Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 05/30/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
4. Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and in view of Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) teaches, A test system configured to perform wireless test on a device under test to obtain electromagnetic radiation performance (electromagnetic wave measuring apparatus 10, figure 5 paragraphs [0058]-[0064]), wherein the test system comprises a bearing platform (element 104, holder which holds an antenna 300 to be measured), a plurality of test antennas (probe antennas element 102, figure 5, paragraphs [0058]) and a motion mechanism (element 112 installing unit, figure5, paragraph [0058]); the bearing platform is configured to carry the device under test (element 104, holder which holds an antenna 300 to be measured as shown in figure 5); the test antennas have a preset angular interval relative to the bearing platform (figure 5); the motion mechanism further comprises a driving unit configured to drive the motion units to allow the test antennas to reach a plurality of sampling points (paragraphs [0022], [0039]), the sampling points are located at different angles of the bearing platform (figure 5, paragraph [0039]), an angular interval of the sampling point relative to the bearing platform being less than the preset angular interval (paragraphs [0039], [0063], [0064]);
Regarding the limitation, the motion mechanism comprises at least two motion units, each motion unit being equipped with the test antennas, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) teaches, “The motion mechanism comprises [0036] The installing unit 112 holds the probe antennas 102 on a circle having a center substantially at the holder 104 (hereinafter, simply referred to as an installation ring) with constant intervals. Alternatively, the installing unit 112 may hold the probe antennas 102 on a circular arc the center of which is positioned substantially at the holder 104”.
Nagashima et al fails to teach, at least two motion units and wherein each motion unit is equipped with at least two test antennas, the at least two test antennas of a same motion unit are moved synchronously, and the movement of different motion units can be independent of each other or be carried out simultaneously.
Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teaches, “A test system for testing multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) systems is provided. The test system may convey radio-frequency (RF) signals bidirectionally between a device under test (DUT) and at least one base station. The DUT may be placed within a test chamber during testing. An antenna mounting structure may surround the DUT. Multiple antennas may be mounted on the antenna mounting structure to transmit and receive RF signals to and from the DUT. A first group of dual-polarized antennas may be coupled to the base station through downlink circuitry. A second group of dual-polarized
antennas may be coupled to the base station through uplink circuitry. The uplink and downlink circuitry may each include a splitter/combiner, channel emulators, amplifier circuits, and switch circuitry. The channel emulators and amplifier circuits may be configured to provide desired path loss, spatial interference, and channel characteristics to model real-world wireless network transmission” (abstract).
Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) further teaches, at least two motion units (antenna mounting structures 24’ as shown in figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]) and wherein each motion unit is equipped with at least two test antennas (figures 2 and 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]), the at least two test antennas of a same motion unit are moved synchronously, and the movement of different motion units can be independent of each other or be carried out simultaneously (figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Nagashima by providing for movement of different motion units as taught by Mow et al (figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that position of the multiple antenna structures 24’ can be adjusted by using motors as desired for conducting three-dimensional tests as taught by Mow et al (paragraph [0087]).
2. (Canceled)
Regarding dependent claim 3, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Nagashima further teaches, further comprising a test instrument for sampling when the test antennas reach the sampling points (figure 5, [0037] The supplying unit 204 supplies the RF output signal to the measured antenna 300. The measuring unit 206 measures the electromagnetic wave radiated from the measured antenna 300 based on the detection signals respectively indicating the electromagnetic wave detected by the probe antennas 102, so as to obtain a distribution of the electromagnetic wave on the circle on which the probe antennas 102 are provided).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Nagashima and Mow et al are silent about, wherein a distance between adjacent test antennas is greater than half of a wavelength corresponding to a test frequency.
However this requirement of a distance between adjacent test antennas being greater than or equal to half of a wavelength corresponding to a test frequency is well known in the art, facilitating the evaluation of Antenna characteristics in the Far field region.
Evidence: Garreau et al (US 20100320996 A1) teaches, ([0008] The best known is given by the minimum distance equal to .lamda./2 between the sampling points on the minimum sphere surrounding the source, a minimum sphere of diameter D and whereof the centre coincides with the centre of the network. This corresponds to angular spacing between the measuring probes of the network equal to .lamda./D. The same applies to measurements in planar geometry, and the criterion sampling is given by the minimum distance equal to .lamda./2 between the sampling points on a plane in front of the source. This corresponds to spacing between the measuring probes of the network equal to .lamda./2).
Please also see (Gandois et al (US 2011/0121839 A1), Falck et al (US 8880002 B2), and Kyosti et al (US 20110191090 A1)) cited in the relevant prior art section.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Nagashima further teaches, wherein the motion mechanism comprises a guide rail, and the motion unit is a slider that can move along the guide rail ([0088] Antenna mounting structure 24' of FIG. 5 may be supported by support structures 120. As shown in FIG. 9, some support structures 122 may extend downwards from an upper holding structure (e.g., holding structure 120) and some support structures may extend upwards from a lower holding structure. If desired, antenna structure 24' may be lowered into place in the test chamber using only an upper holding structure (e.g., the position of each of the multiple ring structures in antenna structure 24' may be adjusted by using motors in the upper holding structure). If desired, antenna structure 50 may be raised into position using only a lower holding structure (e.g., using motors or other positioning equipment). In this type of configuration, each of the multiple ring-shaped antenna mounting structures in antenna structure 24' can be supported by the lower holding structure. Both upper and lower sets of motors or other positioning equipment may be used to adjust the positions of antennas 26 if desired. Arrangements in which antenna positioning equipment is located to the side of antennas 26 may also be used).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Nagashima further teaches, wherein the bearing platform is a one-dimensional rotating platform (figure 5).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Nagashima further teaches, wherein one of the motion units is equipped with a radio frequency switch which is connected to all of the test antennas (RF switch 208, figure 5).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test system according to claim 1.
Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teaches, wherein each of the motion units is equipped with a radio frequency switch which is connected to the test antennas in a corresponding motion unit (antenna switching circuit 220, paragraph [0096]).
Regarding independent claim 9, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) teaches, A test method for performing wireless test on a device under test to obtain electromagnetic radiation performance (electromagnetic wave measuring apparatus 10, figure 5 paragraphs [0058]-[0064]), comprising: arranging the device under test on a bearing platform (element 104, holder which holds an antenna 300 to be measured); the test antennas being arranged with a preset angular interval with respect to the bearing platform (figure 5); and driving the motion unit to allow the test antennas to reach a plurality of sampling points and sampling, the sampling points being located at different angles of the bearing platform (figure 5, paragraph [0039]), and an angular interval of the sampling point relative to the bearing platform being less than the preset angular interval (paragraphs [0039], [0063], [0064]).
Regarding the limitation dividing a plurality of test antennas into at least two groups and mounting each group thereof on a motion unit, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) teaches, “The motion mechanism comprises [0036] The installing unit 112 holds the probe antennas 102 on a circle having a center substantially at the holder 104 (hereinafter, simply referred to as an installation ring) with constant intervals. Alternatively, the installing unit 112 may hold the probe antennas 102 on a circular arc the center of which is positioned substantially at the holder 104”.
Nagashima et al fails to teach dividing a plurality of test antennas into at least two groups and mounting each group thereof on a motion unit; wherein each motion unit is equipped with at least two test antennas, the at least two test antennas of a same motion unit are moved synchronously, and the movement of different motion units can be independent of each other or be carried out simultaneously.
Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teaches, “A test system for testing multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) systems is provided. The test system may convey radio-frequency (RF) signals bidirectionally between a device under test (DUT) and at least one base station. The DUT may be placed within a test chamber during testing. An antenna mounting structure may surround the DUT. Multiple antennas may be mounted on the antenna mounting structure to transmit and receive RF signals to and from the DUT. A first group of dual-polarized antennas may be coupled to the base station through downlink circuitry. A second group of dual-polarized antennas may be coupled to the base station through uplink circuitry. The uplink and downlink circuitry may each include a splitter/combiner, channel emulators, amplifier circuits, and switch circuitry. The channel emulators and amplifier circuits may be configured to provide desired path loss, spatial interference, and channel characteristics to model real-world wireless network transmission” (abstract).
Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) further teaches, dividing a plurality of test antennas into at least two groups and mounting each group thereof on a motion unit (antenna mounting structures 24’ and antennas 26 as shown in figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]) and wherein each motion unit is equipped with at least two test antennas (figures 2 and 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]), the at least two test antennas of a same motion unit are moved synchronously, and the movement of different motion units can be independent of each other or be carried out simultaneously (figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Nagashima by providing for movement of different motion units as taught by Mow et al (figure 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that position of the multiple antenna structures 24’ can be adjusted by using motors as desired for conducting three-dimensional tests as taught by Mow et al (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Nagashima (US 2004/0155824 A1) and Mow et al (US 2012/0100813 A1) teach the test method according to claim 9.
Nagashima and Mow et al are silent about, wherein a distance between adjacent test antennas is greater than half of a wavelength corresponding to a test frequency.
However this requirement of a distance between adjacent test antennas being greater than or equal to half of a wavelength corresponding to a test frequency is well known in the art, facilitating the evaluation of Antenna characteristics in the Far field region.
Evidence: Garreau et al (US 2010/0320996 A1) teaches, ([0008] The best known is given by the minimum distance equal to .lamda./2 between the sampling points on the minimum sphere surrounding the source, a minimum sphere of diameter D and whereof the centre coincides with the centre of the network. This corresponds to angular spacing between the measuring probes of the network equal to .lamda./D. The same applies to measurements in planar geometry, and the criterion sampling is given by the minimum distance equal to .lamda./2 between the sampling points on a plane in front of the source. This corresponds to spacing between the measuring probes of the network equal to .lamda./2).
Please also see (Gandois et al (US 2011/0121839 A1), Falck et al (US 8880002 B2), and Kyosti et al (US 2011/0191090 A1)) cited in the relevant prior art section.
Closest Prior art
5. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Che, I-Fong (US 2005/0128150 A1) teaches, A 3D measuring method and an equipment for an antenna of a wireless communication product, the measuring method following steps: positioning an object to be tested on a turntable capable of rotating for 360.degree.; and driving an antenna testing and receiving device to rotate about the turntable and the object to be tested thereon to obtain a 3D measuring field type.
Duchense et al (US 2013/0187815 A1) teaches, The invention relates to a method for electromagnetic testing of an object, a method in which electromagnetic radiation is sent by a probe (2) in a determined principal aiming direction (D) towards a determined test point (40) where the object (OT) is located. The invention is defined in that the probe (2) and a support (104) for the object (OT) are moved relative to each other by a mechanical displacement device (60) according to a movement representative of a predetermined angular spread statistic relative to the principal aiming direction (D) to generate electromagnetic radiation having this predetermined angular spread statistic relative to the principal aiming direction (D) by the probe (2).
Mow et al (US 2011/0084887 A1) teaches, A test system for testing multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) systems is provided. The test system may convey signals bidirectionally between two test chambers. Each test chamber may be lined with foam to minimize electromagnetic reflections. Each test chamber may include structure three-dimensional array of test antennas. The test antennas may be mounted in a sphere using an antenna mounting structure. The antenna mounting structure may include multiple rings of different sizes. Test antennas may be embedded in the inner walls of the antenna mounting structure. There may be multiple receiving antennas located in each test chamber. One test chamber may include a device under test inside an array of test antennas and another test chamber may include base station antennas inside another array of test antennas. Signals may be conveyed between the test chambers using channel emulators.
Bartko et al (US 2018/0321292 A1) teaches, A portable anechoic chamber for testing a device under test, comprises a number of test antennas, each test antenna having at least one polarization, an antenna positioning means for positioning at least one of the test antennas in elevation direction relative to the device under test, and a device positioning means for positioning the device under test in azimuth direction.
Garreau et al (US 2010/0320996 A1) teaches, a device (10) for determining at least one characteristic of the electromagnetic radiation of an object being tested, and to a probe network (100), characterised in that it comprises a means (200) for sliding said probe network (100) on itself with a relative offset between the probe network (100) and the object being tested, that is higher than the pitch of the probe network (100) in order to carry out measurements along a plurality of relative positions of the probe network (100) and the object being tested, and to access specific regions of the object being tested; means are provided for positioning, adjusting and aligning the probe network (100) relative to the object being tested in order to move towards/come to/fit onto the object being tested, and means are provided for the mechanical scanning of the probe network around or in front of the object being tested in order to carry out measurements along spherical, cylindrical or planar shapes.
Gandois et al (US 2011/0121839 A1) teaches, a device (300) for the relative positioning of an electromagnetic probe network (100) and of an object being tested (200), wherein said device includes at least a means (301) or the relative sliding of the object being tested (200) and of the electromagnetic probe network (100), capable of moving the object being tested (200) or the probe network (100) along at least one sliding direction included in a plane of the probe network (100), and on which are provided a means (320) for the relative rotation of the object being tested (200) and of the probe network (100) about a main rotation axis perpendicular to the sliding direction(abstract). The number of measurement points needed to measure an antenna at a given frequency is directly related to the size of the radiation source and to the wavelength at the measurement frequency (.lamda.). For example, for measurements in spherical or cylindrical geometry, there are different sampling criteria to determine the number of measurement points needed along the arch, arch portion, sphere, sphere portion or cylinder portion. The most known is given by the minimum distance .lamda./2 between the sampling points on the minimum sphere surrounding the source, a minimum sphere of diameter D and whose centre coincides with the centre of the network. This corresponds to an angular spacing of .lamda./D between the measurement probes of the network. Similarly, for measurements in planar geometry, the sampling criterion is given by the minimum distance .lamda./2 between the sampling points on a plane in front of the source. This corresponds to spacing between the measuring probes of the network that is equal to .lamda./2 [0008].
Falck et al teaches, (US 88800002 B2) teaches, A simulated radio channel is shifted with respect to a plurality of antenna elements coupled with an emulator for communicating with a device under test by using different directions for the simulated radio channel in an anechoic chamber.
Kyosti et al (US 2011/0191090 A1) teaches, A testing system comprises an emulator having a simulated radio channel for communicating therethrough with the electronic device. The testing system comprises a plurality of antenna elements coupled to an emulator which forms a beam of a signal of a path of a simulated radio channel with at least two antenna elements of the plurality of antenna elements in an anechoic chamber.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 12/29/2025