. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 12 and 13, the claimed “the polishing pad” lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will consider this to be “the backup pad.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoenhair (US-5,111,624) . Regarding claim 1 (Original), Shoenhair (US-5,111,624) discloses a backup pad (backing plate 20) for a robotic abrading system, the backup pad comprising: a tool interfacing portion (side of plate 20 opposite the grinding stone 18) configured to interact with a robotic tool of the robotic abrading system; an abrasive contacting side (attached to grinding stone 18), opposite the tool interfacing portion (Fig. 1); and a passive heat dissipation mechanism (material) (“The backing plate 20 comprises an annular, preferably aluminum, metal ring.”) [Shoenhair; col. 3, lines 2-4] configured to reduce heat accumulation in an abrasive article coupled to the abrasive contacting side during a robotic abrading operation (“The backing plate 20 comprises an annular, preferably aluminum, metal ring.”) [Shoenhair; col. 3, lines 2-4] (Applicant states “aluminum, copper or another thermally conductive material”) [Present Application; paragraph 0067]. Regarding claim 2 (Original), Shoenhair discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the passive heat dissipation mechanism is a thermally conductive material (material) in contact with the polishing pad (grinding stone 18) (“The backing plate 20 comprises an annular, preferably aluminum, metal ring.”) [Shoenhair; col. 3, lines 2-4] (Applicant states “aluminum, copper or another thermally conductive material”) [Present Application; paragraph 0067] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-11, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Landis (US-3,299,584) . Regarding claim 1 (Original), Landis (US-3,299,584) discloses a backup pad for a robotic abrading system, the backup pad comprising: a tool interfacing portion (hub 34) configured to interact with a robotic tool of the robotic abrading system (the hub 34 has a connector capable of interacting with the connection of a tool, such a robotic tool); an abrasive contacting side (the side that contacts abrasive disc 26), opposite the tool interfacing portion (hub 34) (Figs. 1 and 2); and a passive heat dissipation mechanism (grooves 40) configured to reduce heat accumulation in an abrasive article coupled to the abrasive contacting side during a robotic abrading operation (“as the speed of head 20 increases, fan blades 56 exhaust the air from grooves 40”) [Landis; col. 4, lines 65-67]. Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the passive heat dissipation mechanism comprises an airflow feature (grooves 40) (“as the speed of head 20 increases, fan blades 56 exhaust the air from grooves 40”) [Landis; col. 4, lines 65-67]. Regarding claim 4 (Original), Landis discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the airflow feature comprises an aperture end of grooves 40 which form an opening with the outside of the backup pad) (“as the speed of head 20 increases, fan blades 56 exhaust the air from grooves 40”) [Landis; col. 4, lines 65-67]. Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the airflow feature (grooves 40) comprises a channel (grooves 40) extending through a portion of the backup pad (backing plate assembly 24) (Figs. 1 and 2). Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the passive heat dissipation mechanism (40) comprises a plurality of fins (lands 52) coupled to the abrasive contacting side (Fig. 2) Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tool interface portion (hub 34) comprises an aperture (bore 38) (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the abrasive contacting side comprises an aperture (grooves 40) (Figs. 1 and 2). Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad is removably coupled to the tool ("Hub 34 has an internally threaded central bore 38 by which the backing plate assembly 24 of abrasive head 20 is attached to the spindle or shaft of the grinding, sanding, or like machine with which rotatable head 20 is to be employed”) [Landis; col. 4, lines 16-20]. Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Landis discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad comprises a rigid material (according to the drawing symbols for materials, MPEP 608.02, Section IX) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 11, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US-4,930,264) . Regarding claim 1 (Original), Huang (US-4930264) discloses a backup pad for a robotic abrading system, the backup pad comprising: a tool interfacing portion (threaded rod 73) configured to interact with a robotic tool of the robotic abrading system (Fig. 3); an abrasive contacting side (bottom side of the backup pad shown in annotated Figure 3 below) (“[t]he underside of the polishing plate 7 is provided with a grinding surface for polishing purpose”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 13-15], opposite the tool interfacing portion (Fig. 3); and a passive heat dissipation mechanism (arcuate blade protrusions 72) configured to reduce heat accumulation in an abrasive article coupled to the abrasive contacting side during a robotic abrading operation (“The evenly disposed blade protrusions 72 on the other side of the polishing plate 7 can disturb the air in the air chamber so to produce air pressure differential in the second air chamber.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 31-34]. PNG media_image1.png 396 592 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Huang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the passive heat dissipation mechanism (blade protrusions 72) comprises an airflow feature (“The evenly disposed blade protrusions 72 on the other side of the polishing plate 7 can disturb the air in the air chamber so to produce air pressure differential in the second air chamber.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 31-34]. Regarding claim 7 (Original), Huang discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the airflow feature (blade protrusions 72) comprises a curved portion (Fig. 1) configured to cause air to flow over the abrasive contacting side during a robotic abrading operation (“The evenly disposed blade protrusions 72 on the other side of the polishing plate 7 can disturb the air in the air chamber so to produce air pressure differential in the second air chamber.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 31-34] (“As a result of the air pressure differentials so produced in the first and second air chambers, the air together with debris is sucked into the second chambers defined by the lower casing 6 through the holes 71, and then through the cushion plate 4 into the first air chamber 14.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 35-40]. Regarding claim 8 (Original), Huang discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the airflow feature comprises a turbine (series of blades 72) (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 9 (Original), Huang discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the airflow feature comprises a cavity (holes 71) within the backup pad (Fig. 3) through which air can flow (“As a result of the air pressure differentials so produced in the first and second air chambers, the air together with debris is sucked into the second chambers defined by the lower casing 6 through the holes 71, and then through the cushion plate 4 into the first air chamber 14.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 35-40]. Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Huang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the abrasive contacting side comprises an aperture (holes 71) (“As a result of the air pressure differentials so produced in the first and second air chambers, the air together with debris is sucked into the second chambers defined by the lower casing 6 through the holes 71, and then through the cushion plate 4 into the first air chamber 14.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 35-40]. Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Huang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad is removably coupled to the tool (Fig. 3) (“A threaded rod 73 is located at the center of the polishing plate 7 and is engaged with the lower end hole 32 of the driving shaft 3 in assembly.”) [Huang; col. 2, lines 18-20]. Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Huang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad comprises a rigid material (Fig. 3) (according to the drawing symbols for materials, MPEP 608.02, Section IX) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chilton (US-4,932,163) . Regarding claim 1 (Original), Chilton (US-4,932,163) discloses a backup pad (backing plate 23) for a robotic abrading system, the backup pad comprising: a tool interfacing portion (upper surface 25) configured to interact with a robotic tool of the robotic abrading system (grinder 11); an abrasive contacting side (lower surface 27), opposite the tool interfacing portion (Figs. 1 and 2); and a passive heat dissipation mechanism (holes 29) configured to reduce heat accumulation in an abrasive article coupled to the abrasive contacting side during a robotic abrading operation (“a plurality of holes 29 which communicate the upper and lower surfaces 25, 27”) [Chilton; col. 3, lines 2-3] (“A shroud 31 encircles the backing plate 23 and is connected to a suitable commercially available vacuum source (not shown) by means of conduit 33 for removing dust particles from a work surface. By "dust particles" is meant spent abrasive particles and other particulate matter created by the grinding operation which are entrained in the air flowing through shroud and through the conduit 33 to the dust collection point.”) [Chilton; col. 3, lines 18-25]. Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the passive heat dissipation mechanism (holes 29) comprises an airflow feature (holes 29) (Figs 1 and 2). Regarding claim 4 (Original), Chilton discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the airflow feature (holes 29) comprises an aperture (holes 29) (Figs. 1-3). Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the airflow feature (holes 29) comprises a channel (elongated holes 29) extending through a portion of the backup pad (23) (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 9 (Original), Chilton discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the airflow feature (holes 29) comprises a cavity (holes 29) within the backup pad (23) through which air can flow (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the abrasive contacting side (lower surface 27) comprises an aperture (holes 29) (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the polishing pad is less than three inches in diameter (“Preferably, for a 3" disk 35, the backing plate 23 is 2.85") [Chilton; col. 3, lines 42-43]. Regarding claim 13 (Original), Chilton discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the polishing pad is less than 2.5 inches in diameter (“Preferably, for a 3" disk 35, the backing plate 23 is 2.85") [Chilton; col. 3, lines 42-43]. Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad comprises a compliant material (“The backing plate may be formed of any appropriate material which is sufficiently resilient to press an abrasive disk against a work surface and return the abrasive disk to an approximately planar condition when out of contact with the work surface.”) [Chilton; col. 3, lines 9-13]. Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Chilton discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the backup pad comprises a flexible material (“The backing plate may be formed of any appropriate material which is sufficiently resilient to press an abrasive disk against a work surface and return the abrasive disk to an approximately planar condition when out of contact with the work surface.”) [Chilton; col. 3, lines 9-13] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Dennis (US-5,956,770) . Regarding claim 18 (Original), Dennis (US-5,956,770) discloses a polishing pad, the polishing pad comprising: a compressible material (cleaning pad 24) configured to contact a worksurface (“working surface”) (“there is provided a buffing pad comprised essentially of foam with filaments of wool or other textile material interspersed throughout the foam and extending passed or exposed at the working surface of the pad”) [Krause; col. 2, lines 10-13], on a first side (surface 34), and coupled to a backup pad (felt layer 26), on a second side (opposite surface 34); and wherein the compressible material (foam 24) is asymmetric shape with respect to a diameter of the polishing pad (Fig. 1). As to the “polishing pad” being “for a robotic abrading system,” this is considered intended use and not functionally limitation structure. In other words, the intended use of the structure does not change or modify the structure . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Knowlton (US-6,062,965) . Regarding claim 18 (Original), Knowlton (US-6,062,965) discloses a polishing pad for a robotic abrading system, the polishing pad comprising: a compressible material (compressible pad 1) configured to contact a worksurface (Figs. 1 and 2 show an exposed surface capable of contacting a worksurface), on a first side, and couple to a backup pad (support member 4), on a second side (Figs. 1 and 2) (“FIG. 2 shows the other side of the backup pad and includes the support member, 4, laminated to the compressible pad, 3.”) [Knowlton; col. 3, lines 43-45]; and wherein the compressible material (compressible pad 1) is asymmetric shape with respect to a diameter of the polishing pad (Figs. 1 and 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandstetter (US-2016/0229033) in view of Naderer (DE102017108426A1) . Regarding claim 30 (Original), Brandstetter (US-2016/0229033) discloses a method of reducing heat accumulation during an abrading operation, the method comprising: contacting a worksurface with an abrasive article (abrasive flaps 14), wherein the abrasive article (abrasive flaps 14) is coupled to a backup pad (backing plate 12); driving rotation of the abrasive article (abrasive flaps 14) against the worksurface (“during rotation of the grinding wheel,” wherein grinding means to wear down, polish, or sharpen by friction) [Brandstetter; paragraph 0007], wherein driving rotation induces airflow through the backup pad (backing plate 12) (“As shown by the arrows in FIGS. 1 to 3, the air of the environment is drawn through the rotation of the grinding wheel 10 along the deflection wall 32 into each slot 26 where it is guided against the baffle surface 30 to abut the inner side of the abrasive flaps 14.”) [Brandstetter; paragraph 0025], wherein the induced airflow dissipates heat from the abrasive article (“Here the air absorbs the heat of the flaps 14 and is finally deviated outside in a radial sense (see arrows a).”) [Brandstetter; paragraph 0025]; but fails to disclose wherein the backup pad (backing plate 12) is coupled to a robotic tool that automatically conducts a sequence of abrasive operations. However, Naderer (DE102017108426A1) teaches wherein a grinding tool is secured to a robot (Fig. 1) that automatically conducts a sequence of abrasive operations (“In robotic grinders, a grinding tool (e.g., an electrically operated grinding wheel grinding machine) is guided by a manipulator, such as an industrial robot.”) [Naderer Translation; Page 2, “Background,” First Paragraph] (“In order to achieve a good result in robot-assisted grinding, control of the process force (grinding force) is necessary in many applications, which is often difficult to achieve with conventional industrial robots with sufficient accuracy.”) [Naderer Translation; Page 2, “Background,” First Paragraph] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6,368,199, US-5,609,516, and US-4,235,052 are pertinent to claim 1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOEL DILLON CRANDALL whose telephone number is (571)270-5947. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30 - 5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Monica Carter can be reached at 571-270-5947. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/714,659 Page 14 Art Unit: 3723