DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on May 31, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: TWO-TERMINAL TANDEM SOLAR MODULE AND METHOD OF FORMING THE SAME.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “… busbar.” in line 3.
The Examiner believe this limitation is meant to read as “… bus bar.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “… a direction of extension of a bus bar of the full cell (the direction of extension); …” in lines 2 and 3.
The Examiner believes this limitation should read as “… the
For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret this limitation as “… the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2019/0028057 A1).
Claim 1, Huang discloses a method of producing a tandem solar module (solar module 2 is a tandem solar module as a plurality of adjacent solar modules 2 may be bridged together utilizing the bypass diode 21, hereinafter, tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2), comprising:
forming a plurality of cell strips (half-cut solar cells 20 are a plurality of cell strips, hereinafter, plurality of cell strips 20, [0020], Fig. 2) by cutting a full cell (single primary solar cell 2a is a full cell, hereinafter, full cell 2a, [0020], Fig. 2) parallel to a direction of extension of a bus bar (solder wires 200 is a bus bar, hereinafter, bus bar 200, [0024], Fig. 2) of the full cell 2a (plurality of cell strips 20 are formed by cutting a full cell 2a in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L, [0020], Fig. 2);
stringing the cell strips 20 together, end-to-end with respect to the direction of extension (cell strips 20 are strung together end-to-end in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L), [0024], Fig. 2), to form a plurality of strings (plurality of groups S1-S6 are a plurality of strings, hereinafter, plurality of strings S1-S6, [0024], Fig. 2) each comprising two or more cells strips 20 (cell strips 20 are strung together to form a plurality of strings S1-S6 each comprising two or more cells strips 20 (i.e. 7 cell strips 20 in each plurality of strings S1-S6), [0024], Fig. 2);
arranging the strings S1-S6 in one or more parallel sets (plurality of strings S1-S6 are arranged in one or more parallel sets (i.e. strings S1-S6 are formed into three sets; first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, and third set of strings S5/S6, hereinafter, one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2);
providing a terminal (bypass diode 21 includes a terminal, hereinafter, terminal 21T, [0025], Fig. 2) at opposite ends of the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (terminal 21T are provided at opposite ends of the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (i.e. the first strip 20 within string S1 and the first strip 20 within string S2 of the first set of strings S1/S2 are bridged to a terminal 21T), [0025], Fig. 2).
Claim 2, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein arranging the strings S1-S6 in one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises arranging the strings S1-S6 into parallel sets (strings S1-S6 are arranged into three parallel sets; first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, and third set of strings S5/S6, [0024], Fig. 2), the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) further comprising interconnecting the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 in end-to-end arrangement (parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 are interconnected in an end-to-end arrangement (i.e. for the first set of strings S1/S2, the 7th strip 20 within string S1 is connected to the 7th strip 20 within string S2), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 3, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 2.
Huang discloses wherein providing a terminal 21T at opposite ends of the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises providing a terminal 21T at each opposite end of the end-to-end arrangement of parallel sets (a terminal 21T is provided at opposite ends of the end-to-end arrangement of the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 4, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein forming the plurality of cell strips 20 by cutting the full cell 2a parallel to the direction of extension (plurality of cell strips 20 are formed by cutting a full cell 2a in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L, [0020], Fig. 2), comprising cutting the full cell 2a such that each cell strip 20 comprises at least one said busbar 200 (each full cell 2a is cut such that each cell strip 20 comprises at least one said busbar 200, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 5, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein stringing the cell strips 20 into at least two strings S1-S6 comprises forming each string by connecting a plurality of cell strips 20 in series (each string S1-S6 is formed by connecting a plurality of cell strips 20 in series, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 6, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein assembling a plurality of the strings S1-S6 into a parallel set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises assembling between three and 18 strings in parallel (assembling a plurality of the strings S1-S6 into a parallel set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises assembling between three sets of strings S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 in parallel, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 7, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein interconnecting the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises interconnecting the sets into a series (bypass diode 21 connects each set of the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 into a series (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6, hereinafter, series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 8, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 7.
Huang discloses further comprising inserting at least one bypass diode 21 between the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6, or within each parallel set (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, or third set of strings S5/S6), the bypass diode 21 providing a short-circuit around one or more strings S1-S6 (bypass diode 21 provides a short-circuit around one or more strings S1-S6, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 9, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 8.
Huang discloses wherein inserting at least one bypass diode 21 between the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises inserting a bypass diode 21 to provide a short-circuit around one of the sets (inserting at least one bypass diode 21 between the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises inserting a bypass diode 21 to provide a short-circuit around one of the sets (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, or third set of strings S5/S6)).
Claim 10, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 9.
Huang discloses wherein inserting a bypass diode 21 comprises inserting a bypass diode 21 for each set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6, the bypass diode 21 bypassing the respective set (each bypass diode 21 bypasses each respective set (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, or third set of strings S5/S6)).
Claim 11, Huang discloses the method (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 7.
Huang discloses wherein the series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 comprises at least three said parallel sets of strings S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 comprises at least three said parallel sets of strings (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 12, Huang discloses a tandem solar module (solar module 2 is a tandem solar module as a plurality of adjacent solar modules 2 may be bridged together utilizing the bypass diode 21, hereinafter, tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) comprising:
a plurality of cell strips (half-cut solar cells 20 are a plurality of cell strips, hereinafter, plurality of cell strips 20, [0020], Fig. 2) formed by cutting a full cell (single primary solar cell 2a is a full cell, hereinafter, full cell 2a, [0020], Fig. 2) parallel to a direction of extension of a bus bar (solder wires 200 is a bus bar, hereinafter, bus bar 200, [0024], Fig. 2) of the full cell 2a (plurality of cell strips 20 are formed by cutting a full cell 2a in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L, [0020], Fig. 2);
a plurality of strings (plurality of groups S1-S6 are a plurality of strings, hereinafter, plurality of strings S1-S6, [0024], Fig. 2) arranged in one or more parallel sets (plurality of strings S1-S6 are arranged in one or more parallel sets (i.e. strings S1-S6 are formed into three sets; first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, and third set of strings S5/S6, hereinafter, one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2), each string S1-S6 comprising two or more said cells strips 20 (cell strips 20 are strung together to form a plurality of strings S1-S6 each comprising two or more cells strips 20 (i.e. 7 cell strips 20 in each plurality of strings S1-S6), [0024], Fig. 2) interconnected end-to-end with respect to the direction of extension (cell strips 20 are strung together end-to-end in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L), [0024], Fig. 2); and
a terminal (bypass diode 21 includes a terminal, hereinafter, terminal 21T, [0025], Fig. 2) at each opposite end the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (i.e. the first strip 20 within string S1 and the first strip 20 within string S2 of the first set of strings S1/S2 are bridged to a terminal 21T), [0025], Fig. 2).
Claim 13, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 12.
Huang discloses wherein each cell strip 20 comprises at least one said bus bar 200 (each cell strip 20 comprises at least one said busbar 200, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 14, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 12.
Huang discloses wherein the strings S1-S6 are arranged into parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (strings S1-S6 are arranged into three parallel sets; first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, and third set of strings S5/S6, [0024], Fig. 2) and interconnected in end-to-end arrangement (parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 are interconnected in an end-to-end arrangement (i.e. for the first set of strings S1/S2, the 7th strip 20 within string S1 is connected to the 7th strip 20 within string S2), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 15, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 14.
Huang discloses comprising a said terminal 21T at each opposite end of the end-to-end arrangement of parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (a terminal 21T is provided at opposite ends of the end-to-end arrangement of the one or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 16, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 12.
Huang discloses wherein each parallel set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises between three and 18 strings in parallel (each parallel set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 comprises assembling between three sets of strings S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 in parallel, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 17, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 12.
Huang discloses comprising two or more parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 interconnected into a series of parallel sets (bypass diode 21 connects each set of the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 into a series (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6 is a series of parallel sets, hereinafter, series of parallel sets S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 18, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 17.
Huang discloses further comprising at least one bypass diode 21 inserted between the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (at least one bypass diode 21 inserted between the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6, [0024], Fig. 2), the bypass diode 21 providing a short-circuit around one or more strings S1-S6 (bypass diode 21 provides a short-circuit around one or more strings S1-S6, [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 19, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 18.
Huang discloses wherein the bypass diode 21 provides a short-circuit around one of the sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (bypass diode 21 provides a short-circuit around one of the sets (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, or third set of strings S5/S6)).
Claim 20, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 19.
Huang discloses wherein the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 are interconnected through respective bypass diodes 21 (bypass diode 21 connects each set of the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2), each bypass diode 21 bypassing a respective said set S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (each bypass diode 21 bypasses each respective set (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2, second set of strings S3/S4, or third set of strings S5/S6).
Claim 21, Huang discloses the module (tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2) of claim 17.
Huang discloses wherein the series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 comprises at least three said parallel sets of strings S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 comprises at least three said parallel sets of strings S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2).
Claim 22, Huang discloses a method of producing a tandem solar module (solar module 2 is a tandem solar module as a plurality of adjacent solar modules 2 may be bridged together utilizing the bypass diode 21, hereinafter, tandem solar module 2, [0023], Fig. 2), comprising:
forming a plurality of cell strips (half-cut solar cells 20 are a plurality of cell strips, hereinafter, plurality of cell strips 20, [0020], Fig. 2) by cutting a full cell (single primary solar cell 2a is a full cell, hereinafter, full cell 2a, [0020], Fig. 2) parallel to the bus bar (solder wires 200 is a bus bar, hereinafter, bus bar 200, [0024], Fig. 2) of the full cell 2a (plurality of cell strips 20 are formed by cutting a full cell 2a in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L, [0020], Fig. 2)
stringing the cell strips 20 together, end-to-end with respect to the direction of extension (cell strips 20 are strung together end-to-end in the vertical direction (i.e. parallel to length L), [0024], Fig. 2), to form a series comprising at least one string of cell strips 20 (bypass diode 21 connects each set of cell strips 20 of the parallel sets S1/S2-S3/S4-S5/S6 into a series comprising at least one string of cell strips 20 (i.e. first set of strings S1/S2 is connected to the second set of strings S3/S4 and then the second set of strings S3/S4 is connected to the third set of strings S5/S6, hereinafter, series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6), [0024], Fig. 2); and
providing a terminal (bypass diode 21 includes a terminal, hereinafter, terminal 21T, [0025], Fig. 2) at opposite ends of the series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 (terminal 21T are provided at opposite ends of the series S1/S2/S3/S4/S5/S6 (i.e. the first strip 20 within string S1 and the first strip 20 within string S2 of the first set of strings S1/S2 are bridged to a terminal 21T), [0025], Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sridhara (US 2021/0043788 A1) discloses in Fig. 2B, [0022], a method of producing a solar cell assembly layout 200 which is a tandem solar module when adjacent solar cells are configured, further including a bypass diode 201.
Nanba (US 2020/0313017 A1) discloses in Fig. 13 a method of producing a solar cell module 301 which is a tandem solar module when adjacent solar cells are configured, further including a bypass diode 30.
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812