DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old/existing is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings of figures 1-2 are objected to because legibility of texts/labels lack sufficient clarity and contrast. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with CFR 1.121 (d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121 (d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites phrases “at least one pair of adjacent grooves” multiple times in last paragraph. Examiner suggests amending the phrases to recite “at least one first pair of adjacent grooves” and “at least one second pair of adjacent grooves” to restore clarity.
Claim 7 recites phrases “leaving a mounting space between at least one pair of adjacent grooves” multiple times in paragraph 3. Examiner suggests amending the phrases to recite “leaving a first mounting space between at least one first pair of adjacent grooves” and “leaving a second mounting space between at least one second pair of adjacent grooves” to restore clarity.
Claim 4 recites a phrase “lower surface of the magnetic reluctance bar” in the last line. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “lower surface of each magnetic reluctance bar” or “lower surface of the first, second and third magnetic reluctance bar” to restore clarity.
Claim 5 recites a phrase “external magnetic field input” in last line. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “the magnetic field input” or “corresponding external magnetic field input” to restore clarity.
Claim 6 recites a phrase “corresponding to the magnetic reluctance bar” in last line. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “corresponding to each magnetic reluctance bar” or “corresponding to the first, second and third magnetic reluctance bar” to restore clarity.
Claim 10 recites a phrase “each magnetic reluctance bar” in paragraph 3. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “magnetic reluctance bars” to restore clarity.
Claim 10 recites a phrase “the magnetic sensing mechanisms” in last line. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “the third magnetic sensing mechanisms” to restore antecedent clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 20090027048; hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses in figure(s) 1-64 a triaxial magnetic sensor, wherein the triaxial magnetic sensor comprises:
a substrate (11; figs. 1), wherein a surface of the substrate is partially concave to form at least two grooves (43,44);
at least one first magnetic sensing mechanism, configured to detect a magnetic field in a first direction (para. 184 - X-axis GMR elements 21 to 24);
at least one second magnetic sensing mechanism, configured to detect a magnetic field in a second direction (para. 184 - Y-axis GMR elements 31 to 34); and
at least two third magnetic sensing mechanisms, configured to detect a magnetic field in a third direction (para. 184 - Z-axis GMR elements 41 to 44), wherein
the first direction and the second direction can form a plane (XY), the plane corresponds to the surface of the substrate, and the third direction intersects with the surface of the substrate; the grooves are all arranged along the first direction (X), or along the second direction, or partly along the first direction and partly along the second direction; the first magnetic sensing mechanism and the second magnetic sensing mechanism are both arranged on the surface of the substrate, the third magnetic sensing mechanisms are arranged inside the grooves, and each of the third magnetic sensing mechanisms corresponds to one of the grooves (para. 189 - each of the GMR bars of the Z-axis GMR elements 41 to 44 is arranged in such a way that one GMR bar (for example, 43a, 43b, 43c, 43d, or 44a, 44b, 44c, 44d, and the like (refer to FIG. 1B)) per tilted surface (so as to give a tilted angle of approximately 45 degrees) is formed on each tilted surface of a plurality of projections (ledge portions) 15 formed on the substrate 11 and the cross section of which is in a trapezoidal shape, with the longitudinal direction being vertical to the X-axis and parallel to the Y-axis); and in the grooves arranged along the first direction, at least one pair of adjacent grooves are separated by at least one first magnetic sensing mechanism (21…24; para. 189 - each of the GMR bars (21a, 21b, 21c, 21d, etc.) of the X-axis GMR elements 21 to 24 is formed on a flat surface parallel to the surface of a substrate 11), and/or in the grooves arranged along the second direction, at least one pair of adjacent grooves are separated by at least one second magnetic sensing mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses in figure(s) 1-64 the triaxial magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic sensing mechanism comprises at least one first magnetic reluctance bar, with each first magnetic reluctance bar extending along the second direction; the second magnetic sensing mechanism comprises at least one second magnetic reluctance bar, with each second magnetic reluctance bar extending along the first direction (abs. - magnetoresistive effect elements of the X-axis sensor and those of the Y-axis sensor are formed on a flat surface parallel to the flat surface of the substrate. The sensitivity direction of magnetization is a direction vertical to the longitudinal direction of each of the magnetoresistive effect element bars, and magnetoresistive effect elements of the X-axis sensor and those of the Y-axis sensor are formed in such a way that the magnetization directions are orthogonal to each other); each of the third magnetic sensing mechanisms comprises at least one third magnetic reluctance bar, with each third magnetic reluctance bar arranged on a side wall of a corresponding groove; and third magnetic reluctance bars all extend along the first direction or extend along the second direction, or partly extend along the first direction and partly extend along the second direction (abs. - magnetoresistive effect elements of the Z-axis sensor are formed on a tilted surface of the projection projected from the flat surface of the substrate in such a way that the magnetization direction is inside the tilted surface. The Z-axis sensor is provided in such a way that the sensitivity direction is vertical to the longitudinal direction of the magnetoresistive effect element bar).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses in figure(s) 1-64 a manufacturing process for a triaxial magnetic sensor, wherein the manufacturing process comprises:
arranging a silicon-based substrate or a substrate with circuits (11; figs. 1);
forming at least two grooves (43,44) on a surface of the substrate, wherein a set angle (para. 189 - tilted angle of approximately 45 degrees) is provided between a side wall of the grooves and the surface of the substrate;
arranging the grooves all along a first direction (X), or all along a second direction, or partly along the first direction and partly along the second direction;
leaving a mounting space (at and between ledges 15) between at least one pair of adjacent grooves in the grooves arranged along the first direction, and/or leaving a mounting space between at least one pair of adjacent grooves in the grooves arranged along the second direction; and
forming a plane (XY) by the first direction and the second direction, with the plane corresponding to the surface of the substrate;
forming an insulating layer on surfaces of the substrate and the grooves (para. 211 - an interlayer insulation film 11b made up of, for example, silicon oxide film or silicon nitride film is coated on a substrate); and
forming a first magnetic sensing mechanism (para. 184 - X-axis GMR elements 21 to 24) and a second magnetic sensing mechanism (para. 184 - Y-axis GMR elements 31 to 34) on a surface of the insulating layer of the substrate;
forming third magnetic sensing mechanisms (para. 184 - Z-axis GMR elements 41 to 44) on a surface of the insulating layer of the grooves; and
arranging at least one first magnetic sensing mechanism in the mounting space along the first direction (para. 184 - X-axis GMR elements 21 to 24) and/or arranging at least one second magnetic sensing mechanism in the mounting space along the second direction (para. 184 - Y-axis GMR elements 31 to 34), wherein the first magnetic sensing mechanism, the second magnetic sensing mechanism, and the third magnetic sensing mechanisms all comprise magnetic materials (para. 217 - GMR multilayer film 1 in is constituted with a free layer (free layer, free magnetization layer) F, a conductive spacer layer S made with Cu having the thickness of 2.4 nm (24 .ANG.), a pin layer (bonded layer, fixed magnetization layer) P and a capping layer C made with titanium (Ti) or tantalum (Ta) having the thickness of 2.5 nm (25 .ANG.), which are laminated sequentially on the substrate 11; figs. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Sato discloses in figure(s) 1-64 the manufacturing process according to claim 7, wherein the manufacturing process further comprises: forming a dielectric layer on a surface of the magnetic materials of the first magnetic sensing mechanism, the second magnetic sensing mechanism, and the third magnetic sensing mechanisms; forming via holes in the dielectric layer on the surface of the magnetic materials; forming a continuous electrode layer on the surface of the substrate and the side wall of the grooves (para. 213 - resist film 11j is cut in such a pattern to create openings at the via portion and the pad portion and also cut in such a pattern to provide projections (ledge portions) 15 for arranging Z-axis GMR elements 41, 42, 43 and 44); and patterning the electrode layer to form working electrodes on the surface of the magnetic materials (para. 188 - magnet films 21e - 21i which will act as a terminal are connected to these ends; terminals 25-28; figs. 2,4), and the via holes formed in the dielectric layer on the surface of the magnetic materials allow the magnetic materials to contact the subsequently formed working electrodes (para. 211 - interlayer insulation film 11b at the via portion and the pad portion is removed by etching to create openings 11c and 11d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Peczalski et al. (US 20050270020).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the triaxial magnetic sensor according to claim 2,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge is provided between the first magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently, and/or a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge is provided between the second magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently.
However, Peczalski teaches in figure(s) 1-10 wherein a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge (Wheatstone bridge MRs arrangement of 12,14,16,18; fig. 1) is provided between the first magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently, and/or a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge is provided between the second magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having wherein a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge is provided between the first magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently, and/or a pseudo-magnetic reluctance bar not connected to a Wheatstone bridge is provided between the second magnetic reluctance bar and the third magnetic reluctance bar that are arranged adjacently as taught by Peczalski in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by "Multiple resistors made of Permalloy may be coupled together to form an electrical circuit. The electrical circuit could take the form of a bridge configuration, such as a Wheatstone bridge configuration" (para. 8 of Peczalski).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of MATHER et al. (US 20180031647).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the triaxial magnetic sensor according to claim 2,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein set/reset coils are arranged above or/and below each magnetic reluctance bar so as to generate a magnetic field along an axis of easy magnetization; and working electrodes at a set angle to the magnetic reluctance bar are distributed on an upper surface or/and a lower surface of the magnetic reluctance bar.
However, MATHER teaches in figure(s) 1-14 wherein set/reset coils are arranged above or/and below each magnetic reluctance bar so as to generate a magnetic field along an axis of easy magnetization; and working electrodes at a set angle to the magnetic reluctance bar are distributed on an upper surface or/and a lower surface of the magnetic reluctance bar (para. 45 - a reset line can be formed integral to an AMR device either as a series of planar coils or a number of coil segments that enclose the short axis of the ferromagnetic sense elements from above and below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having wherein set/reset coils are arranged above or/and below each magnetic reluctance bar so as to generate a magnetic field along an axis of easy magnetization; and working electrodes at a set angle to the magnetic reluctance bar are distributed on an upper surface or/and a lower surface of the magnetic reluctance bar as taught by MATHER in order to provide "a magnetic sensor utilizing magnetization reset for sense axis selection may be provided" (para. 19 of MATHER).
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the triaxial magnetic sensor according to claim 2,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein each magnetic sensing mechanism is combined separately to form a Wheatstone bridge, with each bridge arm of each Wheatstone bridge composed of at least one magnetic reluctance bar; and several magnetic reluctance bars with a same induction change in response to external magnetic fields form one bridge arm of the Wheatstone bridge, and one Wheatstone bridge comprises two sets of bridge arms with increasing resistance values with external magnetic field input and two sets of bridge arms with decreasing resistance values with external magnetic field input.
However, MATHER teaches in figure(s) 1-14 wherein each magnetic sensing mechanism is combined separately to form a Wheatstone bridge, with each bridge arm of each Wheatstone bridge composed of at least one magnetic reluctance bar (para. 27 - magnetic field component directed along a single axis can be determined by arranging a number of sense elements in a half- or full-Wheatstone bridge configuration; fig. 1); and several magnetic reluctance bars with a same induction change in response to external magnetic fields form one bridge arm of the Wheatstone bridge, and one Wheatstone bridge comprises two sets of bridge arms with increasing resistance values with external magnetic field input and two sets of bridge arms with decreasing resistance values with external magnetic field input (para. 28 - reversed configuration (e.g., one sense element type in one configuration, the other along the opposing magnetization direction) can provide Z-axis output only. A second bridge can be oriented orthogonally in-plane and provides Y and Z signals, if a second set of Z-axis signals is desired).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having wherein each magnetic sensing mechanism is combined separately to form a Wheatstone bridge, with each bridge arm of each Wheatstone bridge composed of at least one magnetic reluctance bar; and several magnetic reluctance bars with a same induction change in response to external magnetic fields form one bridge arm of the Wheatstone bridge, and one Wheatstone bridge comprises two sets of bridge arms with increasing resistance values with external magnetic field input and two sets of bridge arms with decreasing resistance values with external magnetic field input as taught by MATHER in order to provide "Multiple resistors made of Permalloy may be coupled together to form an electrical circuit. The electrical circuit could take the form of a bridge configuration, such as a Wheatstone bridge configuration." (para. 8 of MATHER).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the triaxial magnetic sensor according to claim 2,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein in a local area, self-test coils are arranged based on a detection magnetic field of the magnetic reluctance bar, wherein the self-test coils are configured to generate a magnetic field in a detection direction corresponding to the magnetic reluctance bar.
However, MATHER teaches in figure(s) 1-14 wherein in a local area, self-test coils are arranged based on a detection magnetic field of the magnetic reluctance bar, wherein the self-test coils are configured to generate a magnetic field in a detection direction corresponding to the magnetic reluctance bar (self-test lines 119, 122; fig. 13; para. 23 - buried conductive lines can be formed both underneath and above the ferromagnetic material to apply fields in various orientations, along the ferromagnetic element short axis to function as an electrical self test).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having wherein in a local area, self-test coils are arranged based on a detection magnetic field of the magnetic reluctance bar, wherein the self-test coils are configured to generate a magnetic field in a detection direction corresponding to the magnetic reluctance bar as taught by MATHER in order to provide "a magnetic sensor utilizing magnetization reset for sense axis selection may be provided" (para. 19 of MATHER).
Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the manufacturing process according to claim 8,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein the manufacturing process further comprises:
arranging lead-out terminals at both ends of each magnetic reluctance bar on the surface of the substrate and within the grooves;
arranging self-test coils at a bottom of the grooves, below the substrate, and below the magnetic sensing mechanisms; and
arranging set coils or/and reset coils at a top of the grooves, above the substrate, and above the magnetic sensing mechanisms.
However, MATHER teaches in figure(s) 1-14 arranging lead-out terminals at both ends of each magnetic reluctance bar on the surface of the substrate and within the grooves (terminals of 105-109; figs. 1-3);
arranging self-test coils at a bottom of the grooves, below the substrate, and below the magnetic sensing mechanisms (119,122; para. 23 - buried conductive lines can be formed both underneath and above the ferromagnetic material to apply fields along the ferromagnetic element short axis to function as an electrical self test); and
arranging set coils or/and reset coils at a top of the grooves, above the substrate, and above the magnetic sensing mechanisms (118 figs. 12-13; para. 37-38 - one or more channels formed in a dielectric 120, and includes a reset line 118).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having arranging lead-out terminals at both ends of each magnetic reluctance bar on the surface of the substrate and within the grooves; arranging self-test coils at a bottom of the grooves, below the substrate, and below the magnetic sensing mechanisms; and
arranging set coils or/and reset coils at a top of the grooves, above the substrate, and above the magnetic sensing mechanisms as taught by MATHER in order to provide "magnetic sensor can comprise one or more sense elements configured in a half- or full-Wheatstone bridge configuration, configured to sense, among other things, one or more components of a magnetic field in one or more specified directions" (para. 19 of MATHER).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of CHEN et al. (US 20140176132).
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches in figure(s) 1-64 the manufacturing process according to claim 7,
Sato does not teach explicitly wherein the magnetic materials are selected from any one of an anisotropic magnetoresistive material, a giant magnetoresistive material, and a tunnel magnetoresistive material, wherein when forming the magnetic materials, a magnetic field is simultaneously applied to the substrate for annealing so as to induce a magnetization direction of the magnetic materials and enhance magnetic properties of the magnetic materials.
However, CHEN teaches in figure(s) 1-10 wherein the magnetic materials are selected from any one of an anisotropic magnetoresistive material, a giant magnetoresistive material, and a tunnel magnetoresistive material (para. 4 - Magneto-resistive devices, including anisotropic magneto-resistor (AMR), giant magneto-resistor (GMR), and tunneling magneto-resistor (TMR), may provide better sensitivity than Hall devices; TMR 100; fig. 1), wherein when forming the magnetic materials, a magnetic field is simultaneously applied to the substrate for annealing so as to induce a magnetization direction of the magnetic materials and enhance magnetic properties of the magnetic materials (para. 70 - A slantwise field 400, which forms a zenith angle .gamma. with the Z axis, is applied to the three-axis magnetic field sensor 450 during the annealing process. As a result, the first and second pinned directions 140 and 240 of the first and second MS-TMRs 100 and 200 are set to be substantially parallel to the bisection direction 350; figs. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato by having wherein the magnetic materials are selected from any one of an anisotropic magnetoresistive material, a giant magnetoresistive material, and a tunnel magnetoresistive material, wherein when forming the magnetic materials, a magnetic field is simultaneously applied to the substrate for annealing so as to induce a magnetization direction of the magnetic materials and enhance magnetic properties of the magnetic materials as taught by CHEN in order to provide "A magnetic sensor for sensing an external magnetic field includes first and second electrodes and first and second magnetic tunneling junctions." (abstract of CHEN).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858