DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Objection to drawings and specification is withdrawn in view of amendments and further review. Claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) is withdrawn in view of amendments and further review. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but they are not persuasive or moot in view of new ground of rejection provided below which was necessitated based on applicant’s amendments to the claims. The new ground of rejection for independent claims are based on in combination of Shinozaki, Takizawa, Nilsson, and Takai.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki (JP-H09178418-A) in view of Takizawa (JPH08132373A), Nilsson et al. (A. Nilsson and P. Holmberg, "Combining a stable 2-D vision camera and an ultrasonic range detector for 3-D position estimation," in IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, vol. 43, no. 2, pp. 272-276, April 1994) (Hereinafter Nilsson), and further in view of Takai et al. (JP2007125633A, Attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Takai).
Regarding Claim 1, Shinozaki teaches a robot device comprising:
a three-dimensional sensor configured to detect a position of a surface of a workpiece (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point …”);
a robot configured to change a relative position between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor (See at least Para [0007] “… and even if the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot, the recognition is performed sequentially…”, para [0006] “… As a result, since the reference plane used as a reference for grasping the workpiece is accurately and sequentially recognized, the calibration can be performed accurately and quickly, and the workpiece can be moved while the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot. Can be recognized. As a result, the arm robot accurately performs the work on the workpiece…”); and
a processor configured to
generate three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece based on an output of the three-dimensional sensor (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point, and a position detection sensor…”),
estimate face information related to a face including the surface of the workpiece based on the three-dimensional position information (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point, and a position detection sensor…”); and
set a correction amount for driving the robot (See at least Para [0004] “… A three-dimensional position detection device is configured by including a control device that corrects and detects the position of the reference plane based on the correction distance and information detected by the position detection sensor 3…”), wherein
the robot is configured to change the relative position between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor from a first relative position to a second relative position different from the first relative position (See at least para [0006] “… As a result, since the reference plane used as a reference for grasping the workpiece is accurately and sequentially recognized, the calibration can be performed accurately and quickly, and the workpiece can be moved while the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot. Can be recognized. As a result, the arm robot accurately performs the work on the workpiece…”), and …
However, Shinozaki does not explicitly spell out …
the processor is configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information so that a first face and a second face match each other, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece.
the processor is configured to
calculate a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system
toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face, and
set the correction amount such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector
and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range.
Takizawa teaches …
the processor is configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second
relative position based on the face information … , the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece (See at least Page 4 Para 7 “Therefore, in FIG. 2, in order to correct the displacement and perform the assembling operation of the component 6, the three-dimensional measurement performed under the projection of the slit light and the analysis of the image by the normal photographing are combined. The position and posture of the hole 54 of the mechanism section 5 are obtained, and the operation of the robot is corrected based on the position and posture.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Takizawa and include the feature of the processor being configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 1 Para 6 “The method (1) is a method of mounting a sensor so that a sensor mounting position (more precisely, an origin position of a sensor coordinate system) with respect to a robot hand is known, and a relation between the sensor coordinate system and the robot coordinate system is known.”).
Nilsson teaches … so that a first face and a second face match each other (See at least Page 273 Col 1 “Equations (1) and (2) represent a homogeneous linear system in variables c,~, each object point [X,, yZ, Z,] and matching image point [u,,~,] providing two linear equations of the system. To solve for the values of c,~ the system must be made nonhomogeneous. This is achieved by setting a nonzero variable within the matrix G equal to one. Since the term ~23 has a scaling effect for 3-D homogeneous coordinate points and the calibration is done in a 2-D plane, it is a suitable choice.”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Nilsson and include the feature of the processor being configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information so that a first face and a second face match each other, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 276 Col 1 “V. CONCLUSIONS - … The calibration accuracy of the proposed system configuration is better than h1.4 mm or fl image pixel in the work space 700 x 700 x 650 mm… Accuracy of the position and the orientation estimates of identified objects in world coordinates is within fl.4 mm and k1.0’ respectively…”).
Takai teaches
the processor is configured to
calculate a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system
toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face (See at least Page 26 Para 3 “…Each normal vector is calculated. Specifically, for each measurement plane A, B, C, three sets of measurement coordinate information
are substituted into the left side of the plane equation shown in the following equation 26, and a, b, c are calculated from the three simultaneous equations…”, Page 21 Para 3 “In this case, the CM coordinate system is a coordinate system in which the direction of the coordinate axis
coincides with the direction of the coordinate axis of the measuring machine coordinate system and the origin coordinate is set to the origin coordinate of the arm coordinate system, and moves with the movement of the three-dimensional shape measuring apparatus 30…”), and
set the correction amount such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector
and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range (See at least Page 32 Para 3 “…FIG. 10 is a chart showing coordinate correction data and a rotational deviation correction function acquired by executing the correction data group acquisition program…”, Page 13 Para 2 “Here, the normal vector of the plane including the fixed point coordinates (x1, y1, z1), (x2, y2, z2), (x3, y3, z3) is (α, β, γ), and the fixed point coordinates (x ′ 1, y′1, z′1), (x′2, y′2, z′2), (x′3, y′3, z′3) and the normal vector of the plane including (α ′, If β ′ and γ ′), the following equation 11 is established if the magnitudes and directions
of the two normal vectors are the same…”, discloses condition of magnitudes and directions
of the two normal vectors being the same which is construed as the difference in a length and in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Takai and include the feature of calculating a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face and setting the correction amount such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 8 Para 5 “…However, the probe 69 is brought into contact with five or more locations to obtain high precision including correction…”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Shinozaki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Shinozaki further teaches the robot device of claim 1, wherein
the three-dimensional sensor is attached to the robot (See at least Fig 4 item 3 which is a three-dimensional position sensor attached to the robot, Para [0005] “… In FIG. 1, reference numeral 1 denotes a three-dimensional position detection device fixed to an arm robot (not shown) that holds and transfers a workpiece (not shown) on the reference plane S. The three-dimensional position detection device 1 is supported by a frame (not shown) so as to face the reference surface S above the reference surface S. A rectangular plate-like bracket 2 extending in the horizontal direction is provided at the end of the three-dimensional position detection device 1. A three-dimensional position sensor 3 is fixed to the front end side of the lower surface of the bracket 2. …”),
the workpiece is arranged such that a position and orientation of the workpiece are fixed (See at least Fig 5 shows that the position and orientation of the workpiece are fixed), and
the robot is configured to change the relative position between the workpiece and the three- dimensional sensor from the first relative position to the second relative position by moving the three-dimensional sensor from a first position to a second position (See at least Para [0006] “… As a result, since the reference plane used as a reference for grasping the workpiece is accurately and sequentially recognized, the calibration can be performed accurately and quickly, and the workpiece can be moved while the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot. Can be recognized. As a result, the arm robot accurately performs the work on the workpiece.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Shinozaki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Shinozaki further teaches the robot device of claim 1, comprising:
a work tool attached to the robot and configured to grasp the workpiece (See at least Para [0003] “… Accordingly, it is an object of the present invention to provide a three-dimensional position detection device that detects the position of a robot or a detection object with high accuracy, and a transfer robot that accurately reaches the position of the workpiece and grips the workpiece reliably…”, Para [0004] “…the position detection sensor 11 is provided in the vicinity of the gripping part that grips the workpiece on the reference plane S, and the workpiece detected by the position detection sensor 11 for the gripping part to grip the workpiece is appropriately selected…”), wherein
a position and orientation of the three-dimensional sensor are fixed by a fixing member (See at least Para [0005] “… In FIG. 1, reference numeral 1 denotes a three-dimensional position detection device fixed to an arm robot (not shown) that holds and transfers a workpiece (not shown) on the reference plane S. The three-dimensional position detection device 1 is supported by a frame (not shown) so as to face the reference surface S above the reference surface S. A rectangular plate-like bracket 2 extending in the horizontal direction is provided at the end of the three-dimensional position detection device 1. A three-dimensional position sensor 3 is fixed to the front end side of the lower surface of the bracket 2. …”), and
the robot is configured to change the relative position between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor from the first relative position to the second relative position by moving the workpiece from a first position to a second position (See at least Para [0009] “…Therefore, when the arm robot 12 cannot be gripped by the hand due to the posture of the workpiece or the like, the workpiece can be displaced to a posture capable of being gripped by tilting or turning as necessary…”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Shinozaki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Shinozaki further teaches the robot device of claim 1, wherein
the robot is configured to change the relative position between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor to three or more mutually different relative positions (See at least Para [0004] “… In the third aspect of the invention, the position detection sensor 3 detects the three-dimensional position of the reference surface S at a plurality of different detection positions, and takes in the position information to the control device…”),
the processor is configured to
generate the three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the
workpiece at each of the three or more mutually different relative positions (See at least Para [0004] “… In the third aspect of the invention, the position detection sensor 3 detects the three-dimensional position of the reference surface S at a plurality of different detection positions, and takes in the position information to the control device…”),
estimate the face information at each of the three or more mutually different relative positions (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point, and a position detection sensor…”), and …
However, Shinozaki does not explicitly spell out …
set the correction amount for driving the robot at at least one of the three or more mutually different relative positions so that faces that are detected at a plurality of relative positions and include the surface of the workpiece match each other within a third predetermined determination range.
Nilsson teaches …
set the correction amount for driving the robot at at least one of the three or more mutually different relative positions so that faces that are detected at a plurality of relative positions and include the surface of the workpiece match each other within a third predetermined determination range (See at least Page 273 Col 1 “Equations (1) and (2) represent a homogeneous linear system in variables c,~, each object point [X,, yZ, Z,] and matching image point [u,,~,] providing two linear equations of the system. To solve for the values of c,~ the system must be made nonhomogeneous. This is achieved by setting a nonzero variable within the matrix G equal to one. Since the term ~23 has a scaling effect for 3-D homogeneous coordinate points and the calibration is done in a 2-D plane, it is a suitable choice.”, Page 274 Col 2 “Fig. 4. Projection correction due to depth information from an ultrasonic range sensor. 2, is the uncorrected image point of the object A, and rc is the corrected image point of the object due to depth information from the range sensor. zu is the object's height above the work table measured with the range sensor, and H is the height of the camera above the work table.”, Page 274 Col 2 “in the image plane is given, using projection corrections due to depth information from the ultrasonic sensor, see Fig. 4.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Nilsson and include the feature of the setting the correction amount for driving the robot at at least one of the three or more mutually different relative positions so that faces that are detected at a plurality of relative positions and include the surface of the workpiece match each other within a third predetermined determination range, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 276 Col 1 “V. CONCLUSIONS - … The calibration accuracy of the proposed system configuration is better than h1.4 mm or fl image pixel in the work space 700 x 700 x 650 mm… Accuracy of the position and the orientation estimates of identified objects in world coordinates is within fl.4 mm and k1.0’ respectively…”).
Regarding Claim 7, Shinozaki teaches A control method of a robot device, the control method comprising:
arranging, by a robot, a relative position between a workpiece and a three-dimensional sensor at a first relative position (See at least, Para [0007] “… and even if the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot, the recognition is performed sequentially…”, para [0006] “… As a result, since the reference plane used as a reference for grasping the workpiece is accurately and sequentially recognized, the calibration can be performed accurately and quickly, and the workpiece can be moved while the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot. Can be recognized. As a result, the arm robot accurately performs the work on the workpiece…”);
generating, by a processor, three-dimensional position information regarding a surface of the workpiece at the first relative position based on an output of the three-dimensional sensor (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point …”);
arranging, by the robot, the relative position between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor at a second relative position different from the first relative position (See at least para [0006] “… As a result, since the reference plane used as a reference for grasping the workpiece is accurately and sequentially recognized, the calibration can be performed accurately and quickly, and the workpiece can be moved while the three-dimensional position detection device 1 moves together with the arm robot. Can be recognized. As a result, the arm robot accurately performs the work on the workpiece…”);
…
estimating, by the processor, face information related to a face including the surface of the workpiece based on the three-dimensional position information at each of the first and second relative positions (See at least Para [0004] “… there is provided a position detection sensor 3 for detecting a three-dimensional position of a reference plane relative to the reference point, and a position detection sensor…”); and
However, Shinozaki does not explicitly spell out …
creating, by the processor, three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece at the second relative position based on the output of the three-dimensional sensor; …
setting, by the processor, a correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information so that a first face and a second face match each other, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, wherein
the control method further comprises calculating a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face, and
the correction amount is set such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range.
Takizawa teaches …
creating, by the processor, three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece at the second relative position based on an output of the three-dimensional sensor (See at least Page 2 Para 8 “Preferably, at least three measurement positions are such that movement between the positions can be executed by movement along the positive or negative direction of the coordinate axes of the robot coordinate system. For example, a vector from the first measurement position to the second measurement position is selected in the + direction of the X axis of the robot coordinate system, and a vector from the second measurement position to the
third measurement position is Y direction in the robot coordinate system. Selected in the + direction of the axis. The movement between these measurement positions may be executed by moving between the positions taught to the robot in advance by the regeneration operation.”, Page 2 Para 9 “At each measurement position, three-dimensional position measurement is performed on the same object, and sensor output data expressing the result on a sensor coordinate system is obtained. The same linear conversion relationship exists between the sensor output data and the data expressing each measurement position on the robot coordinate system (the robot position data at each measurement position can be used). A matrix representing this linear transformation is a coordinate transformation matrix.”); …
setting, by the processor, a correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information … , the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece (See at least Page 4 Para 7 “Therefore, in FIG. 2, in order to correct the displacement and perform the assembling operation of the component 6, the three-dimensional measurement performed under the projection of the slit light and the analysis of the image by the normal photographing are combined. The position and posture of the hole 54 of the mechanism section 5 are obtained, and the operation of the robot is corrected based on the position and posture.”), wherein
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Takizawa and include the feature of the processor being configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information so that a first face and a second face match each other, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 1 Para 6 “The method (1) is a method of mounting a sensor so that a sensor mounting position (more precisely, an origin position of a sensor coordinate system) with respect to a robot hand is known, and a relation between the sensor coordinate system and the robot coordinate system is known.”).
Nilsson teaches … so that a first face and a second face match each other (See at least Page 273 Col 1 “Equations (1) and (2) represent a homogeneous linear system in variables c,~, each object point [X,, yZ, Z,] and matching image point [u,,~,] providing two linear equations of the system. To solve for the values of c,~ the system must be made nonhomogeneous. This is achieved by setting a nonzero variable within the matrix G equal to one. Since the term ~23 has a scaling effect for 3-D homogeneous coordinate points and the calibration is done in a 2-D plane, it is a suitable choice.”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Nilsson and include the feature of the processor being configured to set the correction amount for driving the robot at the second relative position based on the face information so that a first face and a second face match each other, the first face being detected at the first relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, the second face being detected at the second relative position and including the surface of the workpiece, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 276 Col 1 “V. CONCLUSIONS - … The calibration accuracy of the proposed system configuration is better than h1.4 mm or fl image pixel in the work space 700 x 700 x 650 mm… Accuracy of the position and the orientation estimates of identified objects in world coordinates is within fl.4 mm and k1.0’ respectively…”).
Takai teaches …
the control method further comprises calculating a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face (See at least Page 26 Para 3 “…Each normal vector is calculated. Specifically, for each measurement plane A, B, C, three sets of measurement coordinate information are substituted into the left side of the plane equation shown in the following equation 26, and a, b, c are calculated from the three simultaneous equations…”, Page 21 Para 3 “In this case, the CM coordinate system is a coordinate system in which the direction of the coordinate axis coincides with the direction of the coordinate axis of the measuring machine coordinate system and the origin coordinate is set to the origin coordinate of the arm coordinate system, and moves with the movement of the three-dimensional shape measuring apparatus 30…”), and
the correction amount is set such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range (See at least Page 32 Para 3 “…FIG. 10 is a chart showing coordinate correction data and a rotational deviation correction function acquired by executing the correction data group acquisition program…”, Page 13 Para 2 “Here, the normal vector of the plane including the fixed point coordinates (x1, y1, z1), (x2, y2, z2), (x3, y3, z3) is (α, β, γ), and the fixed point coordinates (x ′ 1, y′1, z′1), (x′2, y′2, z′2), (x′3, y′3, z′3) and the normal vector of the plane including (α ′, If β ′ and γ ′), the following equation 11 is established if the magnitudes and directions
of the two normal vectors are the same…”, discloses condition of magnitudes and directions
of the two normal vectors being the same which is construed as the difference in a length and in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Takai and include the feature of calculating a first normal vector extending from an origin of a robot coordinate system toward the first face and a second normal vector extending from the origin of the robot coordinate system toward the second face and setting the correction amount such that a difference in a length of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a first predetermined determination range and a difference in a direction of the first normal vector and the second normal vector is within a second predetermined determination range, thereby provide precise calculation for accurate robot arm movement for conveying a workpiece (See at least Page 8 Para 5 “…However, the probe 69 is brought into contact with five or more locations to obtain high precision including correction…”).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki (JP-H09178418-A) in view of Takizawa (JPH08132373A), Nilsson et al. (A. Nilsson and P. Holmberg, "Combining a stable 2-D vision camera and an ultrasonic range detector for 3-D position estimation," in IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, vol. 43, no. 2, pp. 272-276, April 1994) (Hereinafter Nilsson), Takai et al. (JP2007125633A, Attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Takai), and further in view of Tonogai et a. (US 20210039257 A1) (Hereinafter Tonogai).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Shinozaki teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Shinozaki does not explicitly spell out the robot device of claim 1, wherein the robot is configured to change a relative orientation between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor from a first relative orientation to a second relative orientation.
Tonogai teaches the robot device of claim 1, wherein the robot is configured to change a relative orientation between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor from a first relative orientation to a second relative orientation (See at least Para [0008] “[1] An example of a workpiece picking device according to the present disclosure is configured to take out stacked workpieces. The workpiece picking device includes a sensor that measures three-dimensional positions of the workpieces; a hand that grasps the workpieces; a robot that moves the hand to and from a grasping position; and a control device that controls the sensor, the hand, and the robot. Besides, the control device has: a position orientation calculation part that calculates, on the basis of measurement results of the three-dimensional positions and using a predetermined calculation parameter, positions and orientations of the workpieces, and calculates the workpiece number in which positions and orientations are detected; a grasping orientation calculation part that calculates, on the basis of the calculation results of the positions and orientations and using a predetermined calculation parameter, a grasping orientation of the hand when the hand grasps the workpieces; a route calculation part that calculates, using a predetermined calculation parameter, a route through which the hand moves to the grasping orientation; a sensor control part that controls the operation of the sensor on the basis of measurement parameters when measuring the three-dimensional positions; a hand control part that controls the operation of the hand on the basis of the grasping orientation; a robot control part that controls the operation of the robot on the basis of the route; a situation determination part that determines situations of the workpieces on the basis of the measurement results of the three-dimensional positions and the calculation results of the workpiece number; and a parameter modification part that modifies a parameter including at least one of a measurement parameter when measuring the three-dimensional positions, a calculation parameter of the positions and orientations, a calculation parameter of the grasping orientation, and a calculation parameter of the route, when the determination results of situations of the workpieces satisfy a predetermined condition.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Tonogai and include the feature of robot being configured to change a relative orientation between the workpiece and the three-dimensional sensor from a first relative orientation to a second relative orientation, thereby provide robot gripping accuracy (See at least Para [0068] “… Accordingly, even when the number of picking times increases, it is possible to reliably detect the workpiece and realize an accurate picking operation.”).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki (JP-H09178418-A) in view of Takizawa (JPH08132373A), Nilsson et al. (A. Nilsson and P. Holmberg, "Combining a stable 2-D vision camera and an ultrasonic range detector for 3-D position estimation," in IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, vol. 43, no. 2, pp. 272-276, April 1994) (Hereinafter Nilsson), Takai et al. (JP2007125633A, Attached English translated copy is used for claim mapping) (Hereinafter Takai), and further in view of Kurahashi et al. (KR20150063921A) (Hereinafter Kurahashi).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Shinozaki teaches all the elements of claim 1.
Although Shinozaki teaches detecting the three-dimensional position of a reference surface at a plurality of different detection positions (See at least Para [0004] “… the position detection sensor 3 detects the three-dimensional position of the reference surface S at a plurality of different detection positions …”), however, Shinozaki does not explicitly spell out the robot device of claim 1, wherein
the processor is configured to synthesize a plurality of pieces of the three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece acquired at a plurality of relative positions, and
the processor is configured to synthesize the three-dimensional position information generated at the first relative position and the three-dimensional position information generated at the second relative position corrected based on the correction amount set.
Kurahashi teaches the robot device of claim 1, wherein
the processor is configured to synthesize a plurality of pieces of the three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece acquired at a plurality of relative positions (See at least Page 8 Para 3 “… The synthesizing means 1031 generally obtains a plurality of synthesis distance information. Synthesis here is, for example, combining a plurality of pieces of first distance information into one…”, Page 36 Para 4 “For example, since the correction information for adjusting the rotation center of the work to the center of the work can be obtained, accurate correction information can be obtained.”), and
the processor is configured to synthesize the three-dimensional position information generated at the first relative position and the three-dimensional position information generated at the second relative position corrected based on the correction amount set (See at least Page 8 Para 3 “… The synthesizing means 1031 generally obtains a plurality of synthesis distance information. Synthesis here is, for example, combining a plurality of pieces of first distance information into one…”, Page 36 Para 4 “For example, since the correction information for adjusting the rotation center of the work to the center of the work can be obtained, accurate correction information can be obtained.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shinozaki with the teachings of Kurahashi and include the feature of the processor configured to synthesize a plurality of pieces of the three-dimensional position information regarding the surface of the workpiece acquired at a plurality of relative positions, wherein the processor is configured to synthesize the three-dimensional position information generated at the first relative position and the three-dimensional position information generated at the second relative position corrected based on the correction amount being set, thereby provide calculation accuracy for precise robot gripping (See at least Page 36 Para 4 “For example, since the correction information for adjusting the rotation center of the work to the center of the work can be obtained, accurate correction information can be obtained.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ban et al. (US 20040080758 A1) teaches determining three-dimensional position and posture of a surface measuring point
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658