DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection discussed below.
Applicant argues Ubillos merely disclose video-related carriers and does not involve any specific content objects. The content displayed in the key panes of Ubillos revolves entirety around video-native elements such as video clips, video frames, and thumbnails, and does not involve specific content objects displayed in a live video (e.g., scenic spots, articles, services, etc.). Furthermore, the video clips shown in Ubillos’ media pane 105 having no correlation with specific content objects in the video. Ubillos does not disclose any display logic for “displaying images respectively corresponding to display objects displayed in the video. Therefore, Ubillos does not disclose feature “in response to detecting that a first live video…, wherein the plurality of display objects are displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream” as recited in the subject claim. Ubillos does not involves interactions directed at specific content objects. Lee and Evans also fail to disclose or suggest at least the above recited feature of amended claim 1, and does not cure the deficiencies of Ubillos (pages 12-13).
It is noted that the amended claims do not recite “specific content objects comprising scenic spots, articles, service, are displayed in a live video”. Instead, amended claim 1 recites “plurality of display objects are objects displayed in the first live video”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (e.g. Ubillos does not disclose “in response to detecting that a first live video…displayed in the first live video…”), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Ubillos is not relied on for the teaching of live video. Instead, Li or Evans is relied on for the teaching of live video (see page 5 of the non-final rejection).
As discussed in the non-final rejection, Ubillos discloses “in response to detecting that a first video in a preview state or a playback state is played on a first page, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects associated with the first video in a first display area preset on the first page (in response to detecting that a first video in a preview state or in playback state is played on a first page/screen with media pane 105, project pane 110 and/or preview pane 115 of user interface 100, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects/video clips associated with a first video in a first display area of media pane 105, project pane 110, or preview pane 115 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a-2b, 7, col. 5, lines 7-22, 48-61). Ubillos also discloses wherein the plurality of display objects are objects displayed in the first video (read on plurality of objects/video clips are objects/clips/thumbnails/frames displayed/included in the first video as shown in figures 2a-2b, 7, col. 5, lines 7-22, 48-61, col. 6, lines 13-16, lines 25-37, line 64-col. 7, line 3, col. 9, lines 15-35).
In addition to Ubillos, Li or Evans discloses plurality of display objects are objects displayed in the first live video (plurality objects such as anchor information, live feature label, text, etc. are objects displayed in the first live video as shown in Li: figures 3-7, 9, paragraphs 0048, 0061-0064, 0068-0070, 0072; or Evans discloses plurality of objects such as frame, highlight, image of character, etc. are objects displayed in the first live video/program – see include, but are not limited to, Evans: figures 1-3E, paragraphs 0028-0029).
Thus, the combination of the Ubillos and Li or Evans disclose all limitations in amended claims including limitations “wherein the plurality of objects are objects displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream” as recited in amended claims.
See also Yang et al. (US 20220239988: figures 3-8) for teaching of a plurality of objects associated with the first live video in a first display area present on first page, wherein the plurality of objects are objects displayed in the first live video.
For reasons given above, rejection of claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-23 are discussed below.
Claims 8, 11-12 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ubillos (US 7984385) in view of either Li et al. (US 20230276078) or Evans et al. (US 20210150222) and/or Yang et al. (US 20220239988).
Regarding claim 10, Ubillos discloses device (as system 1100 – see, include, but are not limited to, figures 11-12, col. 15, line 45-col. 16, line 44) comprising:
a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor (memory with ROM 1210, RAM 1205, processor such as processing unit (CPU) 1110, and computer program/software stored in RAM and/or ROM and executable on the CPU - see, include, but are not limited to, figures 11-12, col. 15, line 45-col. 16, line 44), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements steps of:
in response to detecting that a first video in a preview state or a playback state is played on a first page, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects associated with the first video in a first display area preset on the first page (in response to detecting that a first video in a preview state or in playback state is played on a first page/screen with media pane 105, project pane 110 and/or preview pane 115 of user interface 100, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects/video clips associated with a first video in a first display area of media pane 105, project pane 110, or preview pane 115 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a-2b, 7, col. 5, lines 7-22, 48-61);
wherein the first video pertains to a first information stream (first video pertains/relates to a first information stream of video clips/segments, thumbnail group, etc. – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a-2b, 7, col. 5, lines 7-22, 48-61); and
in response to a preset trigger operation for the first display area, displaying a window on the first page, and displaying on the window the plurality of display objects in the first display area and interaction controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a corresponding display object (in response to a selection/operation for the display area such as media pane 105, displaying a window with project pane or preview pane or in media pane, and displaying on the window/pane the plurality of objects/clips/thumbnails, etc. in the first display area and interactively controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of clips/thumbnails based on user selection, wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior/selection for a corresponding display clip or thumbnail - see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a- 7, col. 1, line 51-col. 2, line 47, col. 5, lines 20-60, col. 6, lines 10-20, col. 10, lines 29).
Ubillos does not explicitly disclose first video is live video and the window is floating window.
Li or Evans (hereinafter referred to as Li/Evans) discloses
in response to detecting that a first live video in a live preview state or a live playback state is played on a first page, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in a first display area preset on the first page; wherein the first live video pertains to a first information stream (in response to detecting that a first live video such as video from live room in a live preview stage or a live playback stage of video recorded by device 102, displaying images corresponding to objects with introduction associated with the video from live room in area 303/401 wherein the first live video from live room pertains a first information stream with room/anchor information – see for example, Li: figures 2-6, paragraphs 0053-0056; or see in Evans the description of in response to detecting that a live video in a live highlights or live playback stage, displaying images corresponding to objects/icons associated the first live video, wherein the first live video pertains a first information stream of publisher, creator – see include, but are not limited to, figures 1-3E, paragraphs 0028-0029); and
in response to a preset trigger operation for the first display area, displaying a floating window on the first page, and displaying on the floating window the plurality of display objects in the first display area and interaction controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a corresponding display object (in response to trigger operation such as a selection for the first display area on the user interface, displaying a floating window/screen on user interface/first page, and displaying a floating window/portion with highlights overlays on top of video of plurality of objects/icons in the display area for interaction control configured to trigger a selection for the particular object/icon - see include, but are not limited to, Li: figures 3-6, paragraphs 0055-0056, 0061-0063; Evans: figures 1-3E, paragraphs 0029, 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ubillos with the teachings including first live video and floating window/overlaying window as taught by Li/Evans in order to yield predictable result such as increasing user engagement with highlight or video from witch the highlight was extracted (see for example, Evans: paragraph 0005) or allowing user to acquire video live content of the target live room throughout the introduction information which increase the view count of the live streaming (See Li: paragraphs 0017, 0061).
Additionally and/or alternatively, Yang discloses in response to detecting that a first live video in a live playback state is played on a first page, displaying images respectively corresponding to a plurality of objects (objects/items) associated with the first live video in a first display area on the first page (first page/screen), wherein the plurality of objects are objects displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream (plurality of objects such as bear or other selectable objects/items associated with live video in display area of display screen/page are objects/items displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream/live stream of a host – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2-8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0118, 0150-0151);
in response to a preset trigger operation for the first display area, displaying a floating window on the first page, and displaying on the floating window the plurality of display objects in the first display area and interaction controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects, wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a corresponding display object (in response to trigger/selection operation for the first display area on screen, superimposing item link region (floating window) on the first screen/page, and displaying on the superimposed region the plurality of objects/items in the display area and interaction controls with link/icon respectively corresponding to the plurality of items/objects, wherein the interaction is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior/selection for a corresponding object/item - – see include, but are not limited to, Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Ubillos with the teaching including a plurality of objects are objects displayed in first live video, and in response to a preset trigger operation for first display area, displaying a floating window on first page as taught by Yang in order to yield predictable result of improving the efficiency of information interaction in a live stream viewer room, thereby improving the user experience (see paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 9, limitations of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that correspond to the limitations of a device in claim 10 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, when run on a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement steps of:
in response to detecting that a first live video in a live preview state or a live playback state is played on a first page, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in a first display area preset on the first page; wherein the plurality of display objects are objects displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream; and
in response to a preset trigger operation for the first display area, displaying a floating window on the first page, and displaying on the floating window the plurality of display objects in the first display area and interaction controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects;
wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a corresponding display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 10 and also Ubillos: claim 11, claim 22; Li: paragraph 0182; Evans: paragraphs 0086; Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151).
Regarding claim 1, limitations of a method that correspond to the limitations of a device of claim 10 are discussed in the rejection of claim 10. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses data processing method, the method comprising:
in response to detecting that a first live video in a live preview state or a live playback state is played on a first page, displaying display images respectively corresponding to a plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in a first display area preset on the first page; wherein the plurality of display objects are objects displayed in the first live video, and the first live video pertains to a first information stream; and
in response to a preset trigger operation for the first display area, displaying a floating window on the first page, and displaying on the floating window the plurality of display objects in the first display area and interaction controls respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects;
wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a corresponding display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 10).
Regarding claim 2, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information stream further includes a first image set including one or more images (one of more images/thumbnails of video), and after the step of displaying the display images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in the first display area preset on the first page, the method further comprises:
in response to an operation of switching from the first live video to the first image set, displaying the first image set on the first page (display first image set of selected clips/video on the first page – see include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2A-4E, 7; Li: figures 3-6; Evans: figures 2-3E); and
in response to a trigger operation for a first image in the first image set, displaying the first image and a first interaction control corresponding to the first image on an object preview page (in response to selection for a first image/thumbnail in the first image set, displaying the first image/frame/thumbnail and first interaction control/icon corresponding to the first image on the preview pane/highlight portion - – see include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2A-4E, 7; Li: figures 3-6; Evans: figures 2-3E and discussion in the rejection of claim 1);
wherein the first interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a display object associated with the first image (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2A-4E, 7; Li: figures 3-6; Evans: figures 2-3E). See also Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151.
Regarding claim 3, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: displaying an image in the first image set in a second display area preset on the object preview page; and in response to a preset trigger operation for the second display area, displaying a floating window on the object preview page, and displaying on the floating window a display object respectively corresponding to an image in the second display area and an interaction control corresponding to the display object; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for the display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 wherein “second display area” is read on display area for display introduction/highlights or preview when another video clip/content is made. – see also – see include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2A-4E, 7; Li: figures 3-6; Evans: figures 2-3E). See also Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151.
Regarding claim 4, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein after the step of displaying the first image and the first interaction control corresponding to the first image on the object preview page in response to the trigger operation for the first image in the first image set, the method further comprises: in response to a preset sliding operation for the first image displayed on the object preview page, switching from the first image to a second image; wherein the second image pertains to the first image set (in response to sliding/shifting/moving operation to select another video clip, thumbnail, highlight, etc. switching from first image to second image that pertains/relates to the first image set - see include, but are not Ubillos: figures 2B-4E, 7, col. 9, lines 15-67, col. 11, lines 24-29; Li: paragraphs 0129, 0131, 0139; Evans: figures 1-2, paragraphs 0029). See also Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151.
Regarding claim 5, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information stream further includes a first video, and after the step of displaying the display images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in the first display area preset on the first page, the method further comprises:
in response to an operation of switching from the first live video to the first video, displaying a display object associated with the first video and an interaction control corresponding to the display object in a third display area preset on the first page; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for the display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1, and include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2A-4E, 7; Li: figures 3-6; Evans: figures 2-3E, wherein “third display area” is read on area for display updated content for newly selected object/icon/clip of video). See also Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151.
Regarding claim 6, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information stream is determined based on a video and/or image posted by an account followed by a current user (based on a video/image posted/shared by an account/creator/source followed by a current user – see include, but are not limited to, see include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2b-4b, 7, col. 1, lines 48-52, col. 5, lines 8-25; Evans: figures 2-3E, paragraphs 0017, 0020-0021, 0055; Li: figures 1-4, 9-10).
Regarding claim 7, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in response to a preset trigger operation for the first live video, jumping from the first page to a live room page corresponding to the first live video (in response to jump or skip or select another live room page or highlights or different video clip or enter live room, jumping from the first page with preview or highlight or introduction to a live video page to enter live room corresponding to the first live video – see include, but are not limited to, Ubillos: figures 2-5; Li: figures 2-6, paragraphs 0017, 0054-0056; Evans: figures 1-2, 3E, paragraphs 0029, 0033-0034). See also Yang: figures 5-6,8, paragraphs 0050-0052, 0066, 0069, 0074, 0118, 0150-0151.
Regarding claim 13, the additional limitations of the non-transitory computer readable storage medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the method of claim 2 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 9, wherein the first information stream further includes a first image set including one or more images, and after the step of displaying the display images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in the first display area preset on the first page, the instructions further cause the terminal device to implement steps of:
in response to an operation of switching from the first live video to the first image set, displaying the first image set on the first page; and
in response to a trigger operation for a first image in the first image set, displaying the first image and a first interaction control corresponding to the first image on an object preview page;
wherein the first interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for a display object associated with the first image (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 14, the additional limitations of the non-transitory computer readable storage medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the method of claim 3 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the terminal device to implement steps of: displaying an image in the first image set in a second display area preset on the object preview page; and
in response to a preset trigger operation for the second display area, displaying a floating window on the object preview page, and displaying on the floating window a display object respectively corresponding to an image in the second display area and an interaction control corresponding to the display object; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for the display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 15, the additional limitations of the non-transitory computer readable storage medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the method of claim 4 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein after the step of displaying the first image and the first interaction control corresponding to the first image on the object preview page in response to the trigger operation for the first image in the first image set, the instructions further cause the terminal device to implement steps of: in response to a preset sliding operation for the first image displayed on the object preview page, switching from the first image to a second image; wherein the second image pertains to the first image set (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 4).
Regarding claim 16, the additional limitations of the non-transitory computer readable storage medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the method of claim 5 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. Particularly, Ubillos in view of Li/Evans and/or Yang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 9, wherein the first information stream further includes a first video, and after the step of displaying the display images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display objects associated with the first live video in the first display area preset on the first page, the instructions further cause the terminal device to implement steps of:
in response to an operation of switching from the first live video to the first video, displaying a display object associated with the first video and an interaction control corresponding to the display object in a third display area preset on the first page; wherein the interaction control is configured to trigger a preset interaction behavior for the display object (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 5).
Regarding claims 17-18, the additional limitations of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that correspond to the additional limitations of the method in claims 6-7 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claims 6-7.
Regarding claims 19-23, the additional limitations of the device that correspond to the additional limitations of the method in claims 2-6 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claims 2-6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chaturvedi et al. (US 12380484) discloses contextually relevant user-based product recommendations based on scene information.
Sekar et al. (US 20190289539) discloses intelligent video interaction method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426
March 12, 2026