Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the containers” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, claim 1 from which claim 5 depends only recites a single container.
Claim 7 recites “the containers” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, claim 1 from which claim 7 depends only recites a single container.
Claim 8 recites “the containers” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, claim 1 from which claim 8 depends only recites a single container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0311083 to Espy et al. (cited by applicant)
Espy et al. teaches a sample handling system 110 for handling a plurality of samples. The sample handling system 110 can comprise a plurality of sample holders 112. Each sample holder 114 can be configured for receiving a sample container 116. Further, the sample handling system 110 can comprise at least one sample transport device 118 and at least one monitoring system 120. The sample handling system can further comprise at least one control unit 121, in particular, a centralized control unit 122. [0105]
Espy et al. teaches that the sample container 116 may comprise at least one identifier 126, wherein the identifier 126 may identify the sample comprised by the sample container 116. As an example, the identifier 126 may be an optical identifier, such as a barcode 128 and/or a 2D-barcode such as a QR-code. As another example, the identifier 126 may also comprise an electronic identifier, such as a RFID or NFC tag. [0106]
Espy et al. teaches that the sample transport device 118 can be configured for moving the plurality of sample holders 112 in at least one direction, as indicated in FIG. 1 by the arrows pointing in the at least one direction of motion and that the sample transport device 118 may comprise a multilane transport system having a plurality of transport elements. For example, the transport device 118 may comprise a plurality of parallel transport elements. Thus, the sample transport device 118 may be configured for moving each of the sample holders 114 individually, specifically, independently from each other. [0107]
As shown in Fig. 1 the sample holders 114 and sample containers 116 are moved in different lanes that are parallel to each other by the parallel transport elements taught in paragraph [0107], thus reading on a conveyance unit including a plurality of conveyance lanes disposed in parallel and configured to convey the holder.
Espy et al. further teaches a monitoring system 120 that can comprise at least one camera module 130 and at least one processor 132, wherein the processor 132 comprised by the monitoring system 120 is not visible in FIG. 1. The camera module 130 can be configured for continuously capturing images of at least a part of the sample transport device 118. The camera module 130 may have the part of the sample transport device 118 in a field of view 134. [0108]
Espy et al. teaches a monitoring system that can comprise at least one camera module ([0006]) which may be at least one camera. [0033]. Images captured by the camera can be processed for determining the at least one item of information about the sample transport device and/or the sample container and/or the sample from the captured image. [0054].
Espy et al. teaches that the monitoring system may be connected with the control unit and may ask for turning action for the loaded sample holders. In this case, the sample may turn into a position at which the barcode or ID can be faced towards the camera. Using standard barcode reading functions, the camera module can read the ID of the sample. [0061]
Espy et al. shows a camera 130 in Fig. 1 that is positioned at an upper side of the sample transport device 118. [0109]
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Epsy et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1.
Therefore, Epsy et al. anticipates claim 1.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above Epsy et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 5 recites that the information reading unit constantly reads the sample identifier and reads the sample identifiers of the containers conveyed at different timings in the plurality of conveyance lanes.
As shown in Fig. 1, the camera 130 captures images of multiple containers 116 as they individually move along the sample transport device.
Therefore, Epsy et al. anticipates claim 5.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Epsy et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites a control unit configured to control conveyance of the holder and an operation of the information reading unit, and determine, based on a range in which the sample identifier is read in data acquired by the information reading unit, the conveyance lane through which the corresponding container is being conveyed.
Espy et al. teaches a control unit (control unit 122) configured to control (i.e., "control the functionality") conveyance of the holder (sample holder 114) and an operation of the information reading unit (monitoring system 120, camera 130) (see para [0059], [0105], [0114]; Fig. 1).
Espy et al. further teaches that "By stitching the images 170 over time and distance, long-distance tracking may be possible by combining the images captured by the camera module 130 and further at least one space and time information, the sample ID and at least one route planning information of each sample. The image stitching for a complete map of the track of a sample 172 may be performed by the cloud server 138" (see para [0123]).
This manner of mapping and tracking samples with the ID and route planning information corresponds to, and reads on to, applicant’s claim limitation of a control unit 122 configured to determine, based on a range (i.e., distance) in which the sample identifier (sample ID) is read in data (i.e., images) acquired by the information reading unit (camera 130), the conveyance lane (track) which the corresponding container (sample/sample holder 114) is being conveyed.
Therefore Espy et al. anticipates claim 6.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Epsy et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites a control unit configured to control conveyance of the holder and an operation of the information reading unit, and convey a next one of the containers to the reading range after the container as a reading target is conveyed from the reading range.
As noted above, Espy et al. teaches a control unit (control unit 122) configured to control (i.e., "control the functionality") conveyance of the holder (sample holder 114) and an operation of the information reading unit (monitoring system 120, camera 130) (see para [0059], [0105], [0114]; Fig. 1).
In addition, Espy et al. teaches that the sample handling system may specifically be configured for automatically handling samples, specifically, for handling samples individually, such as one sample after another and/or a plurality of samples simultaneously. ( see para [0023]).
Thus, in addition to providing a control unit that is configured to control conveyance of the holder and an operation of the information reading unit, Espy et al. teaches that a next one of the containers can be conveyed to the reading range after the container as a reading target is conveyed from the reading range, based on Espy et al. teaching handling samples individually, such as one sample after another.
Therefore, Espy et al. renders claim 7 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 8, as noted above Espy et al. anticipates claim 1 from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 8 recites a control unit configured to control conveyance of the holder and an operation of the information reading unit, and convey a post-conveyance one of the containers to a reading start position when reading of the sample identifier of the container as a reading target is completed and the container is not at the reading start position.
As noted above, Espy et al. teaches a control unit (control unit 122) configured to control (i.e., "control the functionality") conveyance of the holder (sample holder 114) and an operation of the information reading unit (monitoring system 120, camera 130) (see para [0059], [0105], [0114]; Fig. 1).
In addition, Espy et al. teaches that the sample handling system may specifically be configured for automatically handling samples, specifically, for handling samples individually, such as one sample after another and/or a plurality of samples simultaneously. ( see para [0023]).
Thus, in addition to providing a control unit that is configured to control conveyance of the holder and an operation of the information reading unit, Espy et al. teaches that a post-conveyance one of the containers can be conveyed to a reading start position when reading of the sample identifier of the container as a reading target is completed and the container is not at the reading start position based on Espy et al. teaching handling samples individually, such as one sample after another
Therefore, Espy et al. renders claim 8 obvious.
2. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Espy et al.
As noted above, Espy et al. teaches a sample handling system 110 for handling a plurality of samples. The sample handling system 110 can comprise a plurality of sample holders 112. Each sample holder 114 can be configured for receiving a sample container 116. Further, the sample handling system 110 can comprise at least one sample transport device 118 and at least one monitoring system 120. The sample handling system can further comprise at least one control unit 121, in particular, a centralized control unit 122. [0105]
Espy et al. teaches that the sample container 116 may comprise at least one identifier 126, wherein the identifier 126 may identify the sample comprised by the sample container 116. As an example, the identifier 126 may be an optical identifier, such as a barcode 128 and/or a 2D-barcode such as a QR-code. As another example, the identifier 126 may also comprise an electronic identifier, such as a RFID or NFC tag. [0106]
Espy et al. teaches that the sample transport device 118 can be configured for moving the plurality of sample holders 112 in at least one direction, as indicated in FIG. 1 by the arrows pointing in the at least one direction of motion and that the sample transport device 118 may comprise a multilane transport system having a plurality of transport elements. For example, the transport device 118 may comprise a plurality of parallel transport elements. Thus, the sample transport device 118 may be configured for moving each of the sample holders 114 individually, specifically, independently from each other. [0107]
As shown in Fig. 1 the sample holders 114 and sample containers 116 are moved in different lanes that are parallel to each other by the parallel transport elements taught in paragraph [0107], thus reading on a conveyance unit including a plurality of conveyance lanes disposed in parallel and configured to convey the holder.
Espy et al. further teaches a monitoring system 120 that can comprise at least one camera module 130 and at least one processor 132, wherein the processor 132 comprised by the monitoring system 120 is not visible in FIG. 1. The camera module 130 can be configured for continuously capturing images of at least a part of the sample transport device 118. The camera module 130 may have the part of the sample transport device 118 in a field of view 134. [0108]
Espy et al. teaches a monitoring system that can comprise at least one camera module ([0006]) which may be at least one camera. [0033]. Images captured by the camera can be processed for determining the at least one item of information about the sample transport device and/or the sample container and/or the sample from the captured image. [0054].
Espy et al. teaches that the monitoring system may be connected with the control unit and may ask for turning action for the loaded sample holders. In this case, the sample may turn into a position at which the barcode or ID can be faced towards the camera. Using standard barcode reading functions, the camera module can read the ID of the sample. [0061]
Espy et al. shows a camera 130 in Fig. 1 that is positioned at an upper side of the sample transport device 118. [0109]
I.) Regarding applicants claim 9, as noted above Espy et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
Therefore, Espy et al anticipates claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a reading prevention unit configured to prevent the information reading unit from reading the sample identifier of the container as a next reading target of claim 2 in conjunction with the sample conveyance device of claim 1.
Claims 3 and 4 depend form claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/072270 to Benedetti et al. teaches a multilane laboratory transport system.
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798