Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 14-19, of copending Application No. 18/715,591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claimed elements are not structurally different.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the back section" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if "the back section" is the same as "a rear section" previously introduced in the claim or if a new element is being introduced.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10-13 and 15 the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the term “preferably” extends the scope of the claim rendering it unascertainable. It is unclear if the language following “preferably” is part of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan (WO 2018/157302), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a wearable aid (10) for supporting in the raising and/or holding of loads by an operator, comprising
a supporting structure (20) having a first support and a second support, wherein the first support and the second support (Fig.7) each have a rear section (203) and a cantilever-type section (205), in such a way that, when the aid is worn by the operator, the back section (203) is arranged posteriorly and extends substantially along the back section of the operator and the cantilever-type section extends posteriorly to anteriorly (Fig.2);
a lower body linking means (13) for coupling the supporting structure to a pelvic, hip or lumbar area of the operator (Fig.7);
an upper body linking means (11) for coupling the supporting structure to an upper body of the operator, in particular to a back, shoulder and/or chest region (Para.34);
a first hand linking means (tensioning mechanisms) for linking to a right hand or underarm region of the operator, wherein the first hand linking means is connected to the first support via a first length-adjustable connecting device (Para.23);
a second hand linking means (tensioning mechanisms) for linking to a left hand or underarm region of the operator, wherein the second hand linking means is connected to the second support via a second length-adjustable connecting device,
wherein the first support is connected to the upper body linking means at a first upper connection point via a first upper joint device and wherein the second support is connected to the upper body linking means at a second upper connection point via a second upper joint device (Fig.7).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan further discloses wherein the first upper joint device and the second upper joint device each have at least two (Para.23), preferably three, degrees of joint freedom (optional).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan further discloses wherein the first upper joint device and the second upper joint device each comprise:
a. a first degree of pivoting freedom about a first pivot axis which is orthogonal to the median plane, in particular when the aid is worn (Fig.2);
b. a second degree of pivoting freedom about a second pivot axis orthogonal to the first pivot axis, in particular orthogonal to the frontal plane when the aid is worn (Fig.2);
c. a translational degree of freedom along a longitudinal axis of the support, in particular along a longitudinal axis of the back section of the support (Para.29, each of the connecting rods 203 may be a telescopic rod to adjust the length of the bracket 20).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan further discloses wherein the first degree of pivoting freedom is provided by a first pivot joint connected to the upper body linking means, and wherein the second degree of pivoting freedom is provided by a second pivot joint connected to the first pivot joint (Fig.2, 7).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan further discloses wherein the translational degree of freedom is provided by a displacement sleeve in which the support is axially displaceably received (Para.29, each of the connecting rods 203 may be a telescopic rod to adjust the length of the bracket 20).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan further discloses wherein the displacement sleeve is designed such that the support can be pivoted about its longitudinal axis (Para.29, Fig.7).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan further discloses wherein the upper body linking means comprises an upper force distribution means (205) connected to the supports (Para.22), in particular via the upper joint devices (optional), and wherein the upper body linking means comprises a flexible upper body linking means device (28) connected to the upper force distribution means for attachment to an upper body region of the operator.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan further discloses wherein the upper body linking means device comprises at least one textile part (28), further in particular in the form of a belt, belt system or a cuff (optional).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan further discloses the upper force distribution means (205) comprises an upper main body which extends between the first support and the second support and on which the upper joint devices are arranged (Fig.7).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan further discloses wherein the upper force distribution means has a force introduction plate (204) which is connected to the upper body linking means device on one side and to the upper main body on the other side in such a way that a distance of the force introduction plate from the upper main body and/or a position of the force introduction plate can be changed cranially and caudally, in particular can be adjusted (Para.29).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan further discloses wherein the upper body linking means is designed such that a relative position of the first upper connection point and the second upper connection point can be changed (Para.22), in particular a position of the first upper connection point and/or of the second upper connection point can be changed (optional), in particular adjusted (optional), in particular independently of one another (optional), laterally and medially relative to the median plane and/or in the anterior direction and in the posterior direction relative to the frontal plane when the aid is worn (Para.22).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan further discloses wherein the first support is connected to the lower body linking means (13) at a first lower connection point (202), in particular in an articulated manner (optional), further in particular via a first lower joint device (optional), and wherein the second support is connected to the lower body linking means at a second lower connection point (Para.23), in particular in an articulated manner (optional), further in particular via a second lower joint device (optional).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan further discloses wherein a securing means is provided for securing the first and second upper joint devices, in particular wherein a securing means is also provided for securing the first and second lower joint devices (Para.38).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan further discloses wherein the first support and the second support are each connected to the lower body linking means via a ball joint (155) and wherein the first upper joint device and the second upper joint device each have at least two, preferably at least three, degrees of joint freedom (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 15, Yuan further discloses wherein the lower body linking means is designed in such a way that a relative position of the first lower connection point and the second lower connection point can be changed (belt, Para.25), in particular a position of the first lower connection point and/or of the second lower connection point can be changed (optional), further in particular adjusted (optional), in particular independently of one another (optional), laterally or medially relative to the median plane and/or in the anterior direction or in the posterior direction relative to the frontal plane when the aid is worn (Para.25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moise, Pinnock and Ding further disclose elements of a wearable aid.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652