Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 set forth in the amendment submitted 6/26/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 1, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 1, of the remarks, filed on 6/26/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, that “Claim 1 of the application was rejected under 35 USC 112 for using language that was considered to be indefinite. Specifically, "a step wherein first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery is requested by a processor" was said to be not clear as it was not clear what are the steps.
Claim 1 has been amended herein by deleting "a step wherein". Claim 1 has been further amended by adding "an information estimating device estimating first information". The information estimating device DEI is first described in the application on page 6, lines 6-9.
Claim 1 has also been amended by deleting "is requested by a processor and a memory of a battery computer and estimated". It is believed the deletion of this subject matter puts claim 1 more in line with the manner in which claim 1 was interpreted in the Office Action on page 8, line 20 - page 9, line 2.
It is respectfully submitted that the amendments to claim 1 discussed above overcome the basis for the rejection of the claim under 35 USC 112.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 1, of the remarks, filed on 6/26/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 3/26/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. The amended claim 1, “an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery…” is still not clear. Examiner in the Final rejection explained that the limitation, “a step wherein first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery is requested by a processor and a memory of a battery computer and estimated as a function of said current resistance state of health of each of the N cells ,….” Is unclear. Examiner did not mention that the term “a step wherein” is unclear. The limitation is unclear because claim does not recite any specific steps or how the energy is estimated from ………Amended claim 1 recites, “an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery and as a function ………”. However, claim does not recite how the first information is calculated and what steps are followed to calculate the first information and it is not clear how to calculate the current resistance state of health of each of the N cells, current capacity state of health of each of the N cells and current state of charge of each of the N cells. It is not clear from where the values are found. Therefore, the limitation is not clear. For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claims 1-10 still can be rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 1-3, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 2-3 of the remarks, filed on 6/26/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1, that, “In contrast, the Matthey reference discloses a battery management device that is concerned with managing the charging and discharging of a battery. The Matthey reference has no disclosure or suggestion of estimating information related to a current state of charge of a battery cell, a current resistance state of health of a battery cell, or a current capacity state of health of a battery cell of a multiple cell battery.
The Matthey reference has no disclosure of the consideration of information of individual cells of a N cell battery as claimed. The Matthey reference instead discloses the consideration of the battery pack in its globality or as a whole. All of the determinations disclosed in the Matthey reference use one or more models or maps that take into account information of all of the N cells and then averages this information. The Matthey reference does not consider, for its determinations, individual information from each of the N cells.
By considering information from each of the N cells, the method of the device of the application achieves a more precise determination of the total energy available in the battery. In particular, the method of the device of the application makes it possible to take into account the variations in the behavior between cells (which are due to manufacturing disparities but also to their location in the battery pack where thermal and mechanical stresses differ, including cell aging and resistance disparities and other internal disparities which make the battery management apparatus of the Matthey reference imprecise.
The battery management apparatus of the Matthey reference considers the battery pack as a whole. The Matthey reference does not disclose or suggest the method of claim 1 or the device of claim 9 and the Matthey apparatus will not be as precise.
The shortcomings of the Matthey reference are not overcome by the disclosure of the Abdel reference. The Office Action provides no reasonable (Remarks-Page 2) explanation of why the ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to rely on the disclosure of the Abdel reference to alter the Matthey battery management device to estimate information of each cell of a multicell battery regarding the current state of charge of each cell, the current resistance state of health of each cell, and the current capacity state of health of each cell for a battery management device that manages charging and discharging a battery.
For the above set forth reasons, it is respectfully submitted claim 1-10 currently pending in the application are allowable over the prior art, and a Notice of Allowance is requested (Remarks-Page 3).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 2-3, of the remarks, filed on 6/26/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 3/27/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Matthey discloses, “The current sensor 103 detects the current flowing through the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The cell controller 104 detects the voltage of each battery cell of the assembled battery 101, and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The voltage sensor 105 detects the voltage (total voltage) of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The temperature sensor 106 detects the temperature of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The relay 107 switches the connection state between the power storage system 1 and the inverter 2 according to the control of the host controller 4; Page 3 Line 29-36”. Therefore, Matthey discloses each cell in the battery system has current sensor for charge detection, voltage sensor to detect voltage, DCh, SOC and temperature. Then Matthey disclose, “FIG. 2 is an explanatory diagram of usable energy. In FIG. 2, the broken line indicated by reference numeral 700 represents an SOC-OCV curve showing the relationship between SOC and open circuit voltage (OCV) in each battery cell of the assembled battery 101. Further, the solid line indicated by reference numeral 701 represents a discharge curve when each battery cell of the assembled battery 101 is discharged from the current SOC to SOC .sub.min with a constant discharge current I .sub.C0, DCh . In FIG. 2, the current SOC is shown by a broken line 703, and the SOC .sub.min is shown by a broken line 705”. Therefore, Matthey discloses to determine each cell values and then assembled battery values. Claim recites, “estimated as a function of said current resistance state of health of each of the N cells, current capacity state of health of each of the N cells and current state of charge of each of the N cells, and of a time interval during which said cellular battery is allowed to discharge with a chosen discharge current and at a reference temperature”. Claim does not recite any specific formula or process to determine each cell values and then determine t5he estimated energy. Claim only recites that the value is a function of each of the N cells. Matthey also discloses each cell values in Figure 2 and then Matthey estimates the total energy of the assembled battery using those values. As claim does not recite any specific steps or any specific formula which shows that cell values are used to determine the energy, therefore for the broadest reasonable interpretation Matthey can still be applied to reject the claim limitation. Therefore, applicant’s argument the battery management apparatus of the Matthey reference considers the battery pack as a whole is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument, “By considering information from each of the N cells, the method of the device of the application achieves a more precise determination of the total energy available in the battery.” Is not persuasive. The limitation is not recited in the claim and therefore is not considered. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 3/27/2026 is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s argument regarding reference Abdel is not persuasive. Matthey teaches first information is estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge. However, Matthey does not teach current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells. Abdel is introduced to estimate the states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells. Abdel teaches, “methods and devices such as modular management systems, methods and devices for monitoring, balancing and/or protecting of a pack of energy storage cells such as battery cells and for estimating a state of a cell or cells such as a State-of-Health (SoH) and/or State-of-Charge (SoC) of a cell or cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 2-7).” Abdel is introduced to combine with Matthey to estimate the energy of the battery pack which can provide a simple and modular cell balancing system to use for a wide variety of different energy storage cell designs, such as some or all battery technologies in order to perform the balancing in such a way that heat loss is low or lower and/or there is a low or lower energy consumption (Paragraph [0025]), provides an effective test, which can be used quickly, reliably and simply, for example as an OBD health check without using an external source, e.g. for estimating the SoH and/or SoC of energy storage cells or cell packs such as batteries (Paragraph [0022]). Therefore, applicant’s argument that the Office Action provides no reasonable (Remarks-Page 2) explanation of why the ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to rely on the disclosure of the Abdel reference” is not persuasive.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1, is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection and if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the present rejection to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery and as a function of said current resistance state of health of each of the N cells, current capacity state of health of each of the N cells and current state of charge of each of the N cells, and of a time interval during which said cellular battery is allowed to discharge with a chosen discharge current and at a reference temperature.” The meaning of the claim language “an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery and as a function ………” is not clear. It is not clear what are the steps to estimate the first information.
It is not clear how the first information is calculated and what steps are used for calculating the first information. Claim just recites, that wherein first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery as a function of said current resistance states of health……… However, claim does not recite how the first information is calculated and what steps are followed to calculate the first information and it is not clear how to calculate the current resistance state of health of each of the N cells, current capacity state of health of each of the N cells and current state of charge of each of the N cells. It is not clear from where the values are found. Therefore, the limitation is not clear.
For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Claim recites, “an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery”. This information is the result achieved for the invention but there is no description how the problem is solved. When rejecting a claim considering, “1) whether there is a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim; (2) whether the language sets forth well-defined boundaries of the invention or only states a problem solved or a result obtained; and (3) whether one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the claim terms what structure or steps are encompassed by the claim. These factors are examples of points to be considered when determining whether language is ambiguous and are not intended to be all inclusive or limiting. Other factors may be more relevant for particular arts. The primary inquiry is whether the language leaves room for ambiguity or whether the boundaries are clear and precise. Therefore, claim limitation is not clear.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
For purposes of the present examination any process of calculating information related to total energy is construed to mean as the wherein first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge……... Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, because of the same reason as stated above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTHEY FANNY et al. (Hereinafter, “Matthey”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2020189694A1 (Publication Date 2020-09-24) in view of ABDEL-MONEM et al (Hereinafter, “Abdel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190288520 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Matthey teaches a method for estimating information in relation to a cellular battery [101] of a system (Figure 1) ((battery management devices, battery management methods and power storage Systems; Page 2 Line 2-3; FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram of a power storage system according to an embodiment of the present invention. The power storage system (BESS) 1 shown in FIG. 1 includes an assembled battery 101; Page 3 Line 17-19) comprising N cells suitable for storing electrical energy (The assembled battery 101 is configured by connecting a plurality of rechargeable battery cells in series and parallel; Page 3 Line 23-24),
where N > 1 (Figure 1 shows plurality of cells and therefore N>1), and
each having a current state of charge, a current resistance state of health and a current capacity state of health (The current sensor 103 detects the current flowing through the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The cell controller 104 detects the voltage of each battery cell of the assembled battery 101, and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The voltage sensor 105 detects the voltage (total voltage) of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The temperature sensor 106 detects the temperature of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The relay 107 switches the connection state between the power storage system 1 and the inverter 2 according to the control of the host controller 4; Page 3 Line 29-36; each cell in the battery system has current sensor for charge detection, voltage sensor to detect voltage, DCh, SOC and temperature), wherein the method comprises:
an information estimation device [102] estimating first information (detection result comprises various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery) representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery [101] (FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a functional block of the battery management device 102 related to the usable energy calculation process according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The battery management device 102 of the present embodiment has each functional block of a battery state calculation unit 501, an intermediate voltage calculation unit 502, a remaining capacity calculation unit 503, and a usable energy calculation unit 504. These functional blocks are realized, for example, by executing a predetermined program on a computer; Page 5 Line 6-11) and estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge (The battery management device 102 performs charge / discharge control of the assembled battery 101 based on the detection results of the current sensor 103, the cell controller 104, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106. At that time, the battery management device 102 calculates various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery 101. The battery state calculated by the battery management device 102 includes, for example, a charged state (SOC), a deteriorated state (SOH), a maximum allowable power, and usable energy; Page 3 Line 37-42), and of a time interval during which said cellular battery is allowed to discharge with a chosen discharge current and at a reference temperature (The battery management device 102 performs charge / discharge control of the assembled battery 101 based on the detection results of the current sensor 103, the cell controller 104, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106. At that time, the battery management device 102 calculates various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery 101. The battery state calculated by the battery management device 102 includes, for example, a charged state (SOC), a deteriorated state (SOH), a maximum allowable power, and usable energy. By controlling the charge / discharge of the assembled battery 101 using these battery states, the battery management device 102 can safely control the assembled battery 101. As a result, it becomes possible to efficiently control the host system (electric vehicle, hybrid vehicle, etc.) on which the power storage system 1 is mounted; Page 3 Line 37-45; The intermediate voltage calculation unit 502 acquires the charge state SOC and the internal resistance increase amount SOHR from each state value of the assembled battery 101 calculated by the battery state calculation unit 501, and also acquires the battery temperature Tcell from the temperature sensor 106; Page 5 Line 18-20).
Matthey teaches first information is estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge.
However, Matthey fails to teach that the first information is estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells.
Abdel teaches methods and devices such as modular management systems, methods and devices for monitoring, balancing and/or protecting of a pack of energy storage cells such as battery cells and for estimating a state of a cell or cells such as a State-of-Health (SoH) and/or State-of-Charge (SoC) of a cell or cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 2-7),
wherein the first information is estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells (The voltage of each rechargeable energy cell B1 to B4 is individually monitored by a voltage sensing means (4). The voltage sensing means (4) can be provided by an array (4) of voltage sensors, whereby one such sensor can be adapted to measure the voltage of one cell B1 to B4. Alternatively, one sensor may be switched to a cell to be measured (not shown). The voltage sensing means (4) such as the array of voltage sensors can communicate with a central control unit (9) and hence have a means for communicating the voltage measurement results to the central control unit (9). The central control unit (9) has a means for receiving the results of the voltage measurements (e.g. I/O port, or network or bus interface) and also has means for storing these values (i.e. memory) and for processing these values (i.e. processing engine); Paragraph [0117] Line 1-15; For example, a pulsed current such as a square wave or quasi-square wave current can be applied to one or more cells and the response signal voltage recorded. FIG. 19 illustrates a flowchart (300) for this embodiment for estimating the SoH and/or the SoC of a battery cell or cells; Paragraph [0160] Line 1-5; 3) estimating the SoH (State of Health) and/or SoC (State of Charge) of each cell; Paragraph [0006] Line 1; Abdel discloses information as the balancing and/or protecting of a pack of energy storage cells such as battery cells and by estimating a state of a cell or cells such as a State-of-Health (SoH) and/or State-of-Charge (SoC) of a cell or cells). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and modular cell balancing system to use for a wide variety of different energy storage cell designs, such as some or all battery technologies in order to perform the balancing in such a way that heat loss is low or lower and/or there is a low or lower energy consumption, to provide an effective test, which can be used quickly, reliably and simply, for example as an OBD health check without using an external source, e.g. for estimating the SoH and/or SoC of energy storage cells or cell packs such as batteries.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matthey by estimating current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells as disclosed by Abdel, because Abdel teaches to estimate current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells provides a simple and modular cell balancing system to use for a wide variety of different energy storage cell designs, such as some or all battery technologies in order to perform the balancing in such a way that heat loss is low or lower and/or there is a low or lower energy consumption (Paragraph [0025]), provides an effective test, which can be used quickly, reliably and simply, for example as an OBD health check without using an external source, e.g. for estimating the SoH and/or SoC of energy storage cells or cell packs such as batteries (Paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein said first information is further estimated as a function of initial electrical energy storage capacities of each of said cells and initial maximum states of charge of each of said N cells (FIG. 2 is an explanatory diagram of usable energy. In FIG. 2, the broken line indicated by reference numeral 700 represents an SOC-OCV curve showing the relationship between SOC and open circuit voltage (OCV) in each battery cell of the assembled battery 101. Further, the solid line indicated by reference numeral 701 represents a discharge curve when each battery cell of the assembled battery 101 is discharged from the current SOC to SOC min with a constant discharge current IC0, DCh. In FIG. 2, the current SOC is shown by the broken line 703, and the SOC min is shown by the broken line 705; Page 4 Line 3-8; Figure 2 shows first information as a function of energy storage capacity of individual cell and Figure 2 also shows maximum and minimum SOC).
Regarding claim 3, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein said first information is further estimated as a function of selected theoretical models (Figure 5 and 6 shows the battery model unit 601) respectively representative of equivalent resistances of each of said N cells (The battery state calculation unit 501 acquires the current I, the closed-circuit voltage CCV, and the battery temperature Tcell detected when the assembled battery 101 is charging / discharging from the current sensor 103, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106, respectively. Then, based on this information, each state value of the open circuit voltage OCV, the charging state SOC, the polarization voltage Vp, the charging capacity decrease amount SOHQ, and the internal resistance increase amount SOHR, which represent the current state of the assembled battery 101, is calculated; Page 5 Line 12-17; The intermediate voltage calculation unit 502 acquires the charge state SOC and the internal resistance increase amount SOHR from each state value of the assembled battery 101 calculated by the battery state calculation unit 501, and also acquires the battery temperature Tcell from the temperature sensor 106; Page 5 Line 18-20).
Regarding claim 4, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein said first information is further estimated as a function of the sums of the open-circuit voltages of each of said N cells for state-of-charge values between a maximum state-of-charge and a state-of-charge at the end of said time interval (The battery state calculation unit 501 acquires the current I, the closed-circuit voltage CCV, and the battery temperature Tcell detected when the assembled battery 101 is charging / discharging from the current sensor 103, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106, respectively. Then, based on this information, each state value of the open circuit voltage OCV, the charging state SOC, the polarization voltage Vp, the charging capacity decrease amount SOHQ, and the internal resistance increase amount SOHR, which represent the current state of the assembled battery 101, is calculated; Page 5 Line 12-17; The intermediate voltage calculation unit 502 acquires the charge state SOC and the internal resistance increase amount SOHR from each state value of the assembled battery 101 calculated by the battery state calculation unit 501, and also acquires the battery temperature Tcell from the temperature sensor 106; Page 5 Line 18-20).
Regarding claim 5, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein said time interval is chosen as a function of a minimum cutoff voltage of a cell below which said discharging of the cellular battery with said chosen discharge current is prevented (one limitation is required by the claim ) and/or of a minimum state of charge of a cell below which said discharging of the cellular battery with said chosen discharge current is prevented (In the present embodiment, the usable energy is defined as the total amount of electric energy that can be released by the assembled battery 101 among the electric energy stored in the assembled battery 101. This is until when each battery cell of the assembled battery 101 is discharged with a constant discharge current IC 0, DCh, the SOC of each battery cell becomes SOC min, which is the minimum SOC value allowed for each battery cell. In the meantime, each battery cell corresponds to the total amount of electric energy (Wh) that can be discharged without falling below a predetermined minimum voltage Vmin. The discharge current values IC0 and DCh are preset according to the operation mode and the like of the power storage system 1; Page 3 Line 47-51 & Page 4 Line 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein a first theoretical time interval is determined as a function of said minimum cutoff voltage, of current electrical energy storage capacities of each of said cells, of said chosen discharge current, of chosen theoretical models representative respectively of equivalent resistances of each of said N cells, and initial states of charge of each of said N cells (In the present embodiment, the values of the discharge currents ICk and DCh are not preset as in the discharge currents IC0 and DCh in the first embodiment, but are based on the running state of the latest vehicle, and the battery management device 102. Is determined by. That is, the usable energy of the assembled battery 101 in the present embodiment is the minimum that the SOC of each battery cell is allowed for each battery cell when each battery cell of the assembled battery 101 is discharged with the discharge currents ICk and DCh. It corresponds to the total amount of electric energy (Wh) that can be discharged by each battery cell without falling below a predetermined minimum voltage Vmin until the SOC min, which is the SOC value of; Page 8 line 48-52 & Page 9 Line 1-2), and
a second theoretical time interval (past predetermined time as the second theoretical time interval) as a function of said minimum state of charge, said selected discharge current, said current electrical energy storage capacities and said initial states of charge, then said time interval is selected by taking the shorter of said first and second theoretical time intervals (The C rate calculation unit 505 calculates the C rate when the assembled battery 101 is discharged, that is, the ratio of the magnitude of the discharge current to the capacity of the assembled battery 101. For example, the C rate at the time of discharge is calculated by averaging the measured values of the discharge currents obtained from the past predetermined time before to the present and dividing the average value by the rated capacity of the assembled battery 101. The C rate value calculated by the C rate calculation unit 505 is input to the intermediate voltage calculation unit 502a; Page 9 Line 15-20).
Regarding claim 7, Matthey teaches a method,
wherein, second information representative of an energy state of health of said cellular battery is estimated as a function of said first information and of a useful energy at the beginning-of-life of said cellular battery (In (Equation 9), Remaining Capacity (t) represents the value of the remaining capacity at the current time t. Further, Ahrated represents the rated capacity of the assembled battery 101, that is, the remaining capacity when the assembled battery 101 is fully charged at the start of use; Page 8 Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Matthey teaches a computer program product comprising a set of instructions contained in a memory which, when executed by processing means (FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a functional block of the battery management device 102 related to the usable energy calculation process according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The battery management device 102 of the present embodiment has each functional block of a battery state calculation unit 501, an intermediate voltage calculation unit 502, a remaining capacity calculation unit 503, and a usable energy calculation unit 504. These functional blocks are realized, for example, by executing a predetermined program on a computer; Page 5 Line 6-11),
is suitable for implementing a method for estimating information according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) for estimating at least one item of information in relation
to a cellular battery [101] (battery management devices, battery management methods and power storage Systems; Page 2 Line 2-3; FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram of a power storage system according to an embodiment of the present invention. The power storage system (BESS) 1 shown in FIG. 1 includes an assembled battery 101; Page 3 Line 17-19) of a system comprising N cells able to store electrical energy (The assembled battery 101 is configured by connecting a plurality of rechargeable battery cells in series and parallel; Page 3 Line 23-24),
where N > 1 (Figure 1 shows plurality of cells and therefore N>1).
Regarding claim 9, Matthey teaches an information estimation device for estimating information of a system (Figure 1) comprising a cellular battery [101] (battery management devices, battery management methods and power storage Systems; Page 2 Line 2-3; FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram of a power storage system according to an embodiment of the present invention. The power storage system (BESS) 1 shown in FIG. 1 includes an assembled battery 101; Page 3 Line 17-19) comprising N cells suitable for storing electrical energy (The assembled battery 101 is configured by connecting a plurality of rechargeable battery cells in series and parallel; Page 3 Line 23-24),
where N > 1 (Figure 1 shows plurality of cells and therefore N>1), and
each of the N cells having a current state of charge, a current resistance state of health and a current capacity state of health (The current sensor 103 detects the current flowing through the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The cell controller 104 detects the voltage of each battery cell of the assembled battery 101, and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The voltage sensor 105 detects the voltage (total voltage) of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The temperature sensor 106 detects the temperature of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The relay 107 switches the connection state between the power storage system 1 and the inverter 2 according to the control of the host controller 4; Page 3 Line 29-36; each cell in the battery system has current sensor for charge detection, voltage sensor to detect voltage, DCh, SOC and temperature), wherein the device comprises:
at least one processor and at least one memory (FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a functional block of the battery management device 102 related to the usable energy calculation process according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The battery management device 102 of the present embodiment has each functional block of a battery state calculation unit 501, an intermediate voltage calculation unit 502, a remaining capacity calculation unit 503, and a usable energy calculation unit 504. These functional blocks are realized, for example, by executing a predetermined program on a computer; Page 5 Line 6-11) arranged to perform operations consisting estimating first information (detection result comprises various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery) representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge (The battery management device 102 performs charge / discharge control of the assembled battery 101 based on the detection results of the current sensor 103, the cell controller 104, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106. At that time, the battery management device 102 calculates various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery 101. The battery state calculated by the battery management device 102 includes, for example, a charged state (SOC), a deteriorated state (SOH), a maximum allowable power, and usable energy; Page 3 Line 37-42), and of a time interval during which said cellular battery is allowed to discharge with a chosen discharge current and at a reference temperature (The battery management device 102 performs charge / discharge control of the assembled battery 101 based on the detection results of the current sensor 103, the cell controller 104, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106. At that time, the battery management device 102 calculates various types of battery states as an index indicating the state of the assembled battery 101. The battery state calculated by the battery management device 102 includes, for example, a charged state (SOC), a deteriorated state (SOH), a maximum allowable power, and usable energy. By controlling the charge / discharge of the assembled battery 101 using these battery states, the battery management device 102 can safely control the assembled battery 101. As a result, it becomes possible to efficiently control the host system (electric vehicle, hybrid vehicle, etc.) on which the power storage system 1 is mounted; Page 3 Line 37-45).
Matthey teaches first information is estimated as a function of said current resistance states of health, current capacity states of health and current states of charge.
However, Matthey fails to teach that the first information representative as a function of said current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells.
Abdel teaches methods and devices such as modular management systems, methods and devices for monitoring, balancing and/or protecting of a pack of energy storage cells such as battery cells and for estimating a state of a cell or cells such as a State-of-Health (SoH) and/or State-of-Charge (SoC) of a cell or cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 2-7),
wherein the first information representative as a function of said current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells (The voltage of each rechargeable energy cell B1 to B4 is individually monitored by a voltage sensing means (4). The voltage sensing means (4) can be provided by an array (4) of voltage sensors, whereby one such sensor can be adapted to measure the voltage of one cell B1 to B4. Alternatively, one sensor may be switched to a cell to be measured (not shown). The voltage sensing means (4) such as the array of voltage sensors can communicate with a central control unit (9) and hence have a means for communicating the voltage measurement results to the central control unit (9). The central control unit (9) has a means for receiving the results of the voltage measurements (e.g. I/O port, or network or bus interface) and also has means for storing these values (i.e. memory) and for processing these values (i.e. processing engine); Paragraph [0117] Line 1-15; For example, a pulsed current such as a square wave or quasi-square wave current can be applied to one or more cells and the response signal voltage recorded. FIG. 19 illustrates a flowchart (300) for this embodiment for estimating the SoH and/or the SoC of a battery cell or cells; Paragraph [0160] Line 1-5; 3) estimating the SoH (State of Health) and/or SoC (State of Charge) of each cell; Paragraph [0006] Line 1; Abdel discloses information as the balancing and/or protecting of a pack of energy storage cells such as battery cells and by estimating a state of a cell or cells such as a State-of-Health (SoH) and/or State-of-Charge (SoC) of a cell or cells). The purpose of doing so is to provide a simple and modular cell balancing system to use for a wide variety of different energy storage cell designs, such as some or all battery technologies in order to perform the balancing in such a way that heat loss is low or lower and/or there is a low or lower energy consumption, to provide an effective test, which can be used quickly, reliably and simply, for example as an OBD health check without using an external source, e.g. for estimating the SoH and/or SoC of energy storage cells or cell packs such as batteries.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matthey by estimating current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells as disclosed by Abdel, because Abdel teaches to estimate current resistance states of health of each of the N cells, current capacity states of health of each of the N cells and current states of charge of each of the N cells provides a simple and modular cell balancing system to use for a wide variety of different energy storage cell designs, such as some or all battery technologies in order to perform the balancing in such a way that heat loss is low or lower and/or there is a low or lower energy consumption (Paragraph [0025]), provides an effective test, which can be used quickly, reliably and simply, for example as an OBD health check without using an external source, e.g. for estimating the SoH and/or SoC of energy storage cells or cell packs such as batteries (Paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Matthey teaches a system comprising a cellular battery [101] (Figure 1) (battery management devices, battery management methods and power storage Systems; Page 2 Line 2-3; FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram of a power storage system according to an embodiment of the present invention. The power storage system (BESS) 1 shown in FIG. 1 includes an assembled battery 101; Page 3 Line 17-19) having N cells suitable for storing electrical energy (The assembled battery 101 is configured by connecting a plurality of rechargeable battery cells in series and parallel; Page 3 Line 23-24),
where N > 1 (Figure 1 shows plurality of cells and therefore N>1), and
each having a current state of charge, a current resistance state of health and a current capacity state of health (The current sensor 103 detects the current flowing through the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The cell controller 104 detects the voltage of each battery cell of the assembled battery 101, and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The voltage sensor 105 detects the voltage (total voltage) of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The temperature sensor 106 detects the temperature of the assembled battery 101 and outputs the detection result to the battery management device 102. The relay 107 switches the connection state between the power storage system 1 and the inverter 2 according to the control of the host controller 4; Page 3 Line 29-36; each cell in the battery system has current sensor for charge detection, voltage sensor to detect voltage, DCh, SOC and temperature), wherein the system further comprises an information estimation device [102] (battery management device 102) according to claim 9 (See rejection of claim 9 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SOOD et al. (US 20160197382 A1) discloses, “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND DEVICES FOR HEALTH MONITORING OF AN ENERGY STORAGE DEVICE- [0002] The present disclosure relates generally to health monitoring of an energy storage device, and, more particularly, to ultrasonic assessment of lithium-ion battery cells to monitor a state of health. [0040] FIGS. 1A-1B are schematic diagrams of discharging and charging configurations, respectively, to illustrate various structures associated with a lithium-ion battery cell 100. In general, a lithium-ion battery cell 100 can include one or more cathode layers 104, one or more anode layers 102, respective current collectors on which the layers 102, 104 are disposed, a separator 106, and electrolytes 108 filling the interior volume of the battery cell 100. The electrolytes 108 can include a mixture of organic carbonate solvents (e.g., ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate) and polymer salts (e.g., LiPF.sub.6), which provide conductivity for the transport of lithium ions 110 between the electrodes 102, 104. Electrical contact between the internal electrodes 102, 104 is made via anode terminal 112 and cathode terminal 114, respectively, which are disposed external to the interior volume of the battery cell. [0041] During the charging process (FIG. 1B), a current 118 is supplied to the cathode terminal 114 via a charging power source 126. Electron flow 120 is from the cathode terminal 114 to the charging power source 126. The cathode 104 has a high standard redox potential. As a result the current 118 and electron flow 120, the transition metal of the cathode 104 is oxidized and lithium ions 110b diffuse through the separator 106 to the anode 102, where they are intercalated into layers of, for example, carbon graphite to form Li.sub.xC.sub.6. [0042] During the discharging process (FIG. 1A), a load 116 is connected between the cathode terminal 114 and the anode terminal 112. As a result, the electron flow 120 is from the anode terminal 112 to the cathode terminal 114 while the current 118 is in the opposite direction. As a result, the transition metal of the cathode 104 is reduced. In addition, lithium ions 110a are deintercalated from the anode 102 and move though the electrolyte 108 and the separator 106 back to the cathode 104-However Sood does not disclose an information estimation device estimating first information representative of a total energy available in said cellular battery and estimated as a function of said current resistance state of health of each of the N cells, current capacity state of health of each of the N cells and current state of charge of each of the N cells, and of a time interval during which said cellular battery is allowed to discharge with a chosen discharge current and at a reference temperature.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858