DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and 12 in the reply filed on 11/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Comstock, II et al. (US 2016/0097885 A1, hereafter Comstock)
As to claim 1, Comstock teaches determining a reference shape defect and a reference surface roughness of an optical surface of an optical part (both have defects during the manufacturing process, as broadly claimed), and wherein the optical part comprises a substrate and a coating, the coating being applied onto a surface of the substrate and being configured to form the optical surface of the optical part, the substrate being made of a first aluminium alloy and the coating being made of a second aluminium alloy (para 0012-0014, 0080, 0097 for example) having lesser porosity than a porosity of the first aluminium alloy (para 0013- the porosity in the substrate is greater and undesirable from a DMLS Al alloy substrate with the coating in para 0014 having less porosity); determining an initial shape defect and initial surface roughness of the coating of the optical part (general surface roughness during deposition, as broadly claimed);
using the initial surface roughness to determine polishing parameters required to obtain the determined reference surface roughness (diamond tuning to a particular surface roughness in para 0083);
using the polishing parameters to machine the coating and obtain a machined coating having a machined shape defect (diamond tuning creates periodic structures in para 0090); and using the determined polishing parameters to polish the machined coating by smoothening (polishing formulation by polishing pad para 0084-0090), in order to modify the surface roughness and machined shape defect of the machined coating and obtain modified surface roughness and modified shape defect that correspond to the determined reference roughness and reference shape defect (less than 25 angstroms in para 0092, also see para 0096-0099, Figure 8 for removal of defect peaks and desired surface roughness).
It is noted that ‘determining’ is broadly claimed in the claim language and the broadest reasonable interpretation includes simply noticing defects or having inherent defects known from the processes and polishing them to an acceptable level.
As to claim 2, Comstock teaches these techniques as well in para 0090 that would remove oxide defects from the coating surface.
As to claims 4-5, a thermal stabilization step is utilized as broadly claimed in para 0078, 0092 as broadly claimed for example and occurs before machining/polishing as claimed.
As to claim 8, initial preparation of the substrate by machining to gain the claimed surface roughness occurs in para 0078-79, 0092.
As to claim 9, as these steps are optional if the defect reduction is not met, and Comstock meets the defect reduction, thus this claim is met by the polishing steps in paras 0084-0099.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comstock in view of Horie et al. (JP 2004/178777 A)
As to claim 3, the polishing pad is as claimed in Comstock para 0090, but Comstock does not teach an aqueous diamond polishing agent. Horie et al. teaches using aqueous diamond in polishing mirror substrates as it is effective in reducing surface roughness in paras 0024-0025. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Comstock to include polishing with aqueous diamond as taught by Horie et al. as Horie et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comstock in view of CN 109628894 (hereafter CN; citations taken from attached google translate document)
As to claim 6-7, Comstock teaches cleaning in para 0078 but not with water vapor and vacuum drying. CN teaches using water vapor as part of an alkaline solution and vacuum drying on p 4-5 and the embodiment. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Comstock to include cleaning as drying as taught by CN as CN teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comstock.
As to claim 12, the resulting surface roughness of the substrate is as claimed in paras 0079 and the examples, but not the exact roughness claimed. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed surface roughness, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715