DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sillankorva et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190394174 A1 (hereinafter Sillankorva).
Regarding Claim 1, Sillankorva discloses a method performed by a lightweight machine-to-machine (LwM2M) server (e.g., ¶ [0013] method for maintaining registration of a client device with a Lightweight Machine-to-Machine (LwM2M) server), the method comprising: receiving, from a LwM2M client registered with the LwM2M server (e.g., ¶ [0052] the server 104 communicates with the registration directory 110 to maintain a register of each client device 102 which has registered with the server 104. The server 104 may be configured to receive registrations from client devices that are, continuously or non-continuously, operationally connected to the server 104), an indication of a time period during which the LwM2M client will be in a sleep state (e.g., ¶ [0040] client device may provide the server with information to maintain the registration, such as a registration lifetime. The registration lifetime defines the duration of the registration with the server, and is defined by the client device [i.e., suggesting an association to the length of the registration to the length that device will be in sleep state]; e.g., ¶ [0043] the present techniques use the fact that a new secure communication session is established between the client device and server as a trigger to maintain the registration. Thus, the present techniques reduce the number of messages that are exchanged for the update operation. The present techniques may reduce the amount of time a client device is in an “awake mode”, because the client device may switch into a low power or “sleep mode” as soon as the secure communication session is established, as no further messages need to be sent or received by the client device. The amount of processing performed by the client device (and therefore, the amount of memory and power used by the client device) may also be reduced by reducing the number of messages that are exchanged for the update operation) in which one or more hardware or software components of a LwM2M device implementing the LwM2M client are deactivated (e.g., ¶ [0029] Some client devices may switch into a sleep mode to conserve power when they do not need to connect to or communicate with other devices/machines/servers in the network); and during the time period: maintaining a registration of the LwM2M client with the LwM2M server (e.g., ¶ [0042] consume resources (e.g. power, memory, processing power, etc.) of constrained resource client devices. Therefore, the present techniques provide a simplified and more efficient way to maintain registration of a client device with a server; e.g., ¶ [0073] a method for maintaining registration of a client device 102 with a server 104, the method performed by the client device 102 comprising: establishing a secure communication session with the server 104 comprising sending a client hello message to the server and providing a client device certificate to the server, the client device certificate comprising at least a client device identifier; transmitting, following the establishment of the secure communication session, a Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) registration message to the server, the CoAP registration message comprising the client device identifier and a lifetime of the registration [i.e., time period for registration]; receiving a CoAP registration confirmation message from the server confirming that the client device has been added to a client registration directory; sending, before expiry of the lifetime, a further client hello message to the server to maintain registration of the client device within the directory; e.g., ¶ [0075] ); and refraining from transmitting to the LwM2M client (e.g., ¶ [0043] present techniques may reduce the amount of time a client device is in an “awake mode”, because the client device may switch into a low power or “sleep mode” as soon as the secure communication session is established, as no further messages need to be sent or received by the client device).
Regarding Claim 2, Sillankorva discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Sillankorva discloses wherein the indication comprises an indication of an amount of time until the LwM2M client enters the sleep state (e.g., ¶ [0043] client simply wishes to inform the server that it is still “alive” or operational, and still wishes to communicate with the server… The present techniques may reduce the amount of time a client device is in an “awake mode”, because the client device may switch into a low power or “sleep mode” as soon as the secure communication session is established, as no further messages need to be sent or received by the client device [as had been noted, examiner interprets the registration lifetime (e.g., ¶ [0040]) defining the duration of the registration with the server, while going to sleep mode, suggests an association of the length of the registration to the length that device will be in sleep state]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sillankorva discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Sillankorva discloses wherein the indication comprises an indication of one or more conditions upon fulfilment of which the LwM2M client will enter the sleep state (e.g., ¶ [0040] client device may also provide the server with information to maintain the registration, such as a registration lifetime. The registration lifetime defines the duration of the registration with the server, and is defined by the client device [i.e., defining the duration of the registration with the server, while going to sleep mode, suggests an association of the length of the registration to the length that device will be in sleep state]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sillankorva discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 6.
Sillankorva discloses wherein the one or more conditions comprise one or more events that cause the LwM2M client to enter the sleep state, and wherein the indication of one or more conditions comprises an indication of a duration of the time period in which the LwM2M client will be in the sleep state (e.g., ¶ [0040] client device may also provide the server with information to maintain the registration, such as a registration lifetime. The registration lifetime defines the duration of the registration with the server, and is defined by the client device [i.e., defining the duration of the registration with the server, while going to sleep mode, suggests an association of the length of the registration to the length that device will be in sleep state]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sillankorva discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Sillankorva discloses wherein the LwM2M server maintains all registration information for the LwM2M client during the time period (e.g., ¶ [0041] server with which the client device is registered is able to locate the client device within the client device registration directory).
Regarding Claim 11, Sillankorva discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Sillankorva discloses wherein the LwM2M server is configured to transfer, to the LwM2M client, a data package split into a plurality of data blocks, the method further comprising: transmitting one or more first transmissions to the LwM2M client, each of the first transmissions comprising one or more first data blocks of the plurality of data blocks; upon the LwM2M client entering the sleep state, storing an indication of one or more second data blocks of the plurality of data blocks which are yet to be transmitted to the LwM2M client; and upon conclusion of the time period, transmitting one or more second transmissions to the LwM2M client, each of the second transmissions comprising one or more of the one or more second data blocks (e.g., ¶ [0063] FIG. 3 shows a schematic diagram of steps to register a client device with a server. After a secure communication session has been established between client device 102 and server 104 (i.e. following step S214 of FIG. 2), client device 102 sends a CoAP registration message to the server… which indicates that the client device name (i.e. endpoint name) is “node1”, the server must queue all requests to the client device, and that the lifetime of the registration is 6000 seconds. Other parameters may be included in the CoAP registration message, such as an indication of the resources of the client device (e.g. that it measures temperature).
Regarding Claim 28, Sillankorva discloses an LwM2M server comprising processing circuitry and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions (e.g., ¶ [0082] The server 104 may comprise: at least one processor coupled to communication circuitry for: establishing a secure communication session with a client device 102) which, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the LwM2M server to perform operations that are similar to those performed by the server in the method of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 17, 19, 22-25 and 30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 14, Sillankorva discloses a method performed by a lightweight machine-to-machine (LwM2M) device implementing a LwM2M client (e.g., ¶ [0013] In a first aspect of present techniques, there is provided a method for maintaining registration of a client device with a Lightweight Machine-to-Machine (LwM2M) server, the method performed by the client device), the method comprising: transmitting, to a LwM2M server with which the LwM2M client is registered, an indication of a time period during which the LwM2M client will enter a sleep state ((e.g., ¶ [0040] client device may provide the server with information to maintain the registration, such as a registration lifetime. The registration lifetime defines the duration of the registration with the server, and is defined by the client device [i.e., suggesting an association to the length of the registration to the length that device will be in sleep state]; e.g. ¶ [0043] the client device may switch into a low power or “sleep mode” as soon as the secure communication session is established, as no further messages need to be sent or received by the client device. The amount of processing performed by the client device (and therefore, the amount of memory and power used by the client device) may also be reduced by reducing the number of messages that are exchanged for the update operation) in which one or more hardware or software components of the LwM2M device are deactivated (e.g., ¶ [0029] Some client devices may switch into a sleep mode to conserve power when they do not need to connect to or communicate with other devices/machines/servers in the network).
Sillankorva discloses (e.g., ¶ [0075]) the client device switching the device into a sleep mode or a low power mode after receiving the CoAP registration confirmation message from the server. The client may switch the device into an awake mode prior to expiry of the registration lifetime, so that the client device can request the establishment of a secure communication session with server 104 before expiry of the lifetime to maintain its registration with the server Thus, the method to maintain a registration may comprise: entering an awake mode prior to expiry of the lifetime; and re-establishing a secure communication session with the server 104 when sending the further client hello message.
The prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation after conclusion of the time, transmitting a message to or receiving a message from the LwM2M server without first performing a registration operation with the LwM2M server.
Claims 17, 19 and 22-25, directly or indirectly dependent from claim 14, are also allowed.
Claim 30, the claim is directed to an LwM2M device to perform operations that are similar to those performed by the server in the method of claim 14. Similarly, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation after conclusion of the time period: transmit a message to or receiving a message from the LwM2M server without first performing a registration operation with the LwM2M server.
Claims 3-5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, dependent from claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation configuring the LwM2M client to transmit the indication of the time period upon the amount of time until the LwM2M client enters the sleep state reaching or falling below a threshold value.
Regarding Claim 4, dependent from claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation upon conclusion of the time period, receiving a notification from the LwM2M client that the LwM2M client has transitioned from the sleep state to an active state.
Claim 5, dependent from claim 4, is also objected.
Regarding Claim 7, dependent from claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the one or more conditions comprise a temporal pattern according to which the LwM2M client will be in the sleep state.
Claim 8, dependent from claim 7, is also objected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471